DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending and examined herein. No claims are canceled.
Priority
As detailed on the 26 February 2025 filing receipt, the application claims priority as early as 05 August 2021 to provisional application 63/229,797. At this point in examination, all claims have been interpreted as being accorded this priority date as the effective filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed on 04 August 2022 and 28 December 2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informality: a comma is missing between the first and second list items (“…respective genomic position, (ii) an indication…” and optionally between the second and third list items (“… respective genomic position, and (iii) the orthogonal call…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 19 recites a computer system comprising a processor and memory performing methylation sequencing. While sequencing is disclosed (pg. 61, paragraph [210]), a sequencer as part of the system or operated coupled to the system is not disclosed. Therefore, claim 19 is not considered to have adequate written description to support the recited element of methylation sequencing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites inputting a reference genome into a computer system comprising a processor coupled to a non-transitory computer-readable medium. However, parent claim 11 already instantiated a computer system comprising at least a processor and memory, and it is unclear if the computer system into which the reference genome is input at claim 12 is the same computer system as that of claim 11.
In claim 21, the claim recites steps (i-iii) for obtaining an orthogonal call (e.g., germline or somatic) for a variant allele, obtaining an identification of the variant allele, and obtaining a methylation state. Later in claim element (C), the designators (i-iii) are used for different elements than those previously instantiated. A different set of designators (e.g., uppercase Roman numerals) may overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas (such as a mathematical formula or equation), natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 § I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements individually and in combination, are directed to a judicial exception at Step 2A, Prong 2, and the additional elements of the claims, considered individually and in combination, do not provide significantly more at Step 2B than the abstract idea of identifying a variant allele as somatic or germline.
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of
nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The claims are directed to methods (claims 1-10 and 21), a computer system (claims 11-19), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (claim 20), each of which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
The recited claim element of using the reference genetic information to assign each fragment to a reference subset (claims 1, 11, and 20-21) is a mental step as the step of matching or aligning the sequences, where such a step is matching patterns of nucleotides and thus a step practically performed by the human mind.
The recited claim element of using the variant genetic information to assign each fragment to a variant subset (claims 1, 11, and 20-21) is a mental step as the step of matching or aligning the sequences, where such a step is matching patterns of nucleotides and thus a step practically performed by the human mind.
The recited claim element of applying a trained binary classifier to identify a variant as a somatic or germline variant (claims 1, 11, and 20-21) is interpreted as a mental step of identifying a variant based on a classification where such a step is data evaluation or judgment, which the human mind is practically equipped to perform, and is facilitated by a trained binary classifier, where a binary classifier is disclosed as generated by a mathematical step exemplified as a logistic regression model trained through backpropagation and error minimization (pg. 95-96, paragraph [342]), all of which are interpreted as verbal descriptions of mathematical processes. A mathematical relationship may be expressed in words and there is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
The recited claim element of using the methylation state, sequences with a variant, and orthogonal calls to train a classifier (claim 21) is interpreted as a mathematical step because training is disclosed as updating parameters through backpropagation ((pg. 95, paragraph [342]), which is a method of computing predictions and calculating loss.
Claims 3 and 13 recite additional information about the nucleic acid fragment sequences, where the additional information is abstract, and determining the p-value, which is a mathematical calculation.
Claim 4 recites additional information about the type of variation the allele is, where the additional information is abstract.
Claims 5 and 14 recite determining a cancer risk of the test subject and predicting an ethnicity of the test subject, which are data evaluation steps and thus a mental process based on evaluation of the data, and determining a tumor fraction of the test subject, where a tumor fraction is a mathematical concept defined as the fraction of nucleic acid molecules in a sample that originates from a cancerous tissue of the subject, rather than from a noncancerous tissue (pg. 30, paragraph [102]). These values may also be understood as a mental process.
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 recite mathematical concepts in the form of calculation of measure of central tendency, minima, maxima, and spread of p-values.
