DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 17 is canceled.
Claim 33 is added.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 12/9/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-15, 18-20, and 22-33 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 14, 20, and 27 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, it is suggested to amend to read “…, wherein the first transmission has a first spectral efficiency which is greater than a second spectral efficiency of the second transmission.” for typographical correction and for clarity.
In claims 14, 20, and 27, it is suggested to amend to read “downlink control information (DCI)” (in line 6 of claim 14, in line 3 of claim 20, and in lines 3-4 of claim 27) for clarity.
In claim 20, it is suggested to amend to add “(“ and to read “a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)” (in line 4 of claim 20) for a correction of a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 18, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. (US 2023/0276437 A1, hereinafter Wen) in view of 3GPP TS 38.104 v15.17.0 (3GPP; TSG-RAN; NR; Base Station (BS) radio transmission and reception (Release 15), June 2022, hereinafter TS 38.104).
Regarding claim 1:
Wen teaches a network node (see, Wen: Fig. 2, First terminal device; Fig. 7, Communication apparatus) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (see, Wen: Fig. 7, Processor 301); and a memory (see, Wen: Fig. 7, Memory 304) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive scheduling information (e.g., uplink grant information) in accordance with a first maximum quantity of resources, wherein the first maximum quantity is based on a first channel bandwidth and a first subcarrier spacing (SCS) (see, Wen: Fig. 2, S101, para. [0007], “receiving first uplink grant information, where the first uplink grant information includes a first field, the first field indicates frequency domain resource allocation information, and a length Y of the first field is less than X, where X is a pre-specified value; …; and Y is related to a quantity N of resource blocks supported or configured by the first terminal device, and N is a positive integer;”; para. [0172], “N is a maximum quantity of resource blocks that are configured by the access network device for the terminal device and that are used for information transmission. For example, N is a quantity of resource blocks included in a BWP configured by the access network device, or N is a quantity of resource blocks included in a carrier configured by the access network device. The BWP may be an initial BWP or a non-initial BWP. … The quantity of resource blocks used for the supported bandwidth may be a maximum quantity of frequency domain resource blocks that can be occupied when the first terminal device performs sending and/or receiving. For example, when the supported bandwidth is 20 MHz, and a subcarrier spacing is 15 kHz, the quantity of supported resource blocks is 106 RBs. For example, the supported bandwidth may be a maximum bandwidth on which the first terminal device can receive a signal, and/or a maximum bandwidth on which the first terminal device can send a signal. … The access network device may determine N based on the bandwidth supported by the first terminal device. Alternatively, the access network device may configure N for the first terminal device.”).
transmit or receive a first transmission (e.g., uplink transmission) in accordance with the scheduling information (see, Wen: Fig. 2, S102 and S103; para. [0007], “…; and determining, by the first terminal device based on the first field, a resource for uplink transmission, and performing uplink transmission based on the resource.”).
Although it is within the common general knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art that maximum quantity of frequency resource blocks is based on bandwidth, subcarrier spacing, and band type (e.g., FR1 vs FR2), Wen does not explicitly teach wherein the first maximum quantity is based on first frequency band information, wherein the first frequency band information is indicative of a first type of frequency band or a first frequency band.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.104 teaches wherein the first maximum quantity is based on a first channel bandwidth, first frequency band information, and a first subcarrier spacing (SCS), wherein the first frequency band information is indicative of a first type of frequency band or a first frequency band (see, TS 38.104: Section 5.3.1, “The BS shall be able to transmit to and/or receive from one or more UE bandwidth parts that are … equal to the number of carrier resource blocks on the RF carrier, in any part of the carrier resource blocks.”; Section 5.3.2 Transmission bandwidth configuration. “The transmission bandwidth configuration NRB for each BS channel bandwidth and subcarrier spacing is specified in table 5.3.2.-1 for FR1 and table 5.3.2-2 for FR2.” Table 5.3.2-1 teaches the maximum quantity of resources based on the channel bandwidth (e.g., one of 5 MHz, 20 MHz, 30 MHz, 60 MHz, 100 MHz, etc., which is equivalent to the first channel bandwidth of the instant application), frequency band (e.g., FR1, which is equivalent to the first frequency band of the instant application), and subcarrier spacing (e.g., one of 15 kHz, 30 kHz, or 60 kHz, which is equivalent to the first subcarrier spacing of the instant application).).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in combination of the teachings of TS 38.104 in order to determine a maximum quantity of frequency resource blocks by implementing 3GPP NR-compliant scheduling for transmission according to a type of a frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2) and by retrieving the maximum quantity of resource blocks from the tables in TS 38.104 for a given channel bandwidth, frequency band, and subcarrier spacing combination (see, Wen: para. [0173] and TS 38.104: Section 5.3).
Regarding claim 12:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 further teaches wherein determining the first channel bandwidth based on the first frequency band information and the first SCS (see, Wen: para. [0172], “Alternatively, N may be a quantity of resource blocks supported by the first terminal device. For example, the first terminal device determines the quantity of supported resource blocks based on the bandwidth of the first terminal device. The quantity of resource blocks used for the supported bandwidth may be a maximum quantity of frequency domain resource blocks that can be occupied when the first terminal device performs sending and/or receiving.”; TS 38.104: Section 5.3.2 Transmission bandwidth configuration. “The transmission bandwidth configuration NRB for each BS channel bandwidth and subcarrier spacing is specified in table 5.3.2.-1 for FR1 and table 5.3.2-2 for FR2.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in combination of the teachings of TS 38.104 in order to determine the corresponding channel bandwidth that supports a maximum quantity of resource blocks for transmission for a given subcarrier spacing according to a type of a frequency band (e.g., FR1 or FR2) by selecting channel bandwidth that supports a maximum quantity of resource blocks supported by a subcarrier spacing and the frequency band type (e.g., FR1 or FR2) from the tables in TS 38.104 (see, Wen: para. [0173] and TS 38.104: Section 5.3).
