Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik).
In regards to claim 1 (Bronn) shows a system, comprising:
a first qubit chip and a second qubit chip; Bronn [0018] teaches a system for transmission of quantum information for quantum error correction, including an ancilla qubit chip and a data qubit chip which are two separate qubit chips spaced apart from each other.
a plurality of coupling elements electrically coupling together the first qubit chip and the second qubit chip; Bronn [0018] teaches a plurality of superconducting structures that enable transmission of quantum information between the plurality of data qubits on the data qubit chip and the plurality of ancilla qubits on the ancilla qubit chip.
an interposer chip electrically coupling together the plurality of coupling elements; Bronn [0018] teaches an interposer coupled to the ancilla qubit chip and the data qubit chip, where the interposer includes a plurality of superconducting structures formed in the dielectric material that electrically couple the qubit chips.
Bronn differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of coupling elements comprise a first coupling element physically coupled to the first qubit chip and to the interposer chip; a second coupling element physically coupled to the second qubit chip and to the interposer chip; a third coupling element separate from direct coupling to either of the first qubit chip or the second qubit chip; wherein the first coupling element comprises a first resonator, a first fixed frequency coupling element, a first tunable frequency coupling element, or a first superconducting quantum interference device; wherein the second coupling element comprises a second resonator, a second fixed frequency coupling element, a second tunable frequency coupling element, or a second superconducting quantum interference device; and wherein the third coupling element comprises a third resonator, a third fixed frequency coupling element, a third tunable frequency coupling element, or a third superconducting quantum interference device.
Paik teaches wherein the plurality of coupling elements comprise a first coupling element physically coupled to the first qubit chip and to the interposer chip; Paik [0024] and [0032] teach an interposer chip connected to the first superconducting chip and to the second superconducting chip, wherein interposer coupler elements are connected to the first superconducting chip and to the interposer chip using solder bumps, thereby providing a coupling element physically coupled to the first qubit chip and to the interposer chip.
Paik teaches a second coupling element physically coupled to the second qubit chip and to the interposer chip; Paik [0024] and [0032] teach that the interposer coupler elements are connected to the second superconducting chip and to the interposer chip using solder bumps, thereby providing a coupling element physically coupled to the second qubit chip and to the interposer chip.
Paik teaches a third coupling element separate from direct coupling to either of the first qubit chip or the second qubit chip; Paik [0024] teaches that the interposer coupler elements comprise microwave lines formed on the interposer chip that couple the qubits of the first chip to the qubits of the second chip and are separate from direct coupling to either the first qubit chip or the second qubit chip.
Paik teaches wherein the first coupling element comprises a first resonator, a first fixed frequency coupling element, a first tunable frequency coupling element, or a first superconducting quantum interference device; Paik [0025] teaches that the coupling elements include any one of resonators, a direct capacitive coupler, or tunable frequency elements such as a superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID), or any combination thereof.
Paik teaches wherein the second coupling element comprises a second resonator, a second fixed frequency coupling element, a second tunable frequency coupling element, or a second superconducting quantum interference device; Paik [0025] teaches that the plurality of coupling elements include resonators, a direct capacitive coupler, or tunable frequency elements such as a SQUID, or any combination thereof, providing a second coupling element of the recited type.
Paik teaches wherein the third coupling element comprises a third resonator, a third fixed frequency coupling element, a third tunable frequency coupling element, or a third superconducting quantum interference device; Paik [0025] teaches that the coupling elements include resonators, a direct capacitive coupler, or tunable frequency elements such as a SQUID, or any combination thereof, providing a third coupling element of the recited type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bronn and Paik to provide functional coupling elements on the interposer that couple a pair of qubit chips, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address superconducting quantum computing architectures using interposers.
In regards to claim 15 (Bronn) does not show a method comprising:
Paik teaches executing a quantum operation at a quantum device comprising a pair of qubits electrically connected by an electrical coupling to one another across an interposer chip by a plurality of coupling elements; Paik [0024] and [0038] teach executing a quantum operation at a quantum device comprising a pair of qubits electrically connected across an interposer chip by interposer coupler elements that couple the second plurality of qubits to the fourth plurality of qubits.
Paik teaches wherein the electrical coupling, of a first qubit, of the pair of qubits, to a second qubit, of the pair of qubits, comprises a series-connected set of capacitively-coupled elements, of the plurality of coupling elements, over the interposer chip; Paik [0024] and [0025] teach that the interposer coupler elements coupling the pair of qubits over the interposer chip include a direct capacitive coupler, providing a series-connected set of capacitively-coupled elements over the interposer chip.