Claims 8 and 17 recite the applying, to the trained binary classifier, further applies one of one or more additional parameters, where parameterization of the classifier is interpreted as additional information about the mathematical concept.
Claims 9 and 18 recite data interpretation supporting a variant call and thus a mental process based on data evaluation, which the human mind is practically equipped to perform.
Hence, the claims explicitly recite numerous elements that, individually and in combination,
constitute abstract ideas. The claims must therefore be examined further to determine whether they
integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). [Step 2A: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Additional elements that are not abstract ideas recited in the instant claims are: obtaining an identification of a reference allele at the genomic position (claims 1, 11, and 20-21); obtaining an identification of the variant allele at the genomic position claims 1, 11, and 20-21; obtaining a methylation state and a respective sequence of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in a respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences in a sequencing dataset derived from a liquid biological sample obtained from the test subject that map onto the genomic position, wherein the sequencing dataset comprises at least 1 x 106 nucleic acid fragment sequences (claims 1, 11, and 20-21); inputting a reference genome (claim 2); obtaining an orthogonal call for the variant allele as somatic or germline for the respective subject (claim 21); a computer system (claims 2 and 11-12); one or more processors (claims 2 and 11-12); memory storing program(s) (claim 11); a non-transitory computer-readable medium (claims 2, 12, and 20); inputting and mapping to a genomic reference (claims 2 and 12); and performing methylation sequencing (claims 10 and 19).
Claim elements reciting obtaining data, mapping sequences, and methylation sequencing are interpreted as data gathering steps required to perform the abstract steps concluding in classifying the variant allele as somatic or germline. Therefore, these steps are interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Claim elements reciting computer systems or components are interpreted as a generic computer performing the functions that constitute the abstract idea. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, and therefore the claim does not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)). [Step 2A Prong Two: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Step 2B of 101 analysis determines whether the claims contain additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, and an inventive concept cannot be furnished by an abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05).
Additional elements that are not abstract ideas recited in the instant claims are: obtaining an identification of a reference allele at the genomic position (claims 1, 11, and 20-21); obtaining an identification of the variant allele at the genomic position claims 1, 11, and 20-21; obtaining a methylation state and a respective sequence of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in a respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences in a sequencing dataset derived from a liquid biological sample obtained from the test subject that map onto the genomic position, wherein the sequencing dataset comprises at least 1 x 106 nucleic acid fragment sequences (claims 1, 11, and 20-21); inputting a reference genome (claim 2); obtaining an orthogonal call for the variant allele as somatic or germline for the respective subject (claim 21); a computer system (claims 2 and 11-12); one or more processors (claims 2 and 11-12); memory storing program(s) (claim 11); a non-transitory computer-readable medium (claims 2, 12, and 20); inputting and mapping to a genomic reference (claims 2 and 12); and performing methylation sequencing (claims 10 and 19).
The courts have found that receiving and outputting data are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Borchiellini (Cells 8: 15 pgs., 2019; newly cited) teaches DNA methylation changes in somatic cells linked to cancer (abstract) and bisulfite sequencing for gene locus specific DNA methylation detection (pg. 4, first paragraph).
Therefore, the recited additional elements, alone or in combination with the judicial exceptions, do not appear to provide an inventive concept. [Step 2B: No]
Conclusion: Claims are Directed to Non-statutory Subject Matter
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole,
are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept. Hence, the claimed invention does not
constitute significantly more than the abstract idea, so the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as
being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gross (US 20200340064 A1; previously cited on the 04 August 2022 IDS form).
Claim 1 recites obtaining an identification of a reference allele at the genomic position and obtaining an identification of the variant allele at the genomic position.
Gross teaches obtaining reference and variant alleles from genomic positions (paragraph [175]).
Claim 1 recites obtaining a methylation state and a respective sequence of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in a respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences in a sequencing dataset derived from a liquid biological sample obtained from the test subject that map onto the genomic position, wherein the sequencing dataset comprises at least 1 x 106 nucleic acid fragment sequences.
