DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36, 43-54, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grivna et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2013/0307823; hereinafter Grivna) in view Tanaka et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2011/0234545; hereinafter Tanaka), and Katabi et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0293647; hereinafter Katabi).
With reference to claim 36, Grivna discloses a touch sensing system (see paragraphs 4, 20-21; Fig. 1-2), wherein:
touch sensing circuitry (101) configured to perform a first detection scan (determining the presence of the object; 502) of a surface and configured to perform a second detection scan (determining the location of the object; 506) of the surface (see paragraphs 23, 87-89; Figs. 1, 5), wherein:
characteristics of the first detection scan (502) are associated with coarse touch image reconstruction (see paragraphs 52, 54-55) and characteristics of the second detection scan (506) are associated with fine touch image reconstruction (see paragraphs 80-82, 87-89; Figs. 3, 5), and
one or more processors (110) coupled to the touch sensing circuitry (101) (see paragraphs 21, 23, 72-74; Figs. 1-5).
wherein at least one of the touch sensing circuitry (101) or the one or more processors (110/330) is configured to process results of the first detection scan (502) or results of the second detection scan (506) (see paragraphs 21, 23, 72-74; Figs. 1-5);
wherein, when an object is touching the surface, the results of the first detection scan (504), indicate a presence of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 87-89; Figs. 1, 3, 5); and
wherein, when the object is touching the surface, the results of the second detection scan (506), indicate a location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 87-89; Figs. 1-5).
While teaching performing a first (504) and second (506) detection scanning, and the usage of acoustically-sensitive detection (see paragraphs 4, 27, 87-89), Grivna fails to specifically disclose the usage of acoustic touch circuitry including transmit and receive circuitry having the configurations as recited.
Tanaka discloses an acoustic touch sensing system comprising acoustic touch sensing circuity (see paragraphs 35, 39, 41; Figs. 1-2), wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry comprises acoustic transmit circuitry (35a, b) and acoustic receive circuitry (35c, d) (see paragraphs 41, 47; Figs. 2a, b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of acoustic transmit and receive circuitry similar to that which is taught by Tanaka to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Grivna to thereby provide a durable acoustic touch sensitive surface with minimal optical degradation of the displayed image (see Tanaka; paragraph 4).
While Grivna and Tanaka disclose an acoustic touch sensing system having a first and second scan for fine and coarse detection, wherein Tanka further discloses that the acoustic transmit and receive circuitry includes transducers which may either transmit or receive an acoustic wave (see Tanaka paragraphs 50-51), there fails to be disclosure of the circuitry being configured in a first configuration for the first scan and a second configuration for the second scan as recited.
Katabi discloses a virtual touchscreen application for a radio frequency (RF) localization system (see abstract; paragraph 4; Figs. 1-2), wherein the touch sensing system (200) comprises touch sensing circuitry (214) (see paragraph 44; Fig. 2) configured in a first configuration (214e-h) to perform a first detection scan (218), and the touch sensing circuitry is configured in a second configuration (214a-d) different from the first configuration (214e-h) to perform the second detection scan (216) (see paragraphs 59-60); and wherein the first detection scan (218) are based on first signals generated by the transmit circuitry and received via the receive circuitry to indicate a presence of the object touch the surface (in teaching antenna pairs (214) functioning as transmit/receive circuitry; see paragraphs 61-62; Fig. 2), and the second detection scan (216) are based on second signals generated via the transmit circuitry and received via the circuity to indicate a location of the object touching the surface (in teaching antenna pairs (214) functioning as transmit/receive circuitry; see paragraphs 59-60; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a first and second configuration similar to that which is taught by Katabi to be carried out in an acoustic system similar to that which is taught by Grivna and Tanaka to provide accurate detection (see Katabi; paragraphs 63-64).
With reference to claim 37, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein the device contains one or more processors (100), wherein the one or more processors (110) comprises a host processor (110) and an auxiliary processor (102/151) (see paragraphs 23-24; Fig. 1).
With reference to claim 38, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 37, wherein Grivna further discloses that the auxiliary processor (102/151) is configured to receive the results of the first detection scan (502) and the results of the second detection scan (506) (see paragraphs 23-24; Fig. 1); and wherein the auxiliary processor (102/151) is configured to: process the results of the first detection scan (502) to determine the presence of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7); and process the results of the second detection scan to determine the location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7).
