DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
3. Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claim 2 recites Bluetooth® connection, and claim 3 recites Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) which are registered trademarks, and may not be patentable. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed on 01/07/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), in view of Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), the rejection of claims 3-6, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), and Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), in view of Hosseini et al., (Pub. No.: US 2021/0306909 A1), the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), and Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), in view of Gostev et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/084456 A1), the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), and Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), in view of Kezys et al., (Pub. No.: US 2013/0182650 A1), the rejection of claims 12, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), and the rejection of claims 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), in view of El-Hoiydi, (International Publication Number: WO 2014/086388 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the final rejection dated 11/07/2026 has overcome in view of amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen, (Patent No.: US 11,758,434 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, and 12-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), in view of Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), and further in view of Chen, (Patent No.: US 11,758,434 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses a method, comprising:
receiving (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0041] discloses: receive streaming audio data) at a first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) of multiple audio devices, a first signal from a central device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0004]-[0005] and [0007]-[0014] host device is central device, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036], [0038]-[0039] host device 130, Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, paragraph [0049] host device 130) via a first wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport), the first signal indicative of an incoming audio packet (Goyal, Abstract, discloses packet which is being interpreted as audio packet);
transferring (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0043] discloses transferring, Fig. 7, paragraph [0102] and [0104] disclose transfer), from the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) to one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) of the multiple audio devices via a second wireless connection, the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport), a second signal providing information to the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) to enable the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) to eavesdrop on the first wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport);
receiving, at the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device), the incoming audio packet via the first wireless connection;
sending, from the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) to the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) via the second wireless connection, the incoming audio packet one or more times (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device);
receiving, at the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device), the incoming audio packet using one or more of the second wireless connection Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) or eavesdropping on the first wireless connection Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport); and
playing, using receivers at the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) and the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device), stereo audio for a user of the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) and the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device), including using a delay at the first audio device, the delay including a transport delay of the second wireless connection Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) and a presentation delay of the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device).
Goyal does not explicitly disclose including a transport delay, and a presentation delay
However, Bhalla in view of Goyal disclose including a transport delay, and a presentation delay (Bhalla, Abstract, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0025]-[0026], Fig. 1, paragraph [0029], Fig. 2, paragraph [0035], Fig. 4, paragraphs [0047], and [0051] disclose transport delay, Abstract, paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, paragraph [0029], Fig. 2, paragraphs [0035], and [0038], and Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], also paragraphs [0053], and [0059] disclose presentation delay)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal in view of Bhalla so that including a transport delay, and a presentation delay be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Bhalla would facilitate time synchronization of audio over Bluetooth Low Energy. BLE be utilized for audio for audio playback on multiple BLE audio sinks (e.g. speakers, earphones, ear-buds, etc. (Bhalla, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0021]-[0022], and [0025])
Goyal, and Bhalla do not explicitly disclose the second wireless connection comprising a broadcast isochronous connection without recipient acknowledgements, and as unconditional retransmissions independent of whether the one or more second audio devices receive the incoming audio packet by eavesdropping on the first wireless connection;
However, Goyal, and Bhalla in view of Chen disclose the second wireless connection comprising a broadcast isochronous connection without recipient acknowledgements, and as unconditional retransmissions independent of whether the one or more second audio devices receive the incoming audio packet by eavesdropping on the first wireless connection; (Chen, Background/Summary under Field discloses Bluetooth Low Energy isochronous transmissions such as for audio payloads sent from a source device to a plurality of target devices, Fig. 1, column 3, lines 22-23 disclose Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) isochronous intervals (ISO intervals), column 4, line 62, to column 5, line 46, A CIS be a physical time slot enabling connected devices to transfer isochronous data in either direction. Fig. 3, column 3, lines 28-32 disclose two connected Isochronous Streams (CISes), column 7, line 33 to column 8, line 43, disclose CIS#1, and CIS#2, also ACK, and NAK/NACK)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal, and Bhalla before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Chen so that the second wireless connection comprising a broadcast isochronous connection without recipient acknowledgements, and as unconditional retransmissions independent of whether the one or more second audio devices receive the incoming audio packet by eavesdropping on the first wireless connection be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Chen would enable two or more BLE links advantageously be able to dynamically adjust transmit buffer sizes and thereby optimize for latency and reduction of audio lacking. (Chen, Abstract, column 1 line 6 to column 3 line 35)
Regarding Claim 2, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) includes a Bluetooth® connection. (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0004]-[0005], Fig. 1, paragraph [0041], Fig. 2A, paragraph [0050], paragraph [0170], Fig. 11D, paragraphs [0175], and [0211 disclose Bluetooth)
Regarding Claim 7, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the second signal includes link keys, session keys, an identity address, a wireless clock and a channel map. (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses address, Fig. 1, paragraph [0107] discloses address, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses clock, Figs. 5-8 paragraph [0084] disclose one or more clocks, paragraphs [0127], [0182], [0192] disclose piconet clock, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses channel map)
Regarding Claim 9, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) are configured to automatically function (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0043] configured to perform operations) as the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) to balance power consumption between the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) and the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device).
