DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 11-25-2025 has been entered.
2. Claims 1, 2, 4 - 11, 13 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 19 have been amended. Claim 20 is new. Claims 3, 12 have been canceled. Claims 1, 10, 19 are independent. This application was filed on 8-4-2022.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 11-25-2025, with respect to the rejection(s) Lenovo in view Huang and further in view of Yang. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lenovo in view Huang and further in view of Yang and Matsui.
A. Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks: ... the combination of Lenovo, Huang, and Yang fails to describe or make obvious, at least, "deriv[ing] one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name of the non-3GPP access network," ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Matsui discloses generating keys (i.e. encryption keys) utilizing a network name of a network-connected entity (network name can be an arbitrary value). (see Matsui paragraph [0010]: Instructing means, at a timing common to the plurality of user terminals, specifies a network name, a time, and the secret key shared by the communication device, Instruct generation of a common key. The generation unit un based on the specified network name, time and secret key, and stores the generated common key and the timing information indicating the common timing in the storage unit in association with each other.; paragraph [0013]: The encryption means encrypts the conversation content input at the user terminal using the latest common key, and transmits a communication message including the timing information of the common key and the encrypted conversation data to the communication device.)
B. Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks: ... Yang fails to disclose "deriv[ing] one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name of the non-3GPP access network ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Matsui discloses generating keys (i.e. encryption keys) utilizing a network name of a network-connected entity (network name can be an arbitrary value). (see Matsui paragraph [0010]: Instructing means, at a timing common to the plurality of user terminals, specifies a network name, a time, and the secret key shared by the communication device, Instruct generation of a common key. The generation unit un based on the specified network name, time and secret key, and stores the generated common key and the timing information indicating the common timing in the storage unit in association with each other.; paragraph [0013]: The encryption means encrypts the conversation content input at the user terminal using the latest common key, and transmits a communication message including the timing information of the common key and the encrypted conversation data to the communication device.)
C. Applicant argues on page 10 of Remarks: ... While differing in scope, independent claims 10 and 19 have been amended to recite features that are similar to distinguishing features of claim 1 discussed above. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that claims 10 and 19 are also in condition for allowance for at least the same reasons ... .
Independent claims 10 and 19 have similar limitations as independent claim 1. Responses to arguments against independent claim 1 also answer arguments against independent claims 10 and 19
D. Applicant argues on page 10 of Remarks: ... The remaining claims are dependent either directly or indirectly from one of the independent claims discussed above. Applicant respectfully submits that, pursuant to 35 U.S.C. §112(d), the dependent claims incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which they refer ... , and are therefore in condition for allowance ... .
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 4 - 6, 8 - 11, 13 - 15, 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo et al. (titled: “Solution on NSWO authentication”, 3GPP TSG-SA3 Meeting #103-e, S3-212113, 3rd Generation Partnership Project) in view of Huang et al. (US PGPUB No. 20140036807) and further in view of Yang et al. (US PGPUB No. 20210092603) and further in view of Matsui et al. (Patent No. JP 2000115153 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 10, 19, Lenovo discloses a user equipment (UE) and a method for 5G network authentication to support 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO) on a non-3GPP access network and a non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions, comprising:
a) a memory; and b) a processor coupled to the memory and (see Lenovo page 1: 3 the solution assumes that the UE is NSWO and 5G capable and sends the SUCI to the AAA server as identity; (server indicates a processor coupled to a memory for instruction execution) configured to:
in response to the USIM or the ME setting indicating that the UE should use 5G NSWO:
e) send the SUCI in the NAI format to a non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE. (see Lenovo page 2: The UE identifies the network as a network with AAA connectivity and sends in the EAP-Response its SUCI instead of the IMSI in the NAI format as defined; (SUCI in NAI format))
Furthermore, Lenovo discloses for c) a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) or a mobile equipment (ME) for the UE using 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO). (see Lenovo page 2: 6a. The 3GPP AAA server detects the SUCI in the username part of the NAI instead of an IMSI.; 6b. The 3GPP AAA-Server detects the authentication method e.g. based on the SUCI prefix in the NAI; page 2: 1. The WLAN AP broadcasts a PLMN List which includes all the PLMNs (mobile networks) with which the WLAN access supports AAA connectivity. The UE is NSWO and 5G capable, but the non-3GPP access advertises only AAA connectivity (interworking with EPC) for the PLMN the UE is subscribed to. The UE connects to the AP. 2. The non-3GPP Access (or WLAN AP) sends an EAP-Request to the UE. It may request the identity of the UE. 3. The UE identifies the network as a network with AAA connectivity and sends in the EAP-Response its SUCI instead of the IMSI in the NAI format as defined; (selected: a mobile equipment (ME) for the UE using 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO)))
Lenovo does not specifically disclose checking a setting of an indication (indicator) that the UE should use 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO).
