DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, 16, 19-21, 23, 27, 29, 30 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanki et al (US 2010/0008294, hereinafter Palanki) and in view of MolavianJazi et al (US 2021/0184812, hereinafter MolavianJazi).
Regarding claim 1, Palanki discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE, Fig. 4), comprising: a memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory (processor and memory, Fig. 4), based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive an uplink (UL) grant from a network node, the UL grant including a first subset of UL scheduling information among a plurality of UL scheduling information associated with a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) (UE receives uplink grant from BS that indicates allocated resources, MCS, TB size, HARQ redundancy version and other parameters for the UE to send data on the uplink, Para [0033]); select a second subset of UL scheduling information of the plurality of UL scheduling information other than the first subset of UL scheduling information (UE can select a rate for sending uplink data, Para [0037], UE selects one or more parameters for UL data transmission, Para [0041], the rate can be MCS or other parameter information, Para [0046]); and transmit the PUSCH to the network node based on the first subset of UL scheduling information and the second subset of UL scheduling information selected by the UE (UE transmits the UL data to the BS and the BS processes the data according to the reverse rate indicator sent by the UE, Para [0037], BS processes the data in accordance with the UL grant that was sent to the UE, Para [0035]); but does not disclose the second subset of UL scheduling information includes at least one rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), transmit (Tx) beam including sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), repetition factor or frequency hopping. MolavianJazi discloses the UE can be configured with an allowed set of number of repetitions, where the UE can select the number of UL repetitions, Para [0222] and the gNB provides a set or range of allowed number of repetitions for the UE to select from, Para [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by MolavianJazi in the system of Palanki in order to improve coverage for UL CG transmissions in response to variations in channel/beam quality over time.
Regarding claim 5, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second subset of UL scheduling information is selected within a range or a set of candidate values of corresponding UL scheduling information and receive the range or the set of candidate values of the corresponding UL scheduling information. (UE can receive an indication of the maximum rate (MCS) from the BS, Para [0036], UE can select a range within the range set by the maximum limit, Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive/transmit the range or the set of candidate values of the corresponding UL scheduling information (UE can receive an indication of the maximum rate (MCS) from the BS, Para [0036], UE can select a range within the range set by the maximum limit, Para [0037]).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1/19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive/transmit an instruction indicating that the UL grant includes the first subset of UL scheduling information among the plurality of UL scheduling information associated with the PUSCH (UL grant can be the instruction itself indicating UL parameters and resource allocation, Para [0033] or configuration information received from BS that indicates resources that can be used the UE, Para [0036], receiving configuration prior to UL grant with information on UL parameters would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 9, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UL grant is received semi-statically or dynamically (BS sends (dynamic) uplink grant to the UE, Para [0035], dynamic and configured grants are known in the art as well).
Regarding claim 10, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an UL control information (UCI) including the second subset of UL scheduling information of the plurality of UL scheduling information other than the first subset of UL scheduling information to the network node. Palanki discloses the UE can transmit the reverse rate indicator, with the selected rate (e.g. MCS) to the BS, so that the BS may decode the UL data transmission, Para [0037] and the UE can transmit UCI to a different BS, including pertinent information, such as the selected MCS, to allow the different BS to process the UL data transmission, Para [0008], therefore it is obvious to one of ordinary skill the UE can transmit the reverse rate indicator/selected MCS in UCI to the serving BS.
Regarding claim 23, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the UCI is transmitted via at least one of a physical UL control channel (PUCCH) or the PUSCH (UCI being transmitted on PUCCH or piggybacked with data on PUSCH is known in the art).
Regarding claims 16 and 27, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 10/19, but not explicitly wherein the PUSCH is transmitted after a processing time from receiving UL grant from the network node (processing time is known in the art, obvious a UE can transmit the UL data transmission sometime after processing the received UL grant).