Regarding Claim 10, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first signal includes an advance audio distribution profile (A2DP) transmission. (Goyal, paragraph [0005] discloses advance audio distribution profile (A2DP))
Regarding Claim 12, (Currently Amended) Goyal discloses a system, comprising:
a first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device); and
one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device),
wherein the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) includes one or more first processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) programmed to: (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming)
receive (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0041] discloses: receive streaming audio data) a first signal from a central device (Goyal, Abstract, paragraphs [0004]-[0005], and [0007]-[0014] host device is a central device, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036], [0038]-[0039] host device 130, Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, paragraph [0049] host device 130, Fig. 9, and various passages disclose host device 130) via a first wireless connection, the first signal indicative of an incoming audio packet (Goyal, Abstract, and various passages in the references disclose packet which is audio packet);
transfer to the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) via a second wireless connection Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport), the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport), a second signal providing information to the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) to enable the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) to eavesdrop (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses: the secondary device 120 to “eavesdrop”) on the first wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport);
receive the incoming audio packet (Goyal, Abstract, and various passages in the references disclose packet which is audio packet) via the first wireless connection Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport); and
send the incoming audio packet (Goyal, Abstract, and various passages in the references disclose packet which is audio packet) one or more times to the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) via the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device (Goyal, Abstract, and various passages in the references disclose packet which is audio packet), and
wherein the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) include one or more second processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) programmed to: (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming)
receive the incoming audio packet (Goyal, Abstract, and various passages in the references disclose packet which is audio packet) using one or more of the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) or eavesdropping (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses: the secondary device 120 to “eavesdrop”) on the first wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport).
Goyal does not explicitly disclose including a transport delay, and a presentation delay
However, Bhalla in view of Goyal disclose including a transport delay, and a presentation delay (Bhalla, Abstract, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0025]-[0026], Fig. 1, paragraph [0029], Fig. 2, paragraph [0035], Fig. 4, paragraphs [0047], and [0051] disclose transport delay, Abstract, paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, paragraph [0029], Fig. 2, paragraphs [0035], and [0038], and Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], also paragraphs [0053], and [0059] disclose presentation delay)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal in view of Bhalla so that including a transport delay, and a presentation delay be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Bhalla would facilitate time synchronization of audio over Bluetooth Low Energy. BLE be utilized for audio for audio playback on multiple BLE audio sinks (e.g. speakers, earphones, ear-buds, etc. (Bhalla, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0002], [0021]-[0022], and [0025])
Goyal, and Bhalla do not explicitly disclose the second wireless connection comprising a broadcast isochronous connection without recipient acknowledgements, and as unconditional retransmissions independent of whether the one or more second audio devices receive the incoming audio packet by eavesdropping on the first wireless connection;
However, Goyal, and Bhalla in view of Chen disclose the second wireless connection comprising a broadcast isochronous connection without recipient acknowledgements, and as unconditional retransmissions independent of whether the one or more second audio devices receive the incoming audio packet by eavesdropping on the first wireless connection; (Chen, Background/Summary under Field discloses Bluetooth Low Energy isochronous transmissions such as for audio payloads sent from a source device to a plurality of target devices, Fig. 1, column 3, lines 22-23 disclose Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) isochronous intervals (ISO intervals), column 4, line 62, to column 5, line 46, A CIS be a physical time slot enabling connected devices to transfer isochronous data in either direction. Fig. 3, column 3, lines 28-32 disclose two connected Isochronous Streams (CISes), column 7, line 33 to column 8, line 43, disclose CIS#1, and CIS#2, also ACK, and NAK/NACK)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal, and Bhalla before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Chen so that the second wireless connection comprising a broadcast isochronous connection without recipient acknowledgements, and as unconditional retransmissions independent of whether the one or more second audio devices receive the incoming audio packet by eavesdropping on the first wireless connection be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Chen would enable two or more BLE links advantageously be able to dynamically adjust transmit buffer sizes and thereby optimize for latency and reduction of audio lacking. (Chen, Abstract, column 1 line 6 to column 3 line 35)
Regarding Claim 13, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the system of The system of wherein the one or more first processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) and the one or more second processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) are programmed to: (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming)
