DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 03/24/2026:
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 21-26 are pending.
Claims 5 and 12-20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Costabeber (US20180178452), and further in view of Moussa et al. (US20090283109) and Fan (CN202274760U- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Costabeber teaches an integrated additive manufacturing system
(printing unit 1; Figure 4), comprising:
(a) at least one resin supply (at least one recharge cartridge 41; Figure 4);
(b) a plurality of additive manufacturing machines on which parts may be produced
([0069]; Figure 4), each of said additive manufacturing machines operatively associated with
said at least one resin supply ([0073] a recharge cartridge 41 and a vat 42, which are suited to
be installed on said stereolithography machine 2 and each one of which is provided with a
readable univocal identification code ID); and
(d) a database (database 8; Figure 4) operatively associated with each of said plurality of
additive manufacturing machines ([0097]),
wherein said database is configured to:
associate resin data for each part produced on each of carrier plates with a unique
identifier of each of a resin cartridge or a vat ([0097] the information concerning the type of
material transferred into said vat 42 is preferably but not necessarily read from the RFID tag 71
of the recharge cartridge 41 from which said material is extracted),
communicate said resin data to a remote server based on the unique identifier of each
of a resin cartridge or a vat read by a RFID transceiver on each of the additive manufacturing
machines ([0100]).
However, Costabeber fails to teach at least one peripheral machine spaced apart from and operatively associated with each of said additive manufacturing machine and configured to perform operations on said parts produced by the additive manufacturing machine,
wherein each of said additive manufacturing machines includes a releasable carrier
plate on which a part is produced from said resin supply.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Moussa teaches
at least one peripheral machine spaced apart from and operatively associated with an additive manufacturing machine (a curing oven as shown in Figure 3) and configured to perform operations on parts produced by the additive manufacturing machine ([0042] Referring now to FIG. 3, a fully automated process is disclosed. More specifically, a part handling device 56 selectively removes the build pad 54 (and part 26) from the SFF system 52 after the green part has been produced. The part handling device 56 positions the part in mechanical communication with the part retaining device 24 inside the housing 12 of the post-processing system 10; Figure 3),
wherein the additive manufacturing machine includes a releasable carrier plate (see
build pad 54 in Figure 3) on which the part is produced ([0042] a part handling device 56
selectively removes the build pad 54 (and part 26) from the SFF system 52 after the green part
has been produced) from a resin supply ([0003] For example, in stereolithography a tightly
focused beam of energy, typically in the ultraviolet radiation band, is scanned across sequential
layers of a liquid photopolymer resin to selectively cure resin of each layer to form a
multilayered part and [0033] One non-limiting example of alternative material and cleaning
fluid include the cleaning of a part comprising a resin that is typically used in the
stereolithography process of SFF).
The at least one peripheral machine of Moussa can perform post-processing steps such as curing the part to convert a green par to a final model ([0004] The green part produced by SFF often requires post-processing steps such as cleaning the part, curing the part, and/or the removing of support material to convert the green part to a final model). Further, the at least one peripheral machine of Moussa increases post-processing automation and minimizes technician involvement ([0035] the post-processing system 10 of FIG. 3 in which a part handling device is adapted to selectively position the part in the housing 12 and remove the part from the housing, such that no technician involvement is necessary), resulting in a safe and efficient way to clean and/or cure parts produced by additive manufacturing techniques such as stereolithography (Abstract: systems also include additional features to provide safe and efficient cleaning and/or curing of parts produced by SFF).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the integrated additive manufacturing system of
Costabeber include the at least one peripheral machine of Moussa, for the benefit of
curing the additively manufactured parts to achieve a final part in a safe and automated manner.