Regarding claim 19, Palanki discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (BS, Fig. 4), comprising: a memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory (processor and memory, Fig. 4), based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit an uplink (UL) grant to a user equipment (UE), the UL grant including a first subset of UL scheduling information among a plurality of UL scheduling information associated with a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) (UE receives uplink grant from BS that indicates allocated resources, MCS, TB size, HARQ redundancy version and other parameters for the UE to send data on the uplink, Para [0033]); receiving an indicator from the UE, the indicator including second subset of UL scheduling information of the plurality of UL scheduling information other than the first subset of UL scheduling information (the UE can transmit the reverse rate indicator, with the selected rate (e.g. MCS) to the BS, so that the BS may decode the UL data transmission, Para [0037]); and receive the PUSCH from the UE based on the first subset of UL scheduling information and the second subset of UL scheduling information received from the UE (UE transmits the UL data to the BS and the BS processes the data according to the reverse rate indicator sent by the UE, Para [0037], BS processes the data in accordance with the UL grant that was sent to the UE, Para [0035]); Palanki does not explicitly disclose the PUSCH, however transmitting UL data on the PUSCH is known in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to transmit UL data on the PUSCH; nor does Palanki explicitly disclose the selected rate indicator is sent in UCI. Palanki discloses the UE can transmit UCI to a different BS, including pertinent information, such as the selected MCS, to allow the different BS to process the UL data transmission, Para [0008], therefore it is obvious to one of ordinary skill the UE can transmit the reverse rate indicator/selected MCS in UCI to the serving BS; but does not disclose the second subset of UL scheduling information includes at least one rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), transmit (Tx) beam including sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), repetition factor or frequency hopping. NMolavianJazi discloses the UE can be configured with an allowed set of number of repetitions, where the UE can select the number of UL repetitions, Para [0222] and the gNB provides a set or range of allowed number of repetitions for the UE to select from, Para [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by MolavianJazi in the system of Palanki in order to improve coverage for UL CG transmissions in response to variations in channel/beam quality over time.
Regarding claim 29, Palanki discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an uplink (UL) grant from a network node, the UL grant including a first subset of UL scheduling information among a plurality of UL scheduling information associated with a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) (UE receives uplink grant from BS that indicates allocated resources, MCS, TB size, HARQ redundancy version and other parameters for the UE to send data on the uplink, Para [0033]); select a second subset of UL scheduling information of the plurality of UL scheduling information other than the first subset of UL scheduling information (UE can select a rate for sending uplink data, Para [0037], UE selects one or more parameters for UL data transmission, Para [0041], the rate can be MCS or other parameter information, Para [0046]); and transmit the PUSCH to the network node based on the first subset of UL scheduling information and the second subset of UL scheduling information selected by the UE (UE transmits the UL data to the BS and the BS processes the data according to the reverse rate indicator sent by the UE, Para [0037], BS processes the data in accordance with the UL grant that was sent to the UE, Para [0035]); but does not disclose the second subset of UL scheduling information includes at least one rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), transmit (Tx) beam including sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), repetition factor or frequency hopping. MolavianJazi discloses the UE can be configured with an allowed set of number of repetitions, where the UE can select the number of UL repetitions, Para [0222] and the gNB provides a set or range of allowed number of repetitions for the UE to select from, Para [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by MolavianJazi in the system of Palanki in order to improve coverage for UL CG transmissions in response to variations in channel/beam quality over time.
Regarding claim 30, Palanki discloses a method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising: transmitting an uplink (UL) grant to a user equipment (UE), the UL grant including a first subset of UL scheduling information among a plurality of UL scheduling information associated with a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) (UE receives uplink grant from BS that indicates allocated resources, MCS, TB size, HARQ redundancy version and other parameters for the UE to send data on the uplink, Para [0033]); receiving an indicator from the UE, the indicator including second subset of UL scheduling information of the plurality of UL scheduling information other than the first subset of UL scheduling information (the UE can transmit the reverse rate indicator, with the selected rate (e.g. MCS) to the BS, so that the BS may decode the UL data transmission, Para [0037]); and receive the PUSCH from the UE based on the first subset of UL scheduling information and the second subset of UL scheduling information received from the UE (UE transmits the UL data to the BS and the BS processes the data according to the reverse rate indicator sent by the UE, Para [0037], BS processes the data in accordance with the UL grant that was sent to the UE, Para [0035]); Palanki does not explicitly disclose the PUSCH, however transmitting UL data on the PUSCH is known in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to transmit UL data on the PUSCH; nor does Palanki explicitly disclose the selected rate indicator is sent in UCI. Palanki discloses the UE can transmit UCI to a different BS, including pertinent information, such as the selected MCS, to allow the different BS to process the UL data transmission, Para [0008], therefore it is obvious to one of ordinary skill the UE can transmit the reverse rate indicator/selected MCS in UCI to the serving BS; but does not disclose the second subset of UL scheduling information includes at least one rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), transmit (Tx) beam including sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI), repetition factor or frequency hopping. MolavianJazi discloses the UE can be configured with an allowed set of number of repetitions, where the UE can select the number of UL repetitions, Para [0222] and the gNB provides a set or range of allowed number of repetitions for the UE to select from, Para [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by MolavianJazi in the system of Palanki in order to improve coverage for UL CG transmissions in response to variations in channel/beam quality over time.
