DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15 – 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Invention II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election of Invention I was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 July 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 201, 301, and 401 labeled in FIGS. 8, 9, and 10, respectively.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 11, that “the trap layer completely covers an upper surface of the PMD layer in the second region”, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because of the following additional informalities:
In FIGS. 4, 5, and 6, there appears to be a thin layer above the substrate that is not labeled in any manner, and thus its presence is unclear (note at page 14, lines 5 – 9 of the specification, it is stated that the oxide film must generally be removed from the second region A2);
In FIGS. 3 and 20, the sidewall spacer mentioned at page 10, lines 2 – 6 should be identified with a reference character (cf. specification, page 10, line 2); and
In FIGS. 11 – 12, the meaning of “S/W” in the label “S/W Stack” is unclear from the specification.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be in narrative form and should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At page 2, lines 12 – 13 as well as at page 10, lines 22 – 23, comparison is made to a “conventional SOI substrate 9”, with the implication that is does not include a trap layer, whereas in FIG. 1, substrate 9 does include a trap layer 970;
At page 2, lines 15 – 16 as well as at page 10, lines 25 – 26, “ohm•com” should be “ohm•cm”;
At page 5, line 14, an extra comma appears after “device”;
At page 11, line 18, an extra “is” appears after “trap layer 150”;
At page 11, line 22, some extra spacing appears before “(see FIG. 6)”; and
At page 13, line 3, an extra “between” appears after “reduce”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informality: It would appear to be necessary to change the dependence of claim 5 to claim 4, instead of claim 3, due to the recitation of “the at least one metal wire in the second region”, for antecedent basis purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 – 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 6, 10, and 14 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 7 – 9 and 11 are rejected on the same basis as dependent from claim 6.
Furthermore, in claim 7, the recitation of “wherein a plurality of the metal wires are in the second region” is unclear because claim 6, from which claim 7 depends, “a plurality of metal wires spaced apart from each other”. Does claim 7 refer to some of the plurality of metal recited in claim 6, or a different plurality of metal wires? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Still further, in claims 8 – 10, the recitation of “wherein the trap layer between adjacent ones of the metal wires in the second region” is unclear because the only positional relationships previously recited in claims 6 and 7, from which claims 8 – 10 depend, are that a plurality of metal wires are in the second region and the trap layer vertically overlaps one of the metal wires in the second region. As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the trap layer between adjacent one of the metal wires in the second region.
Still further, in claim 11, the recitation “wherein the trap layer completely covers an upper surface of the PMD layer in the second region” is unclear because the specification and the drawings show that a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer 160 is on the substrate 101 and on the trap layer 150 (see FIG. 4 and page 11, lines 11 – 12; see also the recitation in claim 6). It is thus unclear how the trap layer could completely cover an upper surface of the PMD layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seefeldt, James D., US. 6,355,537 B1 (hereinafter “Seefeldt”) in view of Kumauchi, Takahiro, et al., US 5,773,340 A (hereinafter “Kumauchi”). FIG. 2 of Seefeldt is reproduced herein for reference.
Regarding claim 1, Seefeldt discloses an RF switch device (see FIGS. 1 – 3 and col. 1, ll. 17 – 21, device 20), comprising:
a high resistivity substrate (see FIG. 2 and col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, substrate 22, particularly including layers 40, 42, 44, and 46 as further described at col. 6, ll. 8 – 37); see also FIG. 6);
a plurality of gates on the substrate in a first region (see FIGS. 2 and 9 – 10, and col. 7, l. 5 – col. 8, l. 16, wherein the first region is the first device mesa 28 in FIG. 2, with greater detail regarding the preferred BiCMOS process technology being shown in FIGS. 9 – 10, particular step 414 of FIG. 10);
a source and a drain in the first region (see id., particularly step 416 of FIG. 10);
a well in the substrate (see id., particularly steps 410 and 412 of FIG. 10);
a device isolation layer in the substrate at a boundary between the first region and a second region (see FIGS. 1 – 3 and col. 4, l. 8 – col. 5, l. 34, isolation trench 26 forming a boundary between the first region (28) and a second (guard ring) region 36); and
a trap layer on the substrate in the second region (see FIGS. 2 – 3 and 8, col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, and col. 6, ll. 55 – 65, collector layer 48 which is disposed on layer 46 of substrate 22).
While FIG. 2 of Seefeldt does not explicitly disclose details of the claimed gate, S/D regions, and well in the context of the inventive embodiment, it is shown in FIGS. 9 – 10 and described at col. 7, ll. 5 – 30 that it is desirable to use a BiCMOS process such as illustrated in FIGS. 9 – 10 or in various prior art patents such as Kumauchi at FIGS. 1 – 4 (col. 5, l. 66 – col. 8, l. 25) in order to manufacture the inventive embodiment.
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. (See In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986 (Fed. Cir. 2006); MPEP 2143.01.) Seefeldt itself, as noted above, provides a clear teaching and suggestion to use the process described in, e.g., Kumauchi, to fabricate the inventive embodiment. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have used the BiCMOS process taught in Kumauchi or FIGS. 9 – 10 of Seefeldt to fabricate the inventive embodiment of Seefeldt.