While Moussa teaches said at least one peripheral machine includes a unique identifier reader (RFID reader device 106; Figure 12) operatively associated with a container of cleaning fluid thereon ([0054] the RFID reader device is adapted to receive information about the cleaning fluid from an RFID tag device 108 associated with the container of cleaning fluid), wherein cleaning fluid data is communicated to the at least one peripheral machine based on the unique identifier of the cleaning fluid container read by the unique identifier reader of the at least one peripheral machine ([0054] Such information includes, but is not limited to, the amount of cleaning fluid in the container, the type of cleaning fluid in the container, the age of the cleaning fluid, and the like. As the cleaning fluid release device, in conjunction with the controller, of the post-processing system is able to determine the amount of cleaning fluid released from the container, the RFID reader device 106 is able to write updated information to the RFID tag device 108 to maintain current information on the RFID tag device), Moussa fails to teach each of said carrier plates having a carrier plate unique identifier operatively associated therewith, wherein said at least one peripheral machine includes a carrier plate unique identifier reader operatively associated thereon that is configured to read said unique identifier of each said carrier plate after said carrier plate is transported from a respective one of said plurality of additive manufacturing machines to said at least one peripheral machine,
wherein said database is configured to:
associate part configuration data and/or resin data for each part produced on each of said carrier plates with said unique identifier of each of said carrier plates; and communicate said part configuration data and/or said resin data to said at least one peripheral machine based on said unique identifier of respective ones of said carrier plates read by said carrier plate unique identifier reader of said at least one peripheral machine, and
wherein said at least one peripheral machine is configured to perform said operations on each part based on said part configuration data and/or said resin data that is associated with said unique identifier of respective ones of said carrier plates read by said carrier plate unique identifier reader of said at least one peripheral machine.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to automatic identification and data capture systems for automating processing steps, Fan teaches a unique identifier on a carrier plate holding a part to be processed in an oven (Abstract: “baking plate is respectively provided with a box bar code, the grill bar and a baking plate bar code” and see baking plate bar code 31 of the baking plate 3 in Figure 1) where part configuration data is associated with the unique identifier of a carrier plate ([0016] firstly reading the product barcode baking product is composed of a bar code reading device, so as to obtain the corresponding to the product code stored in the system database in the product category, material, weight and size information, and according to this to a batch of product are compatible in the same designated area),
the reader of the at least one peripheral machine is a carrier plate unique identifier reader that is configured to read said unique identifier of each said carrier plate after said carrier plate is transported from a separate location to the at least one peripheral machine ([0016] after the baking plate placed in the grill, grill into the batch oven box, the bar code reading device reads the box bar code on the baking frame bar code and the box in the upper grill is. and the grill bar and box bar code by the PLC central control system, if the box bar code to be gridiron bar of the oven is compatible, allowing, if box code to be gridiron bar of the oven are not compatible, which means that a grill into oven box, the system error. not allowing the grill into the box. by comparing each level code to realize the product to be baked into oven of stock control function so as to avoid the manual incorrect operation caused by material, size, weight and difference is large and the need to use different roasting technique is not compatible with baking quality problem generated when the product is placed in the same oven) such that the at least one peripheral machine is configured to perform operations on each part based on part configuration data that is associated with the unique identifier of the carrier plate ([0016] In addition, the intelligent environment-friendly industrial oven also comprises automatic informing can be set in function of the product number, the product number according to product size, oven maximum weight can be contained with the product size, calculated by weight, so as to avoid overload and cause the variation of product quality. [0017], when all the products into the oven, the PLC central control system will automatically select the proper process flow is processed according to the type and amount of the placed product, comprising the optimum baking temperature, time, and the like. content of different products are different). The oven of Fan automatically processes the parts, manages technical parameter optimization, and avoids human error while ensuring product quality (Abstract: “The intelligent environment-friendly industrial oven, it can automatically process the goods management, technical parameter optimization, air quantity control and door open limit, avoiding the occurrence of human error, ensures the product quality, energy-saving and environment-friendly”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the carrier plate of Costabeber modified with Moussa include a carrier plate unique identifier operatively associated therewith and for the curing oven of Costabeber modified with Moussa to include a carrier plate unique identifier reader operatively associated thereon that is configured to read said unique identifier of each said carrier plate after said carrier plate is transported from a respective one of said plurality of additive manufacturing machines to said at least one peripheral machine, as taught by Fan, and for the database of Costabeber modified with Moussa to be configured to associate part configuration data for each part produced on each of said carrier plates with said unique identifier of each of said carrier plates; and communicate said part configuration data to said at least one peripheral machine based on said unique identifier of respective ones of said carrier plates read by said carrier plate unique identifier reader of said at least one peripheral machine, as taught by Fan, and for the at least one peripheral machine of Costabeber modified with Moussa to be configured to perform said operations on each part based on said part configuration data that is associated with said unique identifier of respective ones of said carrier plates read by said carrier plate unique identifier reader of said at least one peripheral machine, as taught by Fan, for the benefit of automatically processes multiple parts, managing technical parameter optimization of multiple parts, and avoiding human error while ensuring product quality.
