DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
2. Applicant’s amendment filed November 26, 2025 is acknowledged. Claim 5 is cancelled. Claims 3-4 are amended. Claims 10-12 are newly added. Claims 1-4, 6-9 and newly added claims 10-12 are pending in this application. Claims 1-2 and 6-9 are withdrawn without traverse (filed 08/07/2025) from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 7, 2025.
3. Claims 3-4 and 10-12 are under examination in this office action.
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Specification
5. The objection to the specification is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the specification.
Claim Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
6. The objection to claim 3 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claim.
The rejection of claims 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims and cancelation of claim 5.
The rejection of claims 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims and cancelation of claim 5.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement is moot because the claim is canceled.
The rejection of claims 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims and cancelation of claim 5.
The rejection of claims 3-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richgels et al. (Chem. Senses 2012; 37 (3): 229-240) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 3-4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enan (WO2004100971, published Nov 25, 2004) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
The following rejections are new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment filed on November 26, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols et al. (J. Biol. Chem.2010; 285: 11854-11862) in view of Daniels et al. (PLoS ONE 2014; 9:e100637. Doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0100637) and Lee et al. (WO2003020913, published Mar 13, 2003, cited previously).
Claims 3-4 and 10-12 as amended are drawn to an isolated nucleic acid molecule encoding a 2-pentanone specific receptor Or35a having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 and another 2-pentanoe specific receptor Or83b having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:5. Dependent claims are directed to a recombinant vector comprising the claimed nucleic acid molecule (claim 4),wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises a nucleic acid of SEQ ID NO:1 encoding Or35a and another nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 encoding Or83b (claim 10), wherein the nucleic acid molecule encodes the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 (claim 11), and wherein the recombinant vector comprise the nucleic acid molecule of claim 10 or 11 (claim 12).
Nichols et al. teach odorant-induced current responses were only observed upon co-expression of a common co-receptor Or83b (p. 11856, 1st col., section: Results to 2nd col.1st paragraph) and Or35a and Or83b coexpress in specific neurons in Drosophila. Nichols teaches a vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or35a and a vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or83b, and co-expressing Or35a and Or83b in Xenopus oocytes by injection of cRNA encoding Or35a and Or83b, wherein the Xenopus oocytes that co-express Or35a and Or83b can be used for study 2-pentanone and odorant recognition by insect OR (odorant receptor) (see p. 11855, 2nd col.; p. 11856, 2nd col., figures 1 and 5).
But Nichols does not explicitly teach a DNA molecule or a recombinant vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or35a and a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or83b or the sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 4-5 for Or35a and Or83b respectively recited in claims 3-4, or the nucleic sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 for Or35a and Or83b respectively or the nucleic acid molecule encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3 recited in claims 10-12.
Daniels et al. teach using a single construct to facilitate expression of multiple transgenes in Drosophila by the P2A co-expression system, multicistronic 2A vectors and 2A peptides, which can express multiple genes in Drosophila (see p. 4-9, Figure 1) and wherein the P2A peptide (-ATNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGP-) and T2A peptide (-EGRGSLLTCGDVEENPGP-) yield the best results (p3, table 2; p.5), which relates to instant claims.
Lee et al. (WO2003020913) teaches a nucleic acid molecule and a recombinant vector comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding Or35a comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:51, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4 and a nucleic acid molecule and a recombinant vector comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding Or85b comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:82, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:5 as recited in claims 3 and 10 (see the sequence alignment below).
Note that the sequences of Or35a and Or85b are known in the art as disclosed by Lee and the use of a single construct to express multiple transgenes by the P2A co-expression system, multicistronic 2A vectors and the use of P2A sequence of -ATNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGP- are known in the art and routine practice in the field as taught by Daniels.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and applying the known P2A co-expression system and multicistronic 2A vectors, the known P2A sequence of -ATNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGP-, the known DNA molecules comprising the known DNA sequences encoding Or35a and Or83b, the known sequences of Or35a and Or83b, and the known technique of co-expression multiple genes using a single construct to Nichols’ vectors and the co-expression system for expressing Or35a and Or83b would have yielded the predictable result of generating a DNA molecule and a recombinant vector comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding Or35a comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 and a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or83b comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO:5, and resulted in an improved product for co-expressing Or35a and Or83b for specific odorant recognition study.