However, Huang discloses for c) check a setting of an indication that the UE should use 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO). (see Huang paragraph [0068]: in order to optimize network selection, the network may indicate its capabilities (support for handover, support for attach to non-default APN, support for non-seamless WLAN offload); UE preferably indicates specifically whether it requests EPC (Evolved Packet Core) access or non-seamless WLAN offload in EAP to the 3GPP AAA; (indication of selecting NSWO for communication access))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for checking a setting of an indication (indicator) that the UE should use 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO) as taught by Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Huang for the enhanced communication protocol processing achieved from a specific selection of 5G Non-seamless WLAN Offload (NSWO) communication protocol. (see Huang paragraph [0068])
Furthermore, Lenovo discloses for d) Network Access Identifier (NAI) format. (see Lenovo page 1: The solution assumes that that UE is NSWO and 5G capable and sends the SUCI (generated and sent) to the AAA Server as identity; The AAA Server is enhanced to detect the SUCI and interfaces with the AUSF for authentication; page 2: sends in the EAP-Response its SUCI instead of the IMSI in the NAI format as defined)
Lenovo-Huang does not specifically disclose for d) encrypt Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an international Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI).
However, Yang discloses for d) encrypt a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an international Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) of the UE to generate a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI). (see Yang paragraph [0038]: encrypts a mobile subscriber identifier of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), e.g., a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) portion of an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), using the one-time use encryption keys to form a set of one-time use subscription concealed identifiers (SUCIs).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for d) encrypt Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an international Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yang for the enhanced security for a system with the capability to encrypt (or protect from exposure) and secure processing parameters. (see Yang paragraph [0038])
Furthermore, Lenovo discloses wherein initiate communications over the non-3GPP access network via a network element of the non-3GPP access network using the one or more derived keys (i.e. encryption keys). (see Lenovo page 3: 11-22. authenticate the UE and to retrieve IP connectivity. 23-24. After successful authentication the 5G UE receives its IP configuration from the WLAN access network and can exchange IP data traffic (initiate communication) directly via the WLAN, i.e. using NSWO)
Lenovo-Huang-Yang does not specifically disclose deriving one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name.
However, Matsui discloses wherein to derive one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name of the non-3GPP access network. (see Matsui paragraph [0010]: Instructing means, at a timing common to the plurality of user terminals, specifies a network name, a time, and the secret key shared by the communication device, Instruct generation of a common key. The generation unit un based on the specified network name, time and secret key, and stores the generated common key and the timing information indicating the common timing in the storage unit in association with each other.; paragraph [0013]: The encryption means encrypts the conversation content input at the user terminal using the latest common key, and transmits a communication message including the timing information of the common key and the encrypted conversation data to the communication device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for deriving one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name as taught by Matsui. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Matsui for the enhanced security of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as time information and network name information in the generation of secure security information. (see Matsui paragraph [0010]; paragraph [0013])
Furthermore, for Claim 19, Lenovo discloses a non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processing device in a user equipment (UE), to perform operations. (see Lenovo page 1: the solution assumes that the UE is NSWO and 5G capable and sends the SUCI to the AAA server as identity; (server computing system indicates a processor coupled to a memory for execution of instructions stored in memory))
Regarding Claims 2, 11, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, wherein:
a) the processor is further configured to: receive an identity request from the non-3GPP access network; and b) send the SUCI in NAI format to the non-3GPP access network for authentication of the UE is performed in response to the identity request from the non-3GPP access network. (see Lenovo page 1: The solution assumes that that UE is NSWO and 5G capable and sends the SUCI to the AAA Server as identity; The AAA Server is enhanced to detect the SUCI and interfaces with the AUSF for authentication; page 2: The UE identifies the network as a network with AAA connectivity and sends in the EAP-Response its SUCI instead of the IMSI in the NAI format as defined; (SUCI in NAI format))
Regarding Claims 3, 12, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, wherein to generate the SUCI in NAI format the processor is further configured to process a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) obtained from an International Mobile Subscriber Identity IMSI of the UE and include the MSIN in the SUCI. (see Lenovo page 1: the solution assumes that the UE is NSWO and 5G capable and sends the SUCI to the AAA server as identity (identification information); page 2: 6a. The 3GPP AAA server detects the SUCI in the username part of the NAI instead of an IMSI. (SUCI in NAI format))
Lenovo does not specifically disclose encrypting an identification parameter such as a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN).
