DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/07/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-5, 8-19 and 22-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 6-7 and 20-21 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell US 20190232863 in view of Komoguchi et al. US 20150298611 and further in view of Morimura US 20180297520.
Regarding claim 1, Rowell teach A vehicular alert system, the vehicular alert system comprising: a sensor disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular alert system, the sensor sensing exterior of the vehicle and capturing sensor data; an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software; wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises a processor for processing sensor data captured by the sensor; wherein the vehicular alert system determines a likelihood that an occupant of the vehicle is going to exit the vehicle via a door of the vehicle; wherein the processor processes sensor data captured by the sensor to detect a moving object present exterior of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to detecting the moving object, the vehicular alert system determines that the moving object is moving toward the door of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to determining the likelihood the occupant of the vehicle is going to exit the vehicle via the door of the vehicle, and responsive to determining that the detected moving object is moving toward the door of the vehicle, (Rowell US 20190232863 abstract; paragraph [0003]-[0005]; [0014]-[0016]; [0018]-[0028]; [0036]; figures1-5;)
The embodiments disclosed herein include vehicle systems for providing alerts of opening doors. Referring generally to FIG. 1, a system includes a camera configured to output image data of a vehicle occupant, an external environment sensor configured to output an external environment sensor output signal, one or more processors communicatively coupled to the camera and the external environment sensor, one or more memory modules communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory modules. The system receives the image data of the vehicle occupant, predicts whether a door of the vehicle is going to be opened based on the image data of the vehicle occupant, determines whether an object is present based on the external environmental sensor output signal, and generates an alert in response to predicting that the door of the vehicle is going to be opened and determining that the object is present (Rowell par. 14). Still referring to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 includes one or more processors 102. Each of the one or more processors 102 may be any device capable of executing machine readable instructions. For example, each of the one or more processors 102 may be a controller, an integrated circuit, a microchip, a computer, or any other computing device (Rowell par. 16). Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 includes a screen 108 for providing visual output such as, for example, maps, navigation, entertainment, or a combination thereof. The screen 108 may be located on the head unit of the vehicle such that a vehicle occupant (e.g., the vehicle occupant 230 in FIG. 2A) of the vehicle may easily see the screen 108 while seated in the driver seat. The screen 108 may provide an alert to the vehicle occupant when the one or more processors 102 determine that the door of the vehicle is going to be opened within a predetermined time, and an object detected by the one or more environmental sensors 110 is approaching the door (Rowell par. 23.).
the vehicular alert system (i) determines, based at least in part on processing of the captured sensor data, distance between the detected moving object and the door of the vehicle,
In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine location information about objects relative to the vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine that a bicycle 220 is located 5 meters from the vehicle 200, and located at the back of the vehicle 200. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of providing an alert to an object approaching a vehicle 200 when a vehicle occupant 230 of the vehicle 200 is going to open a door 210. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located on the door 210 of the vehicle. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located in any other location, for example, at the back of the vehicle 200, at the front of the vehicle 200, at the top of the vehicle 200, etc. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22). For example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the screen 108 to display an alert sign to notify the vehicle occupant 230 of the object within the predetermined distance from the door 210. As another example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the speaker 114 to output an alert sound, or a voice alert e.g., “A bicycle is within 5 meters.” (Rowell par. 36).
wherein the vehicular alert system determines a heading threshold value based on the determined distance between the detected moving object and the door of the vehicle;
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may be configured to detect and monitor objects within 10 meters from the vehicle (Rowell par. 21). The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22). For example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the screen 108 to display an alert sign to notify the vehicle occupant 230 of the object within the predetermined distance from the door 210. As another example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the speaker 114 to output an alert sound, or a voice alert e.g., “A bicycle is within 5 meters.” (Rowell par. 36).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted 5 meters is a heading threshold value for the bicycle heading toward the vehicle door.
and wherein a threat indicates that the detected moving object will pass within a threshold distance of the vehicle; and wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determining that the detected moving object is a threat, alerts the occupant of the vehicle.