Using the known P2A co-expression system and multicistronic 2A vectors, the known P2A sequence of -ATNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGP-, the known DNA molecules comprising the known DNA sequences encoding Or35a and Or83b, the known sequences of Or35a and Or83b would generate a DNA molecule and a recombinant vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or35a comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 and a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or83b comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO:5, and wherein the DNA molecule encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:3, and improve Nichols’ vectors and the co-expression system for expressing Or35a and Or83b.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply P2A co-expression system and multicistronic 2A vectors, the known P2A sequence of -ATNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGP-, the known DNA molecules comprising the known DNA sequences encoding Or35a and Or83b, the known sequences of Or35a and Or83b, and the known technique of co-expression multiple genes using a single construct to Nichols’ vectors and the co-expression system for expressing Or35a and Or83b, and yield the predictable result of a DNA molecule and a recombinant vector comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding Or35a comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 and a nucleic acid sequence encoding Or83b comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO:5 for co-expressing Or35a and Or83b for specific odorant recognition study.
The sequence search results disclose as follows:
SEQ ID NO:4
ADD15299
ID ADD15299 standard; protein; 416 AA.
XX
AC ADD15299;
XX
DT 15-JAN-2004 (first entry)
XX
DE Fruitfly odourant receptor protein (SeqId 51).
XX
KW odourant receptor; fruitfly; mating; repulsion; flight; insect damage;
KW disease spread; pesticide; insect management program.
XX
OS Drosophila melanogaster.
XX
CC PN WO2003020913-A2.
XX
CC PD 13-MAR-2003.
XX
CC PF 04-SEP-2002; 2002WO-US028315.
XX
PR 04-SEP-2001; 2001US-0317401P.
XX
CC PA (SENT-) SENTIGEN CORP.
XX
CC PI Lee KJ, Ong J, Nguyen TT, Kloss B;
XX
DR WPI; 2003-300885/29.
XX
CC PT Novel Anopheles gambiae odorant receptor polypeptides and nucleic acid
CC PT encoding the polypeptides, useful as targets for identifying pest control
CC PT agents.
XX
CC PS Claim 1; SEQ ID NO 51; 172pp; English.
XX
CC This invention relates to novel Anopheles gambiae odourant receptor genes
CC and encoded proteins thereof. Specifically, it refers to the isolated
CC genes of the African malaria mosquito that are related to the 'classical'
CC Drosophila odourant receptor genes, and compounds that bind to and
CC modulate these receptors cause various behavioural responses such as
CC mating, repulsion or flight. Accordingly, the present invention describes
CC such compounds (both natural and synthetic) that are useful for
CC attracting insects to traps or to localised toxins, for repelling insects
CC from individuals or populated residential areas, or for interfering with
CC the function of olfactory system such that insects are unable to locate
CC food and hosts. As such, these compounds can be used to control insect
CC damage and the spread of disease, and will significantly reduce
CC dependence on toxic pesticides having a direct and immediate impact on
CC coordinated insect management programs. This polypeptide sequence is a
CC Drosophila melanogaster odourant receptor protein, which is homologous to
