DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Amendment filed on March 30, 2026 has been reviewed.
Claims 1, 11 and 19 are amended in the amendment.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
As per claims 1, 11 and 19, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (as explained in MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II).
In the instant case, with respect to claims 1, 11 and 19, at least in part, recites “…when the processor determines that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod, send a reply,… install a CCC,…; and enable caching the content item at the pod; ” or “when the processor determines that the content item can be transferred from the pod, transfer the content item…”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claims 1, 11 and 19 requires either “… determines that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod,” OR “… determines that the content item can be transferred from the pod.”
For examination purposes, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation described above, the Examiner elects “when the processor determines that the content item can be transferred from the pod, transfer the content item….” Therefore, the Examiner is not required to address/examine any limitations (i.e., send a reply,… install a CCC,…; and enable caching the content item at the pod;) or dependent claims (i.e., claims 5-7 and claims 15-17) that depend from the non-elected limitations (i.e., when the processor determines that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod,…) because these limitations and dependent claims do not provide any patentable weight to the claimed invention. However, for examination and compact prosecution purposes, the Examiner will also provide an additional rejection for all of the required claims limitations/elements and the optional claim limitations/elections as indicated above.
If the Applicant believes, for any reason, that personal communication will expedite prosecution of this application, the Applicant is invited to schedule an interview with the Examiner using the number provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0007536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Smith (US 2021/0084103 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches A first device comprising a pod (electronic device, para. 0096; cache data pod, para. 0108) and a processor (processor, para. 0108) configured to:
receive a request, from a second device, to transfer a content item to the second device (the MEC-vRAN switch pod first determine whether data requested from the terminal or the data to be transmitted to the terminal is in the cache server pod, para. 0120);
determine whether the content item can be transferred from the pod to the second device using a content caching container (CCC) (the MEC-vRAN switch pod first determine whether data requested from the terminal or the data to be transmitted to the terminal is in the cache server pod, para. 0120; the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108); and
when the processor determines that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120),
send a reply, to the second device, indicating that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod to the second device (if the corresponding data is not in the cache server pod, an HTTP 404 error code transmitted in a response, para. 0133);
use a CCC, which is configured to send content items on the pod to a device (the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108; if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120; ); and
enable caching the content item at the pod (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120); or
when the processor determines the content item can be transferred from the pod (if there is data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to receive data from the corresponding cache server pod and transmit it to the terminal, para. 0120),
transfer the content item via the CCC on the pod (if there is data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to receive data from the corresponding cache server pod and transmit it to the terminal, para. 0120; also see para. 0133; the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108).
Lee does teach use the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped (para. 0108).
Lee does not explicitly teach
install a CCC, on the pod;
However, Smith teaches
install a CCC, on the pod (the sidecar containers injected by an extension the user installs on the cloud control plane of cloud 320, sidecar container 720 is injected into pod 710 in cluster 400; the sidecar container 720 configured to intercept API calls from the workloads 730 running in pod 710, which are directed to API server, and simulate the cluster bridging aggregator which is absent from source cluster, para. 0089) in order to allow servers and clients to communicate with each other as taught by Smith (para. 0015);
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Smith to the device of Lee in order to allow servers and clients to communicate with each other as taught by Smith (para. 0015).
With respect to claim 2, Lee teaches The first device of claim 1, wherein the first device includes an edge device in a service provider network, and wherein the second device is in a network of a customer premises (the edge server 305 have a locality for providing content to the electronic device 101 located adjacent to the edge server 305, para. 0096).
With respect to claim 3, Lee teaches The first device of claim 1, wherein the first device and the second device are included in a network of a customer premises (the edge server 305 disposed inside the CN 303 or disposed in a separate user computer, para. 0096) in order to perform efficiently operating and managing these pods as taught by Lee (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 4, Lee teaches The first device of claim 1, wherein when determining whether the content item can be transferred, the processor is further configured to at least one of:
determine whether the content item is stored in a database on the first device (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120); or
determine whether the pod includes the first CCC.