Paik teaches wherein less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements, of the series-connected set of capacitively-coupled elements, are directly coupled to the pair of qubits or to a pair of qubit chips comprising the pair of qubits thereat; Paik [0024] teaches that the interposer coupler elements formed on the interposer chip couple the qubits across the chips such that less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements are directly coupled to the pair of qubits or to the pair of qubit chips.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bronn and Paik to provide functional coupling elements on the interposer that couple a pair of qubit chips, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address superconducting quantum computing architectures using interposers.
Claims 2, 3, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of US20180013052A1 (Oliver).
In regards to claim 2 (Bronn) does not show the system of claim 1:
Paik teaches wherein the first coupling element comprises the first resonator, the second coupling element comprises the second resonator, and the third coupling element comprises the third resonator; Paik [0025] teaches that the coupling elements are provided as resonators, wherein multiple distinct resonators serve as the coupling mechanisms between quantum circuit components.
Paik differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein the first, second, and third resonators are capacitively-coupled to one another.
Oliver teaches wherein the first, second, and third resonators are capacitively-coupled to one another; Oliver [0154-0155] teaches resonator center conductors that are spaced apart from ground plane portions by gaps that create capacitive coupling between resonator elements in quantum circuit structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bronn and Paik to provide functional coupling elements on the interposer that couple a pair of qubit chips, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address superconducting quantum computing architectures using interposers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Oliver to provide capacitively-coupled coplanar waveguide resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 3 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the system of claim 2:
Oliver teaches wherein the first, second, and third resonators are coplanar waveguide resonators; Oliver [0158-0159] teaches coplanar waveguide resonators comprising strips with center conductors disposed between ground plane portions, where the resonator structures provide electromagnetic coupling in quantum circuit applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Oliver to provide capacitively-coupled coplanar waveguide resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 16 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the method of claim 15:
Oliver teaches wherein the capacitively-coupled elements are spaced apart from one another; Oliver [0154] teaches conductor elements that are spaced apart from ground planes by gaps having specific widths where the spacing creates capacitive coupling between elements in superconducting quantum circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Oliver to provide capacitively-coupled coplanar waveguide resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon).
In regards to claim 4 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Kwon teaches wherein the first coupling element, the second coupling element, and the third coupling element are connected to one another in series; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches resonator elements that are sequentially arranged and electrically connected in series configurations for electromagnetic signal transmission in quantum circuits.
Kwon teaches wherein the third coupling element comprises the third fixed frequency coupling element; Kwon [0071] teaches resonators configured for fixed frequency operation where the resonator elements maintain predetermined frequency characteristics during quantum circuit operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Kwon to provide series-connected fixed and tunable frequency resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 5 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Kwon teaches wherein the first coupling element, the second coupling element, and the third coupling element are connected to one another in series; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches resonator elements that are sequentially arranged and electrically connected in series configurations for electromagnetic signal transmission in quantum circuits.
Kwon teaches wherein the first coupling element comprises the first tunable frequency coupling element; Kwon [0071] teaches resonators configured for tunable frequency operation where the resonator elements can be adjusted to different frequency values during quantum circuit operations.
Kwon teaches wherein the second coupling element comprises the second tunable frequency coupling element; Kwon [0071] teaches multiple resonator elements that are each configured for tunable frequency operation within the same quantum circuit system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Kwon to provide series-connected fixed and tunable frequency resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 7 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Kwon teaches wherein the first coupling element, the second coupling element, and the third coupling element are connected to one another in series; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches resonator elements that are sequentially arranged and electrically connected in series configurations for electromagnetic signal transmission in quantum circuits.
Kwon teaches wherein the first coupling element comprises the first fixed frequency coupling element; Kwon [0071] teaches resonators configured for fixed frequency operation where the resonator elements maintain predetermined frequency characteristics during quantum circuit operations.
Kwon teaches wherein the second coupling element comprises the second fixed frequency coupling element; Kwon [0071] teaches multiple resonator elements that are each configured for fixed frequency operation within the same quantum circuit system.
Kwon teaches wherein the third coupling element comprises the third fixed frequency coupling element; Kwon [0071] teaches that resonator systems can include multiple fixed frequency elements that each operate at predetermined frequency values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Kwon to provide series-connected fixed and tunable frequency resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik) and US20210328127A1 (Kwon) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US20190044051A1 (Caudillo).
