DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following item(s) from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 17 November 2025. The references have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 12-14, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US PGPub 2010/0329510) in view of Niesen et al. (Niesen, US PGPub 2020/0286247).
Referring to Claim 1, Schmid teaches a sensor unit (detection sensor [0029]) comprising at least one radar sensor ([0007]) arranged and configured to obtain radar image data of external surroundings of a vehicle to determine objects around the vehicle (Fig. 1A #4, 5, 8, 9; [0028]); wherein the sensor unit further comprises one or more additional sensors ([0015]); and a processing unit (Fig. 2A #20; [0030]) configured to process the radar image data to generate a top view image (Fig. 1B #10; [0029]) of the external surroundings of the vehicle, the top view image configured to be displayed on a display unit (display device [0029]) and useful to indicate a relative position of the vehicle with respect to determined objects and wherein the processing unit is further configured to process the additional sensor data to visually enhance the top view image to be displayed on the display unit, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit the additional sensors that include a camera configured to obtain real world image data, or wherein the processing unit is further configured to process the real world image data from the camera to visually enhance the top view image such that the generated top view image includes schematic radar image data that is overlaid with the real world image data from the camera, and wherein the visual enhancement comprises using the real world image data from the camera for geometric correction of the radar image data.
However, Neisen teaches a sensor system with additional sensors that include a camera configured to obtain real world image data, or wherein the processing unit is further configured to process the real world image data from the camera to visually enhance the top view image such that the generated top view image includes schematic radar image data that is overlaid with the real world image data from the camera, and wherein the visual enhancement comprises using the real world image data from the camera for geometric correction of the radar image data; see Fig. 9 and 11; [0052], [0074] and [0076-0082].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the invention to modify Schmid with the external sensor system as taught by Neisen to provide additional information and given the complementary properties of the two sensors, data from the two sensors can be combined (referred to as “fusion”) in a single system for improved performance.
Referring to Claims 3, 14 and 20, Schmid as modified by Neisen teaches wherein the processing unit is further configured to process at least one of the radar image data or the real world image data using at least one of a machine-learning algorithm or an image enhancement algorithm to visually enhance the top view image to be displayed on the display unit; [0015] implicit by the supplementation of video images.
Referring to Claims 4 and 15, Schmid as modified by Neisen teaches wherein the at least radar sensor is further arranged and configured to obtain doppler data of the external surroundings of the vehicle, and wherein the processing unit is further configured to process the doppler data to visually enhance the top view image to be displayed on the display unit; [0044-0046] of Neisen.
Referring to Claims 6 and 17, Schmid as modified by Neisen teaches wherein the processing unit is further configured to process the radar image data to determine and highlight on the top view image at least one of an unoccupied space or one or more objects; [0032].
Referring to Claim 12, Schmid as modified by Neisen teaches obtaining, with a sensor unit comprising at least one radar sensor, radar image data of external surroundings of a vehicle to determine objects around the vehicle; obtaining, with the sensor unit comprising one or more additional sensors including a camera, real world image data of the external surroundings of the vehicle; processing the radar image data to generate a top view image of the external surroundings of the vehicle, the top view image configured to be displayed on a display unit and useful to indicate a relative position of the vehicle with respect to determined objects; processing the real world image data from the camera to visually enhance the top view image such that the generated top view image includes schematic radar image data that is overlaid with the real world image data from the camera, wherein the visual enhancement comprises using the real world image data from the camera for geometric correction of the radar image data; see citations of Claim 1 above.
Referring to Claim 18, Schmid as modified by Neisen teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause to the processor to perform operations including: obtaining, with a sensor unit comprising at least one radar sensor, radar image data of external surroundings of a vehicle to determine objects around the vehicle; obtaining, with the sensor unit comprising one or more additional sensors including a camera, real world image data of the external surroundings of the vehicle; processing the radar image data to generate a top view image of the external surroundings of the vehicle, the top view image configured to be displayed on a display unit and useful to indicate a relative position of the vehicle with respect to determined objects; processing the real world image data from the camera to visually enhance the top view image such that the generated top view image includes schematic radar image data that is overlaid with the real world image data from the camera, wherein the visual enhancement comprises using the real world image data from the camera for geometric correction of the radar image data; See citations of Claim 1 above as well as [0009] of Neisen with respect the non-transitory limitations.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid as modified by Neisen in view of Cho et al. (Cho, US PGPub 2020/0400810).
Referring to Claims 5 and 16, Schmid as modified by Neisen teaches the processing unit is further configured to process radar image data obtained from a scan to generate the top view image to be displayed on the display unit; but does not explicitly disclose nor limit multiple scans.
However, Cho teaches multiple scans provided to the processing unit for processing radar image data; [0057].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmid as modified by Neisen with the multiple scans as taught by Cho so as to obtain accurate information about the detected object.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid as modified by Neisen in view of Mahajan (US PGPub 2020/0258385).
Referring to Claim 7, Schmid as modified by Neisen teaches the processing unit is further configured to process the radar image data to determine an unoccupied space; but does not explicitly disclose nor limit determining dimensions of the space.
However, the data collected by the sensor unit would easily be able to determine the size of the unoccupied space as it provides warning boundaries based on distance. Mahajan, however, teaches determining dimensions of the parking spaces; [0044].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmid as modified by Neisen with the size calculations as taught by Mahajan so as to facilitate the assisted or autonomous driving of the vehicle.
Referring to Claim 8, Schmid as modified by Neisen and Mahajan teaches wherein the processing unit is further configured to, based on the dimensions of the unoccupied space, determine if the unoccupied space is sufficiently large to accommodate the vehicle; this would be an obvious feature to ensure that the vehicle could safely enter the parking space, [0062] of Mahajan teaches learning the size of empty parking spaces.
Referring to Claim 9, Schmid as modified by Neisen and Mahajan teaches an autonomous driving unit communicatively coupled to the processing unit; see both disclosures.
Referring to Claim 10, Schmid as modified by Neisen and Mahajan teaches wherein the autonomous driving unit is configured to control a movement of the vehicle based on input received from the processing unit; see disclosure of Mahajan.
Referring to Claim 11, Schmid as modified by Neisen and Mahajan teaches wherein the autonomous driving unit is further configured to, based on input received from the processing unit and a determination that the unoccupied space is sufficiently large to accommodate the vehicle, position the vehicle in the unoccupied space; See combined disclosures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-12, 14-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646