DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on May 08, 2026 for the application filed August 02, 2022. Claims 1, 11, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 15, 20-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradas et al. (US20220271866A1) in view Jin et al. (US2021/0377830A1), and Kim et al. (US2021/0219375A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pradas teaches a data transmission method, being applicable to a terminal, the terminal being configured with a data radio bearer (DRB), and the method comprising: receiving a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receiving a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB (Abstract: Embodiments include methods performed by a user equipment (UE). Such methods include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities are associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. Such methods include subsequently receiving, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. Such methods include activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0014]: ….an additional RLC entity and an additional logical channel are added to the radio bearer to handle the duplicated PDCP protocol data units (PDUs). As such, PDCP duplication involves sending the same PDCP PDUs twice: once on the original RLC entity and a second time on the additional RLC entity. Paragraph [0099]: Once configured, duplication can be activated and de-activated per radio bearer by means of a MAC control element (CE). When PDCP Duplication is deactivated, the PDCP entity in the UE stops duplicating PDCP PDUs and will only transmit one copy of the PDCP PDU to one RLC entity in the case CA was configured, or to the primary RLC entity when DC was configured. FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0113]: The embodiments described above are further illustrated by FIGS. 10-11, which illustrate two different UE operational flows upon receipt of a Rel-15 or a Rel-16 MAC CE that activates or deactivates PDCP duplication. In both figures, the activation_status variable (e.g., a list) represents the stored identities of the RLC entities that were active prior to full deactivation. In both figures, when the UE receives a Rel-15 MAC CE activating PDCP duplication, the UE checks if activation_status is empty and if not, it activates the RLC entities indicated by activation_status. Paragraph [0119]: The exemplary method illustrated in FIG. 12 can include the operations of block 1230, in which the UE can receive, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 1270, in which the UE can subsequently receive, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. The second control message has a different format than the first control message. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 1280, in which the UE can activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0120]: In some embodiments, the first and second control messages can be respective medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs). Paragraph [0124]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations in block 1280 can include the operations of sub-blocks 1281-1282. In sub-block 1281, the UE can, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, read a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities. In sub-block 1282, the UE can, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status.)
wherein the first MAC CE contains first indication information for each of one or more DRBs, the second MAC CE contains a DRB identity (ID) and second indication information for each of a plurality of secondary RLC entities, the first indication information indicates a PDCP-duplication activation status of a DRB, the second indication information indicates a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB, and the PDCP-duplication activation status comprises an activation state or a deactivation state (Paragraph [0021]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can include, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, reading a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities and, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0025]: These exemplary methods can include transmitting, to the UE, a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently determining that the activation status of one or more of the configured RLC entities needs to be changed. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently transmitting, to the UE, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of the configured RLC entities. Paragraph [0099]: Once configured, duplication can be activated and de-activated per radio bearer by means of a MAC control element (CE). When PDCP Duplication is deactivated, the PDCP entity in the UE stops duplicating PDCP PDUs and will only transmit one copy of the PDCP PDU to one RLC entity in the case CA was configured, or to the primary RLC entity when DC was configured. FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0113]: The embodiments described above are further illustrated by FIGS. 10-11. In both figures, when the UE receives a Rel-15 MAC CE activating PDCP duplication, the UE checks if activation_status is empty and if not, it activates the RLC entities indicated by activation_status. Paragraph [0124]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations in block 1280 can include the operations of sub-blocks 1281-1282. In sub-block 1281, the UE can, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, read a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities. In sub-block 1282, the UE can, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status.)
when the first indication information indicates the deactivation state of the DRB, deactivating a PDCP duplication-activation status of all secondary RLC entities corresponding to the DRB (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can also include, when the second control message indicates deactivation of the configured RLC entities, deactivating PDCP duplication for all configured RLC entities. In addition, the UE can either clear the activation status of all configured RLC entities, or the UE can store an activation status of all configured RLC entities prior to the deactivating operation. Paragraph [0099]: FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0115]: In the other embodiment shown in FIG. 10, upon receiving a Rel-15 MAC CE deactivating PDCP duplication, the UE stores the identities of the RLC entities that are currently active in activation_status and fully deactivates PDCP duplication. Paragraph [0126]: In sub-block 1286, the UE can, when the second control message indicates deactivation of the configured RLC entities, deactivate PDCP duplication for all configured RLC entities.)
when the first indication information indicates the activation state of the DRB, activating or deactivating a PDCP duplication-activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second indication information (Paragraph [0021]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can include, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, reading a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities and, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0108]: Although the Rel-16 MAC CE can specify which RLC entities should be used to transmit duplicates, PDCP duplication must be generally activated/deactivated. This can be done, for example, when the Rel-16 MAC CE is received and indicates two or more activated RLC entities. Paragraph [0130]: The exemplary method illustrated in FIG. 13 can include the operations of block 1320, where the network node can transmit, to the UE, a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN.)
Pradas does not explicitly teach the DRB corresponding to one primary radio link control (RLC)
entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities.
