DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on November 26th, 2025. No claims have been canceled as such claims 1-22 are pending consideration in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Some of the objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(b) with respect to claims 1-10 are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the reservoir, pump, nozzle, and propellant gas must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squitieri (US 20180185205) in view of Bhimavarapu (US 20180374577) and further in view of Chen (US 20140283308).
Regarding claim 1, Squitieri discloses
a controller (Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) comprising:
a structural body (Fig. 1; control system 130 with pressure device 132; [0068], Lines 1-6) that includes an egress interface (Fig. 9; one or more connectors that connect multi-channel tubing 135 to control system 130; [0081], Lines 9-12) that is fluidily coupled (Fig. 1; control system 130 is coupled to pressure mitigation apparatus by the multi-channel tubing 135; [0081], Lines 1-12) to a pressure-mitigation apparatus (Figs. 1-2; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0081], Lines 9-12) situated between a human body (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6) and a surface (Fig. 1; support surface 115; [0068], Lines 1-6),
wherein the pressure-mitigation apparatus (Figs. 2 and 7; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0090], Lines 1-12) includes a plurality of chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) ;
a processor (Fig. 9; processor; [0140], Lines 1-11); and
a memory (Fig 9; memory; [0140], Lines 1-11) configured to have instructions (Fig. 9; set of instructions; [0136], Lines 1-5; Fig. 9; memory stores a set of instructions; [0136] , [0139], and [0140]) that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 9; processor; [0140], Lines 1-11), cause the processor to:
actuate the plurality of chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) to be inflated (Figs. 1-7; inflate/pressurized; [0081], Lines 1-12) in accordance with a programmed pattern (Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8), such that force (Fig. 1; contact pressure; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0081], Lines 1-9) applied by the surface (Fig. 1; support surface 115; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0069], Lines 1-13) to the human body (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0069], Lines 1-13) is shifted to different positions (Fig. 1; orienting/locations; [0047], Lines 3-7 and [0086], Lines 1-21) over time (Fig. 1; periods of time; [0053], Lines 6-10 and [0069], Lines 1-13).
Squitieri does not disclose an audio output mechanism operable to convert signals into sound; and a plurality of valve actuatable to control fluid flow into the plurality of chamber the plurality of chambers of the pressure-mitigation apparatus; and a memory configured to store instruction that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: actuate the plurality of valves to inflate the plurality of chambers; transmit to the audio output mechanism, a signal that prompts the audio output mechanism to output an utterance, while treatment is being provided by the pressure mitigation apparatus.
Bhimavarapu discloses a control system for a patient support system where
an audio output mechanism (Figs. 3-13; information output device 112 with speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9) operable to convert signals (Fig. 2; instruction signals; control signal/controller 102 communicates with user interface 110/information output device 112 through remote assistance system 170; [0084], Lines 1-7) into sound (Figs 3-13; audible instructions/output; [0059], Lines 8-11 and [0060], Lines 1-9);
a memory (Fig. 2; non-transitory memory 131; [0028], Lines 1-4 and [0078], Lines 20-24) configured to store (Fig. 2; instructions; [0028], Lines 1-4) stored therein (Fig. 2; non-transitory memory 131; instructions/algorithm stored in memory; [0028], Lines 1-4) that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 2; microprocessor; [0028], Lines 1-9), cause the processor to:
transmit a signal to the audio output mechanism (Figs. 3-13; information output device 112 with speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9 and [0084], Lines 1-7) a signal (Fig. 2; instruction signals; [0084], Lines 1-7), that prompts the audio output mechanism (Figs. 3-13; information output device 112 with speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9 and [0084], Lines 1-7) to output an utterance (Figs. 3-13; audible instructions/output; [0059], Lines 8-11, [0060], Lines 1-9, and [0084]-[0093]); while treatment is being provided by the pressure-mitigation apparatus (figs. 2-15; remote representative and user provides live support (video/audio conferencing) to help perform the user -performed action/operation functions; [0088], see [0084]-[0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Squitieri with the control system and user interface of Bhimavarapu to have a speaker, voice integration system, and remote assistance system that allows a user to ask and receive audible instructions or information on how to run the system/device (Bhimavarapu: [0045], Lines 1-6 and [0046], Lines 6-8; [0059], Lines 5-11; [0084]-[0093]).
The modified device of Squitieri does not explicitly disclose the structural body including an audio output mechanism and a plurality of valve actuatable to control fluid flow into the pressure-mitigation apparatus.
However, Chen discloses an analogous pressure mitigation device where
the structural body including a user interface (figs. 1-3; the control unit 3 is equipped with a user interface 31; [0008], [0055]) and a plurality of valve actuatable to control fluid flow into the pressure-mitigation apparatus (fig. 3; plurality of valves 45 that distributes air to zones of the mattress 2 in response to a signal from the controller; [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user interface of the modified device of Squitieri to be included in the structural body of the control unit as disclosed in Chen as such a modification would simply involve merely integrating the user interface with the control unit without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Bhimavarapu states that “the user interface 110 may be located on one of the side rails 44, 46, 48, 50, the headboard 52, the footboard 54, or other suitable locations” [0044], as such this modification would have been obvious. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller and pressure mitigation apparatus of Squitieri with plurality of valves in the control unit of Chen to regulate and distribute the generated air into the air cells of the zones of the mattress (Chen: [0071]).