Regarding claim 18:
Wen teaches a network node (see, Wen: Fig. 2, Access network device; Fig. 7, Communication apparatus) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (see, Wen: Fig. 7, Processor 301); and a memory (see, Wen: Fig. 7, Memory 304) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: perform the features of claim 1 from the perspective of second device (e.g., Access network device). Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 32:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen further teaches wherein the resources of the first maximum quantity of resources comprise physical layer resource units (e.g., frequency resource blocks) of a first channel for the first transmission and are associated with a single SCS, and wherein the first transmission (e.g., uplink transmission) is transmitted or received in accordance with the first maximum quantity of resources (see, Wen: para. [0172], “The quantity of resource blocks used for the supported bandwidth may be a maximum quantity of frequency domain resource blocks that can be occupied when the first terminal device performs sending and/or receiving. For example, when the supported bandwidth is 20 MHz, and a subcarrier spacing is 15 kHz, the quantity of supported resource blocks is 106 RBs. For example, the supported bandwidth may be a maximum bandwidth on which the first terminal device can receive a signal, and/or a maximum bandwidth on which the first terminal device can send a signal.”, wherein the maximum quantity of supported resource blocks (e.g., 106 RBs) of a channel bandwidth (e.g., 20MHz) are associated with a single SCS (i.e., 15 kHz).; Also see TS 38.104, Tables 5.3.2-1 and 5.3.2-2 for an association with a single SCS for a given maximum quantity of resources (NRB) and a channel bandwidth.).
Regarding claim 33:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen further teaches wherein the first maximum quantity of resources corresponds to a maximum transmission bandwidth configuration for a first channel of the first transmission (see, Wen: para. [0172], “the supported bandwidth may be a maximum bandwidth on which the first terminal device can receive a signal, and/or a maximum bandwidth on which the first terminal device can send a signal. ... The access network device may determine N based on the bandwidth supported by the first terminal device. Alternatively, the access network device may configure N for the first terminal device.”).
Claims 2, 4, 6, 11, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 further in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0360616 A1, Yi).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive second scheduling information in accordance with a second maximum quantity of resources, wherein the second maximum quantity is based on the first channel bandwidth, second frequency band information, and the first SCS, wherein the second frequency band information is indicative of a second type of frequency band or a second frequency band, wherein the second maximum quantity of resources is different from the first maximum quantity of resources, and wherein the second frequency band information is different from the first frequency band information; and transmit or receive a second transmission in accordance with the second scheduling information.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi in view of Wen and TS 38.104 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive second scheduling information (e.g., multi-carrier scheduling for a transmission via a second uplink carrier) (see, Yi: para. [0266], “The wireless device 2408 may activate multi-carrier scheduling. The wireless device 2408 may activate multi-carrier scheduling, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) receiving the one or more RRC messages.”; para. [0308], “The base station may transmit one or more second RRC messages comprising second configuration parameters. The second configuration parameters may comprise a second PUCCH configuration (e.g., PUCCH-Config) for a second uplink carrier.”) in accordance with a second maximum quantity of resources, wherein the second maximum quantity is based on the first channel bandwidth, second frequency band information, and the first SCS, wherein the second frequency band information is indicative of a second type of frequency band or a second frequency band, wherein the second maximum quantity of resources is different from the first maximum quantity of resources (see, Yi: para. [0343], “A numerology of an active BWP of an uplink carrier, of the plurality of carriers, may be same across the plurality of carriers.” As discussed in claim 1 above, the scheduling information for each carrier is received in accordance with a maximum quantity of resources as taught by Wen in view of TS 38.104. Yi teaches wherein a numerology of an active BWP of an uplink carrier, of the plurality of carriers, may be same across the plurality of carriers, while the first uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 2 (e.g., FR2) and the second uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 1 (e.g., FR1)). Accordingly, while the numerology of the active BWP of an uplink carrier is same across the plurality of carriers (i.e., the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier of Yi), the operating frequency bands for the first uplink carrier (e.g. FR2 band of Yi) and the second uplink carrier (e.g. FR1 band of Yi) may be different resulting in the different maximum quantity of resources between the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier.), and wherein the second frequency band information is different from the first frequency band information (see, Yi: para. [0343], “The first uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 2 (e.g., FR2). The second uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 1 (e.g., FR1).”, wherein the first uplink carrier of Yi is equivalent to an information included the first uplink grant information of Wen, for example.); and
transmit or receive a second transmission in accordance with the second scheduling information (see, Yi: para. [0267], “The wireless device 2408 may send one or more PUSCH transmissions. The wireless device 2408 may send a first PUSCH transmission 2436-1 comprising the TB and a second PUSCH transmission 2436-2 comprising the TB via the first uplink carrier 2428. The wireless device 2408 may send a third PUSCH transmission 2440 comprising the TB via the second uplink carrier 2432.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in combination of the teachings of Yi in order to support multi-carriers for transmission such that portions of the transmission may be transmitted using different carriers while multicarrier transmission is independently configured for each of a plurality of wireless resources and while a maximum quantity of resource blocks are used for transmission for different types of terminal device (see, Yi: Abstract; Wen: para. [0164] [0172] [0235]).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 and Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Yi further teaches wherein the first type of frequency band or the first frequency band corresponds to a frequency spectrum below 7.125 GHz (e.g., FR1), and wherein the second type of frequency band or the second frequency band corresponds to a frequency spectrum above 24.250 GHz (e.g., FR2) (see, Yi: para. [0286], “A wireless device may support a plurality of cells/carriers at a time. The wireless device may support communications via a first cell operating in a first frequency region (e.g., FR1, a frequency range below than 7 GHz, or any other first frequency range). The wireless device may support communications via a second cell operating in a second frequency region (e.g., FR2, a frequency of 7 GHz to 52.6 GHz, or any other second frequency range). The wireless device may support communications in different frequency regions by using different radio frequency equipment (RFE).”).