Regarding claim 2, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 1 as above, and Seefeldt further discloses wherein the trap layer comprises poly-silicon or amorphous silicon (see Seefeldt, FIGS. 9 – 10, and col. 7, l. 37 – col. 8, l. 13, describing poly-silicon deposition / doping in the second region, which would form part of the trap layer when the process of FIGS. 9 – 10 are used to fabricate the inventive device).
Regarding claim 3, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 2 as above, and both Seefeldt and Kumauchi further disclose a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer on the trap layer and the substrate (see Seefeldt, FIGS. 9 – 10, col. 8, ll. 13 – 16, step 426; Kumauchi, FIGS. 11 and 16, and col. 10, ll. 22 – 51, insulating film 25, and col. 12, ll. 30 – 32) and Seefeldt further discloses a plurality of metal wires spaced apart from each other on the PMD layer (see Seefeldt, FIGS. 2 and 9 – 10, col. 8, ll. 13 – 16, and col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, conductors 52 and step 426).
Regarding claim 4, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 3 as above, and Seefeldt further discloses wherein at least one of the metal wires is in the second region, and the trap layer at least partially overlaps the at least one metal wire in the second region vertically (see Seefeldt, FIGS. 2 and 9, illustrating the relative positioning of the conductors 52 (i.e., metallization in the context of the suggested BiCMOS process of FIG. 9)).
Regarding claim 5, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 3 as above, and Seefeldt, FIG. 9, illustrates the relative proportions of the metallization outside of the first (CMOS) region as would be applied to the inventive device of FIG. 2, such that the trap layer is below the at least one metal wire in the second region and has a width greater than that of the at least one metal wire in the second region.
Regarding claim 6, Seefeldt discloses an RF switch device (see FIGS. 1 – 3 and col. 1, ll. 17 – 21, device 20), comprising:
a high resistivity substrate (see FIG. 2 and col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, substrate 22, particularly including layers 40, 42, 44, and 46 as further described at col. 6, ll. 8 – 37); see also FIG. 6);
a gate on the substrate in a first region (see FIGS. 2 and 9 – 10, and col. 7, l. 5 – col. 8, l. 16, wherein the first region is the first device mesa 28 in FIG. 2, with greater detail regarding the preferred BiCMOS process technology being shown in FIGS. 9 – 10, particular step 414 of FIG. 10);
a source and a drain in a well in the first region (see id., particularly step 416 of FIG. 10 regarding the S/D, and steps 410 and 412 of FIG. 10 regarding the well);
a device isolation layer in the substrate at a boundary between the first region and a second region (see FIGS. 1 – 3 and col. 4, l. 8 – col. 5, l. 34, isolation trench 26 forming a boundary between the first region (28) and a second (guard ring) region 36);
a trap layer comprising poly-silicon or amorphous silicon on the substrate in the second region (see FIGS. 2 – 3 and 8, col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, and col. 6, ll. 55 – 65, collector layer 48 which is disposed on layer 46 of substrate 22 as the trap layer; see also FIGS. 9 – 10, and col. 7, l. 37 – col. 8, l. 13, describing poly-silicon deposition / doping in the second region, which would form part of the trap layer when the process of FIGS. 9 – 10 are used to fabricate the inventive device);
a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer on the trap layer and the substrate (see FIGS. 9 – 10, col. 8, ll. 13 – 16, step 426); and
a plurality of metal wires spaced apart from each other on the PMD layer (see FIGS. 2 and 9 – 10, col. 8, ll. 13 – 16, and col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, conductors 52 and step 426),
wherein the trap layer vertically overlaps one of the metal wires in the second region (see FIGS. 2 and 9, illustrating the relative positioning of the conductors 52 (i.e., metallization in the context of the suggested BiCMOS process of FIG. 9)).
While FIG. 2 of Seefeldt does not explicitly disclose details of the claimed gate, S/D regions, and well in the context of the inventive embodiment, it is shown in FIGS. 9 – 10 and described at col. 7, ll. 5 – 30 that it is desirable to use a BiCMOS process such as illustrated in FIGS. 9 – 10 or in various prior art patents such as Kumauchi at FIGS. 1 – 4 (col. 5, l. 66 – col. 8, l. 25) in order to manufacture the inventive embodiment. Moreover, while Seefeldt does not explicitly disclose a resistivity of substantially greater than 1,000 ohm•cm, it does disclose “[t]he support substrate 40 is preferably formed of a high resistivity (or high Z) substrate having a high ohm per centimeter rating, such as for example, a 1 KΩ per centimeter substrate” at col. 4, ll. 33 – 36.
As noted above, obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. (See In re Kahn, supra; MPEP 2143.01.) Seefeldt itself, as noted above, provides a clear teaching and suggestion to use the process described in, e.g., Kumauchi, to fabricate the inventive embodiment. Moreover, given the uncertainly of “substantially greater” as set forth above, with respect to the resistivity of the substrate, it is noted that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. (See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05(I).) Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have used the BiCMOS process taught in Kumauchi or FIGS. 9 – 10 of Seefeldt to fabricate the inventive embodiment of Seefeldt.