Regarding claims 34, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second subset of UL scheduling information that is selected at the UE includes the Tx beam including the SRI of the TCI for the PUSCH transmission (obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claims 35, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second subset of UL scheduling information that is selected at the UE includes the repetition factor for the PUSCH transmission (MolavianJazi discloses the UE can be configured with an allowed set of number of repetitions, where the UE can select the number of UL repetitions, Para [0222]).
Regarding claims 36, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second subset of UL scheduling information that is selected at the UE includes the frequency hopping for the PUSCH transmission (obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Claims 2, 3 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanki, in view of MolavianJazi and in view of Nam et al (US 2020/0413420, hereinafter Nam).
Regarding claims 2 and 31, Palanki discloses the apparatus/method of claim 1/29, but not further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the first subset of UL scheduling information includes at least one of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) or a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) associated with the PUSCH. Nam discloses the UL grant includes a time-frequency resource allocation, Para [0053]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Nam in the system of Palanki in view with MolavianJazi in order to improve spectrum utilization to meet growing demands.
Regarding claim 3, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not wherein the first subset of UL scheduling information further includes at least one of: a rank indicator (RI), a transmit precoding matrix index (TPMI), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI). Nam discloses the UL grant includes a rank indicator, Para [0053]; and does not disclose the second subset of UL scheduling information includes at least one repetition factor or frequency hopping. MolavianJazi discloses the UE can be configured with an allowed set of number of repetitions, where the UE can select the number of UL repetitions, Para [0222] and the gNB provides a set or range of allowed number of repetitions for the UE to select from, Para [0096]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by MolavianJazi in the system of Palanki in order to improve coverage for UL CG transmissions in response to variations in channel/beam quality over time.
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanki, in view of MolavianJazi and in view of Kim et al (US 2012/0176996, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 8, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit a recommended parameter associated with the first subset of UL scheduling information among the plurality of UL scheduling information associated with the PUSCH. Kim discloses the UE may recommend a rank indicator value to the BS and the BS transmits an UL grant in consideration of the recommended RI, Para [0118]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Palanki in view of MolavianJazi in order to more efficiently transmit uplink control information.
Regarding claim 22, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 19, but not wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a recommended parameter associated with the first subset of UL scheduling information among the plurality of UL scheduling information associated with the PUSCH, wherein the UL grant is transmitted based at least in part on the recommended parameter associated with the first subset of UL scheduling information. Kim discloses the UE may recommend a rank indicator value to the BS and the BS transmits an UL grant in consideration of the recommended RI, Para [0118]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Palanki in view of MolavianJazi in order to more efficiently transmit uplink control information.
Claims 17, 18 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanki, in view of MolavianJazi and in view of Chae et al (US 2020/0351705, hereinafter Chae).
Regarding claim 17, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 16, but not wherein the processing time is associated with a UE capability. Chae discloses processing time may be based on wireless device processing capability, Para [0361]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chae in the system of Palanki in view with MolavianJazi in order to improve communication throughput, performance and reliability of a wireless device.
Regarding claim 18, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 16, but not wherein the processing time is determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Chae discloses processing time may be based on SCS, Para [0361]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chae in the system of Palanki in view with MolavianJazi in order to improve communication throughput, performance and reliability of a wireless device.
Regarding claim 28, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 27, but not wherein the processing time is associated with a UE capability or determined based on a subcarrier spacing (SCS). Chae discloses processing time may be based on wireless device processing capability or SCS, Para [0361]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chae in the system of Palanki in view with MolavianJazi in order to improve communication throughput, performance and reliability of a wireless device.
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palanki, in view of MolavianJazi and in view of Zhang et al (US 2024/0022303, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claims 32, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not wherein the second subset of UL scheduling information that is selected at the UE includes the RI for the PUSCH transmission. Zhang discloses the network node can set a range of RI values allowable for the terminal to select, Para [0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zhang in the system of Palanki in view with MolavianJazi in order to better perform codebook subset restriction which is an urgent problem to be solved.
Regarding claims 33, Palanki discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but not wherein the second subset of UL scheduling information that is selected at the UE includes the PMI for the PUSCH transmission. Zhang discloses the network node can set a range of PMI values allowable for the terminal to select, Para [0005]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Zhang in the system of Palanki in view with MolavianJazi in order to better perform codebook subset restriction which is an urgent problem to be solved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13, 14, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Palanki and Eriksson do not disclose selecting, at the UE, a second subset of UL scheduling information, where the second subset includes at least one of the following: RI, PMI, Tx beam, SRI, TCI, repetition factor or frequency hopping. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461