It directly follows that the resultant the modified device of Squitieri combined with the positioning of the user interface and the valves of Chen would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
The modified device of Squitieri and Chen combined discloses
the structural body including an audio output mechanism (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 3-13; user interface 110 with information output device 112 that has speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9 and [0084], Lines 1-7; Chen: see figs. 1-3; the control unit 3 is equipped with a user interface 31; [0008], [0055])
a plurality of valve actuatable to control fluid flow into the plurality of chambers of the pressure-mitigation apparatus (Squitieri: Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227 of pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0090], Lines 1-12 ); and
a memory (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; non-transitory memory 131; [0028], Lines 1-4 and [0078], Lines 20-24) configured to store (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; instructions; [0028], Lines 1-4) stored therein (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; non-transitory memory 131; instructions/algorithm stored in memory; [0028], Lines 1-4) that, when executed by the processor (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; microprocessor; [0028], Lines 1-9), cause the processor to:
actuate the plurality of valves to inflate (Chen: fig. 3; plurality of valves 45 that distributes air to zones of the mattress 2 in response to a signal from the controller; [0071]) cause the plurality of chambers (Squitieri: Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) to be inflated (Squitieri: Figs. 1-7; inflate/pressurized; [0081], Lines 1-12) in accordance with a programmed pattern (Squitieri: Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Squitieri discloses
the controller (Squitieri: control system; Bhimavarapu: user interface) of claim 1,
wherein the utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 3-13; audible instructions/output; [0059], Lines 8-11 and [0060], Lines 1-9) comprises an audible instruction (Bhimavarapu: instructions; [0059], Lines 5-11, [0084]-[0093]) regarding use of the pressure-mitigation apparatus (Squitieri: Figs. 1-2; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0090], Lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: control system; Bhimavarapu: user interface) of claim 1,
wherein the utterance is prerecorded (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 3-13; audible instructions/output; [0059], Lines 8-11 and [0060], Lines 1-9) and the signal (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; instruction signals; [0084], Lines 1-7) is stored in the memory (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; non-transitory memory 131; [0078], Lines 20-24 and [0080], Lines 10-21).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: control system; Bhimavarapu: user interface) of claim 1, further comprising:
a communication module (Squitieri: Fig. 9; network interface and bus/transmission type media; [0142], Lines 1-8) configured to
- initiate communication (Squitieri: act as communication links[0142], Lines 1-8) with a computer program (Squitieri: algorithm/set of instructions; [0099], Lines 1-13; [0136], Lines 1-5 and [0138], Lines 1-7; Bhimavarapu: algorithm; [0028], Lines 1-9; initiate communication using remote assistance 170; [0083]-[0094]) configured to execute on a computing device (Squitieri: computer/cellular telephone; [0138], Lines 1-7; Bhimavarapu: computing device of remote representative; [0083]-[0094]) that is accessible via a network (Squitieri: Fig. 9; network; [0137], Lines 1-7), and
receive, from the computer program (Squitieri: algorithm/set of instructions; [0099], Lines 1-13; [0136], Lines 1-5 and [0138], Lines 1-7; Bhimavarapu: algorithm; [0028], Lines 1-9), a second signal comprising data indicative (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; input signals from remote representative; [0059], Lines 16-26, [0083]-[0094]) of the utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; verbal/vocal inputs from remote representative; [0083]-[0094]) wherein the utterance is recorded by an audio input mechanism of the computing device (Squitieri: computer/cellular telephone; [0138], Lines 1-7 ; Bhimavarapu: user interface/control system receives audio input/audible instructions from remote representative at a location remote from the patient support apparatus such as a call center; [0086]-[0088]); and
wherein the signal (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; instruction signals; second column of [0059], Lines 1-11 and [0084], Lines 1-7) is generated by the processor (Bhimavarapu: processor; [0028], Lines 1-9) based on the second signal (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; input signals; [0059], Lines 16-26) received from the computer program (Squitieri: algorithm/set of instructions; [0099], Lines 1-13; [0136], Lines 1-5 and [0138], Lines 1-7; Bhimavarapu: algorithm; [0028], Lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: control system; Bhimavarapu: user interface) of claim 1, further comprising:
a communication module configured to initiate communication (Squitieri: network interface and bus/transmission type media act as communication links[0142], Lines 1-8; Bhimavarapu: figs. 2-3 and 13; remote assistance system 170 of user interface 110 communicates with remote representative; [0083]-[0094]) with a computer program (Squitieri: algorithm/set of instructions; [0099], Lines 1-13; [0136], Lines 1-5 and [0138], Lines 1-7; Bhimavarapu: algorithm; [0028], Lines 1-9) executing on a computing device (Squitieri: computer/cellular telephone; [0138], Lines 1-7 ; Bhimavarapu: figs. 2-3 and 13; remote assistance system 170 of user interface 110 communicates with remote representative at a call center; in other words, remote representative on a computing device; [0083]-[0094]) that is accessible via a network (Squitieri: Fig. 9; network; [0137], Lines 1-7); and