However, Jin teaches the DRB corresponding to one primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities (Paragraph [0222]: Referring to FIG. 14, it is assumed that three DRBs, i.e., a first DRB 2 a-10, a second DRB 2 a-20, and a third DRB 2 a-30, are configured and each of them may correspond to one PDCP entity. Packet duplication transmission is performed by duplicating one packet at a PDCP layer of a transmitter and transferring duplicated packet to different RLC entities. To this end, two or more RLC entities corresponding to one PDCP are necessary for a DRB in which packet duplication transmission is configured. Paragraph [0223]: RLC entities connected to one PDCP entity may be classified into a primary RLC entity and a secondary RLC entity. The primary RLC entity is an RLC entity that performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated. Paragraph [0230]: In FIG. 15, it is assumed that a radio bearer including the first PDCP 2 b-10 is a DRB. RLC entities may be classified into a primary RLC entity 2 b-20 and secondary RLC entities 2 b-30, 2 b-40, and 2 b-50 according to a purpose. A primary RLC entity is an entity that always transmits packets regardless of activation of packet duplication. A secondary RLC entity is an entity that transmits packets only when packet duplication is activated. Paragraph [0238]: The packet duplication activation/deactivation message 2 d-10 may indicate a radio bearer for which packet duplication is to be activated or deactivated, and after receiving this message, the UE 2 d-30 may activate or deactivate packet duplication according to an indication included in this message (2 d-20). Paragraph [0260]: Referring to FIG. 20, it is assumed that three DRBs, i.e., a first DRB 2 g-10, a second DRB 2 g-20, and a third DRB 2 g-30, are configured and each of them corresponds to one PDCP entity. Packet duplication transmission is performed by duplicating one packet at a PDCP layer of a transmitter and transferring duplicated packet to different RLC entities. To this end, two or more RLC entities corresponding to one PDCP are necessary for a DRB in which packet duplication transmission is set. RLC entities connected to one PDCP entity may be classified into a primary RLC entity and a secondary RLC entity. The primary RLC entity is an RLC entity that performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the DRB corresponding to one primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities, as taught by Jin in the system of Pradas, so that the primary RLC entity can perform packet transmission regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity can perform packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated (Jin: Paragraph [0222], [0223], [0230]).
The combination of Pradas and Jin does not explicitly teach receiving a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device and in response to receiving the second MAC CE, starting a timer, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receiving, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB.
However, Kim teaches receiving a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device and in response to receiving the second MAC CE, starting a timer, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receiving, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB (Paragraph [0038]: The MAC CE may include an identifier field with respect to the radio bearer for which the packet duplication configuration is configured, and one or more RLC fields corresponding to the one or more secondary RLC entities. Paragraph [0040]: The one or more RLC fields may be mapped to the one or more secondary RLC entities, respectively, and the one or more RLC fields may include information for controlling activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary RLC entities corresponding to the one or more RLC fields, respectively. Paragraph [0062]: Secondary RLC entity: In a case where the packet duplication technology is configured, a plurality of RLC entities may be configured for one PDCP entity, and remaining RLC entities except for a primary RLC entity from among the plurality of RLC entities are each called a secondary RLC entity. Paragraph [0239]: Because primary RLC entities may not be deactivated, the MAC CE may indicate activation or deactivation of only secondary RLC entities. Paragraph [0311]: Also, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, in a case where a PDCP control PDU is indicated, a PDCP entity for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured may be configured by receiving an indication of activation and deactivation from the MAC entity, …..and the UE may indicate, to the BS, whether a plurality of RLC entities connected to each bearer for which the packet duplication technology is configured are activated and deactivated. Paragraph [0312]: Hereinafter, the BS may configure a timer value to the UE via an RRC message, wherein the timer value is for each bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured or for each RLC entity for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured, such that the MAC entity or the PDCP entity of the UE operates a timer, and when the timer expires, the UE may deactivate a plurality of RLC entities configured for a bearer or deactivate each of the plurality of RLC entities configured for the bearer. Paragraph [0315]: The BS may configure, for the UE, a timer for each RLC entity configured for a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured. Then, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may operate the timer for each RLC entity, and when it is indicated, via an RRC message or a MAC CE, to activate the packet duplication transmission technology with respect to each RLC entity, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity may start the timer. When the timer expires, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may deactivate each RLC entity of a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured and which corresponds to the timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device and in response to receiving the second MAC CE, starting a timer, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receiving, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Pradas and Jin, so that the PDCP duplication activation/deactivation can be configured (Kim: Paragraphs [0311], [0312], [0315]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the activating or deactivating comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
Pradas further teaches determining the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE (Paragraph [0021]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can include, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, reading a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities and, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0025]: These exemplary methods can include transmitting, to the UE, a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently determining that the activation status of one or more of the configured RLC entities needs to be changed. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently transmitting, to the UE, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of the configured RLC entities. Paragraph [0099]: Once configured, duplication can be activated and de-activated per radio bearer by means of a MAC control element (CE). When PDCP Duplication is deactivated, the PDCP entity in the UE stops duplicating PDCP PDUs and will only transmit one copy of the PDCP PDU to one RLC entity in the case CA was configured, or to the primary RLC entity when DC was configured. FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Paragraph [0113]: The embodiments described above are further illustrated by FIGS. 10-11. In both figures, when the UE receives a Rel-15 MAC CE activating PDCP duplication, the UE checks if activation_status is empty and if not, it activates the RLC entities indicated by activation_status. Paragraph [0119]: The exemplary method illustrated in FIG. 12 can include the operations of block 1230, in which the UE can receive, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 1270, in which the UE can subsequently receive, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. The second control message has a different format than the first control message. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 1280, in which the UE can activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0120]: In some embodiments, the first and second control messages can be respective medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs). Paragraph [0124]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations in block 1280 can include the operations of sub-blocks 1281-1282. In sub-block 1281, the UE can, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, read a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities. In sub-block 1282, the UE can, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status.)