CC the African malaria mosquito proteins of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 416 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2094; Length 416;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 409; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MVRYVPRFADGQKVKLAWPLAVFRLNHIFWPLDPSTGKWGRYLDKVLAVAMSLVFMQHND 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MVRYVPRFADGQKVKLAWPLAVFRLNHIFWPLDPSTGKWGRYLDKVLAVAMSLVFMQHND 60
Qy 61 AELRYLRFEASNRNLDAFLTGMPTYLILVEAQFRSLHILLHFEKLQKFLEIFYANIYIDP 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AELRYLRFEASNRNLDAFLTGMPTYLILVEAQFRSLHILLHFEKLQKFLEIFYANIYIDP 120
Qy 121 RKEPEMFRKVDGKMIINRLVSAMYGAVISLYLIAPVFSIINQSKDFLYSMIFPFDSDPLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 RKEPEMFRKVDGKMIINRLVSAMYGAVISLYLIAPVFSIINQSKDFLYSMIFPFDSDPLY 180
Qy 181 IFVPLLLTNVWVGIVIDTMMFGETNLLCELIVHLNGSYMLLKRDLQLAIEKILVARDRPH 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 IFVPLLLTNVWVGIVIDTMMFGETNLLCELIVHLNGSYMLLKRDLQLAIEKILVARDRPH 240
Qy 241 MAKQLKVLITKTLRKNVALNQFGQQLEAQYTVRVFIMFAFAAGLLCALSFKAYTNPMANY 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 MAKQLKVLITKTLRKNVALNQFGQQLEAQYTVRVFIMFAFAAGLLCALSFKAYTNPMANY 300
Qy 301 IYAIWFGAKTVELLSLGQIGSDLAFTTDSLSTMYYLTHWEQILQYSTNPSENLRLLKLIN 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 IYAIWFGAKTVELLSLGQIGSDLAFTTDSLSTMYYLTHWEQILQYSTNPSENLRLLKLIN 360
Qy 361 LAIEMNSKPFYVTGLKYFRVSLQAGLKILQASFSYFTFLTSMQRRQMSN 409
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LAIEMNSKPFYVTGLKYFRVSLQAGLKILQASFSYFTFLTSMQRRQMSN 409
SEQ ID NO:5
ID ADD15330 standard; protein; 486 AA.
XX
AC ADD15330;
XX
DT 15-JUN-2007 (revised)
DT 15-JAN-2004 (first entry)
XX
DE Fruitfly odourant receptor protein (SeqId 82).
XX
KW odourant receptor; fruitfly; mating; repulsion; flight; insect damage;
KW disease spread; pesticide; insect management program; BOND_PC;
KW CG10609-PA; CG10609-PA [Drosophila melanogaster]; Or83b; 83b; A45; 83A.2;
KW DOR45; CG10609; Odorant receptor 83b CG10609-PA;
KW Odorant receptor 83b CG10609-PA [Drosophila melanogaster]; GO4984;
KW GO5549; GO7608; GO16021; GO42048.
XX
OS Drosophila melanogaster.
XX
CC PN WO2003020913-A2.
XX
CC PD 13-MAR-2003.
XX
CC PF 04-SEP-2002; 2002WO-US028315.
XX
PR 04-SEP-2001; 2001US-0317401P.
XX
CC PA (SENT-) SENTIGEN CORP.
XX
CC PI Lee KJ, Ong J, Nguyen TT, Kloss B;
XX
DR WPI; 2003-300885/29.
DR PC:NCBI; gi24644231.
DR PC:SWISSPROT; Q9VNB5.
DR PC:BIND; 196893, 196891, 196894.
XX
CC PT Novel Anopheles gambiae odorant receptor polypeptides and nucleic acid
CC PT encoding the polypeptides, useful as targets for identifying pest control
CC PT agents.
XX
CC PS Claim 1; SEQ ID NO 82; 172pp; English.
XX
CC This invention relates to novel Anopheles gambiae odourant receptor genes
CC and encoded proteins thereof. Specifically, it refers to the isolated
CC genes of the African malaria mosquito that are related to the 'classical'
CC Drosophila odourant receptor genes, and compounds that bind to and
CC modulate these receptors cause various behavioural responses such as
CC mating, repulsion or flight. Accordingly, the present invention describes
CC such compounds (both natural and synthetic) that are useful for
CC attracting insects to traps or to localised toxins, for repelling insects
CC from individuals or populated residential areas, or for interfering with
CC the function of olfactory system such that insects are unable to locate
CC food and hosts. As such, these compounds can be used to control insect
CC damage and the spread of disease, and will significantly reduce
CC dependence on toxic pesticides having a direct and immediate impact on
CC coordinated insect management programs. This polypeptide sequence is a
CC Drosophila melanogaster odourant receptor protein, which is homologous to
CC the African malaria mosquito proteins of the invention.
CC
CC Revised record issued on 15-JUN-2007 : Enhanced with precomputed
CC information from BOND.