an audio input mechanism (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 2-9; voice integration system 137 with microphone; [0057], Lines 5-12) operable to convert sound into signals (Bhimavarapu: verbal/vocal inputs; [0059], Lines 5-12 and 16-26);
wherein the instructions (Squitieri: Fig. 9; set of instructions; [0136], Lines 1-5; Bhimavarapu: Fig. 2; instructions; [0028], Lines 1-4) further cause the processor (Squitieri: Fig. 9; processor; [0140], Lines 1-11; Bhimavarapu: processor; [0028], Lines 1-9) to:
prompt the audio input mechanism to record a second utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 2-9 and 13; voice integration system 137 with microphone records the user speaking to communicate with remote representative using remote assistance system 170; [0057], Lines 5-12 and [0083]-[0094]) that is converted into a second signal (microphones inherently convert sounds into signals); and
transmit data indicative of the second signal (Bhimavarapu: figs. 2-9 and 13; the user speaking to communicate with remote representative using remote assistance system 170; the videoconferencing may be two-way where the remote representative and the user hear one another; [0057], Lines 5-12 and [0083]-[0094]) to the communication module (Squitieri: Fig. 9; network interface and bus/transmission type media; [0142], Lines 1-8) for transmission to the computer program (Squitieri: algorithm/set of instructions; [0099], Lines 1-13; [0136], Lines 1-5 and [0138], Lines 1-7; Bhimavarapu: figs. 2-3 and 13; remote assistance system 170 of user interface 110 communicates with remote representative at a call center; in other words, remote representative on a computing device; [0083]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: control system; Bhimavarapu: control system with user interface) of claim 5,
wherein the second utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; verbal/vocal inputs from user to the remote representative using remote assistance system 170; [0059], Lines 5-12 and 16-26; [0083]-[0094]) is recorded by the audio input mechanism (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; voice integration system 137 with microphone; [0057], Lines 5-12) in response to the audio output mechanism (Figs. 3-13; information output device 112 with speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9 and [0084], Lines 1-7) outputting the utterance (Figs. 3-13; audible instructions/output from the remote representative; [0059], Lines 8-11 and [0060], Lines 1-14 and [0083]-[0094]; in other words, the user communicating/responding to an instruction or question from the remote representative; [0083]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 7, Squitieri discloses
a method performed by a controller (Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) that is fluidically connected (Fig. 1; control system 130 is coupled to pressure mitigation apparatus by the multi-channel tubing 135; [0081], Lines 1-12) to a pressure- mitigation device (Figs. 1-2; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0081], Lines 9-12) that alleviates force (Fig. 1; contact pressure; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0081], Lines 1-9) on an anatomical region of a human body (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0069], Lines 1-13),
the method (Fig. 1; using control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) comprising:
receiving input (user input; Claim 51, lines 1-15) indicative of a request to inflate (Figs. 1-7; inflate/pressurized; [0081], Lines 1-12) chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) of the pressure- mitigation device (Figs. 2 and 7; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0090], Lines 1-12) in accordance with a programmed pattern (Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8);
causing fluid (Fig. 1; air; [0081], Lines 1-12) to flow ([0119], Lines 5-11) into each of the chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) at varying rates (Fig. 1; control system 130; controls the flow from the pressure channels; ([0119], Lines 5-11) in accordance with the programmed pattern (Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8), thereby shifting the force (Fig. 1; contact pressure; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0081], Lines 1-9) applied by an underlying surface (Fig. 1; support surface 115; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0069], Lines 1-13) to the anatomical region of the human body (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0069], Lines 1-13) over time (Fig. 1; periods of time; [0053], Lines 6-10 and [0069], Lines 1-13).
Squitieri does not disclose actuating a plurality of valves that are housed within a structural body of the controller so as to inflate the chambers; and emitting, with an audio output mechanism that is housed within the structural body of the controller, an utterance while treatment is being provided with the pressure-mitigation apparatus.
Bhimavarapu discloses a control system for a patient support system where
emitting, with an audio output mechanism(Figs. 3-13; information output device 112 with speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9 and [0084], Lines 1-7) an utterance (Figs. 3-13; audible instructions/output; [0059], Lines 8-11, [0060], Lines 1-9, and [0084]-[0093]), while treatment is being provided with the pressure-mitigation apparatus (figs. 2-15; care giver on site and remote representative and user provides live support (video/audio conferencing) to help perform the user -performed action/operation functions; [0088], see [0084]-[0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Squitieri with the control system and user interface of Bhimavarapu to have a speaker, voice integration system, and remote assistance system that allows a user to ask and receive audible instructions or information on how to run the system/device (Bhimavarapu: [0045], Lines 1-6 and [0046], Lines 6-8; [0059], Lines 5-11).
The modified method of Squitieri does not explicitly disclose the actuating a plurality of valves that are housed within a structural body of the controller so as to inflate the chambers; and the audio output mechanism that is housed within the structural body of the controller.