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may be configured to detect and monitor objects within 10 meters from the vehicle (Rowell par. 21). The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22). For example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the screen 108 to display an alert sign to notify the vehicle occupant 230 of the object within the predetermined distance from the door 210. As another example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the speaker 114 to output an alert sound, or a voice alert e.g., “A bicycle is within 5 meters.” (Rowell par. 36).
According to the cited passages and figures, Examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 will be detected within 10 meters threshold and the bicycle will be a threat when it locate 5 meters from the vehicle 200 and the system will alert the occupant that the vehicle will approach to the vehicle within 5 meters.
Rowell does not explicitly teach and (ii) determines, based at least in part on processing of the captured sensor data, a heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle, and wherein the heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle indicates a direction that the detected moving object is moving relative to the vehicle; wherein the vehicular alert system determines whether the detected moving object is a threat based at least in part on the determined heading angle being less than the determined heading threshold value.
Komoguchi et al. teach and (ii) determines, based at least in part on processing of the captured sensor data, a heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle, and wherein the heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle indicates a direction that the detected moving object is moving relative to the vehicle; (Komoguchi et al. US 20150298611 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0006]; [0011]-[0014]; [0027]-[0034]; figures 1-8;)
To generate a warning by the first warning method, a collision prediction time, which is the time predicted to elapse before the moving object hits the vehicle, is calculated based on the approach information about the moving object. A warning for the driver is then generated only when the obtained collision prediction time is less than a threshold value. To generate a warning by the second warning method, the distance between the moving object and the vehicle is obtained as the approach information about the moving object. A warning for the driver is then generated only when the distance is a value corresponding to a warning range. The warning range may be a range from 0 to an optimal value that has been determined in advance through experimentation or the like. In FIG. 2, the zone in which the distance between the moving object (the other vehicle B) approaching the vehicle (the driver's vehicle A) and the driver's vehicle A falls in the warning rage is represented by the long dashed double-short dashed lines (Komoguchi et al. par. 29). To generate a warning for the vehicle's driver based on the approach information about the moving object (the other vehicle B) approaching the vehicle (the driver's vehicle A), warning by the first warning method is selected as warning for the driver if the inclination angle β is between 90° and the reference value, as has been described. If the inclination angle β is between 90° and the reference value, it is indicated that the moving direction of the moving object approaching the vehicle is the widthwise direction of the vehicle (the left-right direction as viewed in FIG. 3). When it is determined that the moving object approaching the vehicle moves in the widthwise direction of the vehicle, the warning by the first warning method is employed as the warning for the driver. In the first warning method, the collision prediction time of the moving object with respect to the vehicle is calculated based on the approach information about the moving object with respect to the vehicle. A warning for the driver is generated only when the calculated collision prediction time is less than the threshold value. By generating the warning for the driver based on the collision prediction time of the moving object with respect to the vehicle in this manner, the warning is provided appropriately in accordance with the distance and relative speed between the moving object and the vehicle, when the vehicle travels on the road (Komoguchi et al. par. 33).
Examiner interpreted a heading angle of the moving object toward vehicle is same as moving direction of the vehicle B with angle β toward the vehicle A as illustrate in the figures 2 and 3.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Rowell and Komoguchi et al. by comprising the teaching of Komoguchi et al. into the system of Rowell. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide the approaching information about the moving object and the distance and relative between the moving object and the vehicle from Komoguchi et al. reference into Rowell reference so the system can provide a warning to the driver to avoid collision.
However, the combination of Rowell and Komoguchi et al. do teach the target angle, relative speed of the target objects in relation to the vehicle and monitoring threshold distance but the combination of Rowell and Komoguchi et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the vehicular alert system determines whether the detected moving object is a threat based at least in part on the determined heading angle being less than the determined heading threshold value.
