Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 1-5, 9, 14, and 16-17 are acknowledged. These amendments overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 16-17 and the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-10, 14, 16-17, 20-21, and 24-25, and these rejections are accordingly withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5, 14, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites the limitations “in order to make the second deformable armature change from the extended configuration to the compact configuration and vice versa and from the compact configuration to the extended configuration” and it appears that the amendment “and from the compact configuration to the extended configuration” was intended to clarify the meaning of vice versa, however “vice versa” was not removed from the claim and is now unnecessary and confusing in combination with the amendment.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
112(f) invoked with presence of “Means”
The claim limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 14 recites the limitation “means for moving at least one rigid portion, in order to make the second deformable armature change from the extended configuration to the compact configuration and vice versa” (but does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, to which this limitation is being interpreted to require is a control rod. Support for this interpretation is found in paragraph [0063] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kruttli (EP 3671370 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kruttli discloses a diaphragm deployment device for horology, the device comprising
a first rigid armature (4); and
a second deformable armature (3),
wherein the first rigid armature and the second deformable armature are connected to one another, so that the second deformable armature changes from a first extended configuration [fig. 3] to a second compact configuration [0021-0023], and changes from the second compact configuration to the first extended configuration [0021-0023],
wherein the device defines a first geometry (larger diameter circular outline) [fig. 3] when the second deformable armature is in the first extended configuration, and defines a second geometry smaller than the first geometry, when the second deformable armature is in the second compact configuration (smaller diameter circular outline when rigid portions 12 are more compact) [0023],
wherein the device extends substantially in the same plane when the second armature is in the first or in the second configuration [fig. 3], and
wherein the second deformable armature comprises a plurality of first deformable portions (14) and a plurality of rigid portions (10, 12)
alternately arranged so that a first deformable portion of the plurality of first deformable portions connects a rigid portion (10) of the plurality of rigid portions to a following rigid portion (12) of the plurality of rigid portions [fig. 3] (each deformable portion 14 is between the rigid portion 10 and the rigid portions 12).
Regarding Claim 5, Kruttli discloses the device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein each deformable portion comprises a flexible strip (14) [0025] connecting by its ends two rigid portions (10 and 12) of the plurality of rigid portions, or a rigid portion of the plurality of rigid portions and the first rigid armature.
Regarding Claim 14, Kruttli discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising means (pivot pins 20, equivalent to pivoting support rod) for moving at least one rigid portion of the plurality of rigid portions, in order to make the second deformable armature change from the extended configuration to the compact configuration and vice versa and from the compact configuration to the extended configuration [0024].
Regarding Claim 25, Kruttli discloses the device according to claim 1, and further discloses a timepiece [abstract], comprising a diaphragm-type deployment device according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 16-17, 20-21, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN ANDREW JOHNSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831