DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Claim 2 has been amended by applicant. In light of amendments made by applicant, the claim objection has been withdrawn by the examiner.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 remain rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 1, “foot support” should read –elongated foot support—
In claim 5, line 1, “foot support” should read –elongate foot support--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) of claim 2 is/are:
A/ the generic place holder is member
B/ the functional language is attachment
C/ attachment member is not modified by sufficient “structure, material, or acts”
D/ the attachment member is disclosed in page 5 in the specification: “As shown in FIG. 3, an alternate embodiment of the present invention may be configured to be attached to an existing conventional squat rack. Such embodiments are equipped with a J- Clip (100), a steel tube (110), a formed padded roller (120) supported by a steel rest frame, and bushings (130). The J-clip (100) facilitates connection of the apparatus to the existing squat rack.” The examiner is considering the J-clip (100) to be the corresponding structure for the attachment member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aviz88 – Rack Attached Leg Extension, in view of Stealth Strength – Fitness Monsterlite Leg Roller (see links below). http://www.Aviz88.com/r/homegym/comments/k4taxo/rack_attached_leg_extension/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wseq4To2n3U
Regarding claim 2, Aviz88 shows an apparatus configured for use by a person when performing a Bulgarian Squat (Aviz88, Rack Attached Leg Extension, page 11; The comments on page 11 shows the parts of the Rack Attached Leg Extension includes a squat stand hardware kit. In light of the functional claim language, the Rack Attached Leg Extension seen in the screenshot below is capable of being used by a person when performing a Bulgarian squat. The attachment for the weight plates and the weight plates themselves are not only removable but do not take away from or hinder the ability of a person to perform Bulgarian squats with the leg roller of the Rack Attached Leg Extension), the apparatus comprising: an elongate foot support (Aviz88, leg roller, page 11, see screenshot below) that, during said use, is also configured for swinging around a second axis vertically displaced from the first axis (Aviz88, page 11, see annotated screenshot below; The title of the Aviz88 thread is Rack Attached Leg Extension, thereby showing the leg roller is configured for swinging. Furthermore, as can be seen in the screenshot below, the vertical bar is pivotally connected to the J-cup via a pin, thereby showing the leg roller is configured for swinging. See annotated screenshot below for the second axis of the claimed invention being displaced from the first axis of the claimed invention as well); a vertical support member for supporting the horizontal foot support (Aviz88, see annotated screenshot below); and an attachment member (Aviz88, J-cup, page 11, see annotated screenshot below) shaped for selectively attaching the apparatus to, and detaching the apparatus from, a squat rack (Aviz88, see annotated screenshot below).
Aviz88
Although Aviz88 discloses in page 11, “All items are for Rogue Monster Lite racks”, Aviz88 fails to explicitly state the pad of the Rogue Monster Lite Rack is rotatable or revolving. More specifically, Aviz88 fails to explicitly show the elongate foot support, during use, is configured for rotating around a first axis through the foot support.
However, Stealth Strength teaches the elongate foot support, during use, is configured for rotating around a first axis through the foot support (Stealth Strength, see video from 2:48-2:55 in YouTube link above).
Stealth Strength
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified the leg roller of the Rogue Monster Lite racks used by Aviz88 to be rotatable like that shown in the video of Stealth Strength as both Aviz88 and Stealth Strength as not only using the same product, but using the product for lower body exercises that benefit from the rotation of the pad of the leg roller attachment.
Regarding claim 3, Aviz88, in view of Stealth Strength, teaches the apparatus of claim 2 where the foot support is laterally supported only by the vertical support member (Aviz88, see annotated screenshot above).
Regarding claim 5, Aviz88, in view of Stealth Strength, teaches the apparatus of claim 2 where the foot support is padded (Aviz88, see annotated screenshot above).
Regarding claim 6, Aviz88, in view of Stealth Strength, teaches the apparatus of claim 2 where the attachment member has a J- shape (Aviz88, J-Cup, page 11, see annotated screenshot above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Aviz88 – Rack Attached Leg Extension, in view of Stealth Strength – Fitness Monsterlite Leg Roller.
The examiner relies on Stealth Strength, to teach the amended limitation in question, "an elongate foot support that, during said use, is configured for rotating around a first axis through the foot support” and on Aviz88 to teach the remainder of the limitation “is also configured for swinging around a second axis vertically displaced from the first axis", as explained in the 103 rejection above. Claims 2-3 and 5-6 remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACQUELINE N L LOBERIZA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/LOAN B JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3784