This recited use-case limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art because it merely describes an intended use or result without imposing structural or functional limitations. Any adaptation for such use would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 and Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Yi further teaches wherein the first type of frequency band is UHF band type or different from the UHF band type (i.e., FR2) (see, Yi: para. [0343], “The first uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 2 (e.g., FR2).”).
This recited use-case limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art because it merely describes an intended use or result without imposing structural or functional limitations. Any adaptation for such use would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (see, Yi: para. [0286]).
Regarding claim 11:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 and Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Yi further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: operate in a second frequency spectrum at least partially concurrently with the first transmission in the first frequency spectrum, wherein the first frequency spectrum is UHF, VHF, satellite, or cellular spectrum, and the second frequency spectrum is another of UHF, VHF, satellite, or cellular spectrum (see, Yi: para. [0383], “A network may comprise any wireless technology, including but not limited to, cellular, wireless, WiFi, 4G, 5G, any generation of 3GPP or other cellular standard or recommendation, any non-3GPP network, wireless local area networks, wireless personal area networks, wireless ad hoc networks, wireless metropolitan area networks, wireless wide area networks, global area networks, satellite networks, space networks, and any other network using wireless communications. Any device (e.g., a wireless device, a base station, or any other device) or combination of devices may be used to perform any combination of one or more of steps described herein, including, for example, any complementary step or steps of one or more of the above steps.”; para. [0264], “Various examples described herein with respect to multi-carrier scheduling may be used for multi-BWP scheduling, multi-TRP scheduling and/or multi-panel/TRP scheduling. The base station may indicate configuration parameters for a repetition of an uplink signal via a plurality of resources (e.g., multiple carriers, multiple BWPs, multiple panels, and/or multiple TRPs).”; para. [0266], “The wireless device 2408 may activate multi-carrier scheduling, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) receiving the one or more RRC messages.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Yi for the wireless device to operate in a second frequency spectrum (e.g., in any of UHF, VHF, satellite, or cellular spectrum) at least partially concurrently with the first transmission in the first frequency spectrum (e.g., in another of UHF, VHF, satellite, or cellular spectrum) for muti-carrier operations (see, Yi: Abstract).
This recited use-case limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art because it merely describes an intended use or result without imposing structural or functional limitations. Any adaptation for such use would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (see, Yi: para. [0286]).
Regarding claim 31:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive second scheduling information indicative of a second channel bandwidth, second frequency band information, a second SCS, a second starting resource, and a second quantity of resources for a second transmission, wherein the second frequency band information is indicative of a second type of frequency band or a second frequency band; and transmit or receive, based on the second starting resource and the second quantity of resources, the second transmission in a second set of resources of a second maximum quantity of resources, wherein the second maximum quantity of resources is based on the second channel bandwidth, the second frequency band information, and the second SCS.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi in view of Wen and TS 38.104 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive second scheduling information (e.g., multi-carrier scheduling for a transmission via a second uplink carrier) (see, Yi: para. [0266], “The wireless device 2408 may activate multi-carrier scheduling. The wireless device 2408 may activate multi-carrier scheduling, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) receiving the one or more RRC messages.”; para. [0308], “The base station may transmit one or more second RRC messages comprising second configuration parameters. The second configuration parameters may comprise a second PUCCH configuration (e.g., PUCCH-Config) for a second uplink carrier.”) indicative of a second channel bandwidth, second frequency band information, a second SCS, a second starting resource, and a second quantity of resources for a second transmission, wherein the second frequency band information is indicative of a second type of frequency band or a second frequency band (see, Yi: para. [0343], “A first numerology of a first uplink carrier may be different from a second numerology of a second uplink carrier. The first uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 2 (e.g., FR2). The second uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 1 (e.g., FR1).”. As discussed in claim 1 above, the scheduling information for each carrier is received in accordance with a maximum quantity of resources as taught by Wen in view of TS 38.104.; Fig. 17 and para. [0185], “The base station may send/transmit DCI via a PDCCH on one or more control resource sets (CORESETs).”; para. [0188], “The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like).”; para. [0212], “The UL/SUL indicator field 1708 may indicate whether DCI schedules a resource for an uplink carrier or a supplemental uplink.”; para. [0214], “The frequency domain RA field 1712 may indicate a starting PRB indicator/index and a length of the scheduled uplink resource(s) (e.g., an RIV value that determines the starting PRB indicator/index and the length)”; para. [0345], “The configuration parameters may indicate a second PUCCH resource for PUCCH transmission corresponding to the PUCCH format via the second uplink carrier. ... A first duration of the first PUCCH resource may be different from a second duration of the second PUCCH resource.”), and wherein the second frequency band information is different from the first frequency band information (see, Yi: para. [0343], “The first uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 2 (e.g., FR2). The second uplink carrier may operate in a frequency range 1 (e.g., FR1).”, wherein the first uplink carrier of Yi is equivalent to an information included the first uplink grant information of Wen, for example.); and
transmit or receive, based on the second starting resource and the second quantity of resources, the second transmission in a second set of resources of a second maximum quantity of resources, wherein the second maximum quantity of resources is based on the second channel bandwidth, the second frequency band information, and the second SCS (see, Yi: para. [0267], “The wireless device 2408 may send one or more PUSCH transmissions. The wireless device 2408 may send a first PUSCH transmission 2436-1 comprising the TB and a second PUSCH transmission 2436-2 comprising the TB via the first uplink carrier 2428. The wireless device 2408 may send a third PUSCH transmission 2440 comprising the TB via the second uplink carrier 2432.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in combination of the teachings of Yi in order to support multi-carriers for transmission such that portions of the transmission may be transmitted using different carriers while multicarrier transmission is independently configured for each of a plurality of wireless resources and while a maximum quantity of resource blocks are used for transmission for different types of terminal device (see, Yi: Abstract; Wen: para. [0164] [0172] [0235]).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi further in view of Chae et al. (WO 2021/231522 A1, hereinafter Chae).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi does not explicitly teach wherein the first type of frequency band is an ultra high frequency (UHF) band type, and the second type of a frequency band is different from the UHF band type.