However, Chen discloses an analogous pressure mitigation device
actuating a plurality of valves that are housed within a structural body of the controller so as to inflate the chambers (fig. 3; actuating the plurality of valves 45 that distributes air to zones of the mattress 2 in response to a signal from the controller; [0071]); and
the user interface that is housed within the structural body of the controller (figs. 1-3; the control unit 3 is equipped with a user interface 31; [0008], [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user interface of the modified device of Squitieri to be included in the structural body of the control unit as disclosed in Chen as such a modification would simply involve merely integrating the user interface with the control unit without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Bhimavarapu states that “the user interface 110 may be located on one of the side rails 44, 46, 48, 50, the headboard 52, the footboard 54, or other suitable locations” [0044], as such this modification would have been obvious. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller and pressure mitigation apparatus of Squitieri with plurality of valves in the control unit of Chen to regulate and distribute the generated air into the air cells of the zones of the mattress (Chen: [0071]).
It directly follows that the resultant the modified device of Squitieri combined with the positioning of the user interface and the valves of Chen would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
The modified device of Squitieri and Chen combined discloses
the audio output mechanism that is housed within the structural body of the controller (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 3-13; user interface 110 with information output device 112 that has speaker; [0046], Lines 1-9 and [0084], Lines 1-7; Chen: see figs. 1-3; the control unit 3 is equipped with a user interface 31; [0008], [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the method (Squitieri: method of using control system; Bhimavarapu: method of using control system with user interface) of claim 7,
wherein the utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 3-13; audible instructions/output; [0059], Lines 8-11 and [0060], Lines 1-9) comprises is an instruction (Bhimavarapu: instructions; [0059], Lines 5-11; remote representative provides instructions to user [0083]-[0094]) regarding how to deploy (Bhimavarapu: instructions on how to use system; [0061] and [0083]-[0094]) or use the pressure-mitigation device (Squitieri: Figs. 1-2; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0090], Lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the method (Squitieri: method of using control system; Bhimavarapu: method of using control system with user interface) of claim 7,
wherein the utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; verbal/vocal inputs; [0059], Lines 5-12 and 16-26) comprises is an inquiry (Bhimavarapu: requested information; [0059], Lines18-30, [0083]-[0094]), from a healthcare professional (Bhimavarapu: Fig. 1; caregiver; [0042], Lines 1-12; remote representative at a location remote from the patient support apparatus; [0083]-[0094]), regarding health of the human body (Bhimavarapu: second column of [0059], Lines 1-11); and wherein the method further comprises receiving, at a communication module (Squitieri: Fig. 9; network interface and bus/transmission type media; [0142], Lines 1-8; Bhimavarapu: figs. 2-3 and 13; remote assistance system 170 of user interface 110 communicates with remote representative; [0083]-[0094]), a data indicative of the utterance from a computing device (Squitieri: computer/cellular telephone; [0138], Lines 1-7 ; Bhimavarapu: user interface/control system receives audio input/audible instructions from remote representative at a location remote from the patient support apparatus such as a call center; [0086]-[0088]) that is communicatively connected to the controller for emission by the audio output mechanism (Bhimavarapu: information output device 112 has speaker which receives audio input/audible instructions from remote representative at a location remote from the patient support apparatus and outputs audio input/audible instructions; [0086]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the method (Squitieri: method of using control system; Bhimavarapu: method of using control system with user interface) of claim 7, further comprising:
recording, with an audio input mechanism (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; user interface 110 comprising voice integration system 137 with microphone; [0057], Lines 5-12) that is housed within the structural body of the controller (Chen: fig. 3; control unit 3 is equipped with user interface 31; [0055]), a second utterance (Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; verbal/vocal inputs; [0059], Lines 5-12 and 16-26; verbal/vocal inputs from user to the remote representative using remote assistance system 170; [0083]-[0094]) by the human body or another person (verbal/vocal inputs from user to the remote representative using remote assistance system 170; [0083]-[0094]) located proximate (Bhimavarapu: see Fig. 1; user situated on bed or caregiver are located close to the controller) to the controller (Squitieri: control system 130; [0068], Lines 1-6; Bhimavarapu: Fig. 1; controller 102; [0045], Lines 1-15; Chen: fig. 3; control unit 3 is equipped with user interface 31; [0055]); and
transmitting data indicative of the second utterance (Squitieri: data; [0154], Lines 1-4) Bhimavarapu: Figs. 4-9; verbal/vocal inputs; [0059], Lines 5-12 and 16-26; verbal/vocal inputs from user to the remote representative using remote assistance system 170; [0083]-[0094]) to a destination external (Squitieri: “data can be sent via direct download or wirelessly to the computer controlled pump from a central database”; [0154], Lines 1-4; Bhimavarapu: user converses with a remote representative at an external/remote location from the user interface 110/controller 102; [0083]-[0094]; in other words user talks to voice integration system 137 with microphone, sounds are converted to signals, which are transmitted to the remote representatives device) to the controller (Squitieri Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9; Bhimavarapu: Fig. 1; controller 102; [0045], Lines 1-15).
Claims 11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squitieri (US 20180185205) in view of Tan (US 20170007488) and further in view of Wilk (US 5282482).