Morimura teaches wherein the vehicular alert system determines whether the detected moving object is a threat based at least in part on the determined heading angle being less than the determined heading threshold value, (Morimura US 20180297520 abstract; paragraphs [0021]-[0024]; [0031]-[0034]; [0046]-[0048]; [0080]; [0105]-[0106]; [0118]-[0136]; figures 1-8;)
determine that the first candidate is present in the front area of the own vehicle, when the first candidate has been determined as the warning obstacle (Step 825) and magnitude (θp) of a first angle (PedW (pedestrian warning) angle) at a predetermined location (DP) of the own vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold angle (θ1th) (“Yes” at Step 835), the first angle being formed between a line which passes through a location of the first candidate (A1 or A2) and the predetermined location and a base line (BL) which passes through the predetermined location and is parallel with a longitudinal direction (FR) of the own vehicle to have the display unit display the warning screen (410) which guides the driver's eyes to the direction of the first candidate using a first display element (411) which guides the driver's eyes to the warning obstacle which is present in the front area of the own vehicle (Step 840) (Morimura par. 22); determine that both of the first candidate and the second candidate are present in the front area of the own vehicle to determine the first candidate as the warning obstacle (Step 882), when the collision time period of the first candidate is equal to the collision time period of the second candidate (“No” at Step 850), and both of the magnitude of the first angle and the magnitude of the second angle are equal to or smaller than the threshold angle (“Yes” at Step 872, and “Yes” at Step 878), and to have the display unit display the warning screen which guides the driver's eyes to the direction of the first candidate using the first display element (Step 840) (Morimura par. 34).
Examiner interpreted the candidate A1 and A2 as moving object in the figure 3 with magnitude (θp) of a first angle (PedW (pedestrian warning) angle) relative to the vehicle and the first angle fall within a reference angle threshold for detect the moving object locate within warning area of detection.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Rowell and Komoguchi et al. with Morimura by comprising the teaching of Morimura into the system of Rowell and Komoguchi et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide pedestrian warning angle equal or smaller than a predetermined threshold angle in relation to the vehicle from Morimura reference into Rowell and Komoguchi et al. reference so the system can provide a warning to the driver to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular alert system determines the detected moving object is a threat based in part on a lateral velocity of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle, wherein the lateral velocity represents a velocity of the detected moving object parallel to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle (Rowell US 20190232863 abstract; paragraph [0003]-[0005]; [0014]-[0016]; [0018]-[0028]; [0036]; figures1-5;)
In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine location information about objects relative to the vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine that a bicycle 220 is located 5 meters from the vehicle 200, and located at the back of the vehicle 200. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of providing an alert to an object approaching a vehicle 200 when a vehicle occupant 230 of the vehicle 200 is going to open a door 210. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located on the door 210 of the vehicle. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located in any other location, for example, at the back of the vehicle 200, at the front of the vehicle 200, at the top of the vehicle 200, etc. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22).
According to the cited passages and figure 2, examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 is a moving object that have a parallel and lateral velocity to the vehicle 200.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 9, wherein the vehicular alert system determines that the moving object is moving toward the door of the vehicle at least in part responsive to determination that the lateral velocity of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle is less than a threshold value, and wherein the threshold value is dependent upon a distance between the detected moving object and the vehicle.
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may be configured to detect and monitor objects within 10 meters from the vehicle (Rowell par. 21). In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine location information about objects relative to the vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine that a bicycle 220 is located 5 meters from the vehicle 200, and located at the back of the vehicle 200. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of providing an alert to an object approaching a vehicle 200 when a vehicle occupant 230 of the vehicle 200 is going to open a door 210. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located on the door 210 of the vehicle. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located in any other location, for example, at the back of the vehicle 200, at the front of the vehicle 200, at the top of the vehicle 200, etc. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22).
According to the cited passages and figure 2, examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 is a moving object that have a parallel and lateral velocity to the vehicle 200. Examiner interpreted the threshold value is 10 meters from the vehicle and above passages cite the bicycle located 5 meters from the vehicle which is less than the threshold value.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular alert system determines that the moving object is moving toward the door of the vehicle based at least in part on a longitudinal velocity of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle, wherein the longitudinal velocity represents a velocity of the detected moving object parallel to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle.
In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine location information about objects relative to the vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine that a bicycle 220 is located 5 meters from the vehicle 200, and located at the back of the vehicle 200. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of providing an alert to an object approaching a vehicle 200 when a vehicle occupant 230 of the vehicle 200 is going to open a door 210. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located on the door 210 of the vehicle. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located in any other location, for example, at the back of the vehicle 200, at the front of the vehicle 200, at the top of the vehicle 200, etc. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22).