However, Yang discloses wherein to encrypt a parameter such as a Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN). (see Yang paragraph [0038]: encrypts a mobile subscriber identifier of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), e.g., a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) portion of an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), using the one-time use encryption keys to form a set of one-time use subscription concealed identifiers (SUCIs).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for d) encrypt Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (MSIN) from an international Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yang for the enhanced security for a system with the capability to encrypt (or protect from exposure) and secure processing parameters. (see Yang paragraph [0038])
Regarding Claims 4, 13, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to:
b) generate the SUCI in NAI format the ME function uses the encrypted MSIN. (see Lenovo page 1: the solution assumes that the UE is NSWO and 5G capable and sends the SUCI to the AAA server as identity; page 2: 6a. The 3GPP AAA server detects the SUCI in the username part of the NAI instead of an IMSI. (SUCI in NAI format))
Lenovo does not specifically disclose an encrypted MSIN (mobile subscriber identification information)).
However, Yang discloses:
a) obtain by an ME function of the UE an encrypted MSIN from a USIM of the UE. (see Yang paragraph [0038]: encrypts a mobile subscriber identifier of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), e.g., a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) portion of an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), using the one-time use encryption keys to form a set of one-time use subscription concealed identifiers (SUCIs).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for an encrypted MSIN (mobile subscriber identification information) as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yang for the enhanced security for a system with the capability to encrypt (or protect from exposure) and secure processing parameters. (see Yang paragraph [0038])
Regarding Claims 5, 14, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, wherein to generate the SUCI in NAT format, the processor is further configured to process a username portion of an NAI and incorporate the username portion in the SUCI. (see Lenovo page 2: 7. The 3GPP AAA-Server sends an authentication vector request with username = SUCI to the AUSF and an indication for the requested authentication method; (username authentication information utilized))
Lenovo does not specifically disclose the encrypted username portion (analogous to identification parameter).
However, Yang discloses the encrypted username portion. (see Yang paragraph [0038]: encrypts a mobile subscriber identifier (analogous to username) of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), e.g., a mobile subscriber identification number (MSIN) portion of an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), using the one-time use encryption keys to form a set of one-time use subscription concealed identifiers (SUCIs).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for the encrypted username portion (analogous to identification parameter) as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yang for the enhanced security for a system with the capability to encrypt (or protect from exposure) and secure processing parameters. (see Yang paragraph [0038])
Regarding Claims 6, 15, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, wherein the SUCI in NAI format includes an indication of whether the SUCI is derived from an IMSI of the UE or an NAI. (see Lenovo page 2: 6a. The 3GPP AAA server detects the SUCI in the username part of the NAI instead of an IMSI. (SUCI in NAI format); 7. AAA-Server sends an authentication vector request with username = SUCI to the AUSF and an indication for the requested authentication method, e.g. Authentication Request Type = EAP-AKA)
Regarding Claims 8, 17, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to:
a) receive an Extensible Authentication Protocol and Key Agreement prime (EAP-AKA)-Challenge from a network element of the non-3GPP access network; (see Lenovo page 2: The UDM generates the AKA-AV according to the requested authentication method e.g. as for 5G EAP-AKA’ primary authentication. The UDM provides the authentication vector in a UE Authentication Response to the AUSF.; (EAP-AKA authentication type (i.e. challenge authentication process)) and
c) send an EAP-Response to the network element of the non-3GPP access network; (see Lenovo page 3: 11-22. authenticate the UE and to retrieve IP connectivity (response message processed)); (response indicated authentication success))
Regarding Claims 9, 18, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 8 and the method of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive an EAP Success from the network element of the non-3GPP access network; (see Lenovo page 2: 7. AAA-Server sends an authentication vector request with username = SUCI to the AUSF and an indication for the requested authentication method, e.g. Authentication Request Type = EAP-AKA; 22. EAP Success (success message)) and