Regarding claim 11, Squitieri discloses
a controller (Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) comprising:
a structural body (Fig. 1; control system 130 with pressure device 132; [0068], Lines 1-6) that includes
an egress interface (Fig. 9; one or more connectors that connect multi-channel tubing 135 to control system 130; [0081], Lines 9-12) that is fluidly coupled (Fig. 1; control system 130 is coupled to pressure mitigation apparatus by the multi-channel tubing 135; [0081], Lines 1-12) to a pressure-mitigation apparatus situated (Figs. 1-2; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0081], Lines 9-12) between a human body (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6) and a surface (Fig. 1; support surface 115; [0068], Lines 1-6),
wherein the pressure-mitigation apparatus includes a plurality of chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0090], Lines 1-12),
a processor (Fig. 9; processor; [0140], Lines 1-11); and
a memory (Fig 9; memory; [0140], Lines 1-11) configured to store instructions (Fig. 9; memory stores a set of instructions; [0136] , [0139], and [0140]) that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 9; processor; [0140], Lines 1-11), cause the processor to:
inflate (Figs. 1-7; inflate/pressurized; [0081], Lines 1-12) the plurality of chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) in accordance with a programmed pattern (Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8), such that force (Fig. 1; contact pressure; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0081], Lines 1-9) applied by the surface to the human body (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0069], Lines 1-13) is shifted to different positions (Fig. 1; periods of time; [0053], Lines 6-10 and [0069], Lines 1-13) over time (Fig. 1; periods of time; [0053], Lines 6-10 and [0069], Lines 1-13).
Squitieri does not disclose a plurality of valves that are actuatable to control fluid flow into the plurality of chambers of the pressure-mitigation apparatus; a reservoir of scented fluid, a dispensing mechanism operable to selectively dispense the scented fluid from the reservoir, a fan operable to generate an airflow for promoting dispersion of the scented fluid throughout an ambient environment, and actuate the plurality of valves to inflate the plurality of chambers transmit, to the dispensing mechanism, a first signal that prompts the dispensing mechanism, to dispense an amount of the scented fluid to be dispensed from the reservoir, while treatment is being provided by the pressure-mitigation apparatus, transmit, to the fan, a second signal that prompts the fan to generate the airflow that promotes dispersion of the scented fluid throughout the ambient environment, while treatment is being provided by the pressure-mitigation apparatus.
Tan discloses a scent emitting module that can be used during a massage system with
a reservoir of scented fluid (figs. 1-7; casing 102a with scent cartridge 102 which contains a scent medium for diffusing a desirable scent; [0023]),
a dispensing mechanism operable to selectively dispense the scented fluid from the reservoir (heater produces aromatic vapor, diffused using porous member, or scent releasee actuator to release aromatic spray/scent; [0023] and [0027]-[0030]),
a fan operable to generate an airflow for promoting dispersion of the scented fluid throughout an ambient environment (figs. 1-7; flow device 140 creates an airflow through the housing 103 of the scent-emitting module 100 to promote outward diffusion of the scent to a proximate outer environment near the scent-emitting module 100; [0033]), and
transmit, to the fan, a second signal (it would have been readily understood by one in the art that it is necessary to provide a second signal to the flowing device in order to operate the flowing device 140 in conjunction with the scent-emitting module 100) that prompts the fan to generate the airflow that promotes dispersion of the scented fluid throughout the ambient environment (figs. 1-7; flow device 140 creates an airflow through the housing 103 of the scent-emitting module 100 to promote outward diffusion of the scent to a proximate outer environment near the scent-emitting module 100; [0033]), while treatment is being provided by the pressure-mitigation apparatus (the scent-emitting module 100 can be activated/controlled while apparatus is applying massage actions; [0034]-[0038]; therefore, it is readily understood that the flowing device is generating air in order to disperse the aromatic scent from scent-emitting module 100)
transmit, to the dispensing mechanism, a first signal that prompts the dispensing mechanism, to dispense an amount of the scented fluid to be dispensed from the reservoir (figs. 7-8; microcontroller (processor) 206 can actuate the scent emitting module 100; [0034]-[0038]; scent release actuator 114 can be electrically or pneumatically controlled to open and seal the scent cartridge 102 (reservoir); [0030]), while treatment is being provided by the pressure-mitigation apparatus (the scent-emitting module 100 can be activated/controlled while apparatus is applying massage actions; [0034]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Squitieri to include the scent emitting module, the flowing device, and microcontroller of Tan to allow the user to inhale aromatic scent while receiving pressure mitigation/massage actions to provide enhanced relaxing results, relieve stress and pain, and provide enhanced healing effects (Tan: [0036] and [0043]).
The modified device of Squitieri does not explicitly disclose a plurality of valves that are actuatable to control fluid flow into the plurality of chambers of the pressure-mitigation apparatus; and the processor that actuates the plurality of valves to inflate the plurality of chambers.