XX
SQ Sequence 486 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2523; Length 486;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 486; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MTTSMQPSKYTGLVADLMPNIRAMKYSGLFMHNFTGGSAFMKKVYSSVHLVFLLMQFTFI 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTTSMQPSKYTGLVADLMPNIRAMKYSGLFMHNFTGGSAFMKKVYSSVHLVFLLMQFTFI 60
Qy 61 LVNMALNAEEVNELSGNTITTLFFTHCITKFIYLAVNQKNFYRTLNIWNQVNTHPLFAES 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 LVNMALNAEEVNELSGNTITTLFFTHCITKFIYLAVNQKNFYRTLNIWNQVNTHPLFAES 120
Qy 121 DARYHSIALAKMRKLFFLVMLTTVASATAWTTITFFGDSVKMVVDHETNSSIPVEIPRLP 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 DARYHSIALAKMRKLFFLVMLTTVASATAWTTITFFGDSVKMVVDHETNSSIPVEIPRLP 180
Qy 181 IKSFYPWNASHGMFYMISFAFQIYYVLFSMIHSNLCDVMFCSWLIFACEQLQHLKGIMKP 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 IKSFYPWNASHGMFYMISFAFQIYYVLFSMIHSNLCDVMFCSWLIFACEQLQHLKGIMKP 240
Qy 241 LMELSASLDTYRPNSAALFRSLSANSKSELIHNEEKDPGTDMDMSGIYSSKADWGAQFRA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 LMELSASLDTYRPNSAALFRSLSANSKSELIHNEEKDPGTDMDMSGIYSSKADWGAQFRA 300
Qy 301 PSTLQSFGGNGGGGNGLVNGANPNGLTKKQEMMVRSAIKYWVERHKHVVRLVAAIGDTYG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 PSTLQSFGGNGGGGNGLVNGANPNGLTKKQEMMVRSAIKYWVERHKHVVRLVAAIGDTYG 360
Qy 361 AALLLHMLTSTIKLTLLAYQATKINGVNVYAFTVVGYLGYALAQVFHFCIFGNRLIEESS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AALLLHMLTSTIKLTLLAYQATKINGVNVYAFTVVGYLGYALAQVFHFCIFGNRLIEESS 420
Qy 421 SVMEAAYSCHWYDGSEEAKTFVQIVCQQCQKAMSISGAKFFTVSLDLFASVLGAVVTYFM 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 SVMEAAYSCHWYDGSEEAKTFVQIVCQQCQKAMSISGAKFFTVSLDLFASVLGAVVTYFM 480
Qy 481 VLVQLK 486
||||||
Db 481 VLVQLK 486
Conclusion
8. NO CLAIM IS ALLOWED.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Enan (WO2004100971) teaches a nucleic acid molecule and a recombinant vector comprising the nucleic acid molecule, wherein the nucleic acid molecule encodes Or83b comprising the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:5, and comprises a nucleotide sequence that is 100% identical to the nucleotide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (see the sequence alignment below; p.29-31)
SEQ ID NO:5
ID ADU97864 standard; protein; 486 AA.
XX
AC ADU97864;
XX
DT 15-JUN-2007 (revised)
DT 10-FEB-2005 (first entry)
XX
DE Amino acid sequence of the Drosophila Or83b olfactory receptor.
XX
KW insect repellant; pesticide; tyramine receptor modulator;
KW Or83b olfactory receptor modulator; Or43a olfactory receptor modulator;
KW plant; essential oil; Or43a olfactory receptor; Or83b olfactory receptor;
KW Or43a olfactory receptor; insecticide; BOND_PC; CG10609-PA;
KW CG10609-PA [Drosophila melanogaster]; Or83b; 83b; A45; 83A.2; DOR45;
KW CG10609; Odorant receptor 83b CG10609-PA;
KW Odorant receptor 83b CG10609-PA [Drosophila melanogaster]; GO4984;
KW GO5549; GO7608; GO16021; GO42048.
XX
OS Drosophila melanogaster.
XX
CC PN WO2004100971-A1.
XX
CC PD 25-NOV-2004.
XX
CC PF 26-APR-2004; 2004WO-US012947.
XX
PR 24-APR-2003; 2003US-0465320P.
PR 24-DEC-2003; 2003US-0532503P.
XX
CC PA (UYVA-) UNIV VANDERBILT.
XX
CC PI Enan E;
XX
DR WPI; 2005-012796/01.
