DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "a temperature change" in line 3. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the previously recited temperature change or a separate temperature change. If the former is intended, the limitation should read --the temperature change--.
Claim 6 is rejected by virtue of its dependence upon claim 5.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the actuator comprises: a threaded shaft coupling the device base to the device housing” in lines 1-2. However, claim 1 already recites a threaded shaft coupling the device base to the device housing. It is not clear if claim 8 is intended to recite a separate threaded shaft, or to clarify that the threaded shaft recited in claim 1 is part of the actuator (and not just the compression device), or something else.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “substantially planar” in lines 1-2. This term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification notes that terms of degree such as “substantially” mean a reasonable amount of deviation, for example, a deviation of up to ±0.1%, ±1%, ±5%, or ±10%. There is no guidance as to which of these limits is meant in this case, or whether these limits are even applicable (as they are only recited as examples). Thus, there are no readily determinable metes and bounds on how planar the contact surface must be to meet the claim language.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a subject" in line 3. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the previously recited subject or a separate subject. If the former is intended, the limitation should read --the subject--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benet Pozo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0193220 A1; hereinafter known as “Benet Pozo”).
Regarding claim 1, Benet Pozo discloses an apparatus capable of being used for bladder control (Abstract; Figs. 1, 12, 13), comprising: a garment or accessory 78 configured to be worn at least partially around a lower truncal region of a subject ([0049]); and a compression device coupled to the garment or accessory and configured to pressurize an abdominal wall of the subject when the garment or accessory is worn by the subject, the compression device comprising: a device housing 56 comprising a contact surface, a device base 30/70, a threaded shaft 80 coupling the device base to the device housing, an actuator 51 configured to translate the device housing in relation to the device base in a medial or lateral direction relative to the subject such that the contact surface of the device housing applies compressive forces to the abdominal wall of the subject when translated ([0061]-[0063]), and a portable power supply configured to power the actuator ([0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Benet Pozo discloses that the actuator comprises a threaded shaft 80 coupling the device base to the device housing; and a rotary gear 52 configured to rotate the threaded shaft to translate the device housing in relation to the device base ([0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Benet Pozo discloses that the compression device is configured to be in wireless communication with a remote device, and wherein the compression device is configured to apply compressive forces to the abdominal wall of the subject automatically in response to a user input applied to the remote device ([0020]; [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Benet Pozo discloses that the contact surface is substantially planar (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Benet Pozo discloses a method capable of controlling a bladder of a subject (Abstract; Figs. 1, 12, 13), the method comprising: securing a compression device to the subject with a garment or accessory 78 configured to be worn at least partially around a lower truncal region of a subject ([0049]), the compression device coupled to the garment or accessory and configured to pressurize an abdominal wall of the subject when the garment or accessory is worn by the subject, the compression device comprising a device housing 56 comprising a contact surface, a device base 30/70, a threaded shaft 80 coupling the device base to the device housing, an actuator 51 configured to translate the device housing in relation to the device base in a medial or lateral direction relative to the subject such that the contact surface of the device housing applies compressive forces to the abdominal wall of the subject when translated, and a portable power supply configured to power the actuator ([0052]); and translating the device housing in relation to the device base such that the contact surface of the device housing applies compressive forces to the abdominal wall of the subject when translated ([0061]-[0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benet Pozo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hathorn (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0120732 A1). Benet Pozo discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose a heating element configured to apply heat to the abdominal wall of the subject. Hathorn discloses a similar apparatus (Abstract) comprising a heating element configured to apply heat to the abdominal wall of a subject in order to further treat IBS ([0060]; [0071]; claim 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Benet Pozo with a heating element, as taught by Hathorn, in order to further treat IBS.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7, 11-13, and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance and the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 2-7, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a shape memory actuator configured to translate the device housing in relation to the device base in response to a temperature change, in combination with the other recited components. Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests applying compressive forces to the abdominal wall automatically in response to a user input that is a manipulation of a sensation meter graphic shown on a display of the remote device, in combination with the other recited components. Regarding claims 12 and 13, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests an ultrasound unit comprising an ultrasound probe that detects a volume within the subject’s bladder, in combination with the other recited components. Regarding claims 15-18, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a fluid-filled covering that covers part of the device housing and is configured to conform to an anatomy of the subject, in combination with the other recited components. Regarding claim 20, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a remote device in wireless communication with the compression device that provides feedback to the compression device in response to characteristics of the subject’s bladder, in combination with the other recited components.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791