In the same field of endeavor, Chae teaches wherein the first type of frequency band is an ultra high frequency (UHF) band type, and the second type of a frequency band is different from the UHF band type (see, Chae: para. [0101], “In NR, a flexible numerology is supported to accommodate different cell deployments (e.g., cells with carrier frequencies below 1 GHz up to cells with carrier frequencies in the mm-wave range).”, wherein the carrier frequency below 1 GHz is equivalent to the second frequency band and the carrier frequency in the mm-wave range is equivalent to the first frequency band of the instant application.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi in combination of the teachings of Chae in order to accommodate different cell deployments with a flexible numerology in NR (see, Chae: para. [0101]).
This recited use-case limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art because it merely describes an intended use or result without imposing structural or functional limitations. Any adaptation for such use would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (see, Yi: para. [0286]).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi does not explicitly teach wherein the first type of frequency band or the first frequency band corresponds to a UHF spectrum or a spectrum above the UHF spectrum, and wherein the second type of frequency band or the second frequency band corresponds to a spectrum below the UHF spectrum.
In the same field of endeavor, Chae teaches wherein the first type of frequency band or the first frequency band corresponds to a UHF spectrum or a spectrum above the UHF spectrum, and wherein the second type of frequency band or the second frequency band corresponds to a spectrum below the UHF spectrum (see, Chae: para. [0101], “In NR, a flexible numerology is supported to accommodate different cell deployments (e.g., cells with carrier frequencies below 1 GHz up to cells with carrier frequencies in the mm-wave range).”, wherein the carrier frequency below 1 GHz is equivalent to the second frequency band and the carrier frequency in the mm-wave range is equivalent to the first frequency band of the instant application.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi in combination of the teachings of Chae in order to accommodate different cell deployments with a flexible numerology in NR (see, Chae: para. [0101]).
This recited use-case limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art because it merely describes an intended use or result without imposing structural or functional limitations. Any adaptation for such use would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (see, Yi: para. [0286]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0109406 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi does not explicitly teach wherein the first type of frequency band or the first frequency band corresponds to a UHF spectrum.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the first type of frequency band or the first frequency band corresponds to a UHF spectrum (see, Wang: para. [0049], “Wireless communication system 100 may operate in an ultra high frequency (UHF) frequency region using frequency bands from 700 MHz to 2600 MHz (2.6 gigahertz (GHz)”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi in combination of the teachings of Wang in order for the communication system (including UE) to operate in UHF frequency spectrum region (see, Wang: para. [0049]).
This recited use-case limitation does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art because it merely describes an intended use or result without imposing structural or functional limitations. Any adaptation for such use would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (see, Yi: para. [0286]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi further in view of Belov et al. (EP 3454497 A1, hereinafter Belov).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi does not teach explicitly wherein: a first out of band emission (OOBE) condition associated with the first type of frequency band is different from a second OOBE condition associated with the second type of frequency band; a first adjacent channel leakage ratio (ALCR) condition associated with the first type of frequency band is different from a second ALCR condition associated with the second type of frequency band; or both.
In the same field of endeavor, Belov teaches wherein: a first out of band emission (OOBE) condition associated with the first type of frequency band is different from a second OOBE condition associated with the second type of frequency band; a first adjacent channel leakage ratio (ALCR) condition associated with the first type of frequency band is different from a second ALCR condition associated with the second type of frequency band; or both (see, Belov: para. [0004], “In order to ensure that operation in one carrier has no or limited impact in the system adjacent channels (component carriers) the NR and LTE systems introduce dedicated guard bands on the edges of the channel bandwidth to avoid excessive out of band emission and avoid negative impact on the operation in the adjacent frequency channels. In particular, both systems allow useful signal transmission within a sub-part of the available resources (e.g. useful signal transmission may occupy X% of resources within the assigned channel bandwidth) and the remaining frequency resources are used as dedicated guard bands on the edges of the channel bandwidth. … For NR systems the spectrum utilization depends on the used numerology (subcarrier spacing), channel bandwidth and frequency range. For most cases the achievable spectrum utilization may exceed 90%.”, wherein the OOBE conditions are different depending on the used numerology (subcarrier spacing) in NR systems.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi in combination of the teachings of Belov in order to accommodate different cell deployments with a flexible numerology in NR as compared to LTE (see, Belov: para. [0004]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi further in view of Demir et al. (US 2019/0379488 A1, hereinafter Demir).