play, using receivers at the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) and the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device), stereo audio for a user of the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) and the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device), including using a delay (Goyal, paragraph [0080] discloses delaying, paragraph [0088] discloses minimum delay, and paragraph [0089] discloses maximum delay) at the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device), the delay (Goyal, paragraph [0080] discloses delaying, paragraph [0088] discloses minimum delay, and paragraph [0089] discloses maximum delay) including a transport delay (Bhalla, Abstract, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0025]-[0026], Fig. 1, paragraph [0029], Fig. 2, paragraph [0035], Fig. 4, paragraphs [0047], and [0051] disclose transport delay) of the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) and a presentation delay (Bhalla, Abstract, paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, paragraph [0029], Fig. 2, [0035], and [0038], and Fig. 4, paragraph [0047], also paragraphs [0053] and [0059] disclose presentation delay) of the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device).
Regarding Claim 14, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the system of claim 13, wherein the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) and the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device) include one or more buffers (Goyal, paragraph [0240] discloses a buffer) of audio frames (Goyal, Fig. 2A, paragraph [0050] discloses a frame which is audio frame. The paragraphs [0052], and [0056] disclose frames and group of frames respectively).
Regarding Claim 18, (Previously Presented) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the one or more second processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) are programmed (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming) to stop monitoring the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) when successfully eavesdropping (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses: the secondary device 120 to “eavesdrop”) on the first wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport).
9. Claims 3-6, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), and Chen, (Patent No.: US 11,758,434 B2), in view of Hosseini et al., (Pub. No.: US 2021/0306909 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport)
Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen do not explicitly disclose includes a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) connection.
However, Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen in view of Hosseini disclose includes a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) connection. (Hosseini, Abstract, BLE, paragraph [0001] discloses low power techniques for Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), paragraph [0003] discloses BLE protocol. BLE defines a standard that enables radio frequency communication operating within the 2.4GHz ISM band, paragraphs [0007]-[0010] discloses BLE, Figs. 3B, 4B, and 5 disclose BLE)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Hosseini so that includes a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) connection included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Hosseini would enable low power techniques for Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE). Further, BLE protocol would prohibit corruption of bits of the access address and the payload. (Hosseini, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0011])
Regarding Claim 4, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and Hosseini disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the BLE connection includes a BLE (Hosseini, Abstract, BLE, paragraph [0001] discloses low power techniques for Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), paragraph [0003] discloses BLE protocol. BLE defines a standard that enables radio frequency communication operating within the 2.4GHz ISM band, paragraphs [0007]-[0010] discloses BLE, Figs. 3B, 4B, and 5 disclose BLE) asynchronous connection-oriented (LE ACL) connection. (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses asynchronous connection-oriented, paragraph [0132] discloses asynchronous connection-less (ACL))
Regarding Claim 5, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and Hosseini disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the BLE (Hosseini, Abstract, BLE, paragraph [0001] discloses low power techniques for Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), paragraph [0003] discloses BLE protocol. BLE defines a standard that enables radio frequency communication operating within the 2.4GHz ISM band, paragraphs [0007]-[0010] discloses BLE, Figs. 3B, 4B, and 5 disclose BLE) connection includes a BLE isochronous stream connection. (Hosseini, paragraph [0034] discloses isochronous radio modes, paragraph [0041] discloses: the communication link 116 includes an isochronous (ISO) link, further it discloses stream on an ISO link)
Regarding Claim 6, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and Hosseini disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the second wireless connection (Goyal, Abstract, Fig. 1, paragraph [0038] discloses an asynchronous connection or synchronous connection oriented logical transport) includes a near- field magnetic induction (NFMI) connection. (Hosseini, paragraph [0042] discloses a near-field magnetic induction (NFMI) link)
Regarding Claim 15, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and Hosseini disclose the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more first processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) and the one or more second processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) are programmed (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming) to perform a handshake (Hosseini, Fig. 5, paragraph [0087] discloses handshaking) to ensure stereo audio playback (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraph [0046] discloses stereo sound which is stereo audio, paragraph [0047] discloses music player) includes a same audio frame (Goyal, Fig. 2A, paragraph [0050] discloses a frame which is audio frame. The paragraphs [0052], and [0056] disclose frames and group of frames respectively, paragraph [0052] first frame 210 includes a zeroth slot and a first slot (labeled “0”, and “1”) is being interpreted as same frame).