Regarding claim 2, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of
claim 1. Further Costabeber teaches wherein said at least one resin supply comprises a single-
use resin supply, each of which can be associated with one of said additive manufacturing
machines (see recharge cartridge 41 for each additive manufacturing apparatus in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of
claim 1.
Further, Moussa teaches wherein said at least one peripheral machine comprises: at
least one part post-production machine including a part oven (see Figure 10). The oven of
Moussa allows for any uncured build material to be fully cured in an automated manner that
prevents a technician from coming into contact with potentially dangerous solvents or
chemicals, and prevents the part from being damaged or broken due to handling before a final
curing ([0004]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one peripheral machine of
Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan include a part oven, as taught by Moussa, for the
benefit of fully curing any uncured build material in an automated manner that increases
technician safety and prevents part damage.
Regarding claim 4, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of
claim 1.
Further, Moussa teaches wherein said at least one peripheral machine comprises a part
washing machine (Abstract: The systems also include a fluid circulation device adapted to expose the part to cleaning fluid and/or to allow the cleaning fluid to absorb actinic radiation to
permit filtration of removed build material to allow extended use of the cleaning fluid).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one peripheral machine of
Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan comprise a part washing machine, as taught by
Moussa, for the benefit of cleaning the part in an automated manner that increases technician
safety and prevents part damage.
Regarding claim 6, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of
claim 1.
Further, Costabeber teaches wherein: said database (database 8; Figure 5) is further
configured to contain specific resin data for each of a plurality of different resins ([0080]-
[0082]);
said at least one resin supply comprises a resin container (recharge cartridge 41; Figure
5) having a resin therein and a resin unique identifier operatively associated therewith, said
resin unique identifier associated with specific resin data for the contained resin ([0076] ach
one of the consumable elements 4, in particular the recharge cartridge 41 and the vat 42,
comprises a storage and transmission device 7, preferably a RFID tag 71, in which said univocal
identification code ID is previously stored); and
each of said plurality of additive manufacturing machines comprises a resin unique
identifier reader (means 32; Figure 5) operatively associated therewith ([0076]) and a resin
reservoir (vat 42; Figure 5) configured to receive resin from said resin container ([0072]);
with each of said plurality of additive manufacturing machines configured to carry out a
part production process with said resin based on both part configuration data and said specific
resin data ([0063] subject of the invention includes the step of reading the previously stored
value related to the total quantity of base material associated with the specific
stereolithography machine to be used. In other words, the method includes the reading of the
print credit of the specific stereolithography machine. Furthermore, the method of the
invention includes the step of calculating the quantity of base material that is necessary for
making a specific three-dimensional object. Having said two pieces of information available, the
method of the invention provides for comparing them, in such a way as to verify whether the
total quantity of base material, that is, the print credit, associated with the stereolithography
machine exceeds the quantity of base material that is necessary for making said three-
dimensional object). Carrying out a part production process based on both part configuration
data and specific resin data ensures that enough build material is present to complete a desired
build. Further, a resin unique identifier reader on a resin container ensures consumable
elements are authentic to the additive manufacturing apparatus, which avoids the use of non-
authentic consumable elements that may lead to parts produced with lower quality ([0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of
claim 1.
Moussa teaches said at least one peripheral machine also comprises both a curing oven and a part washing machine (Abstract: The systems also include a fluid circulation device adapted to expose the part to cleaning fluid and/or to allow the cleaning fluid to absorb actinic radiation to permit filtration of removed build material to allow extended use of the cleaning fluid).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one peripheral machine of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan also include the washing machine of Moussa such that the at least one peripheral machine includes said carrier plate unique identifier reader operatively associated therewith; said part washing machine is configured to select and carry out a part washing process on each part from a plurality of different part washing processes based on part configuration data, as taught by the oven of Fan, for the benefit of automatically processes multiple parts, managing technical parameter optimization of multiple parts, and avoiding human error while ensuring product quality.
Regarding claim 8, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of
claim 1.