Gross teaches determining a methylation pattern in an allele position (paragraph [48]) and sequencing millions of fragments (paragraph [156]) and deriving the sample from a liquid biopsy (paragraph [231]).
Claim 1 recites using (i) the identification of the reference allele at the genomic position and (ii) the respective sequence of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences to assign each nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences that has the reference allele, at the genomic position, to a reference subset, and using (i) the identification of the variant allele at the genomic position and (ii) the respective sequence of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences to assign each nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences that has the variant allele, at the genomic position, to a variant subset.
Gross teaches determining counts of fragments with an alternative allele, interpreted as a variant allele, and those with a reference allele (pg. 20, paragraph [205]), where these counts are interpreted as generating subsets of those with a variant and reference allele.
Claim 1 recites applying, to a trained binary classifier, at least (i) one or more indications of
methylation state across the methylation state of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in the variant subset and (ii) an indication of a number of nucleic acid fragment sequences in the reference subset versus a number of nucleic acid fragment sequences in the variant subset, wherein the trained binary classifier comprises at least 10 parameters, thereby obtaining from the trained binary classifier an identification of the variant allele at the genomic position in the test subject as somatic or germline.
Gross teaches a ratio including alternative allele fragments and reference allele fragments (pg. 20, paragraph [205]) and using methylation state to determine a variant (pg. 28, paragraph [267]).
Gross teaches application of a classifier using a neural network (pg. 26, paragraph [250]) and a number of hyperparameter (pg. 22, paragraph [226]). While at least ten is not taught, the Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. The presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. Here, number of parameters is interpreted as a result-effective variable and thus a person having ordinary skill in the art would be experimented with optimizing a classifier. MPEP 2144.05 pertains.
Gross teaches a classifier for determining the presence of cancer in a subject (pg. 13, paragraph [133]). The instant claim recites determining an identification of a somatic or germline mutation at a genomic position, and a somatic mutation may be indicative of cancer. Gross teaches a training population to be applied to the classifier.
Claim 11 recites a computer system performing the steps of claim 1, the computing system comprising one or more processors and memory storing one or more programs to be executed by the one or more processor.
Gross teaches performing the above recited steps using processors and memory (pg. 4, paragraph [65]).
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs for performing the steps of claim 1.
Gross teaches performing the above recited steps using non-transitory computer-readable storage media (pg. 5, paragraph [68]).
Claims 2 and 12 recite inputting a reference genome into a computer system comprising a processor coupled to a non-transitory memory, and using the computer system to determine that each respective nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences maps to the genomic position by aligning the respective nucleic acid fragment sequence to the reference genome.
Gross teaches a reference genome that is used to map nucleic acid fragment sequences obtained
from sequencing a sample from the subject (pg. 9, paragraph [101]).
Claim 4 recites the variant allele is an insertion, a deletion, or a single nucleotide polymorphism.
Gross teaches the variant can arise through a single nucleotide variation, insertion, or deletion (pg. 13, paragraph [132]).
Claims 8 and 17 recite the applying, to the trained binary classifier, further applies one of one or more CpG site indications across the variant subset, one or more indications of methylation state across the reference subset, or one or more CpG site indications across the reference subset.
Gross teaches methylation state at nucleotide positions (pg. 7, paragraph [92]) and classifying reference and variant fragments (pg. 20, paragraph [205]), and therefore it is considered to be known if the fragments in either subset are methylated based on the analysis.
Claims 9 and 18 recite the obtaining an identification of the variant allele at the genomic position comprises determining that the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragments support a variant allele call at the genomic position.
Gross teaches determine a variant allele position with a given fraction and coverage (pg. 13, paragraph [136]), where coverage indicates a presence of an allele in multiple fragments.
Claims 10 and 19 recite performing methylation sequencing to obtain the methylation state and the respective sequence of each nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences.
Gross teaches methylation sequencing to obtain fragments (pg. 20, paragraph [198]).
Claim 21 recites a method of training a classifier to identify a variant allele at a genomic position in a test subject as somatic or germline, the method comprising the steps of claim 1 applied to more than one subject.
