DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36, 43-54, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2014/0009401; hereinafter Bajaj) in view Reime et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20030034439; hereinafter Reime).
With reference to claim 36, Bajaj discloses an acoustic touch sensing system (see paragraphs 30, 45, 49; Fig. 3), comprising:
an acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350) configured to perform a first detection scan (110) of a surface and configured to perform a second detection scan (120) of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1); and
one or more processors (310) coupled to the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350) (see paragraphs 49-50; Fig. 3);
wherein at least one of the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350) or the one or more processors (310) is configured to process results of the first detection scan or results of the second detection scan (see paragraphs 49-50);
wherein, when an object is touching the surface, the results of the first detection scan (110) indicate a presence of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1); and
wherein, when the object is touching the surface, the results of the second detection scan (120) indicate a location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1).
While teaching the usage of an acoustic touch sensing circuitry (see paragraphs 6-8), there fails to be disclosure of the configurations of the sensing circuity in the first and second scans as recited in the claim.
Reime discloses a method and system for detecting the presence of an object of a touch device (see abstract), comprising: touch sensing circuitry (see paragraphs 5, 8, 73-74) configured to perform a first detection scan of a surface and configured to perform a second detection of the surface (see paragraphs 73-74, 79-80; Figs. 5A-H), wherein: the acoustic touch sensing circuitry is configured in a first configuration to perform the first detection scan (see Fig. 5E), and the acoustic touch sensing circuitry is configured in a second configuration (see Fig. 5F) different from the first configuration, to perform the second detection scan (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; 13C-D).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of touch sensing circuitry similar to that which is taught by Reime to be carried out in an acoustic system similar to that which is taught by Bajaj to allow for accurate detection of the input object (see Reime; paragraph 73).
With reference to claim 43, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Bajaj further discloses an acoustic touch sensing digital signal processor (310) configured to receive the results of the second detection scan (see paragraphs 49-50; Fig. 1); wherein the acoustic touch sensing digital signal processor (310) is capable of processing configured to process the results of the second detection scan to determine the location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1).
With reference to claim 44, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Bajaj further discloses wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry is capable of processing configured to process the results of the first detection scan and the results of the second detection scan to determine the presence and the location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1).
With reference to claim 45, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Bajaj further discloses a plurality of transducers coupled to the surface (see paragraph 8); and routing deposited along a side of the surface adjacent to the plurality of transducers (see paragraph 8); wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry is coupled to the plurality of transducers via coupling of the acoustic touch sensing circuitry to the routing on the routing deposited along the side of the surface (see paragraph 8).
With reference to claim 49, Bajaj discloses a method (see paragraphs 52-53) comprising:
performing a first acoustic detection scan (110) of a surface using an acoustic touch sensing system (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1);
processing (310) results of the first acoustic detection scan (110) to determine whether an object is contacting the surface, wherein the results are based on waves received via the acoustic receive circuitry (see paragraphs 8, 49-50);
performing a second acoustic detection scan (120) of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1); and
in accordance wit6h a determination that the object is contacting the surface based on the results of the first acoustic detection scan (110), performing a second acoustic detection scan (130) of the surface; and
processing results of the second acoustic detection scan (120) to determine a location of the object contacting the surface (paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1).
While teaching the usage of an acoustic touch sensing circuitry (see paragraphs 6-8), there fails to be disclosure of the configurations of the sensing circuity in the first and second scans as recited in the claim.
Reime discloses a method and system for detecting the presence of an object of a touch device (see abstract), comprising: touch sensing circuitry (see paragraphs 5, 8, 73-74) that includes transmit circuitry and receive circuitry, wherein the transmit circuitry includes a first transducer, wherein performing the first detection scan includes configuring the touch sensing circuitry in a first configuration (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; Figs. 5, 13C-D); and wherein performing the second detection scan includes configuring the touch sensing circuitry in a second configuration different from the first configuration (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; 13C-D).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of touch sensing circuitry similar to that which is taught by Reime to be carried out in an acoustic system similar to that which is taught by Bajaj to allow for accurate detection of the input object (see Reime; paragraph 73).