Pradas does not explicitly teach determining the PDCP-duplication activation status.
However, Jin teaches determining the PDCP-duplication activation status (Paragraph [0238]: A base station 2 d-40 may transmit a packet duplication activation/deactivation message 2 d-10 to a UE 2 d-30. For packet duplication activation/deactivation, the same type of message or different types of messages may be used. Alternatively, packet duplication activation/deactivation may be identified using a value included in this message. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the packet duplication activation/deactivation message 2 d-10 may be in the form of a bitmap to be described with reference to FIG. 19 below. The packet duplication activation/deactivation message 2 d-10 may indicate a radio bearer for which packet duplication is to be activated or deactivated, and after receiving this message, the UE 2 d-30 may activate or deactivate packet duplication according to an indication included in this message (2 d-20). Paragraph [0242]: FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating a packet duplication activation/deactivation message format according to an embodiment of the disclosure. Paragraph [0243]: Referring to FIG. 19, in an embodiment of the disclosure, it is assumed that a message has a MAC CE format consisting of a 1-byte bitmap, i.e., eight bitmaps 2 f-10, 2 f-20, 2 f-30, 2 f-40, 2 f-50, 2 f-60, 2 f-70, and 2 f-80. A bit of each of the bitmaps indicates an activation or deactivation status of packet duplication transmission for a certain radio bearer, wherein 1 may indicate activation and 0 may indicate deactivation. In FIG. 19, the eight bitmaps may indicate packet duplication activation/deactivation states of up to eight radio bearers. In this case, a preset rule may be applied to indicate a radio bearer with each bit in the packet duplication activation/deactivation message. Paragraph [0246]: a bitmap should be indicated such that IDs of DRBs which include secondary RLC entities connected to a cell group to which a corresponding MAC CE is transmitted and in which packet duplication is configured, are presented in ascending or descending order;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining the PDCP-duplication activation status, as taught by Jin in the system of Pradas, so that packet duplication can be performed effectively (Jin: Paragraphs [0236], [0237]).
The combination of Pradas and Jin does not explicitly teach determining the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the first MAC CE is received before the timer expires.
However, Kim teaches determining the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the first MAC CE is received before the timer expires. (Paragraph [0311]: Also, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, in a case where a PDCP control PDU is indicated, a PDCP entity for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured may be configured by receiving an indication of activation and deactivation from the MAC entity, …..and the UE may indicate, to the BS, whether a plurality of RLC entities connected to each bearer for which the packet duplication technology is configured are activated and deactivated. Paragraph [0312]: Hereinafter, the BS may configure a timer value to the UE via an RRC message, wherein the timer value is for each bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured or for each RLC entity for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured, such that the MAC entity or the PDCP entity of the UE operates a timer, and when the timer expires, the UE may deactivate a plurality of RLC entities configured for a bearer or deactivate each of the plurality of RLC entities configured for the bearer. Paragraph [314]: The BS may configure, for the UE, a timer for each bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured. Then, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may operate the timer for each bearer, and when it is indicated, via an RRC message or a MAC CE, to activate the packet duplication transmission technology with respect to a bearer, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may start the timer. When the timer expires, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may deactivate a plurality of RLC entities of a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured. Also, when the MAC entity operates the timer, the MAC entity may indicate, to the PDCP entity, activation and deactivation of packet duplication with respect to a bearer for which packet duplication transmission is configured. Paragraph [0315]: The BS may configure, for the UE, a timer for each RLC entity configured for a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured. Then, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may operate the timer for each RLC entity, and when it is indicated, via an RRC message or a MAC CE, to activate the packet duplication transmission technology with respect to each RLC entity, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity may start the timer. When the timer expires, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may deactivate each RLC entity of a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured and which corresponds to the timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the first MAC CE is received before the timer expires, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Pradas and Jin, so that the PDCP duplication activation/deactivation can be configured, and activation of the plurality of RLC layers for which packet duplication transmission technology is configured can be controlled, to support reliable data transmission (Kim: Paragraphs [0008], [0053], [0311], [0312], [0314], [0315]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the activating or deactivating comprises (see rejection for claim 1);
Pradas further teaches determining the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, wherein the second MAC CE is a second MAC CE most recent to the first MAC CE (Paragraph [0021]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can include, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, reading a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities and, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0025]: These exemplary methods can include transmitting, to the UE, a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently determining that the activation status of one or more of the configured RLC entities needs to be changed. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently transmitting, to the UE, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of the configured RLC entities. Paragraph [0099]: Once configured, duplication can be activated and de-activated per radio bearer by means of a MAC control element (CE). When PDCP Duplication is deactivated, the PDCP entity in the UE stops duplicating PDCP PDUs and will only transmit one copy of the PDCP PDU to one RLC entity in the case CA was configured, or to the primary RLC entity when DC was configured. FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0113]: The embodiments described above are further illustrated by FIGS. 10-11. In both figures, when the UE receives a Rel-15 MAC CE activating PDCP duplication, the UE checks if activation_status is empty and if not, it activates the RLC entities indicated by activation_status. Paragraph [0120]: In some embodiments, the first and second control messages can be respective medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs). Paragraph [0124]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations in block 1280 can include the operations of sub-blocks 1281-1282. In sub-block 1281, the UE can, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, read a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities. In sub-block 1282, the UE can, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0128]: In some embodiments, the configuration can also include a further indication of whether, upon reception of a second control message indicating activation of PDCP duplication (e.g., such as in block 1270), the UE should activate PDCP duplication for the default activated RLC entities, or for configured RLC entities that were activated before a most recent deactivation of PDCP duplication. In such embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations (e.g., in block 1280) can be further based on this received further indication.)
