DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the submission filed August 2, 2022. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are directed to a method, computer program product and computer system for synchronizing a translation with source multimedia reciting steps for obtaining source multimedia including a source communication in a first language; generating a translation of the source communication in at least a second language; analyzing features of the translation and the source communication; correlating the translation with the source communication; detecting differences between the analyzed features of the correlated translation and source communication; and modifying at least one of the translation and the source communication based on the detected differences to synchronize the translation with the source communication. The limitation for obtaining source multimedia including a source communication in a first language is a data gathering step that can be achieved by the person accessing and viewing the multimedia; the limitation for generating a translation of the source communication in at least a second language can be achieved by the person hearing the audio and via mental processing performing language translation and using pen and paper writing the translated audio on paper; analyzing features of the translation and the source communication can be achieved by the person comparing the heard audio, that can be converted to text and written on paper, with the translation and detecting numbers of words, phrase lengths, etc; correlating the translation with the source communication can be achieved by the person mapping or linking the translation with the portions of the audio/video portions and using pen and paper denoting where in the video various translation/phrases occur; detecting differences between the analyzed features of the correlated translation and source communication can be achieved by the person comparing duration for annunciating the translation with the durations for annunciating original audio; and modifying at least one of the translation and the source communication based on the detected differences to synchronize the translation with the source communication can be achieved by the person speaking the translation faster or slower to coordinate with the video. The recited limitations are directed a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of the generic computer, storage media, processor, computer program product, and generic computer components. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited generic computer, storage media, processor, computer program product, and generic computer components and various instructions amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, the elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as indicated with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the generic computer, storage media, processor, computer program product, and generic computer components and instructions to perform the various steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The limitations of the dependent claims are directed to steps of organizing or manipulating data or features of the source communication or the transcribed text/audio, steps for analyzing the data of the source communication or the transcribed text/audio, and steps for adjusting or manipulating the transcribed text/audio, which are steps that can be performed via mental processing, pen and paper or by the person speaking.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCartney et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0404386), hereinafter McCartney.
McCartney teaches automated voice translation dubbing for prerecorded video. Regarding claim 1, McCartney teaches a method for synchronizing a translation with source multimedia [Fig 2/Fig.4A/Fig.4B; para 0018; 0022-0024; 0025-0028; 0037-0038; 0041-0043], the method comprising: obtaining source multimedia including a source communication in a first language [para 0037-0038 – media content 121]; generating a translation of the source communication in at least a second language [translated audio portions -- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0046; 0049; 0051-0056; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103]; analyzing features of the translation and the source communication [timing, duration, string character processing -- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103]; correlating the translation with the source communication [timing, duration, string character processing and audio video matching component 145-- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103]; detecting differences between the analyzed features of the correlated translation and source communication [timing, duration, string character processing and audio video matching component 145 determining duration differences between translated audio and original audio-- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103]; and modifying at least one of the translation and the source communication based on the detected differences to synchronize the translation with the source communication [timing and duration processing and audio video matching component 145 adjusts rate of translated audio or rate of video portions-- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103].
Regarding claim 2, McCartney teaches the source multimedia includes video of the source communication, wherein the video of the source communication includes audio and associated closed captions [para 0018 – original and translated caption data], and wherein the translation includes audio and associated closed captions [para 0018 – original and translated caption data].
Regarding claim 3, McCartney teaches wherein the translation and the source communication each include a plurality of segments, wherein each segment includes audio and associated closed captions [para 0018 – original and translated caption data], and wherein the analyzed features include segment lengths [para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103 – character strings/sentence fragments].
Regarding claim 4, McCartney teaches the correlating the translation with the source communication is based on a timeline of the source communication [para 0039; 0085].
Regarding claim 5, McCartney teaches wherein the detected differences include differences in the segment lengths of the correlated translation and source communication [timing, duration, string character processing and audio video matching component 145 determining duration differences between translated audio and original audio-- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103].
Regarding claim 6, McCartney teaches the modifying at least one of the translation and source communication includes modifying at least one segment thereof [timing and duration processing and audio video matching component 145 adjusts rate of translated audio or rate of video portions-- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103].
Regarding claim 7, McCartney teaches the modifying at least one of the translation and source communication is selected from a group consisting of shifting a segment, manipulating segment length, and manipulating segment speed [timing and duration processing and audio video matching component 145 adjusts rate of translated audio or rate of video portions-- para 0025-0028; 0041-0043; 0053; Fig 4A; para 0078-0093; Fig. 4B para 0097-0103].
Regarding claims 8-14 and 15-20, the claims are rejected under similar rationale as claims 1-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dubinsky et al (US Patent No. 11.942.093) teaches system and method for simultaneous multilingual dubbing of video-audio programs.
De Juan et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0038271) teaches system and method for generating video in a target language.
ANGELA A. ARMSTRONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2659
/ANGELA A ARMSTRONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659