Regarding claim 9:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Yi further teaches various multi-carrier transmission operations including: the wireless device may support communications via a first cell operating in a first frequency region (e.g., FR1, a frequency range below than 7 GHz, or any other first frequency range), the wireless device may support communications via a second cell operating in a second frequency region (e.g., FR2, a frequency of 7 GHz to 52.6 GHz, or any other second frequency range), the wireless device may support communications in different frequency regions by using different radio frequency equipment (RFE), the wireless device may use a first RFE, for the first frequency region and a second RFE for the second frequency region, and the first RFE and the second RFE may operate independently (see, Yi: para. [0286]).
In the same field of endeavor, Demir teaches wherein the spectral efficiency is greater/higher in the frequency range-1 (FR1) than the frequency range-2 (FR2) (see, Demir: Table V and para. [0057]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi in combination of the teachings of Demir in order to use the greater/higher spectral efficiency spectrum (e.g., FR1) for transmission in the first uplink carrier of Yi (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) and use lower spectral efficiency spectrum (e.g., FR2) for transmission in the second uplink carrier of Yi (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH) in multi-carrier scheduling (see, Yi: para. [0114] [0266] [0286] [0308] [0343], and Demir: Table V and para. [0057]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi further in view of Khandekar et al. (US 2007/0147226 A1, hereinafter Khandekar).
Regarding claim 10:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi does not explicitly teach wherein the first type of frequency band corresponds to a first frequency spectrum, wherein the second type of frequency band corresponds to a second frequency spectrum, wherein a first spectral emission mask (SEM) associated with the first frequency spectrum is different from a second SEM associated with the second frequency spectrum.
In the same field of endeavor, Khandekar teaches wherein the first type of frequency band corresponds to a first frequency spectrum, wherein the second type of frequency band corresponds to a second frequency spectrum, wherein a first spectral emission mask (SEM) associated with the first frequency spectrum is different from a second SEM associated with the second frequency spectrum (see, Khandekar: Fig. 8 and para. [0053], “Variable guard bands may be used to support different operating bandwidths, as described above. Variable guard bands may also be used to support different spectral emission masks. A spectral emission mask specifies the allowed output power levels at different frequencies. A more stringent spectral emission mask may require the output power level to be attenuated more at certain frequencies.”; para. [0055], “The operating bandwidth may be selected based on, e.g., the bandwidth available for the system, a spectral emission mask for the system, etc.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in view of Yi in combination of the teachings of Khandekar in order to determine allowed output power levels at different frequencies (see, Khandekar: Fig. 8; para. [0053] [0055]).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 further in view of Wang et. Al (US 2019/0140807 A1, hereinafter Huawei).
Regarding claim 13:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 does not explicitly teach wherein the scheduling information includes information indicative of the first channel bandwidth, the first frequency band information, and the first SCS.
In the same field of endeavor, Huawei teaches wherein the scheduling information (i.e., configuration information including bandwidth part (BP) information sent to the terminal) includes information indicative of the first channel bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth, BW), the first frequency band information (i.e., spectrum or frequency band), and the first SCS (i.e., subcarrier spacing) (see, Huawei: para. [0075], “The BP information includes one or a combination of the following: bandwidth information of a BP, carrier frequency information of the BP, and frame structure information of the BP. The carrier frequency information may be information about a spectrum or a frequency band in which the BP is located. The frame structure information may be a subcarrier spacing, ...”, wherein the BP information is equivalent to the scheduling information of the instant application.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in combination of the teachings of Huawei in order to support different services using different frame structure parameters such as a subcarrier spacing, bandwidth part, etc. as a scheduling unit (see, Huawei: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 15:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 does not explicitly teach wherein, to receive the scheduling information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a signaling message indicative of the first channel bandwidth, the first frequency band information, and the first SCS.
In the same field of endeavor, Huawei teaches wherein, to receive the scheduling information (e.g., configuration information including bandwidth (BP) information), the at least one processor is configured to: receive a signaling message (e.g., an RRC signaling) indicative of the first channel bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth, BW), the first frequency band information (i.e., spectrum or frequency band), and the first SCS (i.e., subcarrier spacing) (see, Huawei: para. [0019], “The terminal receives the indication information sent by the network device”; para. [0224], “the indication information or the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling (such as RRC signaling)”; para. [0155], “The network device sends first configuration information to the terminal, where the first configuration information includes resource information …, for example, at least one of control channel information, a signal transmission feature, BP information, …); para. [0075], “The BP information includes one or a combination of the following: bandwidth information of a BP, carrier frequency information of the BP, and frame structure information of the BP. The carrier frequency information may be information about a spectrum or a frequency band in which the BP is located. The frame structure information may be a subcarrier spacing, a CP length, a quantity of symbols included in a slot, a quantity of symbols included in a mini-slot, a short transmission time, a long transmission time, slot-level scheduling, mini-slot scheduling, slot aggregated scheduling, mini-slot aggregated scheduling, slot and mini-slot aggregated scheduling, or the like.”, wherein the BP information is equivalent to the scheduling information of the instant application.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in combination of the teachings of Huawei in order to send the bandwidth part (BP) information through RRC signaling to the terminal (see, Huawei: para. [0004]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of TS 38.104 further in view of Huawei further in view of Yi.