Wilk discloses a similar pressure mitigation apparatus to Squitieri with
a plurality of valves that are actuatable to control fluid flow into the plurality of chambers of the pressure-mitigation apparatus (figs. 2-5; valve assembly 56 with valves and manifolds for pressurizing the cavities; col. 2, lines 11-13 and col. 4, lines 29-40);
a processor (Figs. 1A-1B and 3-6; control unit/timer 32, 60, 74; Col. 3, Lines 57-63 and Col. 5, Lines 1-10)
to actuate the plurality of valves to inflate the plurality of chambers (figs. 2-5; valve assembly 56 is actuated pursuant to a predetermine sequence based on the control unit/time 32, 60, 74 to pressurize the chambers/cavities 52, 66; Col. 3, Lines 57-63 and Col. 5, Lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the modified device of Squitieri with the control unit/timer and valves of Wilk to allow to individually program a valve assembly to differentially pressurize chambers independently of one other to a predetermine sequence depending on a user’s bedsores (Wilk: col. 4; lines 21-40).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
wherein the scented fluid is a liquid (figs. 1-6; scent medium can include-aromatic oil, gel or compressed aromatic in liquid form; [0023] and the scent medium can be compressed/pressurized in the scent cartridge and held there with a valve; [0030]) that is dispensed in the form of a spray (figs. 1-6; the scent release actuator 114 is electrically controlled to release the aromatic scent in mist form (spray); [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
wherein the reservoir is removable from the controller (Tan: figs. 1-6; the scent cartridge 102 can be removably arranged; scent-emitting module 100 has a “lid 108 is operable to open the housing 104 and allow access to the cavity 106 for installation or removal of the scent cartridge 102”; [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
wherein the fan is oriented such that the airflow is directed to promote dispersion (Tan: figs. 1-7; flow device 140 creates an airflow through the housing 103 of the scent-emitting module 100 to promote outward diffusion of the scent to a proximate outer environment near the scent-emitting module 100; [0033]) of the amount of the scented fluid (Tan: scent medium can include an aromatic oil, gel compressed aromatic in liquid form; [0023]) throughout ambient environment (Tan: figs. 1-6; flow device 140 promotes outward diffusion of scent to a proximate outer environment; [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
wherein the first signal is one of multiple signals transmitted to the dispensing mechanism over an interval of time (Tan: figs. 7-9; “the scent-emitting module 100 in step 304 may be activated continuously, or repeatedly switched on and off to controllably adjust the amount of scent emitted during the application of the first sequence of massage actions”; [0038]; in other words, multiple signals can be sent to the scent-emitting module 100 to repeatedly switch on and off to controllably adjust the amount of scent emitted), and wherein the multiple signals are transmitted to the dispensing mechanism (Tan: figs. 7-9; microcontroller 206 controls the scent-emitting module 100 in step 304 to be activated continuously, or repeatedly switched on and off; [0038]) based on the programmed pattern (Squitieri: Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8; Tan: scent-emitting module 100 is adjusted during the application of the sequence of massage actions and can selectively emit an aromatic scent associated with the massage actions in synchronous; [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
wherein the first signal is one of multiple signals transmitted to the dispensing mechanism over an interval of time (Tan: figs. 7-9; “the scent-emitting module 100 in step 304 may be activated continuously, or repeatedly switched on and off to controllably adjust the amount of scent emitted during the application of the first sequence of massage actions”; [0038]; in other words, multiple signals can be sent to the scent-emitting module 100 to repeatedly switch on and off to controllably adjust the amount of scent emitted), and
wherein transmittal of each of the multiple signals (Tan: figs. 7-9; microcontroller 206 controls the scent-emitting module 100 in step 304 to be activated continuously, or repeatedly switched on and off; [0038]) is prompted by a respective one of multiple frames in the programmed pattern (Squitieri: Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8) that indicate when the scented fluid is to be dispensed (Tan: scent-emitting module 100 is adjusted during the application of the sequence of massage actions and can selectively emit an aromatic scent associated with the massage actions in synchronous; [0038]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squitieri (US 20180185205) in view of Tan (US 20170007488) and further in view of Wilk (US 5282482) as evidenced by Paganini (US 20210291009).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
The modified device of Squitieri does not disclose wherein the dispensing mechanism includes pump that is able to selectively dispense the scented fluid from the reservoir and a nozzle through which the scented fluid is dispensed.
However, Wilk discloses a pressure mitigation apparatus for bed sores with a dispensing mechanism with a reservoir
wherein the dispensing mechanism (Figs. 1A-1B and 3-6; dispensing component; Col. 5, Lines 1-10 and Col. 1, Lines 63-68) includes
a pump (Figs. 3-6; pump 92; Col. 5, Lines 1-10) that is able to selectively dispense the fluid from the reservoir (figs. 1-7; liquid medication is selectively dispensed based on timer unit; col. 3, lines 57-63 and col. 5, lines 1-10) and
a nozzle through which the scented fluid is dispensed (figs. 1-7; Figs. 1A-1B and 3-6; nozzle 36, outlets 96; Col. 3, Lines 57-63 and Col. 5, Lines 1-10; Col. 2, Lines 49-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scent-emitting mechanism in the modified device of Squitieri with the pump and timer of Wilk to spray the liquid based on a programmed sequence using signals from timer (col. 5, lines 8-10). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the scent-emitting module of the modified device of Squitieri with the nozzle of Wilk to be able to control the direction to the mist, evaporated oils, and/or air current originating from the diffusers as evidenced by Paganini ([0060]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squitieri (US 20180185205) in view of Tan (US 20170007488) and further in view of Wilk (US 5282482) and further in view of Hanson (US 20190194574).