DR N-PSDB; ADU97863.
DR PC:NCBI; gi24644231.
DR PC:SWISSPROT; Q9VNB5.
DR PC:BIND; 196893, 196891, 196894.
XX
CC PT Composition useful for repelling and/or killing insects comprises at
CC PT least two oils that target the tyramine receptor, Or83b olfactory
CC PT receptor and/or Or43a olfactory receptor of the insects.
XX
CC PS Example 6; Fig 33A-B; 107pp; English.
XX
CC The specification describes a composition that comprises at least two
CC plant essential oils that target at least one insect receptor, selected
CC from tyramine receptor, Or83b olfactory receptor or Or43a olfactory
CC receptor, to result in a change in the intracellular levels of cAMP
CC and/or Ca2 + in the insect. The plant oils may have a synergistic effect
CC when combined. The oils are selected from t-anthole, black seed oil,
CC camphene, carvacrol, d-carvone, l-carvone, 1,8-cineole, para-cymene,
CC diethyl phthalate, eugenol, geraniol, isopropyl citrate, lemon grass oil,
CC lilac flower oil, lime oil, d-limonene, linalyl anthranilate, linalool,
CC lindenol, methyl citrate, methyl dihydrojasmonate, myrcene, perillyl
CC alcohol, phenyl acetaldehyde, alpha-pinene, beta-pinene, piperonal,
CC piperonyl, piperonyl acetate, piperonyl alcohol, piperonyl amine,
CC quinine, sabinene, alpha-terpinene, terpinene 900, alpha-terpineol, gamma
CC -terpineol, 2-tert-butyl-para-quinone, alpha-thujone, thyme oil or
CC thymol. Compositions of the invention are used for controlling, repelling
CC and killing insects. The composition can used in the form of mixtures
CC with solid or liquid dispersible carrier vehicles and other compatible
CC active agents such as repellants, pesticides, acaricides, nematocides,
CC fungicides, bactericides, rodenticides, herbicides, fertilizers, and
CC growth-regulating agents. It can also be used in the form of dosage
CC preparations such as solutions, emulsions, suspensions, powders, pastes
CC and granules. The composition may also be used in the form of personal
CC care and cosmetics for use on skin or hair, such as fragrances,
CC colorants, pigments, dyes, colognes, skin creams, skin lotions,
CC deodorants, talc, bath, oils, soaps, shampoos, hair conditioners and
CC styling agents. The present sequence represents the Drosophila Or83b
CC olfactory receptor. This receptor was cloned into Drosophila Schneider
CC cells, which were then used to screen compositions of the invention.
CC
CC Revised record issued on 15-JUN-2007 : Enhanced with precomputed
CC information from BOND.
XX
SQ Sequence 486 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2523; Length 486;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 486; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MTTSMQPSKYTGLVADLMPNIRAMKYSGLFMHNFTGGSAFMKKVYSSVHLVFLLMQFTFI 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTTSMQPSKYTGLVADLMPNIRAMKYSGLFMHNFTGGSAFMKKVYSSVHLVFLLMQFTFI 60
Qy 61 LVNMALNAEEVNELSGNTITTLFFTHCITKFIYLAVNQKNFYRTLNIWNQVNTHPLFAES 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 LVNMALNAEEVNELSGNTITTLFFTHCITKFIYLAVNQKNFYRTLNIWNQVNTHPLFAES 120
Qy 121 DARYHSIALAKMRKLFFLVMLTTVASATAWTTITFFGDSVKMVVDHETNSSIPVEIPRLP 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 DARYHSIALAKMRKLFFLVMLTTVASATAWTTITFFGDSVKMVVDHETNSSIPVEIPRLP 180
Qy 181 IKSFYPWNASHGMFYMISFAFQIYYVLFSMIHSNLCDVMFCSWLIFACEQLQHLKGIMKP 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 IKSFYPWNASHGMFYMISFAFQIYYVLFSMIHSNLCDVMFCSWLIFACEQLQHLKGIMKP 240
Qy 241 LMELSASLDTYRPNSAALFRSLSANSKSELIHNEEKDPGTDMDMSGIYSSKADWGAQFRA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 LMELSASLDTYRPNSAALFRSLSANSKSELIHNEEKDPGTDMDMSGIYSSKADWGAQFRA 300
Qy 301 PSTLQSFGGNGGGGNGLVNGANPNGLTKKQEMMVRSAIKYWVERHKHVVRLVAAIGDTYG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 PSTLQSFGGNGGGGNGLVNGANPNGLTKKQEMMVRSAIKYWVERHKHVVRLVAAIGDTYG 360