In regards to claim 6 (Bronn modified by Paik and Kwon) does not show the system of claim 5:
Caudillo teaches wherein the first coupling element comprises the first superconducting quantum interference device, and wherein the second coupling element comprises the second superconducting quantum interference device; Caudillo [0018] teaches that a pair of Josephson Junctions and a superconducting loop connecting them form a SQUID loop that functions as a coupling element between quantum circuit components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Paik, and Kwon with Caudillo to provide superconducting quantum interference device coupling elements, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20190044051A1 (Caudillo).
In regards to claim 8 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches a superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) loop located between a first structure on the first qubit chip and a second structure on the second qubit chip; Caudillo [0018] teaches SQUID structures comprising a pair of Josephson Junctions and a superconducting loop positioned to provide coupling between quantum circuit components.
Caudillo teaches wherein the SQUID loop is the third superconducting quantum interference device; Caudillo [0018] teaches that the SQUID loop functions as a superconducting quantum interference device providing controlled coupling between quantum circuit regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Caudillo to provide SQUID-based coupling and qubit control, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 10 (Bronn modified by Paik) does not show the system of claim 1, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches a pulse generation component that generates a pulse to affect a first qubit at the first qubit chip or to affect a second qubit at the second qubit chip; Caudillo [0054] teaches microwave drive lines that control the state of their respective qubits by providing a microwave pulse at or close to the qubit frequency to affect the qubit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Paik with Caudillo to provide SQUID-based coupling and qubit control, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon) and further in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik).
In regards to claim 11 (Bronn) shows a method comprising:
electrically coupling together a first qubit chip and a second qubit chip by a plurality of coupling elements across an interposer chip; Bronn [0039] teaches a method that includes providing ancilla qubits and data qubits spaced apart from each other and mapping errors between them via virtual photons in a superconducting microwave transmission line. Bronn [0018] teaches these qubits are on separate chips with an interposer between them, and Bronn [0020] teaches the superconducting structures in the interposer act as coupling elements that electrically connect the chips.
Bronn differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrically coupling of individual first qubits, of the first qubit chip, to individual second qubits, of the second qubit chip, comprises a series-connected set of elements, of the plurality of coupling elements; wherein the series-connected set of elements comprises one or more fixed frequency elements, tunable elements, capacitively-coupled elements, or superconducting elements; and wherein less than all of the series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the individual first qubits and the individual second qubits.
Kwon teaches wherein the electrically coupling of individual first qubits, of the first qubit chip, to individual second qubits, of the second qubit chip, comprises a series-connected set of elements, of the plurality of coupling elements; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches resonator elements that are sequentially arranged and electrically connected in series configurations for electromagnetic signal transmission in quantum circuits.
Kwon teaches wherein the series-connected set of elements comprises one or more fixed frequency elements, tunable elements, capacitively-coupled elements, or superconducting elements; Kwon [0071] and [0092-0093] teach resonators configured for fixed frequency operation and tunable frequency operation that are electrically connected in series arrangements for electromagnetic signal transmission between quantum devices.
Kwon differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein less than all of the series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the individual first qubits and the individual second qubits.
Paik teaches wherein less than all of the series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the individual first qubits and the individual second qubits; Paik [0024] teaches that the interposer coupler elements formed on the interposer chip couple individual qubits of the first chip to individual qubits of the second chip such that less than all of the series-connected coupling elements are directly coupled to the individual first qubits and the individual second qubits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bronn and Kwon to provide series-connected coupling elements for inter-chip quantum communication, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address superconducting quantum circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Kwon with Paik so that less than all of the series-connected coupling elements are directly coupled to the qubits, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum computing architectures using interposers.
In regards to claim 13 (Bronn) shows the method of claim 11, further comprising:
coupling a capacitor between sets of two connected coupling elements; Bronn [0020] teaches structures on the ancilla and data qubit chips that are galvanically coupled to solder bumps and capacitively coupled to the qubits.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon) and US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US20190044051A1 (Caudillo).
In regards to claim 14 (Bronn modified by Kwon and Paik) does not show the method of claim 11, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches coupling a superconducting quantum interference device at a coupling element of the plurality of coupling elements; Caudillo [0018] teaches that a pair of Josephson Junctions and a superconducting loop form a SQUID loop that can be coupled at a coupling element in the quantum circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, and Paik with Caudillo to provide a superconducting quantum interference device at a coupling element, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik) and US20180013052A1 (Oliver) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US20190044051A1 (Caudillo).