Regarding claim 11, Pradas teaches a data transmission method, comprising: determining, by a network device, a first media access control- control element (MAC CE) and a second MAC CE, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to a data radio bearer (DRB) and the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary radio link control (RLC) entity corresponding to the DRB, the DRB corresponding to a plurality of secondary RLC entities; transmitting, by the network device, the second MAC CE to a terminal (Abstract: Embodiments include methods performed by a user equipment (UE). Such methods include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities are associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. Such methods include subsequently receiving, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. Such methods include activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0014]: ….an additional RLC entity and an additional logical channel are added to the radio bearer to handle the duplicated PDCP protocol data units (PDUs). As such, PDCP duplication involves sending the same PDCP PDUs twice: once on the original RLC entity and a second time on the additional RLC entity. Paragraph [0099]: Once configured, duplication can be activated and de-activated per radio bearer by means of a MAC control element (CE). When PDCP Duplication is deactivated, the PDCP entity in the UE stops duplicating PDCP PDUs and will only transmit one copy of the PDCP PDU to one RLC entity in the case CA was configured, or to the primary RLC entity when DC was configured. FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0113]: The embodiments described above are further illustrated by FIGS. 10-11, which illustrate two different UE operational flows upon receipt of a Rel-15 or a Rel-16 MAC CE that activates or deactivates PDCP duplication. In both figures, the activation_status variable (e.g., a list) represents the stored identities of the RLC entities that were active prior to full deactivation. In both figures, when the UE receives a Rel-15 MAC CE activating PDCP duplication, the UE checks if activation_status is empty and if not, it activates the RLC entities indicated by activation_status. Paragraph [0119]: The exemplary method illustrated in FIG. 12 can include the operations of block 1230, in which the UE can receive, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 1270, in which the UE can subsequently receive, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. The second control message has a different format than the first control message. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 1280, in which the UE can activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0120]: In some embodiments, the first and second control messages can be respective medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs). Paragraph [0124]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations in block 1280 can include the operations of sub-blocks 1281-1282. In sub-block 1281, the UE can, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, read a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities. In sub-block 1282, the UE can, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status.)
wherein the second MAC CE contains a DRB identity (ID) and second indication information for each of a plurality of secondary RLC entities, the second indication information indicates a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB, and the PDCP-duplication activation status comprises an activation state or a deactivation state; and wherein the first MAC CE contains first indication information for each of one or more DRBs, the first indication information indicates a PDCP-duplication activation status of a DRB (Paragraph [0021]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can include, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, reading a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities and, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0025]: These exemplary methods can include transmitting, to the UE, a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently determining that the activation status of one or more of the configured RLC entities needs to be changed. These exemplary methods can also include subsequently transmitting, to the UE, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of the configured RLC entities. Paragraph [0099]: Once configured, duplication can be activated and de-activated per radio bearer by means of a MAC control element (CE). When PDCP Duplication is deactivated, the PDCP entity in the UE stops duplicating PDCP PDUs and will only transmit one copy of the PDCP PDU to one RLC entity in the case CA was configured, or to the primary RLC entity when DC was configured. FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0113]: The embodiments described above are further illustrated by FIGS. 10-11. In both figures, when the UE receives a Rel-15 MAC CE activating PDCP duplication, the UE checks if activation_status is empty and if not, it activates the RLC entities indicated by activation_status. Paragraph [0124]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations in block 1280 can include the operations of sub-blocks 1281-1282. In sub-block 1281, the UE can, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, read a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities. In sub-block 1282, the UE can, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activate or deactivate PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status.)