With reference to claim 57, Bajaj discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (see paragraphs 52-53), which when executed by a device comprising (300) a surface (330), a plurality of acoustic transducers coupled to edges of the surface (see paragraph 8), acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350), and one or more processors (310), cause the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350) and the one or more processors (310) to:
in a first state:
perform a first acoustic detection scan of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1); and
process results of the first acoustic detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 49-50), wherein the results of the first acoustic detection scan are based on acoustic waves generated (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1); and
in a second state:
perform a second acoustic detection scan of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1); and
process results of the second acoustic detection scan to determine a location of the object contacting the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), wherein the results of the second acoustic detection scan are based on acoustic waves generated (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1).
While teaching the usage of an acoustic touch sensing circuitry (see paragraphs 6-8), there fails to be disclosure of the configurations of the sensing circuity in the first and second scans as recited in the claim.
Reime discloses a method and system for detecting the presence of an object of a touch device (see abstract), comprising: touch sensing circuitry (see paragraphs 5, 8, 73-74) that includes transmit circuitry and receive circuitry, in a first state: perform a first detection scan of the surface wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry is configured in a first configuration to perform the first acoustic detection scan (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; Figs. 5, 13C-D); process results of the first detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface, wherein the results of the first detection scan are based on signals generated via the transmit circuitry and received via the receive circuity (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; Figs. 5, 13C-D); and, when the object is determined to be contacting the surface based on processing the results of the first detection scan, cause the acoustic touch sensing circuitry to transition from the first state to a second state (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; Figs. 5, 13C-D); and in the second state: perform a second detection scan of the surface wherein the touch sensing circuitry is configured in a second configuration, different from the first configuration, to perform the second detection scan, and process results of the second acoustic detection scan to determine a location of the object contacting the surface, wherein the results of the second detection scan are based on signals generated via the transmit circuitry and the receive circuitry (see paragraphs 79-81, 94; Figs. 5, 13C-D).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of touch sensing circuitry similar to that which is taught by Reime to be carried out in an acoustic system similar to that which is taught by Bajaj to allow for accurate detection of the input object (see Reime; paragraph 73).
Claims 46-48, and 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj and Reime as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Schermerhorn (US Patent Publication No. 2007/0240913).
With reference to claim 46, Bajaj and Reime discloses the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, wherein Baja further discloses a plurality of transducers coupled to the surface (see paragraph 18), however fails to discloses a direct bonding of the transducers and sensing circuitry as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Figs. 1-2) comprising a plurality of transducers (3, 6) (see paragraphs 8-10); wherein the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (9) is coupled to the plurality transducers (see paragraphs 8-10) via direct bonding between the plurality of transducers (14) and the acoustic touch sensing circuitry, via bonding between the plurality of transducers and a flexible circuitry board coupled to the acoustic touch sensor sensing circuitry, or via bonding between the plurality of transducers and a rigid circuitry board coupled to the acoustic touch sensor sensing circuitry (see paragraph 58; Figs. 2-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow the usage of a bonding technique similar to that which is taught by Schermerhorn to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Bajaj and Reime to thereby optimizing wave propagation for surface acoustic detection (see Schermerhorn; paragraph 58).
With reference to claim 47, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, and while Baja discloses an acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350) configured to perform a first detection scan of a surface and configured to perform a second detection scan of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), there fails to be specific disclosure of a receive and transmit circuitry as recited.
Schermerhorn further discloses wherein the acoustic transmit circuitry is implemented on a first integrated circuitry and the acoustic receive circuitry is implemented on a second integrated circuitry, separate from the first integrated circuitry (in teaching controller electronics/components of touch sensor; see paragraphs 23, 43).
With reference to claim 48, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, and while Baja discloses an acoustic touch sensing circuitry (340, 350) configured to perform a first detection scan of a surface and configured to perform a second detection scan of the surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), there fails to be specific disclosure of a receive and transmit circuitry as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Figs. 1-2) further comprising a plurality of transmit transducers (3) and a plurality of receive transducers (6) (see paragraphs 8-9) wherein the acoustic transmit circuitry is configured to generate an acoustic stimulation signal to apply to the plurality of transmit transducers (see paragraphs 10, 51-53; Figs. 1-2); and wherein the acoustic receive circuitry is configured to receive an acoustic receive signal from the plurality of receive transducers generated in response to the acoustic stimulation signal (see paragraphs 10, 51-53; Figs. 1-2).
