DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 01/12/2023, 01/12/2023, 01/12/2023, and 01/12/2023 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 08/03/2022. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
In a requirement for election of species, dated 10/29/2025, Applicant was required to choose from:
A compound comprising ligand LA of Formula I wherein,
Species I, wherein M is iridium (claims 1-13 and 17-20),
Species II, wherein M is platinum or palladium (claims 1-11 and 14-20), or
Species III, wherein M is Os, Cu, Ag, or Au, (claims 1-11 and 17-20).
Applicant’s election without traverse of iridium (Species I) in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Species I, drawn to claims 1-13 and 17-20, is examined herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given on page 72 are illegible due to poor resolution. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are clear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing the size of the structure and/or font, or by making the bond lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 7, there is an unnecessary amount of space between the words “group” and “consisting” in the first line of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claims 1, 17, and 20, the claims all require that “two RA or two RB are joined together to form a structure of Formula II fused to A or B”, while simultaneously requiring that “LA does not comprise a structure of Formula II”.
The claims also comprise two structures labelled Formula II, which are pictured below.
This introduces uncertainty into the claim because it is unclear which structure the limitation “Formula II” refers to.
In continuing examination, the claims are being interpreted as requiring a structure of the first Formula II fused to one of rings A and B of Formula I, wherein the complete structure of LA, comprising Formula I and the first Formula II, should not be a derivative of the second Formula II.
Claims 2-13 and 18-19 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 18, the claim contains at least one host compound which does not comprise a chemical moiety of parent claim 17. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are in proper dependent form.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizeki et al. (JP 2016/219490 A, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claim 1, Nishizeki discloses compound D-2 ( paragraph 0125), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Nishizeki general equation [3] (paragraphs 0103-0104), which is pictured below.
In this formula, Nishizeki also teaches that X1 is a nitrogen atom, and forms a pyrazole moiety (paragraph 0105, see also compounds A-5, A-12, A-16, A-19, etcetera).
Such a modification produces a compound with a ligand that meets the requirements of instant Formula I when A is a monocyclic 5-membered (pyrazole) ring, B is a monocyclic 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), Z1 and Z2 are nitrogen atoms and Z3 and Z4 are carbon atoms, K1 and K2 are each a direct bond, RA represents disubstitution of the combination of an aryl and alkyl group, and an alkyl and halogen group, RB is a halogen, and two additional RB are joined to form a structure of Formula II which is fused to ring B. In Formula II, Y is a sulfur atom, and RC represents no substitution. The ligand is complexed to an iridium atom.
Nishizeki includes each limitation claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Nishizeki being a lack of the aforementioned combination of a pyrazole ring and a thiazole-condensed benzimidazole being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a nitrogen atom from the finite list of possible atoms (C or N) and arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a phenylazole organometallic compound condensed with a heteroring (paragraph 0015), which can be used to produce an organic electroluminescent device with high luminescence efficiency, excellent durability, and excellent effect on preventing the occurrence of dark spots and uneven luminescence when having sufficiently shortwave light emission as a blue phosphorescent element (paragraph 0014), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 2, Nishizeki teaches the compound of claim 1, and R, R’, and RC are not present, RA is the combination of an aryl and alkyl group, and alkyl and fluorine, and RB is a fluorine atom, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 3, Nishizeki teaches the compound of claim 1, and ring B is a 6-membered ring, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 4, Nishizeki teaches the compound of claim 1 and Z1 is nitrogen and Z4 is carbon, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 5, Nishizeki teaches the compound of claim 1, and K1 and K2 are both a direct bond, as discussed above.
With respect to claims 9 through 12, Nishizeki teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the formula of Ir(LA)3 wherein p is 3, q is 0, and r is 0 so that ligands LB and LC are not present, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 17, Nishizeki discloses and organic EL device (paragraph 0040) comprising an anode, a cathode, an organic layer between the electrodes (paragraph 0041) and the organic layer comprises a compound of Formula 3 (paragraph 0046), such as compound D-2 (paragraph 0125), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Nishizeki general equation [3] (paragraphs 0103-0104), which is pictured below.
In this formula, Nishizeki also teaches that X1 is a nitrogen atom, and forms a pyrazole moiety (paragraph 0105, see also compounds A-5, A-12, A-16, A-19, etcetera).