when the first indication information indicates the deactivation state of the DRB, a PDCP duplication-activation status of all secondary RLC entities corresponding to the DRB will be deactivated by the terminal (Paragraph [0023]: In some embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can also include, when the second control message indicates deactivation of the configured RLC entities, deactivating PDCP duplication for all configured RLC entities. In addition, the UE can either clear the activation status of all configured RLC entities, or the UE can store an activation status of all configured RLC entities prior to the deactivating operation. Paragraph [0099]: FIG. 9A shows an exemplary MAC CE command used for activating and/or deactivating PDCP duplication. Each bit Di (i=0-7) in the octet indicates the PDCP Duplication status of a DRB identified by the (i+1)th DRB ID in the ascending order of DRB IDs configured with PDCP duplication and with RLC entity(ies) associated with the MAC entity transmitting the CE command. Each Di field is set to “1” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be activated, and to “0” to indicate that the PDCP duplication of DRB i shall be deactivated. Paragraph [0115]: In the other embodiment shown in FIG. 10, upon receiving a Rel-15 MAC CE deactivating PDCP duplication, the UE stores the identities of the RLC entities that are currently active in activation_status and fully deactivates PDCP duplication. Paragraph [126]: In sub-block 1286, the UE can, when the second control message indicates deactivation of the configured RLC entities, deactivate PDCP duplication for all configured RLC entities.)
when the first indication information indicates the activation state of the DRB, a PDCP duplication-activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB will be activated or deactivated by the terminal according to the second indication information (Paragraph [0021]: In various embodiments, the activating or deactivating operations can include, when the second control message indicates activation of the configured RLC entities, reading a stored activation status of the configured RLC entities and, when the stored activation status indicates at least one configured RLC entity activated, activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities according to the stored activation status. Paragraph [0108]: Although the Rel-16 MAC CE can specify which RLC entities should be used to transmit duplicates, PDCP duplication must be generally activated/deactivated. This can be done, for example, when the Rel-16 MAC CE is received and indicates two or more activated RLC entities. Paragraph [0130]: The exemplary method illustrated in FIG. 13 can include the operations of block 1320, where the network node can transmit, to the UE, a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN.)
Pradas does not explicitly teach a data radio bearer (DRB); the DRB corresponding to one
primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities.
However, Jin teaches a data radio bearer (DRB); the DRB corresponding to one primary
radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities (Paragraph [0222]: Referring to FIG. 14, it is assumed that three DRBs, i.e., a first DRB 2 a-10, a second DRB 2 a-20, and a third DRB 2 a-30, are configured and each of them may correspond to one PDCP entity. Packet duplication transmission is performed by duplicating one packet at a PDCP layer of a transmitter and transferring duplicated packet to different RLC entities. To this end, two or more RLC entities corresponding to one PDCP are necessary for a DRB in which packet duplication transmission is configured. Paragraph [0223]: RLC entities connected to one PDCP entity may be classified into a primary RLC entity and a secondary RLC entity. The primary RLC entity is an RLC entity that performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated. Paragraph [0230]: In FIG. 15, it is assumed that a radio bearer including the first PDCP 2 b-10 is a DRB. RLC entities may be classified into a primary RLC entity 2 b-20 and secondary RLC entities 2 b-30, 2 b-40, and 2 b-50 according to a purpose. A primary RLC entity is an entity that always transmits packets regardless of activation of packet duplication. A secondary RLC entity is an entity that transmits packets only when packet duplication is activated. Paragraph [0231]: Referring to FIG. 15, in an embodiment of the disclosure, when packet duplication transmission is configured and activated, the transmission PDCP entity 2 b-10 duplicates a packet 2 b-60 and transmits packets 2 b-70, 2 b-80, 2 b-90, and 2 b-100 duplicated from the packet 2 b-60 to all the RLC entities 2 b-20, 2 b-30, 2 b-40, and 2 b-50. Paragraph [0238]: The packet duplication activation/deactivation message 2 d-10 may indicate a radio bearer for which packet duplication is to be activated or deactivated, and after receiving this message, the UE 2 d-30 may activate or deactivate packet duplication according to an indication included in this message (2 d-20). Paragraph [0243]: Referring to FIG. 19, in an embodiment of the disclosure, it is assumed that a message has a MAC CE format consisting of a 1-byte bitmap, i.e., eight bitmaps 2 f-10, 2 f-20, 2 f-30, 2 f-40, 2 f-50, 2 f-60, 2 f-70, and 2 f-80. A bit of each of the bitmaps indicates an activation or deactivation status of packet duplication transmission for a certain radio bearer, wherein 1 may indicate activation and 0 may indicate deactivation. In FIG. 19, the eight bitmaps may indicate packet duplication activation/deactivation states of up to eight radio bearers. Paragraph [0260]: Referring to FIG. 20, it is assumed that three DRBs, i.e., a first DRB 2 g-10, a second DRB 2 g-20, and a third DRB 2 g-30, are configured and each of them corresponds to one PDCP entity. Packet duplication transmission is performed by duplicating one packet at a PDCP layer of a transmitter and transferring duplicated packet to different RLC entities. To this end, two or more RLC entities corresponding to one PDCP are necessary for a DRB in which packet duplication transmission is set. RLC entities connected to one PDCP entity may be classified into a primary RLC entity and a secondary RLC entity. The primary RLC entity is an RLC entity that performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a data radio bearer (DRB); the DRB corresponding to one primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities, as taught by Jin in the system of Pradas, since a DRB corresponding to multiple RLC entities is necessary when packet duplication transmission is configured, and the primary RLC entity can perform packet transmission regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity can perform packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated (Jin: Paragraph [0222], [0223], [0230]).