With reference to claim 50, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Baja further discloses while performing a first acoustic detection scan of a surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), wherein processing (310) results of the first acoustic detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 49-50), there fails to be disclosure of transmitting an acoustic wave and receiving an acoustic reflection as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of transmitting an acoustic wave (7, 8, 11, 12) into the surface (1) from a first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17); and receiving an acoustic reflection corresponding to an edge (see paragraphs 8-9) of the surface opposite the first transducer at the first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17, 37); and determining that the object (8) is contacting the surface (see paragraph 10; Fig. 2) when the received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface is attenuated more than a threshold amount below a baseline received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface (see paragraph 10).
With reference to claim 51, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein Bajaj further discloses while performing a first acoustic detection scan of a surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), wherein processing (310) results of the first acoustic detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 49-50), there fails to be disclosure of transmitting an acoustic wave and receiving an acoustic reflection as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of transmitting an acoustic wave (7, 8, 11, 12) into the surface (1) from a first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17); and receiving an acoustic reflection corresponding to an edge (see paragraphs 8-9) of the surface opposite the first transducer at the first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17, 37); and determining that the object (8) is contacting the surface (see paragraph 10; Fig. 2) when the received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface is attenuated more than a threshold amount below a baseline received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface (see paragraph 10).
With reference to claim 52, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, wherein while Bajaj discloses performing the second acoustic detection scan surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), there fails to be disclosure of the transmitting and receiving as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Figs. 1-2) capable of transmitting, by a first transducer (3) of a plurality of transducers (3ab, 6ab), a first acoustic wave (4, 7) in the surface (1) (see paragraphs 37-38); receiving, by the first transducer (6) of the plurality of transducers, a first acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10); transmitting, by a second transducer of the plurality of transducers, a second acoustic wave in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10) receiving, by the second transducer of the plurality of transducers, a second acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10); transmitting, by a third transducer of the plurality of transducers, a third acoustic wave in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10); receiving, by the third transducer of the plurality of transducers, a third acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10); transmitting, by a fourth transducer of the plurality of transducers, a fourth acoustic wave in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10); and receiving, by the fourth transducer of the plurality of transducers, a fourth acoustic reflection in the surface (see paragraphs 8-10).
With reference to claim 53, Bajaj and Reime disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, and while Bajaj discloses performing the second acoustic detection scan surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), there fails to be disclosure of determining a time of flight as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of determining a first time of flight between the transmitted first acoustic wave and the received first acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); determining a second time of flight between the transmitted second acoustic wave and the received second acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); determining a third time of flight between the transmitted third acoustic wave and the received third acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); determining a fourth time of flight between the transmitted fourth acoustic wave and the received fourth acoustic reflection (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23); and determining the location of the object based on the first time of flight, the second time of flight, the third time of flight, and the fourth time of flight (in teaching analysis based on the transits time across the primary substrate; see paragraphs 8-10, 21-23).
With reference to claim 54, Bajaj and Reime discloses the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 49, and while Bajaj discloses performing a first acoustic detection scan of a surface (see paragraphs 8, 30-32; Fig. 1), wherein processing (310) results of the first acoustic detection scan to determine whether an object is contacting the surface (see paragraphs 49-50), there fails to be disclosure of transmitting an acoustic wave and receiving an acoustic reflection as recited.
Schermerhorn discloses a touch sensor device (see Fig. 1) capable of transmitting an acoustic wave (7, 8, 11, 12) into the surface (1) from a first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17); and receiving an acoustic reflection corresponding to an edge (see paragraphs 8-9) of the surface opposite the first transducer at the first transducer (3a) (see paragraphs 16-17, 37); and determining that the object (8) is contacting the surface (see paragraph 10; Fig. 2) when the received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface is attenuated more than a threshold amount below a baseline received acoustic reflection corresponding to the edge of the surface (see paragraph 10).
Claims 37-38, 41, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj and Reime as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Grivna et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2013/0307823; hereinafter Grivna).
With reference to claim 37, Bajaj and Reime discloses the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 36, however fails to disclose the usage of a processor and an auxiliary processor as recited.
