DETAILED ACTION
Applicants amendment filed October 9, 2025 has been received and entered. Claims 3-4 have been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-2, and 5-21 remain pending in the instant application, of which claims 14-21 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being vague and indefinite in the recitation of “not typically pathogenic” is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. The rejection of claims 1-13 as not directed to patent eligible subject matter is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. The rejection of claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grifantini et al is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. The rejection of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifantini et al in view of Cleary et al is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendment.
The following new grounds of rejection are applied to the amended claims:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al.
NOTE: Applicants assert that the cancellation of claim 4 and incorporation into claim 1 renders the claims novel over Grifantini et al. However, Applicants will hopefully appreciate that claim 3 was rejected over Grifantini et al for the genus of Escherichia. Applicants amendment to claim 1 did involve deleting the genus of Escherichia for several recited Escherichia species, however it also included several distinct genus members, (e.g., Bacteroides from original claim 3) that remain anticipated by the prior art.
The claims are drawn to a therapeutic composition comprising a commensal bacterial outer membrane vesicle (OMV) loaded with a therapeutic moiety that is exogenous to the OMV, wherein the commensal bacteria OMV is from a bacterial genera selected from Akkermansia, Bacteroides, Enterococcus, Klebsiella, Parabacteroides, Prevotella, Pseudomonas, Staphylococcus, or Veillonella or an Escherichia coli bacterial species selected from DH5-alpha, 541-15, 568-2, T75, LF82, 79, 88 117, 128, 132, 142, 143, 147, 149, UM-146, HM427, HM428, HM452, HM454, HM455, HM456, HM463, HM484, HM484, HM488, HM489, HM615, 4F, 13I, 30A, 150F, NRG857c.
Lu et al (US Publication 2017/0145061) disclose of human gut commensals of Bacteroides species to secrete heterologous therapeutic proteins via outer membrane vesicles. (See abstract; claims). Lu et al further disclose the OMVs to have a diameter ranging from 20 to 250 nm. (See paragraph 0033). Lu et al further disclose the therapeutic protein to be an antibody, cytokine or growth factor. (See claim 12). Lu et al further disclose of administering the OMVs comprising a therapeutic protein via oral administration. (See paragraph 0059).
Accordingly, Lu et al disclose of each and every limitation of the instantly filed claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT M NAVARRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 December 22, 2025