The combination of Pradas and Jin does not explicitly teach transmitting, by the network device, the first MAC CE to the terminal, wherein the first MAC CE is received by the terminal after a timer expires, wherein the timer is started upon reception of the second MAC CE by the terminal; the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to a data radio bearer (DRB) and the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary radio link control (RLC) entity corresponding to a DRB.
However, Kim teaches transmitting, by the network device, the first MAC CE to the terminal, wherein the first MAC CE is received by the terminal after a timer expires, wherein the timer is started upon reception of the second MAC CE by the terminal; the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to a data radio bearer (DRB) and the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary radio link control (RLC) entity corresponding to a DRB (Paragraph [0038]: The MAC CE may include an identifier field with respect to the radio bearer for which the packet duplication configuration is configured, and one or more RLC fields corresponding to the one or more secondary RLC entities. Paragraph [0040]: The one or more RLC fields may be mapped to the one or more secondary RLC entities, respectively, and the one or more RLC fields may include information for controlling activation or deactivation of the one or more secondary RLC entities corresponding to the one or more RLC fields, respectively. Paragraph [0062]: Secondary RLC entity: In a case where the packet duplication technology is configured, a plurality of RLC entities may be configured for one PDCP entity, and remaining RLC entities except for a primary RLC entity from among the plurality of RLC entities are each called a secondary RLC entity. Paragraph [0239]: the MAC CE may indicate activation or deactivation of only secondary RLC entities. Paragraph [0311]: Also, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, in a case where a PDCP control PDU is indicated, a PDCP entity for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured may be configured by receiving an indication of activation and deactivation from the MAC entity, …..and the UE may indicate, to the BS, whether a plurality of RLC entities connected to each bearer for which the packet duplication technology is configured are activated and deactivated. Paragraph [0312]: Hereinafter, the BS may configure a timer value to the UE via an RRC message, wherein the timer value is for each bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured or for each RLC entity for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured, such that the MAC entity or the PDCP entity of the UE operates a timer, and when the timer expires, the UE may deactivate a plurality of RLC entities configured for a bearer or deactivate each of the plurality of RLC entities configured for the bearer. Paragraph [0315]: The BS may configure, for the UE, a timer for each RLC entity configured for a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured. Then, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may operate the timer for each RLC entity, and when it is indicated, via an RRC message or a MAC CE, to activate the packet duplication transmission technology with respect to each RLC entity, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity may start the timer. When the timer expires, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may deactivate each RLC entity of a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured and which corresponds to the timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, by the network device, the first MAC CE to the terminal, wherein the first MAC CE is received by the terminal after a timer expires, wherein the timer is started upon reception of the second MAC CE by the terminal; the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to a data radio bearer (DRB) and the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary radio link control (RLC) entity corresponding to a DRB, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Pradas and Jin, so that the PDCP duplication activation/deactivation can be configured (Kim: Paragraphs [0311], [0312], [0315]).
Regarding claim 15, Pradas teaches a terminal, being configured with a data radio bearer (DRB) the DRB corresponding to a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities, and the terminal comprising: a transceiver; a processor; and a memory storing programs which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Abstract: Embodiments include methods performed by a user equipment (UE). Such methods include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities are associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. Such methods include subsequently receiving, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. The second control message has a different format than the first control message. Such methods include activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Other embodiments include complementary methods perform by network. Paragraph [0140]: UE 1400 can include a processor 1410 (also referred to as “processing circuitry”) that can be operably connected to a program memory 1420 and/or a data memory 1430 via a bus 1470 that can comprise parallel address and data buses, serial ports, or other methods and/or structures known to those of ordinary skill in the art. Program memory 1420 can store software code, programs, and/or instructions (collectively shown as computer program product 1421 in FIG. 14) that, when executed by processor 1410, can configure and/or facilitate UE 1400 to perform various operations, including operations corresponding to various exemplary methods described herein. Paragraph [0146]: In some exemplary embodiments, radio transceiver 1440 includes one or more transmitters and one or more receivers that can facilitate the UE 1400 to communicate with various LTE, LTE-Advanced (LTE-A), and/or NR networks according to standards promulgated by 3GPP);