In regards to claim 17 (Bronn modified by Paik and Oliver) does not show the method of claim 16, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches executing the quantum operation by operating a cross-resonance gate; Caudillo [0050] teaches tuning the frequency of a first qubit close to a coupling resonator so that it interacts with a second qubit to implement a multi-qubit interaction such as a cross-resonance gate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Paik, and Oliver with Caudillo to provide cross-resonance gate operation and flux tuning of qubit frequency, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 18 (Bronn modified by Paik and Oliver) does not show the method of claim 16, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches flux tuning a resonator of the plurality of coupling elements; Caudillo [0039] teaches applying magnetic fields to the SQUID loop, referred to as flux control, by providing current through a flux bias line to tune the frequency of a resonator or qubit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Paik, and Oliver with Caudillo to provide cross-resonance gate operation and flux tuning of qubit frequency, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 19 (Bronn modified by Paik and Oliver) does not show the method of claim 16, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches tuning a qubit of the pair of qubits into a tunable-frequency coupling element of the plurality of coupling elements; Caudillo [0049] teaches that the qubit frequency is controlled to bring it closer to or further from a coupling resonator to implement multi-qubit interactions, thereby tuning a qubit into a tunable-frequency coupling element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Paik, and Oliver with Caudillo to provide cross-resonance gate operation and flux tuning of qubit frequency, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claims 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon) and US20180013052A1 (Oliver) and further in view of US20200401924A1 (Paik).
In regards to claim 20 (Bronn) shows a system comprising:
a first chip comprising a plurality of first qubits; a second chip comprising a plurality of second qubits; Bronn [0018] teaches an ancilla qubit chip comprising a plurality of ancilla qubits and a data qubit chip comprising a plurality of data qubits.
an interposer chip coupled to the first chip and to the second chip; Bronn [0018] teaches an interposer coupled to the ancilla qubit chip and the data qubit chip.
wherein at least one first qubit, of the plurality of first qubits, is electrically coupled to at least one second qubit, of the plurality of second qubits; Bronn [0018] teaches superconducting structures that enable transmission of quantum information between the data qubits on the data qubit chip and the ancilla qubits on the ancilla qubit chip.
Bronn differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrically coupling of the at least one first qubit to the at least one second qubit is by series-connected sets of capacitively-coupled elements over the interposer chip; wherein the capacitively-coupled elements are spaced apart from one another; and wherein less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements of any series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit.
Kwon teaches wherein the electrically coupling of the at least one first qubit to the at least one second qubit is by series-connected sets of capacitively-coupled elements over the interposer chip; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches series-connected resonator arrangements that provide electromagnetic coupling between quantum circuit elements.
Kwon differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein the capacitively-coupled elements are spaced apart from one another; and wherein less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements of any series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit.
Oliver teaches wherein the capacitively-coupled elements are spaced apart from one another; Oliver [0154] teaches conductor elements that are spaced apart from ground planes by gaps having specific widths where the spacing creates capacitive coupling between elements in superconducting quantum circuits.
Oliver differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements of any series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit.
Paik teaches wherein less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements of any series-connected set of elements are directly coupled to the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit; Paik [0024] teaches that the interposer coupler elements formed on the interposer chip couple the qubits across the chips such that less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements of any series-connected set are directly coupled to the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bronn and Kwon to provide series-connected coupling elements for inter-chip quantum communication, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address superconducting quantum circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn and Kwon with Oliver to provide spaced-apart capacitively-coupled elements, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, and Oliver with Paik so that less than all of the capacitively-coupled elements are directly coupled to the qubits, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum computing architectures using interposers.
In regards to claim 26 (Bronn modified by Kwon and Paik) does not show the method of claim 11:
Oliver teaches wherein the plurality of coupling elements, of the series-connected set of elements, are spaced apart from one another; Oliver [0154] teaches conductor elements that are spaced apart from ground planes by gaps having specific widths where the spacing creates capacitive coupling between elements in superconducting quantum circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, and Paik with Oliver to provide spaced-apart coupling elements, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon), US20180013052A1 (Oliver), and US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of US20210342729A1 (Scheer).
In regards to claim 21 (Bronn modified by Kwon, Oliver, and Paik) does not show the system of claim 20:
Scheer teaches wherein the capacitively-coupled elements of at least one series-connected set, of the series-connected sets, comprises at least three resonators; Scheer [0061] teaches quantum circuit chips that each include multiple resonator devices, with each qubit device coupled to a respective one of the resonator devices.