Qy 361 AALLLHMLTSTIKLTLLAYQATKINGVNVYAFTVVGYLGYALAQVFHFCIFGNRLIEESS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AALLLHMLTSTIKLTLLAYQATKINGVNVYAFTVVGYLGYALAQVFHFCIFGNRLIEESS 420
Qy 421 SVMEAAYSCHWYDGSEEAKTFVQIVCQQCQKAMSISGAKFFTVSLDLFASVLGAVVTYFM 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 SVMEAAYSCHWYDGSEEAKTFVQIVCQQCQKAMSISGAKFFTVSLDLFASVLGAVVTYFM 480
Qy 481 VLVQLK 486
||||||
Db 481 VLVQLK 486
SEQ ID NO:2
ADU97863
(NOTE: this sequence has 10 duplicates in the database searched)
ID ADU97863 standard; cDNA; 1461 BP.
XX
AC ADU97863;
XX
DT 11-JUN-2007 (revised)
DT 10-FEB-2005 (first entry)
XX
DE Nucleotide sequence of the Drosophila Or83b olfactory receptor.
XX
KW insect repellant; pesticide; tyramine receptor modulator;
KW Or83b olfactory receptor modulator; Or43a olfactory receptor modulator;
KW plant; essential oil; Or43a olfactory receptor; Or83b olfactory receptor;
KW Or43a olfactory receptor; insecticide; ss.
XX
OS Drosophila melanogaster.
XX
FH Key Location/Qualifiers
FT CDS 1..1461
FT /*tag= a
FT /product= "Or83b olfactory receptor"
XX
CC PN WO2004100971-A1.
XX
CC PD 25-NOV-2004.
XX
CC PF 26-APR-2004; 2004WO-US012947.
XX
PR 24-APR-2003; 2003US-0465320P.
PR 24-DEC-2003; 2003US-0532503P.
XX
CC PA (UYVA-) UNIV VANDERBILT.
XX
CC PI Enan E;
XX
DR WPI; 2005-012796/01.
DR P-PSDB; ADU97864.
DR PC:NCBI; gi24644230.
DR PC_ENCPRO:NCBI; gi24644231.
XX
CC PT Composition useful for repelling and/or killing insects comprises at
CC PT least two oils that target the tyramine receptor, Or83b olfactory
CC PT receptor and/or Or43a olfactory receptor of the insects.
XX
CC PS Claim 85; Fig 33A-B; 107pp; English.
XX
CC The specification describes a composition that comprises at least two
CC plant essential oils that target at least one insect receptor, selected
CC from tyramine receptor, Or83b olfactory receptor or Or43a olfactory
CC receptor, to result in a change in the intracellular levels of cAMP
CC and/or Ca2 + in the insect. The plant oils may have a synergistic effect
CC when combined. The oils are selected from t-anthole, black seed oil,
CC camphene, carvacrol, d-carvone, l-carvone, 1,8-cineole, para-cymene,
CC diethyl phthalate, eugenol, geraniol, isopropyl citrate, lemon grass oil,
CC lilac flower oil, lime oil, d-limonene, linalyl anthranilate, linalool,
CC lindenol, methyl citrate, methyl dihydrojasmonate, myrcene, perillyl
CC alcohol, phenyl acetaldehyde, alpha-pinene, beta-pinene, piperonal,
CC piperonyl, piperonyl acetate, piperonyl alcohol, piperonyl amine,
CC quinine, sabinene, alpha-terpinene, terpinene 900, alpha-terpineol, gamma
CC -terpineol, 2-tert-butyl-para-quinone, alpha-thujone, thyme oil or
CC thymol. Compositions of the invention are used for controlling, repelling
CC and killing insects. The composition can used in the form of mixtures
CC with solid or liquid dispersible carrier vehicles and other compatible
CC active agents such as repellants, pesticides, acaricides, nematocides,
CC fungicides, bactericides, rodenticides, herbicides, fertilizers, and
CC growth-regulating agents. It can also be used in the form of dosage
CC preparations such as solutions, emulsions, suspensions, powders, pastes
CC and granules. The composition may also be used in the form of personal
CC care and cosmetics for use on skin or hair, such as fragrances,
CC colorants, pigments, dyes, colognes, skin creams, skin lotions,
CC deodorants, talc, bath, oils, soaps, shampoos, hair conditioners and
CC styling agents. The present sequence encodes the Drosophila Or83b
CC olfactory receptor. This receptor was cloned into Drosophila Schneider
CC cells, which were then used to screen compositions of the invention.