According to the cited passages and figure 2, examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 is a moving object that have a parallel and longitudinal velocity to the vehicle 200.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the alert comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a visual alert, (ii) an audible alert and (iii) a haptic alert.
The vehicle system 100 further includes a speaker 114 coupled to the communication path 104 such that the communication path 104 communicatively couples the speaker 114 to other modules of the vehicle system 100. The speaker 114 transforms data signals from the vehicle system 100 into audible mechanical vibrations. The speaker 114 may warn the driver by providing audible sound when the one or more processors 102 determine that the door 210 of the vehicle 200 is going to be opened within a predetermined time, and an object detected by the one or more environmental sensors 110 is approaching the door 210. For example, the speaker 114 may provide audible sound “Be careful of opening the door. A bicycle is approaching.” (Rowell par. 26).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the alert alerts the detected moving object.
The vehicle system 100 further includes a speaker 114 coupled to the communication path 104 such that the communication path 104 communicatively couples the speaker 114 to other modules of the vehicle system 100. The speaker 114 transforms data signals from the vehicle system 100 into audible mechanical vibrations. The speaker 114 may warn the driver by providing audible sound when the one or more processors 102 determine that the door 210 of the vehicle 200 is going to be opened within a predetermined time, and an object detected by the one or more environmental sensors 110 is approaching the door 210. For example, the speaker 114 may provide audible sound “Be careful of opening the door. A bicycle is approaching.” (Rowell par. 26).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the detected moving object is another vehicle.
To generate a warning for the vehicle's driver based on the approach information about the moving object (the other vehicle B) approaching the vehicle (the driver's vehicle A), warning by the first warning method is selected as warning for the driver if the inclination angle β is between 90° and the reference value, as has been described. If the inclination angle β is between 90° and the reference value, it is indicated that the moving direction of the moving object approaching the vehicle is the widthwise direction of the vehicle (the left-right direction as viewed in FIG. 3). When it is determined that the moving object approaching the vehicle moves in the widthwise direction of the vehicle, the warning by the first warning method is employed as the warning for the driver. In the first warning method, the collision prediction time of the moving object with respect to the vehicle is calculated based on the approach information about the moving object with respect to the vehicle. A warning for the driver is generated only when the calculated collision prediction time is less than the threshold value. By generating the warning for the driver based on the collision prediction time of the moving object with respect to the vehicle in this manner, the warning is provided appropriately in accordance with the distance and relative speed between the moving object and the vehicle, when the vehicle travels on the road (Komoguchi et al par. 33).
According to the cited passages and figure vehicle B is another vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the detected moving object is a bicyclist.
As show in the figure 2 of Rowell reference , there is a bicyclist ride the bicycle 220.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the detected moving object is a pedestrian.
The first candidate which the first candidate selection unit has selected is any one of the pedestrian, the bicycle, and the motorcycle. Therefore, the aspect of the present invention device can on a priority basis (preferentially) guide the driver's eyes to the direction of any one of the pedestrian, the bicycle, and the motorcycle that are more difficult to be noticed by the driver than a vehicle (Morimura par. 57). The PedW candidate selection ECU 40 selects, as an obstacle(s), at least one object which has high probability of colliding with the own vehicle SV from/among the objects each of which type has been determined/identified to be the pedestrian by the camera sensor 21, based on the obtained location information, the obtained object information, and the vehicle status information, using the following method (refer to step 625) (Morimura par. 95).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura disclose the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises at least one radar sensor disposed at a side region of the vehicle.
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle……The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be any sensors configured to detect an object, including, for example, cameras, laser sensors, proximity sensors, LIDAR sensors, ultrasonic sensors, and the like……The proximity sensor may be any device capable of outputting a proximity signal indicative of a distance of an object to the proximity sensor. In some embodiments, the proximity sensor may include a laser scanner, a capacitive displacement sensor, a Doppler effect sensor, an eddy-current sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a magnetic sensor, an optical sensor, a radar sensor, a sonar sensor, or the like (Rowell par. 21).