Scheer teaches wherein the resonators are fixed frequency resonators; Scheer [0062] teaches that the qubit devices include fixed-frequency transmon qubit devices with associated resonator devices operating at predetermined frequency values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, Oliver, and Paik with Scheer to provide at least three fixed and tunable frequency resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 22 (Bronn modified by Kwon, Oliver, Paik, and Scheer) does not show the system of claim 21:
Kwon teaches wherein a first frequency of the fixed frequency resonators is above a second frequency of the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches high-frequency resonators that operate at frequencies above the operating frequencies of the quantum processing elements in the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, Oliver, Paik, and Scheer so that the fixed frequency resonators operate above the qubit frequency, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 23 (Bronn) shows the system of claim 20:
wherein the capacitively-coupled elements of the series-connected sets comprise at least three resonators; Bronn [0038] teaches multiple superconducting structures connecting qubits in series arrangements for quantum error correction, and Bronn [0020] teaches the superconducting structure in the interposer forms part of a superconducting resonator with components that are capacitively coupled.
Bronn differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a first resonator, of the at least three resonators, is a fixed frequency resonator; and wherein at least a second resonator, of the at least three resonators, is a tunable frequency resonator.
Scheer teaches wherein at least a first resonator, of the at least three resonators, is a fixed frequency resonator; Scheer [0062] teaches that the qubit devices include fixed-frequency transmon qubit devices with associated resonator devices operating at predetermined frequency values.
Scheer teaches wherein at least a second resonator, of the at least three resonators, is a tunable frequency resonator; Scheer [0062] teaches that the qubit devices include tunable transmon qubit devices with associated resonator devices that can be adjusted to different frequency values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, Oliver, and Paik with Scheer to provide at least three fixed and tunable frequency resonators, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
In regards to claim 24 (Bronn modified by Kwon, Oliver, Paik, and Scheer) does not show the system of claim 23:
Kwon teaches wherein a first frequency of the at least three resonators is above a second frequency of the at least one first qubit and the at least one second qubit; Kwon [0092-0093] teaches high-frequency resonators that operate at frequencies above the operating frequencies of the quantum processing elements in the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, Oliver, Paik, and Scheer so that the fixed frequency resonators operate above the qubit frequency, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon), US20180013052A1 (Oliver), and US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claim 20 above, and in view of US20210342729A1 (Scheer), and further in view of US20210183793A1 (Shao).
In regards to claim 25 (Bronn modified by Kwon, Oliver, and Paik) does not show the system of claim 20:
Scheer teaches wherein the capacitively-coupled elements of at least one series-connected set, of the series-connected sets, comprises at least three resonators; Scheer [0061] teaches quantum circuit chips that each include multiple resonator devices, with each qubit device coupled to a respective one of the resonator devices.
Scheer differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one resonator of the at least three resonators is located on the first chip and on the interposer chip.
Shao teaches wherein at least one resonator of the at least three resonators is located on the first chip and on the interposer chip; Shao [0032] teaches a long-range connector having a first portion formed on the first surface of the substrate of the qubit chip and a second portion formed on a surface of the interposer chip, demonstrating an element located on both the first chip and the interposer chip.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, Oliver, Paik, and Scheer with Shao to provide a resonator located on both the first chip and the interposer chip, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum computing architectures using interposers.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200394546A1 (Bronn) in view of US20210328127A1 (Kwon) and US20200401924A1 (Paik) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US20190044051A1 (Caudillo).
In regards to claim 28 (Bronn modified by Kwon and Paik) does not show the method of claim 11, further comprising:
Caudillo teaches flux tuning a resonator of the plurality of coupling elements; Caudillo [0039] and [0048] teach flux control by providing current through a flux bias line to generate a magnetic field that tunes the frequency of a resonator of the coupling elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Bronn, Kwon, and Paik with Caudillo to provide flux tuning of a resonator, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address superconducting quantum circuits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 9, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues, and the Examiner acknowledged during the telephonic interview of January 28, 2026, that Chow (FIG. 13) does not show a single coupling element physically coupled to both a qubit chip and the interposer chip, and that Chow does not intercouple a pair of qubit chips through an interposer. The present rejection no longer relies on Chow for these features. Paik teaches a modular superconducting quantum processor in which an interposer chip is connected to both a first superconducting chip and a second superconducting chip, and interposer coupler elements formed on the interposer chip couple qubits of the first chip to qubits of the second chip through solder bumps (Paik [0024] and [0032]). Paik therefore cures the deficiency identified by Applicant with respect to Chow.
With respect to the amended limitation that less than all of the series-connected coupling elements are directly coupled to the qubits, Paik [0024] teaches interposer coupler elements formed on the interposer chip that couple the qubits across the chips and are separate from direct coupling to the qubit chips, such that less than all of the coupling elements are directly coupled to the qubits.
Applicant's remaining arguments are directed to the deficiencies of Chow and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection over Bronn in view of Paik. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851