With respect to claim 5, Lee teaches The first device of claim 1, wherein when enabling the caching, the processor is further configured to:
store the content item in a database on the first device (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120).
With respect to claim 11, Lee teaches A method comprising:
receiving, at a first device, a request from a second device, to transfer a content item to the second device (the MEC-vRAN switch pod first determine whether data requested from the terminal or the data to be transmitted to the terminal is in the cache server pod, para. 0120);
determining whether the content item can be transferred from a pod to the second device using a content caching container (CCC) (the MEC-vRAN switch pod first determine whether data requested from the terminal or the data to be transmitted to the terminal is in the cache server pod, para. 0120; the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108); and
when the processor determines that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120),
sending a reply, to the second device, indicating that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod to the second device (if the corresponding data is not in the cache server pod, an HTTP 404 error code transmitted in a response, para. 0133);
using a CCC, which is configured to send content items on the pod to a device (the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108; if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120; ); and
enabling caching the content item at the pod (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120); or
when the processor determines the content item can be transferred from the pod (if there is data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to receive data from the corresponding cache server pod and transmit it to the terminal, para. 0120),
transferring the content item via the CCC on the pod (if there is data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to receive data from the corresponding cache server pod and transmit it to the terminal, para. 0120; also see para. 0133; the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108).
Lee does teach use the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped (para. 0108).
Lee does not explicitly teach
installing a CCC, on the pod;
However, Smith teaches
installing a CCC, on the pod (the sidecar containers injected by an extension the user installs on the cloud control plane of cloud 320, sidecar container 720 is injected into pod 710 in cluster 400; the sidecar container 720 configured to intercept API calls from the workloads 730 running in pod 710, which are directed to API server, and simulate the cluster bridging aggregator which is absent from source cluster, para. 0089) in order to allow servers and clients to communicate with each other as taught by Smith (para. 0015);
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Smith to the method of Lee in order to allow servers and clients to communicate with each other as taught by Smith (para. 0015).
With respect to claim 12, Lee teaches The method of claim 11, wherein the first device includes an edge device in a service provider network, and wherein the second device is in a network of a customer premises (the edge server 305 have a locality for providing content to the electronic device 101 located adjacent to the edge server 305, para. 0096) in order to perform efficiently operating and managing these pods as taught by Lee (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 13, Lee teaches The method of claim 11, wherein the first device and the second device are included in a network of a customer premises (the edge server 305 may be disposed inside the CN 303 or may be disposed in a separate user computer, para. 0096) in order to perform efficiently operating and managing these pods as taught by Lee (para. 0108).
With respect to claim 14, Lee teaches The method of claim 11, wherein determining whether the content item can be transferred includes at least one of:
determining whether the content item is stored in a database on the first device (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120); or
determining whether the pod includes the first CCC.
With respect to claim 15, Lee teaches The method of claim 11, wherein enabling the caching includes:
storing the content item in a database on the first device (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120),
With respect to claim 19, Lee teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising process-executable instructions that (he memory 420 may be configured with a storage medium, para. 0104), when executed by a processor on a first device cause the processor (processor, para. 0108) to:
receive a request, from a second device, to transfer a content item to the second device (the MEC-vRAN switch pod first determine whether data requested from the terminal or the data to be transmitted to the terminal is in the cache server pod, para. 0120);
determine whether the content item can be transferred from the pod to the second device using a content caching container (CCC) (the MEC-vRAN switch pod first determine whether data requested from the terminal or the data to be transmitted to the terminal is in the cache server pod, para. 0120; the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108); and
when the processor determines that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120),
send a reply, to the second device, indicating that the content item cannot be transferred from the pod to the second device (if the corresponding data is not in the cache server pod, an HTTP 404 error code transmitted in a response, para. 0133);
use a CCC, which is configured to send content items on the pod to a device (the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108; if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120; ); and
enable caching the content item at the pod (if there is no data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to request the corresponding data from a core network and then synchronize the requested data back to the cache server pod, para. 0120); or
when the processor determines the content item can be transferred from the pod (if there is data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to receive data from the corresponding cache server pod and transmit it to the terminal, para. 0120),
transfer the content item via the CCC on the pod (if there is data requested or data to be transmitted in the cache server pod, it controlled to receive data from the corresponding cache server pod and transmit it to the terminal, para. 0120; also see para. 0133; the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped, para. 0108).