make the transceiver to receive a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; make the transceiver to receive a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB; wherein the first MAC CE contains first indication information for each of one or more DRBs, the second MAC CE contains a DRB identity (ID) and second indication information for each of a plurality of secondary RLC entities, the first indication information indicates a PDCP-duplication activation status of a DRB, the second indication information indicates a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB, and the PDCP-duplication activation status comprises an activation state or a deactivation state; when the first indication information indicates the deactivation state of the DRB, deactivate a PDCP duplication-activation status of all secondary RLC entities corresponding to the DRB; and when the first indication information indicates the activation state of the DRB, activate or deactivate a PDCP duplication-activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second indication information (see rejection for claim 1);
Pradas does not explicitly teach a data radio bearer (DRB); the DRB corresponding to one
primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities
However, Jin teaches a data radio bearer (DRB); the DRB corresponding to one primary
radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities (Paragraph [0222]: Referring to FIG. 14, it is assumed that three DRBs, i.e., a first DRB 2 a-10, a second DRB 2 a-20, and a third DRB 2 a-30, are configured and each of them may correspond to one PDCP entity. Packet duplication transmission is performed by duplicating one packet at a PDCP layer of a transmitter and transferring duplicated packet to different RLC entities. To this end, two or more RLC entities corresponding to one PDCP are necessary for a DRB in which packet duplication transmission is configured. Paragraph [0223]: RLC entities connected to one PDCP entity may be classified into a primary RLC entity and a secondary RLC entity. The primary RLC entity is an RLC entity that performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated. Paragraph [0230]: In FIG. 15, it is assumed that a radio bearer including the first PDCP 2 b-10 is a DRB. RLC entities may be classified into a primary RLC entity 2 b-20 and secondary RLC entities 2 b-30, 2 b-40, and 2 b-50 according to a purpose. A primary RLC entity is an entity that always transmits packets regardless of activation of packet duplication. A secondary RLC entity is an entity that transmits packets only when packet duplication is activated. Paragraph [0231]: Referring to FIG. 15, in an embodiment of the disclosure, when packet duplication transmission is configured and activated, the transmission PDCP entity 2 b-10 duplicates a packet 2 b-60 and transmits packets 2 b-70, 2 b-80, 2 b-90, and 2 b-100 duplicated from the packet 2 b-60 to all the RLC entities 2 b-20, 2 b-30, 2 b-40, and 2 b-50. Paragraph [0238]: The packet duplication activation/deactivation message 2 d-10 may indicate a radio bearer for which packet duplication is to be activated or deactivated, and after receiving this message, the UE 2 d-30 may activate or deactivate packet duplication according to an indication included in this message (2 d-20). Paragraph [0243]: Referring to FIG. 19, in an embodiment of the disclosure, it is assumed that a message has a MAC CE format consisting of a 1-byte bitmap, i.e., eight bitmaps 2 f-10, 2 f-20, 2 f-30, 2 f-40, 2 f-50, 2 f-60, 2 f-70, and 2 f-80. A bit of each of the bitmaps indicates an activation or deactivation status of packet duplication transmission for a certain radio bearer, wherein 1 may indicate activation and 0 may indicate deactivation. In FIG. 19, the eight bitmaps may indicate packet duplication activation/deactivation states of up to eight radio bearers. Paragraph [0260]: Referring to FIG. 20, it is assumed that three DRBs, i.e., a first DRB 2 g-10, a second DRB 2 g-20, and a third DRB 2 g-30, are configured and each of them corresponds to one PDCP entity. Packet duplication transmission is performed by duplicating one packet at a PDCP layer of a transmitter and transferring duplicated packet to different RLC entities. To this end, two or more RLC entities corresponding to one PDCP are necessary for a DRB in which packet duplication transmission is set. RLC entities connected to one PDCP entity may be classified into a primary RLC entity and a secondary RLC entity. The primary RLC entity is an RLC entity that performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity performs packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide a data radio bearer (DRB); the DRB corresponding to one primary radio link control (RLC) entity and a plurality of secondary radio link control (RLC) entities as taught by Jin in the system of Pradas, since a DRB corresponding to multiple RLC entities is necessary when packet duplication transmission is configured, and the primary RLC entity can perform packet transmission regardless of whether packet duplication is activated, and the secondary RLC entity can perform packet transmission at the PDCP layer of the transmitter only when packet duplication is activated (Jin: Paragraph [0222], [0223], [0230]).
The combination of Pradas and Jin does not explicitly teach to receive a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device, and start a timer in response to receiving the second MAC CE, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP- duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receive, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB.