Regarding claim 14:
As discussed above, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Wen in view of TS 38.104 does not explicitly teach wherein to receive the scheduling information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling includes information indicative of the first channel bandwidth, the first frequency band information, and the first SCS; and receive downlink control information including timing information for the first transmission, wherein the timing information is indicative of a starting resource and a quantity of resources for the first transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Huawei teaches wherein, to receive the scheduling information (e.g., configuration information including bandwidth (BP) information), the at least one processor is configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling includes information indicative of the first channel bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth, BW), the first frequency band information (i.e., spectrum or frequency band), and the first SCS (i.e., subcarrier spacing) (see, Huawei: para. [0019], “The terminal receives the indication information sent by the network device”; para. [0224], “the indication information or the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling (such as RRC signaling)”; para. [0155], “The network device sends first configuration information to the terminal, where the first configuration information includes resource information …, for example, at least one of control channel information, a signal transmission feature, BP information, …); para. [0075], “The BP information includes one or a combination of the following: bandwidth information of a BP, carrier frequency information of the BP, and frame structure information of the BP. The carrier frequency information may be information about a spectrum or a frequency band in which the BP is located. The frame structure information may be a subcarrier spacing, ...”, wherein the BP information is equivalent to the scheduling information of the instant application.); and
receive downlink control information (see, Huawei: para. [0019], “The indication information and the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling or physical layer information. Same signaling or different signaling may be used for the indication information and the configuration information. If the indication information and the configuration information are sent by using different signaling, for example, the configuration information is sent to the terminal by using RRC signaling, and the indication information is sent to the terminal by using DCI, the configuration information does not need to be carried in the DCI, and therefore signaling overheads of the DCI can be reduced to some extent.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 in combination of the teachings of Huawei in order to send the bandwidth part (BP) configuration information using RRC signaling and the indication information using DCI to the terminal (see, Huawei: para. [0004]).
Wen in view of TS 38.104 and Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein the downlink control information includes timing information for the first transmission, wherein the timing information is indicative of a starting resource and a quantity of resources for the first transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches wherein receiving downlink control information (DCI) including timing information for the first transmission, wherein the timing information is indicative of a starting resource and a quantity of resources for the first transmission (see, Yi: Fig. 17 and para. [0185], “The base station may send/transmit DCI via a PDCCH on one or more control resource sets (CORESETs).”; para. [0188], “The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like).”; para. [0212], “The UL/SUL indicator field 1708 may indicate whether DCI schedules a resource for an uplink carrier or a supplemental uplink.”; para. [0214], “The frequency domain RA field 1712 may indicate a starting PRB indicator/index and a length of the scheduled uplink resource(s) (e.g., an RIV value that determines the starting PRB indicator/index and the length)”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wen in view of TS 38.104 and Huawei in combination of the teachings of Yi in order to for the wireless device to determine uplink resources of the scheduled cell as indicated in the frequency domain resource allocation configured by the base station (see, Yi: para. [0214]).
Claims 19, 20, 24, 25, 29, and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei in view of Yi further in view of Wen further in view of TS 38.104.
Regarding claim 19:
Huawei teaches a network node (see, Huawei: Fig. 24 and para. [0344], Terminal) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (see, Huawei: Fig. 24 and para. [0350], Processing element 231); and a memory (see, Huawei: Fig. 24 and para. [0351], Storage element 232) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive scheduling information (e.g., configuration information including bandwidth (BP) information) indicative of a first channel bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth, BW), first frequency band information (i.e., spectrum or frequency band), a first subcarrier spacing (SCS) (i.e., subcarrier spacing), wherein the first frequency band information is indicative of a first type of frequency band or a first frequency band (see, Huawei: para. [0019], “The terminal receives the indication information sent by the network device”; para. [0224], “the indication information or the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling (such as RRC signaling)”; para. [0155], “The network device sends first configuration information to the terminal, where the first configuration information includes resource information …, for example, at least one of control channel information, a signal transmission feature, BP information, …); para. [0075], “The BP information includes one or a combination of the following: bandwidth information of a BP, carrier frequency information of the BP, and frame structure information of the BP. The carrier frequency information may be information about a spectrum or a frequency band in which the BP is located. The frame structure information may be a subcarrier spacing, ...”, wherein the BP information is equivalent to the scheduling information of the instant application.).
Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein receiving scheduling information indicative a starting resource, and a quantity of resources for a first transmission
In the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches wherein receiving scheduling information indicative a starting resource, and a quantity of resources for a first transmission (see, Yi: Fig. 17 and para. [0185], “The base station may send/transmit DCI via a PDCCH on one or more control resource sets (CORESETs).”; para. [0188], “The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like).”; para. [0212], “The UL/SUL indicator field 1708 may indicate whether DCI schedules a resource for an uplink carrier or a supplemental uplink.”; para. [0214], “The frequency domain RA field 1712 may indicate a starting PRB indicator/index and a length of the scheduled uplink resource(s) (e.g., an RIV value that determines the starting PRB indicator/index and the length)”); and transmit or receive, based on the starting resource and the quantity of resources, the first transmission (see, Yi: para. [0215], “The wireless device may transmit the first hop and the second hop as a single uplink transmission (e.g., a PUSCH transmission comprising a transport block, based on an uplink grant based on the DCI format of FIG. 17).”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Huawei in combination of the teachings of Yi in order to for the wireless device to determine uplink resources of the scheduled cell as indicated in the frequency domain resource allocation configured by the base station (see, Yi: para. [0214]).