Regarding Claim 16, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and Hosseini disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more first processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) and the one or more second processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) are programmed (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming) to perform the handshake (Hosseini, Fig. 5, paragraph [0087] discloses handshaking) upon depletion of the one or more buffers (Goyal, paragraph [0240] discloses a buffer).
Regarding Claim 17, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and Hosseini disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more first processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) and the one or more second processors (Goyal, paragraphs [0242]-[0243] disclose processor) are programmed (Goyal, paragraph [0242] discloses programming) to perform the handshake upon power cycling of the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) or the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device).
10. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), and Chen, (Patent No.: US 11,758,434 B2), in view of Gostev et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/084456 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more second audio devices are configured to automatically function as the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) of the first wireless connection to the central device (Goyal, Abstract, paragraphs [0004]-[0005], and [0007]-[0014] host device is central device, Fig. 1, paragraph [0036], [0038]-[0039] host device 130, Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B, [0049] host device 130).
Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen do not explicitly disclose to improve link quality
However, Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen in view of Gostev disclose to improve link quality (Gostev, paragraph [0042] discloses improvement in quality of service (QoS) such as audio quality)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Gostev so that to improve link quality be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Gostev would improve audio/link quality (i.e. Quality of Service (QoS) and range. (Gostev, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0007], and paragraph [0042])
11. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), and Chen, (Patent No.: US 11,758,434 B2), in view of Kezys et al., (Pub. No.: US 2013/0182650 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the A2DP (Goyal, paragraph [0005] discloses advance audio distribution profile (A2DP))
Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen do not explicitly disclose transmission includes an audio/video distribution transport protocol (AVDTP).
However, Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen in view of Kezys disclose transmission includes an audio/video distribution transport protocol (AVDTP) (Kezys, paragraphs [0041], [0048], Fig. 8, paragraph [0091] discloses (Audio/Video Distribution Transport Protocol (AVDTP)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Kezys so that transmission includes an audio/video distribution transport protocol (AVDTP) be included in the method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Kezys would include an audio/video distribution transport protocol (AVDTP). Further, it would avoid or reduce depletion of the buffer. (Kezys, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0008])
12. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0329443 A1), Bhalla et al., (Pub. No.: US 2019/0045304 A1), and Chen, (Patent No.: US 11,758,434 B2), in view of El-Hoiydi, (International Publication Number: WO 2014/086388 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen disclose the system of claim 12, wherein the first audio device (Goyal, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] the primary device 110 is a first audio device) or the one or more second audio devices (Goyal, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] a secondary device 120 is a second audio device)
Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen do not explicitly disclose include a hearing assistance device (i.e. hearing aid).
However, Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen in view of El-Hoiydi disclose include a hearing assistance device (i.e. hearing aid). (El-Hoiydi, Fig. 1, Hearing Aid 1 (HA1) and Hearing Aid 2 (HA2))
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Goyal, Bhalla, and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of El-Hoiydi so that include a hearing assistance device (i.e. hearing aid) be included in the system. The motivation to combine the teachings of El-Hoiydi would be beneficial to use a wireless link between the two audio receiver devices is eliminated or minimized, while audio packet loss is minimized. (El-Hoiydi, Abstract, page 2-7)
Regarding Claim 20, (Original) The combination of Goyal, Bhalla, Chen, and El-Hoiydi disclose the system of claim 19, wherein the hearing assistance device includes a hearing aid. (El-Hoiydi, Fig. 1, Hearing Aid 1 (HA1) and Hearing Aid 2 (HA2))
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472