Further, Moussa teaches wherein at least one of said peripheral machines is configured
to releasably secure said carrier plate ([0042] The part retaining device 24, which is also shown
in FIG. 9, comprises clip portions 58 that are adapted to selectively retain the build pad 54 and
thus the part 26; see build pad 54 with part 26 going into post processing machine 10 in Figure
3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the at least one of said peripheral machines of
Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan be configured to releasably secure said carrier plate, as taught by Moussa, for the benefit of moving the part from the 3D printer to the
peripheral machine while avoiding a user from directly touching the part which may have
harmful, uncured material (see part handling device 56 handling the part 26 on build pad 54 in
Figure 3; [0004] a skilled technician as many green parts include uncured build material that
should not contact the technician's skin or the green parts may comprise fragile portions that
could be damaged or broken prior to the full cure of the post-process operation). Further, if it
were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the carrier plate (whether it is for
cleaning, maintenance, etc…), it would be obvious to make the carrier plate releasable for that
purpose (see MPEP 2144.04 V.C.).
Regarding claim 9, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of claim 1.
Moussa teaches the system further comprising: (e) an oven operatively associated with each said additive manufacturing machine; with said oven configured to select and carry out a baking process on each part from a plurality of different baking processes, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Further, Fan teaches the plurality of different baking processes is selected based on
part configuration data, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Further Fan teaches a process flow comprising an optimum baking temperature and time is determined for a product detected by a barcode reader, and that the oven performs a process parameter optimization ([0012] intelligent environment-friendly industrial oven of this utility model is capable of automatically performing purchasing management, process parameter optimization), such that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the database of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan to record baking process data for each part baked in said oven of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan, for the benefit of automating process optimization that ensures product quality while avoiding human error.
Regarding claim 21, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system
of claim 1.
Moussa teaches wherein each said part remains on the carrier plate on which said part
was produced as the part is placed into the at least one peripheral machine (see Figure 3) and
that the at least one peripheral machine includes a unique identifier for reader for reading a
unique identifier of the cleaning fluid container.
Further, Fan teaches the unique identifier of said carrier plate is read by the carrier
plate unique identifier reader, as noted in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the part of Costabeber modified
with Moussa and Fan remain on the carrier plate on which the part was produced, as taught by Moussa, and for the unique identifier and the unique identifier reader of the part washing
machine of Moussa to be a unique identifier of the carrier plate and a unique identifier carrier
plate reader, as taught by Fan, such that each said part remains on the carrier plate on
which said part was produced as said unique identifier of said carrier plate is read by said
carrier plate unique identifier reader of said at least one peripheral machine. Keeping the part
on the carrier plate on which the part was produced as the part is placed into the at least one
peripheral machine has a known benefit of automating the process such that a user avoids
directly touching the part which may have harmful, uncured material or lead to part damage.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the unique identifier and the
unique identifier reader of the at least one peripheral machine of Costabeber modified with
Moussa to be a unique identifier of the carrier plate and a unique identifier carrier plate reader,
as taught by Fan. Automating the at least one peripheral machine with a unique identifier
carrier plate reader and a unique identifier of the carrier plate has a known benefit of
automating peripheral additive manufacturing processes and removing human variability that
minimizes exposure to potentially harmful solvents and chemicals. Moussa and Fan both
teach part processing machines with identifiers, such as RFID tags, and readers that improve
automation in part manufacturing processes. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be
prompted to look to the identifier and reader of Fan to further improve automation in the at
least one peripheral machine of Moussa.
Regarding claim 23, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system
of claim 7.
Further Fan teaches a process flow comprising an optimum baking temperature and time is determined for a product detected by a barcode reader, and that the oven performs a process parameter optimization ([0012] intelligent environment-friendly industrial oven of this utility model is capable of automatically performing purchasing management, process parameter optimization), such that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the database of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan to record a time of wash for each part washed in said part washing machine and oven of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan, for the benefit of automating process optimization that ensures product quality while avoiding human error.
Regarding claim 24, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of claim 9.
Further, Moussa teaches wherein each said part remains on the carrier plate on which
said part was produced ([0042] The part retaining device 24, which is also shown in FIG. 9,
comprises clip portions 58 that are adapted to selectively retain the build pad 54 and thus the
part 26; see build pad 54 with part 26 going into post processing machine 10 in Figure 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the part of Costabeber, Moussa, and Fan remain on the carrier plate on which said part was produced, as taught by Moussa. Keeping the part on the carrier plate on which the part was produced as the part is placed into the at least one peripheral machine has a known benefit of automating the process such that a user avoids directly touching the part which may have harmful, uncured material or lead to part damage.