Regarding claim 7, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 6 as above, and Seefeldt further discloses wherein a plurality of the metal wires are in the second region (see Seefeldt, FIG. 2, wherein two wires 52 are illustrated in the second region).
Regarding claims 8 – 10, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch of claim 7 as above, however, given the uncertainty of “the trap layer between adjacent ones of the metal wires in the second region” as noted above, as best can be understood from Seefeldt, FIG. 1 (reproduced below for reference), the trap layer (36, 38) between adjacent ones of the metal wires in the second region may be fairly said to have either a grid shape or a plurality of regularly-spaced openings (claim 8), a stripe shape or a line shape (claim 9, referring to any of the four sides of 36, 38), or a substantially square or island shape (claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Seefeldt discloses an RF switch device (see FIGS. 1 – 3 and col. 1, ll. 17 – 21, device 20), comprising:
a high resistivity substrate (see FIG. 2 and col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, substrate 22, particularly including layers 40, 42, 44, and 46 as further described at col. 6, ll. 8 – 37); see also FIG. 6);
a plurality of stacks, wherein each of the plurality of stacks has a gate on the substrate and a source and a drain in a well in a first region of the substrate (see FIGS. 2 and 9 – 10, and col. 7, l. 5 – col. 8, l. 16, wherein the first region is the first device mesa 28 in FIG. 2, with greater detail regarding the preferred BiCMOS process technology being shown in FIGS. 9 – 10, particular step 414 of FIG. 10; see also id., particularly step 416 of FIG. 10 regarding the S/D, and steps 410 and 412 of FIG. 10 regarding the well) (herein it is noted that the term “a plurality of stacks” is interpreted herein as a plurality of gate stacks, i.e., including at least gate oxide and a conductive gate, as there is no limitation in the claim as to the orientation or positioning of the “stacks” with respect to one another);
a device isolation layer in the substrate at a boundary between the first region and a second region (see FIGS. 1 – 3 and col. 4, l. 8 – col. 5, l. 34, isolation trench 26 forming a boundary between the first region (28) and a second (guard ring) region 36);
a trap layer comprising poly-silicon or amorphous silicon on the substrate in the second region (see FIGS. 2 – 3 and 8, col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, and col. 6, ll. 55 – 65, collector layer 48 which is disposed on layer 46 of substrate 22 as the trap layer; see also FIGS. 9 – 10, and col. 7, l. 37 – col. 8, l. 13, describing poly-silicon deposition / doping in the second region, which would form part of the trap layer when the process of FIGS. 9 – 10 are used to fabricate the inventive device);
a pre-metal dielectric (PMD) layer on the trap layer and the substrate (see FIGS. 9 – 10, col. 8, ll. 13 – 16, step 426); and
a plurality of metal wires spaced apart from each other on the PMD layer (see FIGS. 2 and 9 – 10, col. 8, ll. 13 – 16, and col. 4, ll. 26 – 54, conductors 52 and step 426),
wherein the trap layer vertically overlaps one of the metal wires in the second region (see FIGS. 2 and 9, illustrating the relative positioning of the conductors 52 (i.e., metallization in the context of the suggested BiCMOS process of FIG. 9)).
While FIG. 2 of Seefeldt does not explicitly disclose details of the claimed gate, S/D regions, and well in the context of the inventive embodiment, it is shown in FIGS. 9 – 10 and described at col. 7, ll. 5 – 30 that it is desirable to use a BiCMOS process such as illustrated in FIGS. 9 – 10 or in various prior art patents such as Kumauchi at FIGS. 1 – 4 (col. 5, l. 66 – col. 8, l. 25) in order to manufacture the inventive embodiment.
As noted above, obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. (See In re Kahn, supra; MPEP 2143.01.) Seefeldt itself, as noted above, provides a clear teaching and suggestion to use the process described in, e.g., Kumauchi or FIGS. 9 – 10 of Seefeldt, to fabricate the inventive embodiment. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have used the BiCMOS process taught in Kumauchi to fabricate the inventive embodiment of Seefeldt.
Regarding claim 13, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 12 as above, and Seefeldt further discloses wherein the trap layer is in a space between two of the stacks (see Seefeldt, FIG. 1, relative positioning of features 24, 26, 28, and 36; and 30, 32, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 14, Seefeldt in view of Kumauchi is relied on for the RF switch device of claim 12 as above, and Seefeldt, FIG. 9, illustrates the relative proportions of the metallization outside of the first (CMOS) region as would be applied to the inventive device of FIG. 2, such that the trap layer has a width greater than that of the one metal wire in the second region.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Kjar, Raymond A., US 2008/0217727 A1, disclosing an electrically charged field control ring situated over a buried oxide layer and surrounding an SOI transistor. The electrically charged field control ring reduces a conductivity of a surface portion of the bulk substrate underlying the field control ring, thereby minimizing RF coupling of the at least one SOI transistor through the bulk substrate.
/R.T.F./
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897