With reference to claim 41, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 37, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein the auxiliary processor (102/151) is configured to receive the results of the first detection scan (502) and the host processor (110) is configured to receive the results of the second detection scan (506) (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7); wherein the auxiliary processor (102/151) is configured to process the results of the first detection scan (502) to determine the presence of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7); and wherein the host processor (110) is configured to process the results of the second detection scan (506) to determine the location of the object touching the surface (in teaching that the processing device (100) includes processing logic (102), wherein the processing logic receives signals from the sensor to determine the state of the sensor array as to whether an object is detected and the location of the object; see paragraphs 23-24, 49; Figs. 5-7).
With reference to claim 43, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Grivna further discloses an touch sensing digital signal processor (110) configured to receive the results of the second detection scan (506); wherein the touch sensing digital signal processor (110) is configured to process the results of the second detection scan (506) to determine the location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 22-24, 87-89; Fig. 1, 5).
With reference to claim 44, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein the touch sensing circuitry (101) is configured to process the results of the first detection scan (502)and the results of the second detection scan (506) to determine the presence and the location of the object touching the surface see paragraphs 22-24, 87-89; Fig. 1, 5).
With reference to claim 45, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Tanaka further discloses a plurality of transducers (35a-d) coupled to the surface (10) (see paragraphs 39; Figs. 1-2, 4, 6); and routing deposited along a side of the surface (10) adjacent to the plurality of transducers (35) (in teaching cables/wires (5) mounted to the display substrate (5); see paragraph 73; Figs. 6); wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry is coupled to the plurality of transducers (35) via coupling of the acoustic touch sensing circuitry to the routing (124) on the routing deposited along the side of the surface (see paragraph 72-73; Figs. 6).
With reference to claim 49, Grivna discloses a method (see paragraphs Fig. 5, paragraphs 106-107) comprising:
performing a first detection scan (determining the presence of the object; 502) of a surface using a touch sensing system (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1);
processing (110/330) results of the first detection scan (502) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface, wherein the results are based on signals received via the receive circuitry (223) (see paragraphs 21, 23, 28; Figs. 1-5).
in accordance with a determination that the object is contacting the surface based on the results of the first detection scan (502), performing a second detection scan (506) of the surface (see paragraphs 87-89; Figs. 1-5), and wherein characteristics of the first detection scan (502) are associated with coarse touch image reconstruction (see paragraphs 52, 54-55) and characteristics of the second detection scan (506) are associated with fine touch image reconstruction (see paragraphs 80-82, 87-89; Figs. 3, 5); and
processing results of the second detection scan (506) to determine a location of the object contacting the surface (see paragraphs 87-89; Figs. 1-5).
While teaching performing a first (504) and second (506) detection scanning, and the usage of acoustically-sensitive detection (see paragraphs 4, 27, 87-89), Grivna fails to specifically disclose the usage of acoustic touch circuitry including transmit and receive circuitry of the configurations as recited.
Tanaka discloses acoustic touch sensing circuity (see paragraphs 35, 39, 41; Figs. 1-2), wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry comprises acoustic transmit circuitry (35a, b) and acoustic receive circuitry (35c, d) (see paragraphs 41, 47; Figs. 2a, b), wherein the acoustic transmit circuitry includes a first transducer (35) (see paragraph 39, 41; Figs. 1-2); processing results of the acoustic detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraph 40-41), wherein the results are based on waves received via the acoustic receive circuitry that are generated by the acoustic transmit circuitry (see paragraphs 35, 38)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of acoustic transmit and receive circuitry similar to that which is taught by Tanaka to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Grivna to thereby provide a durable touch sensitive surface with minimal optical degradation of the displayed image (see Tanaka; paragraph 4).
While Grivna and Tanaka disclose an acoustic touch sensing system having a first and second scan for fine and coarse detection, wherein Tanka further discloses that the acoustic transmit and receive circuitry includes transducers which may either transmit or receive an acoustic wave (see Tanaka paragraphs 50-51), there fails to be disclosure of the circuitry being configured in a first configuration for the first scan and a second configuration for the second scan as recited.
Katabi discloses a virtual touchscreen application for a radio frequency (RF) localization system (see abstract; paragraph 4; Figs. 1-2), wherein the touch sensing system (200) comprises touch sensing circuitry (214) (see paragraph 44; Fig. 2), wherein performing the first detection scan (218) includes configuring the touch sense circuitry in a first configuration (214e-h), and wherein performing the second detection scan (216) includes configuring the touch sensing circuitry in a second configuration (214a-d), different from the first configuration (214e-h) to perform the second detection scan (216) (see paragraphs 59-61; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a first and second configuration similar to that which is taught by Katabi to be carried out in an acoustic system similar to that which is taught by Grivna and Tanaka to thereby provide accurate location detection (see Katabi; paragraphs 63-64).