Regarding claim 22, Rowell teaches A vehicular alert system, the vehicular alert system comprising: a sensor disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular alert system, the sensor sensing exterior of the vehicle and capturing sensor data; an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software; wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises a processor for processing sensor data captured by the sensor; wherein the processor processes sensor data captured by the sensor to detect a moving object present exterior of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to detecting the moving object, the vehicular alert system determines that the moving object is moving toward a door of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to determining that the detected moving object is moving toward the door of the vehicle, (Rowell US 20190232863 abstract; paragraph [0003]-[0005]; [0014]-[0016]; [0018]-[0028]; [0036]; figures1-5;)
The embodiments disclosed herein include vehicle systems for providing alerts of opening doors. Referring generally to FIG. 1, a system includes a camera configured to output image data of a vehicle occupant, an external environment sensor configured to output an external environment sensor output signal, one or more processors communicatively coupled to the camera and the external environment sensor, one or more memory modules communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, and machine readable instructions stored in the one or more memory modules. The system receives the image data of the vehicle occupant, predicts whether a door of the vehicle is going to be opened based on the image data of the vehicle occupant, determines whether an object is present based on the external environmental sensor output signal, and generates an alert in response to predicting that the door of the vehicle is going to be opened and determining that the object is present (Rowell par. 14). Still referring to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 includes one or more processors 102. Each of the one or more processors 102 may be any device capable of executing machine readable instructions. For example, each of the one or more processors 102 may be a controller, an integrated circuit, a microchip, a computer, or any other computing device (Rowell par. 16). Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 includes a screen 108 for providing visual output such as, for example, maps, navigation, entertainment, or a combination thereof. The screen 108 may be located on the head unit of the vehicle such that a vehicle occupant (e.g., the vehicle occupant 230 in FIG. 2A) of the vehicle may easily see the screen 108 while seated in the driver seat. The screen 108 may provide an alert to the vehicle occupant when the one or more processors 102 determine that the door of the vehicle is going to be opened within a predetermined time, and an object detected by the one or more environmental sensors 110 is approaching the door (Rowell par. 23.).
the vehicular alert system (i) determines, based at least in part on processing of the captured sensor data, distance between the detected moving object and the door of the vehicle,
In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine location information about objects relative to the vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine that a bicycle 220 is located 5 meters from the vehicle 200, and located at the back of the vehicle 200. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of providing an alert to an object approaching a vehicle 200 when a vehicle occupant 230 of the vehicle 200 is going to open a door 210. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located on the door 210 of the vehicle. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located in any other location, for example, at the back of the vehicle 200, at the front of the vehicle 200, at the top of the vehicle 200, etc. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22). For example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the screen 108 to display an alert sign to notify the vehicle occupant 230 of the object within the predetermined distance from the door 210. As another example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the speaker 114 to output an alert sound, or a voice alert e.g., “A bicycle is within 5 meters.” (Rowell par. 36).
wherein the vehicular alert system determines a heading threshold value based on the determined distance between the detected moving object and the door of the vehicle;
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may be configured to detect and monitor objects within 10 meters from the vehicle (Rowell par. 21). The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22). For example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the screen 108 to display an alert sign to notify the vehicle occupant 230 of the object within the predetermined distance from the door 210. As another example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the speaker 114 to output an alert sound, or a voice alert e.g., “A bicycle is within 5 meters.” (Rowell par. 36).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpreted 5 meters is a heading threshold value for the bicycle heading toward the vehicle door.
wherein the vehicular alert system determines whether the detected moving object is a threat based at least in part on (i) determining that the determined distance is less than a distance threshold value,
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may be configured to detect and monitor objects within 10 meters from the vehicle (Rowell par. 21). In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine location information about objects relative to the vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may determine that a bicycle 220 is located 5 meters from the vehicle 200, and located at the back of the vehicle 200. FIG. 2A depicts an embodiment of providing an alert to an object approaching a vehicle 200 when a vehicle occupant 230 of the vehicle 200 is going to open a door 210. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located on the door 210 of the vehicle. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may be located in any other location, for example, at the back of the vehicle 200, at the front of the vehicle 200, at the top of the vehicle 200, etc. The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22).