initiate communications over the non-3GPP access network via the network element of the non-3GPP access network in response to receiving the EAP Success. (see Lenovo page 3: 11-22. authenticate the UE and to retrieve IP connectivity. 23-24. After successful authentication the 5G UE receives its IP configuration from the WLAN access network and can exchange IP data traffic (initiate communication) directly via the WLAN, i.e. using NSWO; 22. EAP Success (success message))
Regarding Claim 20, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the processor-executable instructions are configured to cause a processing device to perform operations comprising:
a) receiving an Extensible Authentication Protocol and Key Agreement prime (EAP-AKA')- Challenge from the network element of the non-3GPP access network; (see Lenovo page 2: The UDM generates the AKA-AV according to the requested authentication method e.g. as for 5G EAP-AKA’ primary authentication. The UDM provides the authentication vector in a UE Authentication Response to the AUSF.; (EAP-AKA authentication type (i.e. challenge authentication process))
c) sending an EAP-Response to the network element of the non-3GPP access network; (see Lenovo page 3: 11-22. authenticate the UE and to retrieve IP connectivity (response message processed)); (response indicated authentication success)) and
d) initiating communications over the non-3GPP access network via the network element of the non-3GPP access network using the one or more derived keys. (see Lenovo page 3: 11-22. authenticate the UE and to retrieve IP connectivity. 23-24. After successful authentication the 5G UE receives its IP configuration from the WLAN access network and can exchange IP data traffic (initiate communication) directly via the WLAN, i.e. using NSWO)
Lenovo does not specifically disclose for b) deriving one or more keys (i.e. encryption keys) using a network name.
However, Matsui discloses for b) deriving one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name of the non-3GPP access network. (see Matsui paragraph [0010]: Instructing means, at a timing common to the plurality of user terminals, specifies a network name, a time, and the secret key shared by the communication device, Instruct generation of a common key. The generation unit un based on the specified network name, time and secret key, and stores the generated common key and the timing information indicating the common timing in the storage unit in association with each other.; paragraph [0013]: The encryption means encrypts the conversation content input at the user terminal using the latest common key, and transmits a communication message including the timing information of the common key and the encrypted conversation data to the communication device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lenovo for deriving one or more keys using an arbitrary value for a serving network name as taught by Matsui. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Matsui for the enhanced security of a system that enables the utilization of multiple parameters such as time information and network name information in the generation of secure security information. (see Matsui paragraph [0010]; paragraph [0013])
6. Claims 7, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenovo in view of Huang and further in view of Yang and Matsui and Treuhaft et al. (US PGPUB No. 20130275570).
Regarding Claims 7, 16, Lenovo-Huang-Yang-Matsui discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 10.
Lenovo does not specifically disclose converting digits of an IMSI of the UE into a domain name.
However, Treuhaft discloses wherein the processor is further configured to convert digits of an IMSI of the UE into a domain name. (see Treuhaft paragraph [0063]: Using the discreet individual values of 1 to 254, 7 binary bits may be conveyed using the base 10 values 1 to 254 for the last octet of the IP address; five individual communications between the nameserver and identification service may be required to transmit the full 32 bits of the subscriber identifier. Accordingly, the domain name server may select the last 7 bits of the subscriber identifier (the least significant 7 bits), convert them from binary to a base 10 representation between 1 and 254 and then transmit the representation to the client as part of the domain name information. The client will then provide the information to the identification service when issuing a resource request. This process can be repeated four additional times to convey the required 32 bits of data between the name server and identification service.; (convert digital information of subscriber identification into domain name))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Treuhaft for converting digits of an IMSI of the UE into a domain name as taught by Treuhaft. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Treuhaft for the flexibility from utilizing subscriber identification information such as user records and network records in the determination of domain name resources for secure accessing of network type communications. (see Treuhaft paragraphs [0043]; [0044])
Conclusion
/CJ/
January 12, 2026
/KHOI V LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436