Regarding claim 14, the modified device of Squitieri discloses
the controller (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Wilk: timer unit and valves) of claim 11,
wherein the scented fluid is an aerosol that is enclosed in the reservoir under pressure (figs. 1-6; scent medium can include-aromatic oil, gel or compressed aromatic in liquid form; [0023] and the scent medium can be compressed/pressurized in the scent cartridge and held there with a valve; [0030]), and wherein the dispensing mechanism is configured to dispense the scented fluid as a spray (figs. 1-6; the scent release actuator 114 is electrically controlled to release the aromatic scent in mist form (spray); [0030]).
The modified device of Squitieri does not disclose wherein the dispensing mechanism is configured to use a propellant gas to dispense the scented fluid as a spray.
Hanson discloses an aroma apparatus with
an aerosol (apparatus for making scent or aroma can be made into an aerosol and/or vapor that can then be deliver to user; [0048])
wherein the dispensing mechanism (aerosol dispensing mechanism; [0046]) is configured to use a propellant gas to dispense the fluid as a spray (Jet nebulizers use compressed air or oxygen as a propellant that flows at a high velocity through a liquid solution or suspension to make an aerosol that can be inhaled; [0046]; in other words breaking the droplets to form a spray or mist).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scent emitting module of the modified device of Squitieri to include a pressurized aerosol that can be used to treat diseases and disorders and be able to propel the aerosol to the environment of the user or to the user to be inhaled; (Hanson: [0018] and [0046]-[0048]).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squitieri (US 20180185205) in view of Tan (US 20170007488) and further in view of Chen (US 20140283308).
Regarding claim 19, Squitieri discloses
a method performed by a controller (Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) that is fluidly connected (Fig. 1; control system 130 is coupled to pressure mitigation apparatus by the multi-channel tubing 135; [0081], Lines 1-12) to a pressure-mitigation device (Figs. 1-2; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0081], Lines 9-12) that alleviates force on an anatomical region of a human body (Fig. 1; contact pressure; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0081], Lines 1-9), the method (Fig. 1; using control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) comprising:
receiving input (user input; Claim 51, lines 1-15) indicative of a request to inflate chambers (Figs. 1-7; inflate/pressurized; [0081], Lines 1-12; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) of the pressure- mitigation device (Figs. 2 and 7; pressure mitigation support apparatus 120; [0090], Lines 1-12) in accordance with a programmed pattern (Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8);
cause fluid (Fig. 1; air; [0081], Lines 1-12) to flow ([0119], Lines 5-11) into each of the chambers (Figs. 2 and 7; plurality of pressure relief chambers 227; [0090], Lines 1-12) at varying rates (Fig. 1; control system 130; controls the flow from the pressure channels; ([0119], Lines 5-11) in accordance with the programmed pattern (Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8), thereby shifting the force (Fig. 1; contact pressure; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0081], Lines 1-9) applied by an underlying surface (Fig. 1; support surface 115; [0047], Lines 8-14 and [0069], Lines 1-13) to the anatomical region (Fig. 1; patient 110; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0069], Lines 1-13) of the human body over time (Fig. 1; periods of time; [0053], Lines 6-10 and [0069], Lines 1-13).
Squitieri does not disclose actuating a plurality of valves that are housed in a structural body of the controller, so as to cause fluid to flow into each of the chambers; and dispensing, with a dispensing mechanism that is housed in the structural body of the controller, scented fluid into an ambient environment at a time that is specified or indicated by the programmed pattern, such that the scented fluid is dispensed while treatment is being provided by the pressure- mitigation device.
Tan discloses a scent emitting module that can be used during a massage system
dispensing (figs. 7-8; microcontroller (processor) 206 can actuate the scent emitting module 100; [0034]-[0038]; scent release actuator 114 can be electrically or pneumatically controlled to open and seal the scent cartridge 102 (reservoir); [0030]), with a dispensing mechanism (heater produces aromatic vapor, diffused using porous member, or scent release actuator 114 to release aromatic spray/scent; [0023] and [0027]-[0030]) that is housed in the structural body of the controller, scented fluid into an ambient environment (figs. 1-7; flow device 140 creates an airflow through the housing 103 of the scent-emitting module 100 to promote outward diffusion of the scent to a proximate outer environment near the scent-emitting module 100; [0033]) at a time that is specified or indicated by the programmed pattern (scent-emitting module 100 is adjusted during the application of the sequence of massage actions and can selectively emit an aromatic scent associated with the massage actions in synchronous; [0038]), such that the scented fluid is dispensed while treatment is being provided by the pressure- mitigation device (the scent-emitting module 100 can be activated/controlled while apparatus is applying massage actions; [0034]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Squitieri to include the scent emitting module, the flowing device, and microcontroller of Tan to allow the user to inhale aromatic scent while receiving pressure mitigation/massage actions to provide enhanced relaxing results, relieve stress and pain, and provide enhanced healing effects (Tan: [0036] and [0043]).
While the modified device of Squitieri does not explicitly state that the scent-emitting module is housed in the structural body of the controller, Mao discloses a multifunctional smart cushion connected to a controller where the controller is used as an aroma diffusing unit (see, fig. 5; [0034] and [0045]; [0062]-[0063]).
It further would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the scent emitting module, flowing device, and microcontroller of the modified device of Squitieri to be housed in the structural body of the controller as disclosed by the aroma diffusing unit of Mao since such a modification would simply involve merely moving the scent emitting module to be placed in the housing of the controller without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
The modified device of Squitieri does not explicitly disclose actuating a plurality of valves that are housed in a structural body of the controller, so as to cause fluid to flow into each of the chambers.