CC
CC Revised record issued on 11-JUN-2007 : Enhanced with precomputed
CC information from BOND.
XX
SQ Sequence 1461 BP; 317 A; 430 C; 390 G; 324 T; 0 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1461; Length 1461;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1461; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGACAACCTCGATGCAGCCGAGCAAGTACACGGGCCTGGTCGCCGACCTGATGCCCAAC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGACAACCTCGATGCAGCCGAGCAAGTACACGGGCCTGGTCGCCGACCTGATGCCCAAC 60
Qy 61 ATCCGGGCGATGAAGTACTCCGGCCTGTTCATGCACAACTTCACGGGCGGCAGTGCCTTC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATCCGGGCGATGAAGTACTCCGGCCTGTTCATGCACAACTTCACGGGCGGCAGTGCCTTC 120
Qy 121 ATGAAGAAGGTGTACTCCTCCGTGCACCTGGTGTTCCTCCTCATGCAGTTCACCTTCATC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 ATGAAGAAGGTGTACTCCTCCGTGCACCTGGTGTTCCTCCTCATGCAGTTCACCTTCATC 180
Qy 181 CTGGTCAACATGGCCCTGAACGCCGAGGAGGTCAACGAGCTGTCGGGCAACACGATCACG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CTGGTCAACATGGCCCTGAACGCCGAGGAGGTCAACGAGCTGTCGGGCAACACGATCACG 240
Qy 241 ACCCTCTTCTTCACCCACTGCATCACGAAGTTTATCTACCTGGCTGTTAACCAGAAGAAT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 ACCCTCTTCTTCACCCACTGCATCACGAAGTTTATCTACCTGGCTGTTAACCAGAAGAAT 300
Qy 301 TTCTACAGAACATTGAATATATGGAACCAGGTGAACACGCATCCCTTGTTCGCCGAGTCG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 TTCTACAGAACATTGAATATATGGAACCAGGTGAACACGCATCCCTTGTTCGCCGAGTCG 360
Qy 361 GATGCTCGTTACCATTCGATCGCACTGGCGAAGATGAGGAAGCTGTTCTTTCTGGTGATG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 GATGCTCGTTACCATTCGATCGCACTGGCGAAGATGAGGAAGCTGTTCTTTCTGGTGATG 420
Qy 421 CTGACCACAGTCGCCTCGGCCACCGCCTGGACCACGATCACCTTCTTTGGCGACAGCGTA 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 CTGACCACAGTCGCCTCGGCCACCGCCTGGACCACGATCACCTTCTTTGGCGACAGCGTA 480
Qy 481 AAAATGGTGGTGGACCATGAGACGAACTCCAGCATCCCGGTGGAGATACCCCGGCTGCCG 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 AAAATGGTGGTGGACCATGAGACGAACTCCAGCATCCCGGTGGAGATACCCCGGCTGCCG 540
Qy 541 ATTAAGTCCTTCTACCCGTGGAACGCCAGCCACGGCATGTTCTACATGATCAGCTTTGCC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 ATTAAGTCCTTCTACCCGTGGAACGCCAGCCACGGCATGTTCTACATGATCAGCTTTGCC 600
Qy 601 TTTCAGATCTACTACGTGCTCTTCTCGATGATCCACTCCAATCTATGCGACGTGATGTTC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 TTTCAGATCTACTACGTGCTCTTCTCGATGATCCACTCCAATCTATGCGACGTGATGTTC 660
Qy 661 TGCTCTTGGCTGATATTCGCCTGCGAGCAGCTGCAGCACTTGAAGGGCATCATGAAGCCG 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TGCTCTTGGCTGATATTCGCCTGCGAGCAGCTGCAGCACTTGAAGGGCATCATGAAGCCG 720
