This is a Final office action for serial number 17/816,967.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Brewster 20130219678. The applicant is reminded that the optical system is not positively claimed therefore the prior art only need to be capable of performing the functions related to the optical system. Brewster discloses (Claim 1) A rotational mount, comprising: a flexure member defining a base portion (see annotated figure below), a flexure portion , and a mounting portion, wherein the flexure portion defines a first flexure (150/151) and a second flexure (152/153) associated with rotations about a first axis and a second axis, respectively, wherein the second axis is orthogonal to the first axis; and at least one clamp situated to secure an optical system (60) to the mounting portion (181) of the flexure member so that the first flexure and the second flexure are operable to provide rotation of the optical system about the first axis and the second axis in response to bending at the first flexure and the second flexure, respectively; (Claim 2) The rotational mount of claim 1, wherein the first flexure is defined by a groove (151) in the flexure member, the groove extending parallel to the first axis; (Claim 3) The rotational mount of claim 2, wherein the second flexure is defined by opposing slots (153) in the flexure member, the opposing slots extending parallel to the first axis; (Claim 4) (Original) The rotational mount of claim 1, wherein the second flexure is defined by opposing slots (153) in the flexure member, the opposing slots extending parallel to the first axis; (Claim 5) The rotational mount of claim 1, wherein the flexure portion is situated between the base portion (see figure below) and the mounting portion (181).
[AltContent: textbox (Base portion
1st flexure (151/150)
2nd flexure (153/152)
Mounting portion (181)
Optical system (60))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (At least one clamp 80/90)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewster 20130219678 in view of Mefferd 5,000,557. Brewster discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for the optical system wherein the optical system is a laser beam generator. Brewster teaches that the invention within the background that the device can be used for such as, machinery, optics, or medical device, and round shafts as discussed in paragraph 0003 and 0004. Mefferd teaches it is known to have a support/mount for an (Claim 23) The rotational mount of claim 1, further comprising the optical system (laser system, see specification summary of invention) ; (Claim 24) The rotational mount of claim 23, wherein the optical system is a laser beam generator (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Brewster to have supporting or mounting the optical system wherein the optical system is a laser beam generator as taught by Mefferd since Brewster teaches that the invention within the background that the device can be used for such as, machinery, optics, or medical device, and round shafts as discussed in paragraph 0003 and 0004 which would include an optical system such as a laser beam generator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that,
While Brewster discloses multiple flexures, Brewster's flexures provide rotations about parallel axes in response to adjustment of the clamp. Each and every flexure of Brewster's FIG. 13 provides a rotation about a respective axis that is perpendicular to the plane of the drawing. By contrast, claim 1 recites that "a first flexure and a second flexure [are] associated with rotations about a first axis and a second axis, respectively, wherein the second axis is orthogonal to the first axis." Such an arrangement is described in the specification and illustrated in. for example, FIGS. 3-3A (reproduced below).
FIGS. 3-3A show a flexure member 306 having first flexure defined by a bridged region 310C and a second flexure defined by a groove, channel, or other thinned region 314. These flexures permit rotations about respective orthogonal axes 312, 314. [Specification at 10, lines 20-30]. Brewster fails to disclose such an arrangement. Moreover, the flexures in Brewster serve to clamp a shaft 60 against a base member 70 but do not rotate the shaft 60. The arrangement of Brewster is to secure the shaft and prevent rotation with the base member. Accordingly, Brewster fails to disclose that "the first flexure and the second flexure are operable to provide rotation of the optical system," as recited in claim 1.
For at least the above reasons, Brewster fails to disclose all the features of claim 1, arranged as claimed, and claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-5 are properly allowable.
the examiner’s remarks are as follows. Brewster clearly teaches that the 1st flexure 151/150 with rotations about a first axis and 2nd flexure 153/152 wherein the second axis is orthogonal to the second axis as shown below, therefore meeting the applicant’s claimed invention. Brewster also teaches in paragraph 0077 that,
“The dimensional relationship between the aperture and the shaft is such that the gaps 141 offer a minimal clearance, permitting unlimited linear, but limited rotational motion along the shaft axis when the pinch bolt is loose” therefore permitting rotation of the member 60 (optical system) meeting the applicant’s claimed invention.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd axis)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd flexure (153/152))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (At least one clamp 80/90)][AltContent: textbox (1st flexure (151/150)
Optical system (60))][AltContent: arrow]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631