Huawei in view of Yi does not explicitly teach wherein transmitting or receiving the first transmission in a set of resources of a first maximum quantity of resources, wherein the first maximum quantity of resources is based on the first channel bandwidth, the first frequency band information, and the first SCS.
As discussed above with respect to the limitation “wherein the first maximum quantity is based on a first channel bandwidth, first frequency band information, and a first subcarrier spacing (SCS), wherein the first frequency band information is indicative of a first type of frequency band or a first frequency band” in claim 1, Wen in view of TS 38.104 teaches wherein transmitting or receiving the first transmission in a set of resources of a first maximum quantity of resources, wherein the first maximum quantity of resources is based on the first channel bandwidth, the first frequency band information, and the first SCS (see, Wen: para. [0172], “the first terminal device determines the quantity of supported resource blocks based on the bandwidth of the first terminal device. The quantity of resource blocks used for the supported bandwidth may be a maximum quantity of frequency domain resource blocks that can be occupied when the first terminal device performs sending and/or receiving.”). The same reasoning and supporting citations are incorporated herein and apply equally to the present limitation.
Regarding claim 20:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 19.
Huawei further teaches wherein the scheduling information is received in a single transmission, and wherein the single transmission corresponds to a radio resource control (RRC), downlink control information, a physical downlink control channel PDCCH), or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (see, Huawei: para. [0224], “the implementation of determining the first RBG size by the terminal by receiving the indication information and/or the configuration information sent by the network device can reduce signaling overheads to some extent. For example, the indication information or the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) or physical layer information (such as DCI signaling). Same signaling or different signaling may be used for the indication information and the configuration information.”).
Regarding claim 24:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 19.
Huawei further teaches wherein a portion of the scheduling information is indicated in a Cell Acquisition Subframes (CAS) of a broadcast transmission, a system information block (SIB) transmission, a multicast control channel (MCCH) transmission, or in a MBSFNAreaInfo information element (see, Huawei: para. [0073], “The signal transmission feature may be understood as information or a channel that a resource allocated by the network device by using the determined RBG size is used to carry, where the information or the channel includes one or a combination of the following: system information, broadcast information, cell-level information, common information, user-specific information, and group information.”; para. [0224], “the implementation of determining the first RBG size by the terminal by receiving the indication information and/or the configuration information sent by the network device can reduce signaling overheads to some extent. For example, the indication information or the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) or physical layer information (such as DCI signaling). Same signaling or different signaling may be used for the indication information and the configuration information. For example, higher layer signaling is used for the configuration information, and physical layer signaling is used for the indication information. The higher layer signaling may be system-level or cell-level signaling, or may be user-level signaling. This is not specifically limited herein.”).
Also, see Yi: para. [0211], “The one or more RRC configuration parameters may be sent/transmitted via a MIB, SIBs, or one or more wireless device-specific messages (e.g., wireless device-specific RRC messages).”.
Regarding claim 25:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 19.
Huawei further teaches wherein the scheduling information is received over multiple transmissions (see, Huawei: para. [0224], “the implementation of determining the first RBG size by the terminal by receiving the indication information and/or the configuration information sent by the network device can reduce signaling overheads to some extent. For example, the indication information or the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using higher layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) or physical layer information (such as DCI signaling). Same signaling or different signaling may be used for the indication information and the configuration information. For example, higher layer signaling is used for the configuration information, and physical layer signaling is used for the indication information. The higher layer signaling may be system-level or cell-level signaling, or may be user-level signaling. This is not specifically limited herein.”).
Regarding claim 26:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 19.
Huawei in view of Yi further teaches wherein the scheduling information includes configuration information (e.g., RRC configuration) and timing information (e.g., downlink control information), and wherein, to receive the scheduling information, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a first signaling transmission (e.g., RRC) including the configuration information indicative of the first channel bandwidth, the first frequency band information, and the first SCS for the first transmission (see, Huawei: para. [0155], “The network device sends first configuration information to the terminal, where the first configuration information includes resource information that has a preset correspondence with an RBG size, for example, …, BP information, ...”; para. [0075], “The BP information includes one or a combination of the following: bandwidth information of a BP, carrier frequency information of the BP, and frame structure information of the BP. The carrier frequency information may be information about a spectrum or a frequency band in which the BP is located. The frame structure information may be a subcarrier spacing, …”; para. [0226], “the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using RRC signaling, and the indication information may be sent to the terminal by using DCI.”, wherein the BP information is a configuration information received via an RRC signaling.); and
receive a second signaling transmission (e.g., DCI) including the timing information indicative of the starting resource and the quantity of resources for the first transmission (see, Yi: para. [0185], “The base station may send/transmit DCI via a PDCCH on one or more control resource sets (CORESETs). A CORESET may comprise a time-frequency resource in which the wireless device attempts/tries to decode DCI using one or more search spaces.”; para. [0188], “The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like).”; para. [0212], “The UL/SUL indicator field 1708 may indicate whether DCI schedules a resource for an uplink carrier or a supplemental uplink.”; para. [0214], “The frequency domain RA field 1712 may indicate a starting PRB indicator/index and a length of the scheduled uplink resource(s) (e.g., an RIV value that determines the starting PRB indicator/index and the length), for example, if resource allocation type 1 (e.g., the second resource allocation type) is configured.”, wherein the frequency domain RA field 1712 of Yi is equivalent to the timing information of the instant application.).
Regarding claim 27:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 26.