Grivna discloses a touch sensing device performing a first scan and a second scan (see abstract), wherein the device contains one or more processors (100), wherein the one or more processors (100) comprises a host processor (150) and an auxiliary processor (110) (see paragraphs 23-24; Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a host and auxiliary processor similar to that which is taught by Grivna to that which is taught by Bajaj and Reime to thereby provide processing of touch data of the user object (see Grivna; paragraph 26)
With reference to claim 38, Bajaj, Reime, and Grivna disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 37, wherein Grivna further discloses that the auxiliary processor (110) is configured to receive the results of the first detection scan and the results of the second detection scan (see paragraphs 23-24; Fig. 1); and wherein the auxiliary processor (110) is configured to capable of: processing process the results of the first detection scan to determine the presence of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7); and processing process the results of the second detection scan to determine the location of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7).
With reference to claim 41, Bajaj, Reime, and Grivna disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 37, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein the auxiliary processor (110) is configured to receive the results of the first detection scan and the host processor is configured to receive the results of the second detection scan (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7); wherein the auxiliary processor is capable of processing configured to process the results of the first detection scan to determine the presence of the object touching the surface (see paragraphs 23, 49; Figs. 5-7); and wherein the host processor is capable of processing configured to process the results of the second detection scan to determine the location of the object touching the surface (in teaching operations can be processed by the host (150); see paragraphs 23-24, 49; Figs. 5-7).
With reference to claim 59, Bajaj and Reime discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 57, however fails to disclose transition from the second state to the first state as recited.
Grivna discloses instructions, which executed by the device, cause the acoustic touch sensing circuitry (116) to transition from the second state (504) to the first state (502) when no object is determined to be contacting the surface based on processing the results of the second acoustic detection scan for a threshold period of time (user contacting surface; paragraph 52) or in response to receiving user input to power down a display of the device (in teaching low power partial scan; see paragraphs 87, 90; Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to allow the usage of a transitioning similar to that which is taught by Grivna to be carried out in a device similar to that which is taught by Bajaj and Reime, to thereby improve scan time while reducing power (Grivna; see paragraph 53).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj, Reime, and Grivna, as applied to claim 41 above, and further in view of Frith et al. (US Patent No. 5,943,426; hereinafter Frith).
With reference to claim 42, Bajaj, Reime, and Grivna disclose the acoustic touch sensing system of claim 41, wherein Grivna further discloses wherein the results of the first detection scan are transferred to the auxiliary processor (110) by a first communication channel (115) (see paragraphs 20-21; Fig. 1) and the results of the second detection scan are transferred to the host processor by a second communication channel (in teaching connection between processing logic (102) and host (150); see paragraphs 23-24; Fig. 1).
While disclosing first and second communication channels Grivna fails to disclose a greater bandwidth as recited.
Frith discloses a communication network for relaying digital data between interconnected communication networks (see column 2, line 37-44; Fig. 1) wherein the second communication channel has a bandwidth greater than the first communication channel (see claim 12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a channel having a greater bandwidth similar to that which is taught by Frith to be carried out in a device similar to that which is taught by Bajaj, Reime, and Grivna to thereby provide communication more efficiently (see Frith; column 9, line 39-38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 90 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant is reminded of the indicated allowable subject matter to push prosecution forward.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TANAKA et al. (US2011/0234545) discloses a bezel less acoustic touch apparatus wherein a wave path in an active region of the sensors have characteristic time delays, and therefore a wave path or wave paths attenuated by an object touching the touch sensitive region may be identified by determining a timing of an attenuation in the composite returning waveform (see paragraphs 6-9, 39-57; Figs. 1-13).
MARZEN et al. (US7,573,466) discloses a touch screen which uses a plurality of shockwave detectors disposed around the periphery of the viewing area to detect the location of a touch which is the point of origin of an expanding shockwave that is detected (see abstract; Figs. 1-2).
KREMIN discloses capacitive sensing array wherein the system process a first signal to detect a stylus and a second scan to detect the location of the stylus such that the device may stop or discontinue scanning to reduce power (see abstract; column 2, line 36-column 4, line 16; column 8, line 16-column 9, line 3; column 12, line 49-column 13, line 61; column 14, line 54-column 16, line 23; Figs. 1-3, 5, 7-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625