With reference to claim 57, Grivna discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (see paragraphs 106-107), which when executed by a device (100) comprising a surface (see paragraph 20-22; Fig. 1-2), touch sensing circuitry (101), and one or more processors (110), cause the touch sensing circuitry (101) and the one or more processors (110) to:
in a first state:
perform a first detection (determining the presence of the object; 502) scan of the surface (see paragraphs 23, 87-89; Fig. 1, 5); and
process results of the first detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 23, 87-89; Fig. 1, 5), wherein the results of the first detection scan are based on signals transmitted and received (see paragraphs 23, 87-89; Fig. 1, 5);
process results of the first detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (502-504) (see paragraphs 87-88; Fig. 5), wherein the results of the first detection scan (502) are based on signals generated via the transmit circuitry (222) and received via the receive circuitry (223) (see paragraphs 28, 87-88; Figs. 1-2, 5); and
when the objects are determined to be contacting the surface based on processing the results of the first detection scan (502), cause the touch sensing circuitry to transition from the first state to a second state (506) (see paragraphs 86-89; Fig. 5); and
in a second state (506):
perform a second detection scan (determining the location of the object; 506) of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1)¸wherein characteristics of the first detection scan (502) are associated with coarse touch image reconstruction (see paragraphs 52, 54-55) and characteristics of the second detection scan (506) are associated with fine touch image reconstruction (see paragraphs 80-82, 87-89; Figs. 3, 5); and
process results of the second detection scan to determine a location of the object contacting the surface (see paragraphs 80-82, 87-89; Figs. 3, 5), wherein the results of the second detection scan are based on signals transmitted and received (see paragraphs 80-82, 87-89; Figs. 3, 5).
While teaching performing a first (504) and second (506) detection scanning with touch sensing circuitry, and the usage of acoustically-sensitive detection (see paragraphs 4, 27, 87-89), Grivna fails to specifically disclose the usage of acoustic touch circuitry including transmit and receive circuitry of the configurations as recited.
Tanaka discloses an acoustic touch sensing system comprising: a plurality of acoustic transducer (35a-d) coupled to edges of the surface (10/15) (see paragraphs 51-52; Figs. 1-2, 6a-c), wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry comprises acoustic transmit circuitry (35a-d) and acoustic receive circuitry (35a-d) (in teaching the usage of transducers; see paragraphs 41, 47; Figs. 2a, b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of acoustic transmit and receive circuitry similar to that which is taught by Tanaka to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Grivna to thereby provide a durable touch sensitive surface with minimal optical degradation of the displayed image (see Tanaka; paragraph 4).
While Grivna and Tanaka disclose an acoustic touch sensing system having a first and second scan for fine and coarse detection, wherein Tanka further discloses that the acoustic transmit and receive circuitry includes transducers which may either transmit or receive an acoustic wave (see Tanaka paragraphs 50-51), there fails to be disclosure of the circuitry being configured in a first configuration for the first scan and a second configuration for the second scan as recited.
Katabi discloses a virtual touchscreen application for a radio frequency (RF) localization system (see abstract; paragraph 4; Figs. 1-2), wherein the touch sensing system (200) comprises touch sensing circuitry (214) (see paragraph 44; Fig. 2), wherein one or more processors (218-220) cause the touch sensing circuitry (214), and the one or more processors (218-220) configured to: in a first state perform a detection scan (218) of the surface wherein the touch sensing circuitry (214) is configured in a first configuration to perform the first acoustic detection scan (in teaching the usage of antennas 214e-h) (see paragraphs 44, 61-62; Fig. 2); process results of the first detection scan to perform the first detection scan (218); wherein the first detection scan (218) is generated via the transmit circuitry and received via the receive circuitry (214e-h) (see paragraphs 61-62; Fig. 2); and includes configuring the acoustic touch sense circuitry in a first configuration (214e-h), and wherein performing the second detection scan (216) includes configuring the touch sensing circuitry in a second configuration (214a-d), different from the first configuration (214e-h) to perform the second detection scan (216) (see paragraphs 59-61; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a first and second configuration similar to that which is taught by Katabi to be carried out in an acoustic system similar to that which is taught by Grivna and Tanaka to thereby provide accurate location detection (see Katabi; paragraphs 63-64).
