DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/16/2026. Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-34 are pending. Claims 1, 18, and 30 are independent. Claims 18-32 have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10, 12, 14-16, 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trans et al. (US Pub. No.: 6,524,299) in view of Rafiee (US Pub. No.: 2006/0074403) and Le et al. (US Pat. No. 6,355,027).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 14-16, 33, and 34, Trans discloses [claim 1] an embolic material delivery device (100, Figs. 1 and 2B and see Abstract) comprising: a conduit body (conduit body of 100, Fig. 1 and 2B) extending between a proximal end portion and a distal end portion (proximal portion and distal portion of 100, Fig. 1), wherein the conduit body defines an axial lumen (Figs. 1 and 2B, lumen of 100) extending between the proximal end portion and the distal end portion, and wherein the axial lumen is configured to transport the embolic material (Abstract and Col. 3, lines 3-5), wherein the conduit body comprises a first flexibility zone (the zone along the portion of 108, Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 41-60 and claim 1), a transition zone (114, Fig. 1), and a second flexibility zone (the zone along the portion of 110, Fig. 1), the transition zone comprising overlapping portions (Col. 4, lines 18-41) of a first tube (108, Fig. 1) and a second tube (110, Fig. 1); wherein the first flexibility zone is positioned between the proximal end portion and the transition zone (Fig. 1), and wherein the second flexibility zone is positioned between the transition zone and the distal end portion (Fig. 1), and wherein the first flexibility zone is configured to transfer pushing force toward the second flexibility zone and defines a first kink radius (Col. 3, lines 41-60 and claim 1, the first flexibility zone defines a first kink radius with less flexibility) and a first bending stiffness (Col. 3, lines 41-60 and claim 1, the first flexibility zone defines first bending stiffness with less flexibility), and wherein the second flexibility zone is fully capable to be navigable through tortuous neurovascular anatomy and defines a second kink radius smaller than the first kink radius (the second flexibility zone is fully capable to be navigable through tortuous neurovascular anatomy since it is more flexible. The second flexibility zone defines a second kink radius smaller than the first kink radius because the second flexibility zone at 110 is more flexible than the first flexibility zone at 108) and a second bending stiffness smaller than the first bending stiffness (second flexibility zone defines a second bending stiffness smaller than the first bending stiffness because it is more flexible than the first flexibility zone); [claim 3] wherein the first tube (108, Fig. 1) defines a first outer diameter at the first flexibility zone; and the second tube (110, Fig. 1) defines a second outer diameter at the second flexibility zone, wherein the second outer diameter is less than the first outer diameter (Fig. 1), and wherein the first tube and the second tube are coupled to one another at the transition zone (Fig. 1 and 2B and Col. 4, lines 35-53); [claim 4] a welded joint (the welded joint at 114, Figs. 1 and 2B and Col. 4, line 35 – Col. 5, line 3) coupling the first tube and the second tube to one another at the transition zone; [claim 5] wherein the second tube is positioned within the first tube at the transition zone (Fig. 2B); [claim 6] wherein the first tube and the second tube are formed from the same material (Col. 3, lines 41-43); [claim 10] wherein the first flexibility zone defines a first outer diameter; and the second flexibility zone defines a second outer diameter less than the first outer diameter (Fig. 1); [claim 12] wherein the transition zone defines a tapering outer diameter transitioning from the first outer diameter to the second outer diameter (Figs. 1 and 2B); [claim 14] wherein each of the first tube and the second tube has a respective constant inner diameter (Figs. 2A and 2B); [claim 15] the transition zone is a first transition zone (Fig. 1); and the conduit body comprises: a third flexibility zone (112, Fig. 1), and a second transition zone (116, Fig. 1) between the second flexibility zone and the third flexibility zone; [claim 16] wherein the first transition zone comprises overlapping tubes and a welded coupling (Fig. 1, 2A and Col. 4, line 35 – Col. 5, line 3), and the second transition zone comprises a taper (taper at 116, Figs. 1 and 2A) between two monolithic flexibility zones (between monolithic flexibility zones at 110 and 112, Fig. 1); [claim 33] wherein the first transition zone includes a step down between a first outer diameter of the conduit body at the first flexibility zone and a second outer diameter of the conduit body at the second flexibility zone (Fig. 1 and 2B and Col. 4, lines 29-31 and 35-53, a step down is formed between a first outer diameter of the conduit body at the first flexibility zone and a second outer diameter of the conduit body at the second flexibility zone when the ends of the tubes at the first transition zone are chamfered); and [claim 34] wherein the heat treatment is annealing (Col. 4, line 35 – Col. 5, line 3). However, Trans does not disclose that the first flexibility zone is heat treated such that the first flexibility zone has a first ductility and the second flexibility zone is heat treated such that the second flexibility zone has a second ductility different than the first ductility; and the second bending stiffness is within a range of 3% to 50% of the first bending stiffness.