Chen discloses an analogous pressure mitigation device that
actuates a plurality of valves that are housed in a structural body of the controller (figs. 1-3; see fig. 3; the control unit 3 contains the plurality of valves; [0071]) so as to cause fluid to flow into each of the chambers (fig. 3; plurality of valves 45 that distributes air to zones of the mattress 2 in response to a signal from the controller; [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller and pressure mitigation apparatus of Squitieri with plurality of valves in the control unit of Chen to regulate and distribute the generated air into the air cells of the zones of the mattress (Chen: [0071]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified method of Squitieri further discloses
the method (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Chen: valves) of claim 19,
wherein said dispensing is performed in accordance with a dispensing schedule (Tan: figs. 7-9; “the scent-emitting module 100 in step 304 may be activated continuously, or repeatedly switched on and off to controllably adjust the amount of scent emitted during the application of the first sequence of massage actions”; [0038]) that is programmatically associated with the programmed pattern (Squitieri: Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8; Tan: scent-emitting module 100 is adjusted during the application of the sequence of massage actions and can selectively emit an aromatic scent associated with the massage actions in synchronous; [0038]) in a memory of the controller (Squitieri: Fig 9; memory; [0140], Lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 21, the modified method of Squitieri further discloses
the method (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Chen: valves) of claim 20,
wherein the dispensing schedule (Tan: figs. 7-9; “the scent-emitting module 100 in step 304 may be activated continuously, or repeatedly switched on and off to controllably adjust the amount of scent emitted during the application of the first sequence of massage actions”; [0038]) is programmatically associated with the programmed pattern (Squitieri: Figs. 1-7; preprogrammed cycle/specific pattern; [0081], Lines 1-12 and [0109], Lines 1-8; Tan: scent-emitting module 100 is adjusted during the application of the sequence of massage actions and can selectively emit an aromatic scent associated with the massage actions in synchronous; [0038]) in a memory of the controller (Squitieri: Fig 9; memory; [0140], Lines 1-11) further comprising:
generating, with a fan (figs. 1-7; flow device 140 creates an airflow through the housing 103 of the scent-emitting module 100; [0033]) that is housed in the structural body of the controller (Mao: controller is used as an aroma diffusing unit; see, fig. 5; [0034] and [0045]; [0062]-[0063]; flowing device modified in claim 19 above to be positioned with controller), an airflow to promote dispersion of the scented fluid (figs. 1-7; flow device 140 promotes outward diffusion of the scent to a proximate outer environment near the scent-emitting module 100; [0033]).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squitieri (US 20180185205) in view of Tan (US 20170007488) and further in view of Chen (US 20140283308) and further in view of Wilk (US 5282482).
Regarding claim 22, the modified device of Squitieri further discloses
the method (Squitieri: pressure mitigation apparatus; Tan: scent-emitting device with flow emitting device; Chen: valves) of claim 21, further comprising:
a source external (Squitieri: computer/cellular telephone and RF transceiver; [0138], Lines 1-7 and [0169]; [0136]-[0138]) to the controller (Squitieri: Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9), wherein the source is accessible to the controller (Squitieri: Fig. 1; control system/device 130; [0068], Lines 1-6 and [0081], Lines 1-9) via a network (Squitieri: Fig. 9; network; [0137], Lines 1-7).
The modified method of Squitieri does not disclose receiving the dispensing schedule from a source external to the controller.
However, Wilk discloses a pressure mitigation apparatus for bed sores with a dispensing mechanism that has a programmed sequence where it
receives the dispensing schedule (Figs. 2-3; predetermined sequence of timer 60; Col. 4, Lines 33-37 and Col. 5, Lines 1-10; dispensing component is in response from signals from timer 60 which has a predetermined sequence) from a source external to the controller (“keypad or other input device (not shown)” ; Col. 4, Lines 36-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the modified method of Squitieri with the input device//keypad of Wilk to further allow individually programming the sequences at which the liquid is sprayed (Wilk: col. 4, lines 35-40 and col. 5, lines 8-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious that the dispensing schedule could be input (Wilk: col/ 4, lines 36-37) using the cellular telephone or computing device to perform one or more methodologies externally on a network (Squitieri: fig. 9, [0136]-[0138]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13 and 14 of the remarks regarding the audio input and audio output not being housed in the controller, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-10 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (US 20140283308).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14-15 of the remarks regarding the prior art not disclosing the scented fluid to be dispensed to an ambient environment, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 11-22 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tan (US 20170007488).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Streeter (US 20120317714) – A dynamic support apparatus that has at least one actuator to shift a patient, to prevent bed sores
McNeil (US 20190105227) – A sauna system with an aroma diffuser comprising a motor, fan, diffuser, sensor, and reservoir
Conroy (US 20150297779) – A scent management system that can control the diffusion of liquid from a remote computer to achieve a desired scent parameter
KR 200425168 – An aroma mattress with a controller unit that has a pump and reservoir for applying aroma to the mattress
Karschnik (US 20210204720) – A bed air control system with an aroma therapy system that can be used based on a refresh mode determined by the air control system
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785