Lee does teach use the ADPF means a kubernates cluster means a unit called as a pod in which several linux docker containers and server resources required for operating corresponding containers are grouped (para. 0108).
Lee does not explicitly teach
install a CCC, on the pod;
However, Smith teaches
install a CCC, on the pod (the sidecar containers injected by an extension the user installs on the cloud control plane of cloud 320, sidecar container 720 is injected into pod 710 in cluster 400; the sidecar container 720 configured to intercept API calls from the workloads 730 running in pod 710, which are directed to API server, and simulate the cluster bridging aggregator which is absent from source cluster, para. 0089) in order to allow servers and clients to communicate with each other as taught by Smith (para. 0015);
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Smith to the medium of Lee in order to allow servers and clients to communicate with each other as taught by Smith (para. 0015).
With respect to claim 20, Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the first device includes an edge device in a service provider network, and wherein the second device is in a network of a customer premises (the edge server 305 have a locality for providing content to the electronic device 101 located adjacent to the edge server 305, para. 0096).
Claims 6-10 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0007536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Smith (US 2021/0084103 A1), and further in view of Tarasov et al. (US 2022/0147378 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tarasov.
With respect to claim 6, Lee in view of Smith teaches The first device of claim 5 as described above,
Lee in view of Smith does not explicitly teach wherein when enabling the caching, the processor is further configured to:
request a coordinator to arrange for the content item to be sent to the installed CCC.
However, Tarasov teaches wherein when enabling the caching, the processor is further configured to:
request a coordinator to arrange for the content item to be sent to the installed CCC (a container orchestrator used for cache when scheduling containers, para. 0113; a fetcher retrieve content in parallel to not block image building; the fetcher can retrieve content in a prioritized order, para. 0173) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the device of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 7, Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov teaches The first device of claim 6 as described above,
Further, Tarasov teaches wherein the coordinator is configured to:
select a second pod or a content provider to send the content item to the installed CCC (serving metadata packages for installation in container images during image builds, installing metadata software packages in container images, para. 0183);
determine a global rank for a transfer of the content item to the installed CCC (prioritized retrieval order determined by the following steps: 1. Scan Dockerfile for calls to binaries (RUN commands), 2. Order found binaries according to their position in Dockerfile, 3. For each found binary, scan current package for a match, 4. If match is found, append binary to list of prioritized files, 5. Retrieve prioritized binaries in order, para. 0173-0178); and
request the content provider or the second pod to send the content item to the installed CCC (the request may be received at a cluster of computing nodes (e.g., a distributed computing network, a cloud-based computing environment, etc.), para. 0065; if file F is not available locally, the missing file content is fetched from the content store, and the requested data is returned to the application, para. 0108) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the device of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 8, Lee in view of Smith teaches The first device of claim 1 as described above,
Lee in view of Smith does not explicitly teach wherein when transferring the content item, the processor is further configured to:
rank a transfer of the content item; and
queue a transfer object representing the transfer in accordance with the rank.