With reference to claim 59, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 57, wherein Grivna further discloses instructions, which executed by the device (100), cause the touch sensing circuitry (116) to transition from the second state (504) to the first state (502) when no object is determined to be contacting the surface based on processing the results of the second acoustic detection scan for a threshold period of time (user contacting surface; paragraph 52) or in response to receiving user input to power down a display of the device (in teaching low power partial scan; see paragraphs 87, 90; Fig. 5).
Claims 46-48, and 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Schermerhorn (US Patent Publication No. 2007/0240913).
With reference to claim 46, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Tanka further discloses a plurality of transducers (35) coupled to the surface (10) (see paragraph 61; Fig. 4).
While teaching the transducers (35) bonded to the surface and wire/leads (124) formed on a bracket of the device (see paragraph 73; Figs. 6), there fails to be disclosure of direct bonding to sensing circuitry and a circuit board as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Figs. 1-2) comprising a plurality of transducers (3, 6) (see paragraphs 8-10); wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (9) is coupled to the plurality transducers (3, 6) (see paragraphs 8-10) via direct bonding between the plurality of transducers (14) and the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (9), via bonding between the plurality of transducers and a flexible circuitry board coupled to the acoustic touch sensor sensing circuitry (in teaching connection of interface circuit (14) to the transducers (3, 6); see paragraph 52), or via bonding between the plurality of transducers (3, 6) and a rigid circuitry board (2) coupled to the acoustic touch sensor sensing circuitry (in teaching coupling substrates for the transducers (3, 6) see paragraphs 52-53; Figs. 2-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow the usage of a bonding technique similar to that which is taught by Schermerhorn to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi to thereby optimize wave propagation for surface acoustic detection (see Schermerhorn; paragraph 58).
With reference to claim 47, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, and while Grivna discloses an touch sensing circuitry configured to perform a first detection scan (502) of a surface and configured to perform a second detection scan (506) of the surface (see paragraphs 87-89; Fig. 5), there fails to be specific disclosure of a receive and transmit circuitry as recited.
Schermerhorn further discloses wherein the acoustic transmit circuitry (3) is implemented on a first integrated circuitry (2) and the acoustic receive circuitry (6) is implemented on a second integrated circuitry (2), separate from the first integrated circuitry (in teaching controller electronics/components (14, 24) provided on substrates of the touch sensor; see paragraphs 59-50, 52; Fig. 2).
With reference to claim 48, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, and while Grivna discloses an touch sensing circuitry configured to perform a first detection scan (502) of a surface and configured to perform a second detection scan (506) of the surface (see paragraphs 87-89; Fig. 5), there fails to be specific disclosure of a receive and transmit circuitry as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Figs. 1-2) further comprising a plurality of transmit transducers (3) and a plurality of receive transducers (6) (see paragraphs 8-9) wherein the acoustic transmit circuitry is configured to generate an acoustic stimulation signal to apply to the plurality of transmit transducers (see paragraphs 49-50; Figs. 1-2); and wherein the acoustic receive circuitry is configured to receive an acoustic receive signal from the plurality of receive transducers generated in response to the acoustic stimulation signal (see paragraphs 49-50; Figs. 1-2).
With reference to claim 50, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein processing results of the first detection scan (502) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 87-88; Fig. 5), there fails to be disclosure of transmitting an acoustic wave and receiving an acoustic reflection as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of transmitting an acoustic wave (7, 8, 11, 12) into the surface (1) from a first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17); and receiving an acoustic reflection corresponding to an edge (see paragraphs 8-9) of the surface opposite the first transducer at the first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17, 37); and determining that the object (8) is contacting the surface (see paragraph 10; Fig. 2) when the received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface is attenuated more than a threshold amount below a baseline received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface (wherein when no input is present, the acoustic refection will travel to the edge before returning to the receiving transducer, see paragraphs 8-10).
With reference to claim 51, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein processing results of the first detection scan (502) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 87-88; Fig. 5), there fails to be disclosure of transmitting an acoustic wave and receiving an acoustic reflection as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of transmitting an acoustic wave (7, 8, 11, 12) into the surface (1) from a first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17); and receiving an acoustic reflection corresponding to an edge (see paragraphs 8-9) of the surface opposite the first transducer at the first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17, 37); and determining that the object (8) is contacting the surface (see paragraph 10; Fig. 2) when the received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface is attenuated more than a threshold amount below a baseline received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface (see paragraph 10).