According to the cited passages and figure 2, examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 is a moving object that have a parallel and lateral velocity to the vehicle 200. Examiner interpreted the threshold value is 10 meters from the vehicle and above passages cite the bicycle located 5 meters from the vehicle which is less than the threshold value.
and (iii) determining that a lateral velocity of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle is less than a threshold value, and wherein a threat indicates that the detected moving object will pass within a threshold distance of the vehicle; and wherein the vehicular alert system, responsive to determining that the detected moving object is a threat, alerts an occupant of the vehicle.
Referring still to FIG. 1, the vehicle system 100 comprises one or more environmental sensors 110 configured to detect and monitor objects within a threshold distance from a vehicle. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may be configured to detect and monitor objects within 10 meters from the vehicle (Rowell par. 21). The one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed and moving direction of objects within the threshold distance. For example, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect the speed of the bicycle 220 in FIG. 2A and the moving direction of the bicycle 220 relative to the moving direction of the vehicle 200. In some embodiments, the one or more environmental sensors 110 may detect an object approaching the vehicle 200 or the door 210 of the vehicle 200 (Rowell par. 22). For example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the screen 108 to display an alert sign to notify the vehicle occupant 230 of the object within the predetermined distance from the door 210. As another example, the one or more processors 102 may instruct the speaker 114 to output an alert sound, or a voice alert e.g., “A bicycle is within 5 meters.” (Rowell par. 36).
According to the cited passages and figures, Examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 will be detected within 10 meters threshold and the bicycle will be a threat when it locate 5 meters from the vehicle 200 and the system will alert the occupant that the vehicle will approach to the vehicle within 5 meters. As show in the figure 2, examiner interpreted the bicycle 220 is a moving object that have a parallel and lateral velocity to the vehicle 200.
Rowell does not explicitly teach and (ii) determines, based at least in part on processing of the captured sensor data, a heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle, and wherein the heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle indicates a direction that the detected moving object is moving relative to the vehicle; (ii) determining that the determined heading angle is less than the determined heading threshold value.
Komoguchi et al. teach and (ii) determines, based at least in part on processing of the captured sensor data, a heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle, and wherein the heading angle of the detected moving object relative to the vehicle indicates a direction that the detected moving object is moving relative to the vehicle; (Komoguchi et al. US 20150298611 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0006]; [0011]-[0014]; [0027]-[0034]; figures 1-8;)
To generate a warning by the first warning method, a collision prediction time, which is the time predicted to elapse before the moving object hits the vehicle, is calculated based on the approach information about the moving object. A warning for the driver is then generated only when the obtained collision prediction time is less than a threshold value. To generate a warning by the second warning method, the distance between the moving object and the vehicle is obtained as the approach information about the moving object. A warning for the driver is then generated only when the distance is a value corresponding to a warning range. The warning range may be a range from 0 to an optimal value that has been determined in advance through experimentation or the like. In FIG. 2, the zone in which the distance between the moving object (the other vehicle B) approaching the vehicle (the driver's vehicle A) and the driver's vehicle A falls in the warning rage is represented by the long dashed double-short dashed lines (Komoguchi et al. par. 29). To generate a warning for the vehicle's driver based on the approach information about the moving object (the other vehicle B) approaching the vehicle (the driver's vehicle A), warning by the first warning method is selected as warning for the driver if the inclination angle β is between 90° and the reference value, as has been described. If the inclination angle β is between 90° and the reference value, it is indicated that the moving direction of the moving object approaching the vehicle is the widthwise direction of the vehicle (the left-right direction as viewed in FIG. 3). When it is determined that the moving object approaching the vehicle moves in the widthwise direction of the vehicle, the warning by the first warning method is employed as the warning for the driver. In the first warning method, the collision prediction time of the moving object with respect to the vehicle is calculated based on the approach information about the moving object with respect to the vehicle. A warning for the driver is generated only when the calculated collision prediction time is less than the threshold value. By generating the warning for the driver based on the collision prediction time of the moving object with respect to the vehicle in this manner, the warning is provided appropriately in accordance with the distance and relative speed between the moving object and the vehicle, when the vehicle travels on the road (Komoguchi et al. par. 33).