Such a modification produces a compound with a ligand that meets the requirements of instant Formula I when A is a monocyclic 5-membered (pyrazole) ring, B is a monocyclic 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), Z1 and Z2 are nitrogen atoms and Z3 and Z4 are carbon atoms, K1 and K2 are each a direct bond, RA represents disubstitution of the combination of an aryl and alkyl group, and an alkyl and halogen group, RB is a halogen, and two additional RB are joined to form a structure of Formula II which is fused to ring B. In Formula II, Y is a sulfur atom, and RC represents no substitution. The ligand is complexed to an iridium atom.
Nishizeki includes each limitation claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Nishizeki being a lack of the aforementioned combination of a pyrazole ring and a thiazole-condensed benzimidazole being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a nitrogen atom from the finite list of possible atoms (C or N) and arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a phenylazole organometallic compound condensed with a heteroring (paragraph 0015), which can be used to produce an organic electroluminescent device with high luminescence efficiency, excellent durability, and excellent effect on preventing the occurrence of dark spots and uneven luminescence when having sufficiently shortwave light emission as a blue phosphorescent element (paragraph 0014), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use such a compound in an organic electroluminescent device to produce an organic electroluminescent device with high luminescence efficiency, excellent durability, and excellent effect on preventing the occurrence of dark spots and uneven luminescence when having sufficiently shortwave light emission as a blue phosphorescent element (paragraph 0014), as taught by Nishizeki.
With respect to claim 18, Nishizeki teaches the OLED of claim 17, and Nishizeki also teaches an example of a host compound for the organometallic complex is compound OC-11 (paragraphs 0260 and 0268), which is pictured below.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a host compound with a dibenzofuran or carbazole moiety, as demonstrated by Nishizeki.
With respect to claim 20, Nishizeki discloses a consumer product (a display device or an illumination device, paragraph 0001) which comprises an anode, a cathode, an organic layer between the electrodes (paragraph 0041) and the organic layer comprises a compound of Formula 3 (paragraph 0046), such as compound D-2 (paragraph 0125), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Nishizeki general equation [3] (paragraphs 0103-0104), which is pictured below.
In this formula, Nishizeki also teaches that X1 is a nitrogen atom, and forms a pyrazole moiety (paragraph 0105, see also compounds A-5, A-12, A-16, A-19, etcetera).
Such a modification produces a compound with a ligand that meets the requirements of instant Formula I when A is a monocyclic 5-membered (pyrazole) ring, B is a monocyclic 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), Z1 and Z2 are nitrogen atoms and Z3 and Z4 are carbon atoms, K1 and K2 are each a direct bond, RA represents disubstitution of the combination of an aryl and alkyl group, and an alkyl and halogen group, RB is a halogen, and two additional RB are joined to form a structure of Formula II which is fused to ring B. In Formula II, Y is a sulfur atom, and RC represents no substitution. The ligand is complexed to an iridium atom.
Nishizeki includes each limitation claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Nishizeki being a lack of the aforementioned combination of a pyrazole ring and a thiazole-condensed benzimidazole being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a nitrogen atom from the finite list of possible atoms (C or N) and arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a phenylazole organometallic compound condensed with a heteroring (paragraph 0015), which can be used to produce an organic electroluminescent device with high luminescence efficiency, excellent durability, and excellent effect on preventing the occurrence of dark spots and uneven luminescence when having sufficiently shortwave light emission as a blue phosphorescent element (paragraph 0014), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use such a compound in an organic electroluminescent device to produce an organic electroluminescent device with high luminescence efficiency, excellent durability, and excellent effect on preventing the occurrence of dark spots and uneven luminescence when having sufficiently shortwave light emission as a blue phosphorescent element (paragraph 0014), as taught by Nishizeki.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizeki et al. (JP 2016/219490 A, using the provided translation for references) as applied above, and further in view of Metz et al. (US 2016/0072081 A1).
With respect to claim 19, Nishizeki teaches the OLED of claim 18, as discussed above.
However, Nishizeki does not teach nor fairly suggest any if the instant host materials.
In analogous art, Metz teaches a matrix material for use with an organometallic complex in an electroluminescent device. A preferred embodiment of this matrix material is given on page 17 which is pictured below.
In this formula, T is a sulfur atom (paragraph 0084).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the matrix material of Metz as a host compound for the organometallic compound of Nishizeki as Metz teaches that these compounds are suitable matrix materials for use as a host for an emitter compound (paragraph 0090).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liang et al. (CN 111039987 A) – teaches relevant compounds.
Zhang et al. (CN 113105510 A) – teaches relevant compounds.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786