Regarding claim 25, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system of claim 9. Further Fan teaches a process flow comprising an optimum baking temperature and time is determined for a product detected by a barcode reader, and that the oven performs a process parameter optimization ([0012] intelligent environment-friendly industrial oven of this utility model is capable of automatically performing purchasing management, process parameter optimization), such that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the database of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan to record a time of bake for each part baked in said part washing machine and oven of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan, for the benefit of automating process optimization that ensures product quality while avoiding human error.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Costabeber
(US20180178452), Moussa et al. (US20090283109) and Fan (CN202274760U- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Houben et al. (US20170050379).
Regarding claim 10, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system
of claim 1.
However, Costabeber, Moussa and Fan fail to teach wherein each of said additive
manufacturing machines is configured to apply a part unique identifier to each part produced
thereon; with said database further configured to record said part unique identifier from each
of said additive manufacturing machines.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Houben teaches wherein each of said additive manufacturing machines is configured to apply a part unique
identifier to each part produced thereon; with said database further configured to record said
part unique identifier from each of said additive manufacturing machines ([0065] The apparatus
further may comprise a reader (717) for automatic reading of codes attached to the platforms,
substrates or products. The reader may be an optical reader suitable for reading codes like a
barcode or a QR code. It may however, also be a radio reader suitable for reading information
from for example RFID tags, or a magnetic reader for reading information in a magnetisable
strip. The reader may sent the information to a control unit, which control unit may comprise a
software program for storing information about the platform and the product placed on it. Such
software program may decide about the further processing steps that have to be performed
with respect to the product or the platform).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have each additive manufacturing machine of
Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan be configured to apply a part unique identifier
to each part produced thereon, and for the database of Costabeber modified with Moussa and
Fan be further configured to record said part unique identifier from each of said additive
manufacturing machines, as taught by Hoben. The process of layerwise manufacturing may
result in an accumulation of errors, and one of ordinary skill would be motivated to record
such errors to provide a post processing machine with instructions on how to remove the
errors, or to provide information on a processing, structure relationship that can prevent the
formation of such errors in future builds.
Claim(s) 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Costabeber (US20180178452), Moussa et al. (US20090283109) and Fan (CN202274760U- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Carlson et al. (US20160229123).
Regarding claim 11, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system
of claim 1. Further, Moussa teaches the build plate is an interchangeable build plate (see Figure
3 of Moussa).
While Costabeber teaches a stereolithography machine with a vat bottom transparent
to radiation ([0005]) and that the solidified layers are supported on a build plate ([0007]),
Costabeber, Moussa and Fan fail to teach each of said additive manufacturing machines
including an interchangeable build plate, said interchangeable build plate including an optically
transparent member and a build plate unique identifier, with each of said plurality of additive
manufacturing machines further including a build plate unique identifier reader; and with said
database further configured to record build plate data for each part produced on each of said
plurality of additive manufacturing machines.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Carlson teaches
each of said additive manufacturing machines including a build plate (carrier 118-2; Figure 2),
said build plate including an optically transparent member ([0044] CLIP may be carried out by
generating the inhibitor of polymerization electrochemically, such as by an optically transparent
electrode or electrode array associated with the window or build plate) and a build plate
unique identifier (data store circuit 118-2S in Figure 2; [0098] data store circuits 118-2S and
118-3S each may be a near field communication (NFC) tag (e.g., RFID)), with each of said
plurality of additive manufacturing machines further including a build plate unique identifier reader ([0098] communication circuit 118-1C may initiate communication by generating a
carrier field (e.g., RF field), and the data store circuits 118-2S and 118-3S may be activated
responsive to the carrier field and may transmit the identification information for the carrier
118-2 and the build window 118-3 to the communication circuit 118-1C); and
with said database further configured to record build plate data for each part produced
on each of said plurality of additive manufacturing machines ([0100] the body data store circuit
118-1S may include a database that outputs the starting heights of the carrier 118-2 and the
build window 118-3 responsive to input data including the identification information for the 3D
CLIP printer 118, the carrier 118-2 and the build window 118-3).