Qy 721 CTGATGGAGCTGTCCGCCTCGCTGGACACCTACAGGCCCAACTCGGCGGCCCTCTTCAGG 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 CTGATGGAGCTGTCCGCCTCGCTGGACACCTACAGGCCCAACTCGGCGGCCCTCTTCAGG 780
Qy 781 TCCCTGTCGGCCAACTCCAAGTCGGAGCTAATTCATAATGAAGAAAAGGATCCCGGCACC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 TCCCTGTCGGCCAACTCCAAGTCGGAGCTAATTCATAATGAAGAAAAGGATCCCGGCACC 840
Qy 841 GACATGGACATGTCGGGCATCTACAGCTCGAAAGCGGATTGGGGCGCTCAGTTTCGAGCA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 GACATGGACATGTCGGGCATCTACAGCTCGAAAGCGGATTGGGGCGCTCAGTTTCGAGCA 900
Qy 901 CCCTCGACACTGCAGTCCTTTGGCGGGAACGGGGGCGGAGGCAACGGGTTGGTGAACGGC 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 CCCTCGACACTGCAGTCCTTTGGCGGGAACGGGGGCGGAGGCAACGGGTTGGTGAACGGC 960
Qy 961 GCTAATCCCAACGGGCTGACCAAAAAGCAGGAGATGATGGTGCGCAGTGCCATCAAGTAC 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 GCTAATCCCAACGGGCTGACCAAAAAGCAGGAGATGATGGTGCGCAGTGCCATCAAGTAC 1020
Qy 1021 TGGGTCGAGCGGCACAAGCACGTGGTGCGACTGGTGGCTGCCATCGGCGATACTTACGGA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 TGGGTCGAGCGGCACAAGCACGTGGTGCGACTGGTGGCTGCCATCGGCGATACTTACGGA 1080
Qy 1081 GCCGCCCTCCTCCTCCACATGCTGACCTCGACCATCAAGCTGACCCTGCTGGCATACCAG 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 GCCGCCCTCCTCCTCCACATGCTGACCTCGACCATCAAGCTGACCCTGCTGGCATACCAG 1140
Qy 1141 GCCACCAAAATCAACGGAGTGAATGTCTACGCCTTCACAGTCGTCGGATACCTAGGATAC 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 GCCACCAAAATCAACGGAGTGAATGTCTACGCCTTCACAGTCGTCGGATACCTAGGATAC 1200
Qy 1201 GCGCTGGCCCAGGTGTTCCACTTTTGCATCTTTGGCAATCGTCTGATTGAAGAGAGTTCA 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 GCGCTGGCCCAGGTGTTCCACTTTTGCATCTTTGGCAATCGTCTGATTGAAGAGAGTTCA 1260
Qy 1261 TCCGTCATGGAGGCCGCCTACTCGTGCCACTGGTACGATGGCTCCGAGGAGGCCAAGACC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 TCCGTCATGGAGGCCGCCTACTCGTGCCACTGGTACGATGGCTCCGAGGAGGCCAAGACC 1320
Qy 1321 TTCGTCCAGATCGTGTGCCAGCAGTGCCAGAAGGCGATGAGCATATCGGGAGCGAAATTC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 TTCGTCCAGATCGTGTGCCAGCAGTGCCAGAAGGCGATGAGCATATCGGGAGCGAAATTC 1380
Qy 1381 TTCACCGTCTCCCTGGATTTGTTTGCTTCGGTTCTGGGTGCCGTCGTCACCTACTTTATG 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 TTCACCGTCTCCCTGGATTTGTTTGCTTCGGTTCTGGGTGCCGTCGTCACCTACTTTATG 1440
Qy 1441 GTGCTGGTGCAGCTCAAGTAA 1461
|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 GTGCTGGTGCAGCTCAAGTAA 1461
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Chang-Yu Wang
January 9, 2026
/CHANG-YU WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675