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Rowell and Komoguchi et al. by comprising the teaching of Komoguchi et al. into the system of Rowell. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide the approaching information about the moving object and the distance and relative between the moving object and the vehicle from Komoguchi et al. reference into Rowell reference so the system can provide a warning to the driver to avoid collision.
However, the combination of Rowell and Komoguchi et al. do teach the target angle, relative speed of the target objects in relation to the vehicle and monitoring threshold distance but the combination of Rowell and Komoguchi et al. do not explicitly teach (ii) determining that the determined heading angle is less than the determined heading threshold value.
Morimura teaches (ii) determining that the determined heading angle is less than the determined heading threshold value (Morimura US 20180297520 abstract; paragraphs [0021]-[0024]; [0031]-[0034]; [0046]-[0048]; [0080]; [0105]-[0106]; [0118]-[0136]; figures 1-8;)
determine that the first candidate is present in the front area of the own vehicle, when the first candidate has been determined as the warning obstacle (Step 825) and magnitude (θp) of a first angle (PedW (pedestrian warning) angle) at a predetermined location (DP) of the own vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold angle (θ1th) (“Yes” at Step 835), the first angle being formed between a line which passes through a location of the first candidate (A1 or A2) and the predetermined location and a base line (BL) which passes through the predetermined location and is parallel with a longitudinal direction (FR) of the own vehicle to have the display unit display the warning screen (410) which guides the driver's eyes to the direction of the first candidate using a first display element (411) which guides the driver's eyes to the warning obstacle which is present in the front area of the own vehicle (Step 840) (Morimura par. 22); determine that both of the first candidate and the second candidate are present in the front area of the own vehicle to determine the first candidate as the warning obstacle (Step 882), when the collision time period of the first candidate is equal to the collision time period of the second candidate (“No” at Step 850), and both of the magnitude of the first angle and the magnitude of the second angle are equal to or smaller than the threshold angle (“Yes” at Step 872, and “Yes” at Step 878), and to have the display unit display the warning screen which guides the driver's eyes to the direction of the first candidate using the first display element (Step 840) (Morimura par. 34).
Examiner interpreted the candidate A1 and A2 as moving object in the figure 3 with magnitude (θp) of a first angle (PedW (pedestrian warning) angle) relative to the vehicle and the first angle fall within a reference angle threshold for detect the moving object locate within warning area of detection.
Therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Rowell and Komoguchi et al. with Morimura by comprising the teaching of Morimura into the system of Rowell and Komoguchi et al.. The motivation to combine these arts is to provide a warning display regarding the magnitude of the angles are equal to or smaller than the threshold value from Morimura reference into Rowell and Komoguchi et al. reference so the user can be aware and try to avoid the collision.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rowell US 20190232863, in view of Komoguchi et al. US 20150298611, in view of Morimura US 20180297520 and further in view of Baur US 20140098230.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
However, the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura do teach detect the object withing the predetermine distance or zone but the combination of Rowell, Komoguchi et al. and Morimura do not explicitly teach the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular alert system determines whether the detected moving object is present within a door opening warning zone.
Baur teaches the vehicular alert system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular alert system determines whether the detected moving object is present within a door opening warning zone. (Baur US 20140098230 abstract; paragraph [0004]; [0008]-[0017]; figure 1;)
When the vehicle is stationary (such as when the vehicle is not moving or when the vehicle transmission is shifted into park or when the vehicle ignition is turned off) and with an occupant in the vehicle, the system operates to detect a cyclist or pedestrian or other object or vehicle the like at or near or approaching the side of the vehicle. When the system is active in this manner and detects a cyclist or pedestrian or the like at or near or approaching the side of the vehicle, the system may generate an alert to the occupant or occupants of the vehicle to warn the occupant or occupants to not open the vehicle door or doors due to the presence of or approach of a detected object at or near or approaching the vehicle or vehicle door. For example, the system may generate and alert or indicator at the window or door at or near where the object was detected or an alert or indicator may be generated at the interior rearview mirror assembly or the like of the vehicle, and/or an audible alert may be generated to alert the occupant or occupants of the vehicle of the potential hazard if the door is opened. The alert may also indicate th