Huawei in view of Yi further teaches wherein the first signaling transmission corresponds to radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (see, Huawei: para. [0226], “the configuration information may be sent to the terminal by using RRC signaling, and the indication information may be sent to the terminal by using DCI.”, wherein the BP information is a configuration information received via an RRC signaling.), and wherein the second signaling transmission corresponds to downlink control information, a physical downlink control channel PDCCH), or the MAC CE (see, Yi: para. [0188], “The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like).”; para. [0214], “The frequency domain RA field 1712 may indicate a starting PRB indicator/index and a length of the scheduled uplink resource(s) (e.g., an RIV value that determines the starting PRB indicator/index and the length), for example, if resource allocation type 1 (e.g., the second resource allocation type) is configured.”).
Regarding claim 28:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 26.
Yi further teaches wherein the timing information corresponds to a resource indicator value (RIV), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the starting resource and the quantity of resources for the first transmission based on the RIV (see, Yi: para. [0188], “The wireless device may process information comprised in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant, power control, a slot format indication, a downlink preemption, and/or the like).”; para. [0214], “The frequency domain RA field 1712 may indicate a starting PRB indicator/index and a length of the scheduled uplink resource(s) (e.g., an RIV value that determines the starting PRB indicator/index and the length), for example, if resource allocation type 1 (e.g., the second resource allocation type) is configured.”, wherein the frequency domain RA field 1712 of Yi is equivalent to the timing information of the instant application.).
Regarding claim 29:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 19.
The limitations of claim 29 are a combination of limitations previously addressed with respect to claims 2 and 31. As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi teaches or suggest wherein receiving second scheduling information indicative of the first channel bandwidth, second frequency band information, the first SCS, a second starting resource, and a second quantity of resources for a second transmission, wherein the second frequency band information is indicative of a second type of frequency band or a second frequency band, and Wen in view of TS 38.104 and Yi teaches or suggests wherein transmitting or receiving, based on the second starting resource and the second quantity of resources, the second transmission in a second set of resources of a second maximum quantity of resources, wherein the second maximum quantity of resources is based on the first channel bandwidth, the second frequency band information, and the first SCS, and wherein the second maximum quantity of resources is different from the first maximum quantity of resources, and wherein the second frequency band information is different from the first frequency band information..
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine and apply the teachings of Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 in order to schedule a maximum quantity of frequency resource blocks for transmission or reception in support of multi-carriers for transmission such that portions of the transmission may be transmitted using different carriers while multicarrier transmission is independently configured for each of a plurality of wireless resources and while a maximum quantity of resource blocks are used for transmission for different types of terminal device (see, Yi: Abstract; Wen: para. [0164] [0172] [0235]).
Regarding claim 30:
Huawei teaches a network node (see, Huawei: Fig. 23 and para. [0344], Network device) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (see, Huawei: Fig. 23 and para. [0342], Processing element 131); and a memory (see, Huawei: Fig. 23 and para. [0343], Storage element 132) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: perform the features of claim 19 from the perspective of a base station. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 19 above.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei in view of Yi further in view of Wen further in view of TS 38.104 further in view of Jeon et al. (WO 2018/085335 A1, hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 22:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 teaches all limitations in claim 19.
Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 does not explicitly teach wherein the first transmission corresponds to broadcast transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches wherein the first transmission corresponds to broadcast transmission (see, Jeon: para. [00070], “an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) comprises one or more baseband processors to configure a SystemlnformationBlockType1 (SIB1) message for further evolved multimedia broadcast multicast service (FeMBMS), wherein the SIB1 message for FeMBMS includes eMBMS information from any one or more SIBs and wherein the SIB1 message for FeMBMS information is configured in a cell acquisition subframe (CAS) subframe to be transmitted in subframe 0 of a frame configured for one-hundred percent multicast-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) transmission … wherein the one or more baseband processors are to configure the CAS subframe to include information on additional periodic subframes for system information transmission.”, wherein the SIB message transmission is a broadcast transmission.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, and TS 38.104 in combination of the teachings of Jeon in order for the UE to broadcast SIB1 message for further evolved multimedia broadcast multicast service (FeMBMS) (see, Jeon: para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 23:
As discussed above, Huawei in view of Yi, Wen, TS 38.104, and Jeon teaches all limitations in claim 22.
Jeon further teaches wherein the broadcast transmission corresponds to Cell Acquisition Subframes (CAS) or Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) data transmitted in a Physical Multicast Channel (PMCH) (see, Jeon: para. [00070], “an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) comprises one or more baseband processors to configure a SystemlnformationBlockType1 (SIB1) message for further evolved multimedia broadcast multicast service (FeMBMS), wherein the SIB1 message for FeMBMS includes eMBMS information from any one or more SIBs and wherein the SIB1 message for FeMBMS information is configured in a cell acquisition subframe (CAS) subframe to be transmitted in subframe 0 of a frame configured for one-hundred percent multicast-broadcast single-frequency network (MBSFN) transmission … wherein the one or more baseband processors are to configure the CAS subframe to include information on additional periodic subframes for system information transmission.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding claim 29:
Chae et al. (WO 2021/231522 A1; para. [0101-0110]; Claim 1) discloses “receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters indicating: a first bandwidth of a first bandwidth part of a first uplink carrier; and a second bandwidth of a second bandwidth part of a second uplink carrier; determining a size of a frequency domain resource allocation field based on the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) comprising the frequency domain resource allocation field indicating frequency domain resources of: the first bandwidth part of the first uplink carrier; and the second bandwidth part of the second uplink carrier; and transmitting one or more uplink signals via the frequency domain resources.”.
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471