However, Kim teaches to receive a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device, and start a timer in response to receiving the second MAC CE, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP- duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receive, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device, and start a timer in response to receiving the second MAC CE, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP- duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receive, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Pradas and Jin, so that the PDCP duplication activation/deactivation can be configured (Kim: Paragraphs [0311], [0312], [0315]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Pradas further teaches teach a network device comprising: a processor, a memory, a communication interface, and one or more programs which are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor, and the programs comprising instructions (Paragraph [0153]: Network node 1500 can include processor 1510 (also referred to as “processing circuitry”) that is operably connected to program memory 1520 and data memory 1530 via bus 1570, which can include parallel address and data buses, serial ports. Paragraph [0154]: Program memory 1520 can store software code, programs, and/or instructions (collectively shown as computer program product 1521 in FIG. 15) that, when executed by processor 1510, can configure and/or facilitate network node 1500 to perform various operations, including operations corresponding to various exemplary methods described herein. Paragraph [0158]: n some embodiments, network node 1500 can include hardware and/or software that configures and/or facilitates network node 1500 to communicate with other network nodes in a RAN, such as with other eNBs, gNBs, ng-eNBs, en-gNBs, IAB nodes, etc. Such hardware and/or software can be part of radio network interface 1540 and/or core network interface 1550, or it can be a separate functional unit (not shown). For example, such hardware and/or software can configure and/or facilitate network node 1500 to communicate with other RAN nodes via the X2 or Xn interfaces, as standardized by 3GPP.)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Pradas further teaches wherein the terminal is further configured with a first DRB, and the first DRB corresponds to one secondary RLC entity (Abstract: Embodiments include methods performed by a user equipment (UE). Such methods include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities are associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. Such methods include subsequently receiving, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. Such methods include activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0016]: Some exemplary embodiments include methods (e.g., procedures) for a user equipment (UE, e.g., wireless device, IoT device, modem, etc. or component thereof). These exemplary methods can include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN.)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and kim teaches the terminal of claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Pradas further teaches wherein the terminal is further configured with a first DRB, and the first DRB corresponds to one secondary RLC entity (Abstract: Embodiments include methods performed by a user equipment (UE). Such methods include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities are associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN. Such methods include subsequently receiving, from the network node, a second control message indicating activation or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities. Such methods include activating or deactivating PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities based on the first control message and the second control message. Paragraph [0016]: Some exemplary embodiments include methods (e.g., procedures) for a user equipment (UE, e.g., wireless device, IoT device, modem, etc. or component thereof). These exemplary methods can include receiving, from a network node in a radio access network (RAN), a first control message identifying which of a plurality of configured radio link control (RLC) entities are to be activated for PDCP duplication. The plurality of configured RLC entities can be associated with a radio bearer between the UE and the RAN.)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches the terminal of claim 15 wherein the processor configured to activate or deactivate is configured to (see rejection for claim 15);
Pradas further teaches to determine the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary
RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE (see rejection for claim 8);
Pradas does not explicitly teach determining the PDCP-duplication activation status.
However, Jin teaches determining the PDCP-duplication activation status (see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determining the PDCP-duplication activation status, as taught by Jin in the system of Pradas, so that packet duplication can be performed effectively (Jin: Paragraphs [0236], [0237]).
The combination of Pradas and Jin does not explicitly teach to determine the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the first MAC CE is received before the timer expires.
However, Kim teaches to determine the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the first MAC CE is received before the timer expires (see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the first MAC CE is received before the timer expires, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Pradas and Jin, so that the PDCP duplication activation/deactivation can be configured, and activation of the plurality of RLC layers for which packet duplication transmission technology is configured can be controlled, to support reliable data transmission (Kim: Paragraphs [0008], [0053], [0311], [0312], [0314], [0315]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches the terminal of claim 15, wherein the processor configured to activate is configured to (see rejection for claim 15);
Pradas further teaches to determine the PDCP-duplication activation status of the secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB according to the second MAC CE, when the second MAC CE is a second MAC CE most recent to the first MAC CE (see rejection for claim 9);
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 08, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Pradas et al. (US2022/0271866A1) in view of Jin et al. (US2021/0377830A1) and Kim et al. (US2021/0219375A1) have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the combination of the cited references Pradas, Jin, and Kim does not teach amended independent claims 1, 11, and 15. Amended claim 1 recites in part “receiving a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device and in response to receiving the second MAC CE, starting a timer, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receiving, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device”. However, Kim teaches “receiving a second media access control-control element (MAC CE) transmitted by a network device and in response to receiving the second MAC CE, starting a timer, the second MAC CE indicating a PDCP-duplication activation status of a secondary RLC entity corresponding to the DRB; receiving, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE transmitted by a network device, the first MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication corresponding to the DRB”. Kim teaches a MAC CE indicating activation or deactivation of RLC entities and another MAC CE indicating to activate or deactivate PDCP duplication. The base station may configure, for the UE, a timer for each RLC entity configured for a bearer for which the packet duplication transmission technology is configured. The MAC CE indicates activation or deactivation of only secondary RLC entities. The MAC CE indicates PDCP duplication activation with respect to the secondary RLC entities. When the timer expires the MAC entity (MAC CE) deactivates PDCP duplication for the configured RLC entities (secondary RLC entities), an action which is performed by the MAC CE. The PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE may operate the timer for the configured RCL entity (secondary RLC entity), and when it is indicated, via a MAC CE, to activate the packet duplication transmission, the UE starts the timer. When the timer expires, the PDCP entity or the MAC entity of the UE deactivates the packet duplication transmission technology configured via the MAC CE. The MAC entity deactivates the PDCP duplication after the timer expires, which indicates that a MAC CE deactivates the PDCP duplication for the RLC entity, thus teaching “receiving, after the timer expires, a first MAC CE”. Thus, Kim also teaches that after the timer expires, the other MAC CE is received. Thus, the combination of Pradas, Jin, and Kim teaches amended independent claims 1, 11, and 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461