A build plate unique identifier and build plate unique identifier reader can determine
build plate heights that avoid physical damage to the build window by the build plate ([0095] The predetermined distance between the carrier 118-2 and the build window 118-3 may need to provide acceptable printing performance and/or not to cause physical damage to the build
window 118-3 by the carrier 118-2. For example, the build window 118-3 may be cracked or
torn if the carrier 118-2 hits the build window 118-3). Further, recording build plate data for
each part produced on each of said plurality of additive manufacturing machines allows for the
usage of each additive manufacturing machine to be tracked to rotate fabrication of objects
among printers to avoid excessive wear to sub-regions of the window ([0064]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the build plate of Costabeber modified with
Moussa and Fan to include a build plate unique identifier and for each of the additive
manufacturing machines of Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan to include a build plate unique identifier reader, as taught by Carlson, for the benefit of determining build plate
heights that avoid physical damage to the build window by the build plate.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the database of Costabeber
modified with Moussa and Fan be further configured to record build plate data for each part
produced, as taught by Carlson, for the benefit of tracking the additive manufacturing use and
rotating fabrication of objects among printers to avoid excessive wear to sub-regions of the
window.
Regarding claim 22, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system
of claim 1.
However, Costabeber, Moussa and Fan fail to teach wherein said database is further
configured to record time of production for each part produced on each carrier plate.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Carlson teaches
recording time of production for each part produced on each carrier plate ([0070] The job
control API 143 may be responsible for authorizing the remote 3D CLIP printer 118 as needed,
and for receiving updated status information from the remote 3D CLIP printer 118, e.g., real-
time video feedback of the fabrication in-progress, estimated time of completion, whether the
fabrication failed, instrumentation status, etc) and [0078] The log data of past fabrication jobs
performed by 3D CLIP printers 118 may include, for example, an accumulated time that a build
window has been used, a number of fabrication jobs that have been performed using a build
window and/or sub-regions within a build window that have been used for fabrication. The values for fabrication parameters generated by the modeling application 116 may be stored in
the 3D CLIP modeling server 114, the 3D CLIP print server 104 and/or the 3D CLIP printers 118).
Recording the production time provides a user information related to whether a
fabrication job is desirable (i.e. user time constraints) ([0070] As shown, the fabrication job
router 138 may include or otherwise be associated with a job fetch API 142 and/or a job control
API 143. For example, the job fetch API 142 may be configured to provide the fabrication job to
the remote 3D CLIP printer 118, e.g., may be used by the remote 3D CLIP printer 118 to fetch a
desired fabrication job. The job control API 143 may be responsible for authorizing the remote
3D CLIP printer 118 as needed, and for receiving updated status information from the remote
3D CLIP printer 118, e.g., real-time video feedback of the fabrication in-progress, estimated
time of completion, whether the fabrication failed, instrumentation status, etc. Such status
information also may be stored using the job storage 140, in association with the corresponding
fabrication job in question) and allows for the usage of each additive manufacturing machine to
be tracked to rotate fabrication of objects among printers to avoid excessive wear to sub-
regions of the window ([0064]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the database of Costabeber modified with
Moussa and Fan be further configured to record time of production for each part produced
on each carrier plate, as taught by Carlson, for the benefit of determining desirable fabrication
job parameters that include print time and for the benefit of tracking the additive
manufacturing use and rotating fabrication of objects among printers to avoid excessive wear
to sub-regions of the window.
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Costabeber
(US20180178452), Moussa et al. (US20090283109) and Fan (CN202274760U- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Hiatt et al. (US20040159340).
Regarding claim 26, Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan teaches the system
of claim 1. While Moussa teaches the at least one peripheral machine is configured to rotate
the parts (see Figure 6 and Figure 7 of Moussa), Costabeber, Moussa, and Fan fail to teach
wherein said at least one peripheral machine is further configured to spin each of the parts to
centrifugally remove residual resin and/or wash liquid.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to additive manufacturing, Hiatt teaches
wherein said at least one peripheral machine is further configured to spin each of the parts to
centrifugally remove residual resin and/or wash liquid ([0081] excess unconsolidated material
126 and/or cleaning agents 127 are removed, by spinning, from each fabrication substrate 50
that is carried by support element 132", receptacle 172", 182" will receive substantially all of
the excess unconsolidated material 126 or cleaning agents 127 that are removed therefrom and
Claim 25. “wherein applying centrifugal force comprises spinning the substrate”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have said at least one peripheral machine of
Costabeber modified with Moussa and Fan be configured to spin each of the parts to
centrifugally remove residual resin and/or wash liquid, as taught by Hiatt. Centrifugally spinning
the parts has a known benefit of promoting the removal of residual resin and/or wash liquid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743