Gross teaches cohorts of multiple subjects (pg. 4, paragraph [54]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7, 13, and 15-16
Claims 3, 6-7, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, and 17-21 in the rejection under 35 USC 102 and further in view of Zhao (Genetic Epidemiology 39(2): 53-64, 2015; newly cited).
Claims 3 and 13 recite a first nucleic acid fragment sequence in the respective plurality of nucleic acid fragment sequences has a plurality of CpG sites, wherein the first nucleic acid fragment sequence has a corresponding methylation pattern across the plurality of CpG sites and wherein the methylation state of the first nucleic acid fragment sequence is a p-value.
The claims recite determining the p-value of the first nucleic acid fragment sequence, at least in
part, by comparison of the corresponding methylation pattern of the first nucleic acid fragment sequence to a corresponding distribution of methylation patterns of those nucleic acid fragment sequences in a healthy noncancer cohort dataset that each have the respective plurality of CpG sites.
Gross teaches methylation patterns in terms of CpG sites (pg. 17, paragraph [172]) and healthy controls as a comparison for methylation anomalies associated with cancer (pg. 9, paragraph [105]), but not a p-value comparing methylation patterns in a healthy, non-cancer cohort.
Zhao teaches using p-values in methylation analysis (abstract), and specifically between healthy and cancer tissues (pg. 13, second paragraph).
Claims 6 and 15 recite each indication in the one or more indications of methylation state across the variant subset is a measure of central tendency of a methylation state p-value across the variant subset,
a minimum methylation state p-value across the variant subset, a maximum methylation state p-value across the variant subset, or a measure of spread of a methylation state p-value across the variant subset.
Zhao teaches p-value related to density (Table 1), where a measure of spread is interpreted as reading on a spread.
Claims 7 and 16 recite the one or more indications of methylation state across the variant subset is a plurality of indications of methylation state across the variant subset comprising at least 2, at least 3, or all four of: (1) a measure of central tendency of a methylation state p-value across the variant subset, (2) a minimum methylation state p-value across the variant subset, (3) a maximum methylation state p-value across the variant subset, and (4) a measure of spread of a methylation state p-value across the variant subset.
Zhao teaches p-value related to density (Table 1), where a measure of spread is interpreted as reading on a spread, and average methylation levels (Figure 3), where average is measure of central tendency.
Combining Gross and Zhao
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Zhao with Gross because Zhao teaches applying p-values of significance to methylation (pg. 2, first paragraph), which is beneficial as such a metric is widespread indicator of significant relationships and applicable to Gross as Gross teaches comparison of properties of nucleic acids (pg. 7, paragraph [93]), and thus desirable for comparison. Both Gross and Zhao are directed to the shared field of endeavor of using methylation status to predict cancer, and their combination is considered to be prima facie obvious.
Claims 5 and 14
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, and 17-21 in the rejection under 35 USC 102 and further in view of Liu (bioRxiv 428633: 40 pgs., 2021; newly cited).
Claims 5 and 14 recite when the variant allele at the genomic position is determined by the trained binary classifier to be germline, the method further comprises using the variant allele in the test subject to perform an action selected from the group consisting of: determining a cancer risk of the test subject, predicting an ethnicity of the test subject, and determining a tumor fraction of the test subject.
Gross teaches calculating a tumor fraction (pg. 16, paragraph [162]) but not further steps based on determination of a germline classification.
Liu teaches an association between germline mutations and cancer burden (pg. 2, second paragraph).
Combining Gross and Liu
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Liu with Gross because Liu teaches the importance of germline genetic risk factors for cancer (pg. 4, second paragraph) while Gross focuses on somatic indicators of cancer, and thus together Liu and Gross cover both germline and somatic mutations as cancer indications. Both Gross and Liu are directed to the shared field of endeavor of using genetic predictors of cancer, and their combination is considered to be prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/Robert J. Kallal/Examiner, Art Unit 1685