With reference to claim 52, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein processing results of the second acoustic detection scan (506) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 89-90; Fig. 5), there fails to be disclosure of the transmitting and receiving as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Figs. 1-2) capable of transmitting, by a first transducer (3) of a plurality of transducers (3ab, 6ab), a first acoustic wave (4, 7) in the surface (1) (see paragraphs 37-38; Fig. 2); receiving, by the first transducer (6) of the plurality of transducers (6ab), a first acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2); transmitting, by a second transducer (3) of a plurality of transducers (3ab, 6ab), a second acoustic wave (4, 7) in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2) receiving, by the second transducer (6) of the plurality of transducers (6ab), a second acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2); transmitting, by a third transducer (6) of the plurality of transducers (6ab), a third acoustic wave in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2); receiving, by the third transducer (3) of the plurality of transducers (3ab), a third acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2); transmitting, by a fourth transducer (6) of the plurality of transducers (6ab), a fourth acoustic wave in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2); and receiving, by the fourth transducer (3) of the plurality of transducers (3ab), a fourth acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10; Fig. 2).
With reference to claim 53, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein processing results of the second acoustic detection scan (506) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 89-90; Fig. 5), there fails to be disclosure of determining a time of flight as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of determining a first time of flight between the transmitted first acoustic wave and the received first acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); determining a second time of flight between the transmitted second acoustic wave and the received second acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); determining a third time of flight between the transmitted third acoustic wave and the received third acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); determining a fourth time of flight between the transmitted fourth acoustic wave and the received fourth acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); and determining the location of the object based on the first time of flight, the second time of flight, the third time of flight, and the fourth time of flight (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23).
With reference to claim 54, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi discloses the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein processing results of the first acoustic detection scan (502) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 87-88; Fig. 5), there fails to be disclosure of transmitting an acoustic wave and receiving an acoustic reflection as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of transmitting an acoustic wave (7, 8, 11, 12) into the surface (1) from a first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17); and receiving an acoustic reflection corresponding to an edge (see paragraphs 8-9) of the surface opposite the first transducer at the first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17, 37); and determining that the object (8) is contacting the surface (see paragraph 10; Fig. 2) when the received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface is attenuated more than a threshold amount below a baseline received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface (see paragraph 10).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi, as applied to claim 41 above, and further in view of Frith et al. (US Patent No. 5,943,426; hereinafter Frith).
With reference to claim 42, Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 41, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein the results of the first detection scan are transferred to the auxiliary processor (110) by a first communication channel (115) (see paragraphs 20-21; Fig. 1) and the results of the second detection scan are transferred to the host processor by a second communication channel (in teaching connection between processing logic (102) and host (150); see paragraphs 23-24; Fig. 1).
While disclosing first and second communication channels Grivna fails to disclose a greater bandwidth as recited.
Frith discloses a communication network for relaying digital data between interconnected communication networks (see column 2, line 37-44; Fig. 1) wherein the second communication channel has a bandwidth greater than the first communication channel (see claim 12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a channel having a greater bandwidth similar to that which is taught by Frith to be carried out in a device similar to that which is taught by Grivna, Tanaka, and Katabi to thereby provide communication more efficiently (see Frith; column 9, line 39-38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 90 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 36-38, 41-54, 57, 59, and 90 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TANAKA et al. (US2011/0234545) discloses a bezel less acoustic touch apparatus wherein a wave path in an active region of the sensors have characteristic time delays, and therefore a wave path or wave paths attenuated by an object touching the touch sensitive region may be identified by determining a timing of an attenuation in the composite returning waveform (see paragraphs 6-9, 39-57; Figs. 1-13).
MARZEN et al. (US7,573,466) discloses a touch screen which uses a plurality of shockwave detectors disposed around the periphery of the viewing area to detect the location of a touch which is the point of origin of an expanding shockwave that is detected (see abstract; Figs. 1-2).
KREMIN discloses capacitive sensing array wherein the system process a first signal to detect a stylus and a second scan to detect the location of the stylus such that the device may stop or discontinue scanning to reduce power (see abstract; column 2, line 36-column 4, line 16; column 8, line 16-column 9, line 3; column 12, line 49-column 13, line 61; column 14, line 54-column 16, line 23; Figs. 1-3, 5, 7-8).
Conclusion
/Alecia D English/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
571-270-1595