Rafiee teaches, in the same field of endeavor (catheter/delivery device), a catheter/delivery device comprising a first flexibility zone heat treated such that the first flexibility zone has a first ductility and a second flexibility zone heat treated such that the second flexibility zone has a second ductility different than the first ductility (Paras. [0007], [0009] and [0019]-[0022], different heat-treatment is applied to the distal region of the catheter/delivery device to make the distal region more flexible/ductile than the proximal region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery device of Trans to include that the first flexibility zone has a first ductility and the second flexibility zone is heat treated such that the second flexibility zone has a second ductility different than the first ductility as taught by Rafiee in order to obtain a desired stiffness at the proximal region and a desired flexibility at the distal region of the catheter / delivery device to facilitate the catheter to be pushed through the patient’s vasculature (Rafiee, at least Paras. [0003], [0006], [0007], and [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Rafiee teaches catheter/delivery device comprising a first flexibility zone heat treated such that the first proximal flexibility zone and the second distal flexibility zone heat treated to have different material properties (Paras. [0007], [0009] and [0019]-[0022].) Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first proximal tube and the second distal tube of the delivery device of Trans in view of Rafiee to be treated with different extents of a heat treatment such that the first tube and the second tube have different material properties in order to in order to obtain a desired stiffness at the proximal region and a desired flexibility at the distal region of the catheter / delivery device to facilitate the catheter to be pushed through the patient’s vasculature (Rafiee, at least Paras. [0003], [0006], [0007], and [0009]).
Le teaches, in the same field of endeavor (delivery device/catheter), a delivery device / catheter comprising a first flexibility zone (24, Fig. 1 and Col. 3, lines 28-33) defining a first bending stiffness (Col. 3, lines 28-33, such that zone 24 has the hardness of 50D) and a second flexibility zone (22, Fig. 1 and Col. 3, lines 20-24) defining a second bending stiffness (Col. 3, lines 20-24, such zone 22 has the hardness of 25D); wherein the second bending stiffness is within a range of 3% to 50% of the first bending stiffness (Col. 3, lines 28-33 and lines 20-24, zone 22 has the hardness of 25D which is 50% of the hardness of zone 24 which is 50D).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second bending stiffness of Trans is within a range of 3% to 50% (such as 50%) of the first bending stiffness by as taught by Le, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trans et al. (US Pub. No.: 6,524,299) in view of Rafiee (US Pub. No.: 2006/0074403) and Le et al. (US Pat. No. 6,355,027) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Jaroch et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0193591).
Regarding claim 2, Trans in view of Rafiee and Le discloses substantially all the limitation of the claim as taught above but fails to disclose that the second kink radius is within a range of 10% to 80% of the first kink radius.
Jaroch teaches, in the same field of endeavor (medical catheter/delivery device), a delivery device comprising a second kink radius (kink radius at segment 504, Figs. 24 and 26) is within a range from 10% to 85% (Para. [0086], such as one half to two third) of a first kink radius (kink radius at segment 502, Figs. 25 and 26).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery device of Trans in view of Rafiee and Le to include that the second kink radius is within a range of 10% to 80%, such as one half to two third, of the first kink radius as taught by Jaroch, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discovered in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trans et al. (US Pub. No.: 6,524,299) in view of Rafiee (US Pub. No.: 2006/0074403) and Le et al. (US Pat. No. 6,355,027) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Euteneuer et al. (US Pub. No.: 2007/0167877).
Regarding claim 8, Trans in view of Rafiee and Le discloses substantially all the limitation of the claim as taught above but fails to disclose that the first tube and second tube are nitinol.
Euteneuer teaches, in the same field of endeavor (medical catheter/delivery device), a first tube and second tube (proximal tube and distal tube, Para. [0011] and [0043] and Fig. 1) of a delivery device (10, Fig. 1) are nitinol (Para. [0011] and [0043] and Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first tube and second tube of the delivery device of Trans in view of Rafiee and Le to be nitinol as taught by Euteneuer, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trans et al. (US Pub. No.: 6,524,299) in view of Rafiee (US Pub. No.: 2006/0074403) and Le et al. (US Pat. No. 6,355,027) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Pepin et al. (US Pat. No.: 5,614,136).
Regarding claim 13, Trans in view of Rafiee and Le discloses all the limitations of claim 12 as taught above. Furthermore, Trans discloses that taper can be any convenient length (Col. 4, lines 25-28). However, neither Trans nor Rafiee specifically discloses that the taper extends at least 2 cm in order for the conduit body to define a variable kink radius transitioning from the first kink radius to the second kink radius.
Pepin teaches, in the same field of endeavor (catheter / delivery device), a taper defined by a transition zone extends at least 2 cm in order for the conduit body to define a variable kink radius transitioning from the first kink radius to the second kink radius (Col. 8, lines 3-5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the taper of Trans in view of Rafiee and Le to extends at least 2 cm in order for the conduit body to define a variable kink radius transitioning from the first kink radius to the second kink radius as taught by Pepin in order to allow the transition zone / taper to curve at a desired degree.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trans et al. (US Pub. No.: 6,524,299) in view of Rafiee (US Pub. No.: 2006/0074403) and Le et al. (US Pat. No. 6,355,027) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Samson et al. (US Pat. No.: 6,090,099)
Regarding claim 17, Trans in view of Rafiee and Le discloses substantially all the limitation of the claim as taught above but fails to disclose a heat shrink positioned around the first flexibility zone, transition zone, and the second flexible zone.
Samson teaches, in the same field of endeavor (medical catheter/delivery device), a heat shrink (208, Fig. 2) positioned around the first flexibility zone (204, Fig. 2), transition zone (the tapered zone shown in Fig. 2 or the zone between 202 and 204, Fig. 2), and the second flexible zone (202, Fig. 2 and Col. 8, lines 36-43).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the delivery device of Trans in view of Rafiee and Le to include a heat shrink positioned around the first flexibility zone, transition zone, and the second flexible zone as taught by Samson in order to obtain the advantage of creating a unitary structure having high kink resistance in additional to the variable flexibility and pushability (Samson, Col. 8, lines 35-43).
Response to Arguments
All the ground(s) of rejection made in the most recent office action have been withdrawn in light of the amendment. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-17, 33, and 34 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771