However, Tarasov teaches wherein when transferring the content item, the processor is further configured to:
rank a transfer of the content item (prioritized retrieval order determined by the following steps: 1. Scan Dockerfile for calls to binaries (RUN commands), 2. Order found binaries according to their position in Dockerfile, 3. For each found binary, scan current package for a match, 4. If match is found, append binary to list of prioritized files, 5. Retrieve prioritized binaries in order, para. 0173-0178); and
queue a transfer object representing the transfer in accordance with the rank (serving metadata packages for installation in container images during image builds, installing metadata software packages in container images, para. 0183) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the device of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 9, Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov teaches The first device of claim 8 as described above,
Further, Tarasov teaches wherein when ranking the transfer, the processor is further configured to determine one or more of:
a total number of requests for the content item (prioritized retrieval order determined by the following steps: 1. Scan Dockerfile for calls to binaries (RUN commands), 2. Order found binaries according to their position in Dockerfile, 3. For each found binary, scan current package for a match, 4. If match is found, append binary to list of prioritized files, 5. Retrieve prioritized binaries in order, para. 0173-0178) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004);
a time to expire;
total usage of a local copy of the content item;
a number of requests for the content item from subscribers of other content providers;
a size of the content item;
content download size options;
performance of the first device; or
a total number of application instances accessing the content item.
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the device of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 10, Lee in view of Smith teaches The first device of claim 1 as described above,
Lee in view of Smith does not explicitly teach wherein when determining whether the content item can be transferred, the processor is further configured to:
determine a signature of the content item.
However, Tarasov teaches wherein when determining whether the content item can be transferred, the processor is further configured to:
determine a signature of the content item (using file F's content hash in the manifest, it is determined whether the file contents are available locally, para. 0108 and 0110) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the device of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 16, Lee in view of Smith teaches The method claim 15 as described above,
Lee in view of Smith does not explicitly teach wherein enabling the caching includes:
requesting a coordinator to arrange for the content item to be sent to the installed CCC (a container orchestrator used for cache when scheduling containers, para. 0113; a fetcher retrieve content in parallel to not block image building. The fetcher can retrieve content in a prioritized order, para. 0173.
However, Tarasov teaches wherein enabling the caching includes:
requesting a coordinator to arrange for the content item to be sent to the installed CCC (a container orchestrator used for cache when scheduling containers, para. 0113; a fetcher retrieve content in parallel to not block image building. The fetcher can retrieve content in a prioritized order, para. 0173) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the method of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 17, Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov teaches The method claim 16 as described above,
Further, Tarasov teaches wherein the coordinator is configured to:
select a second pod or a content provider to send the content item to the installed CCC (serving metadata packages for installation in container images during image builds, installing metadata software packages in container images, para. 0183);
determine a global rank of a transfer of the content item to the installed CCC (prioritized retrieval order determined by the following steps: 1. Scan Dockerfile for calls to binaries (RUN commands), 2. Order found binaries according to their position in Dockerfile, 3. For each found binary, scan current package for a match, 4. If match is found, append binary to list of prioritized files, 5. Retrieve prioritized binaries in order, para. 0173-0178); and
request the content provider or the second pod to send the content item to the installed CCC (the request received at a cluster of computing nodes (e.g., a distributed computing network, a cloud-based computing environment, etc.), para. 0065; if file F is not available locally, the missing file content is fetched from the content store, and the requested data is returned to the application, para. 0108) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the method of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
With respect to claim 18, Lee in view of Smith teaches The method of claim 11 as described above,
Lee in view of Smith does not explicitly teach wherein transferring the content item includes:
ranking a transfer of the content item; and
queuing a transfer object representing the transfer in accordance with the rank.
However, Tarasov teaches wherein transferring the content item includes:
ranking a transfer of the content item (prioritized retrieval order determined by the following steps: 1. Scan Dockerfile for calls to binaries (RUN commands), 2. Order found binaries according to their position in Dockerfile, 3. For each found binary, scan current package for a match, 4. If match is found, append binary to list of prioritized files, 5. Retrieve prioritized binaries in order, para. 0173-0178); and
queuing a transfer object representing the transfer in accordance with the rank (serving metadata packages for installation in container images during image builds, installing metadata software packages in container images, para. 0183) in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Therefore, based on Lee in view of Smith, and further in view of Tarasov, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tarasov to the method of Lee in view of Smith in order to provide a faster and more efficient way to store and distribute container images as taught by Tarasov (para. 0004).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
April 16, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447