DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2020-028527, filed on 9/9/2020.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “conductive member” in claim 9.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The written specification defines the conductive member as a plate shape formed of a material having good conductivity (paragraph 0099, lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4-7,9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishigakiet et al (JP2014054935A) in view of Shioi et al (US 4,245,146).
With regards to claim 1 , Nishigakiet et al discloses a heater element for heating a vehicle interior (heater 100 mounted on a vehicle, abstract, lines 5-6), comprising a pillar shaped honeycomb structure portion (heater 100 includes a honeycomb structure portion 4, Fig. 2) having: an outer peripheral wall (an outer peripheral wall 3, Fig. 1); and partition walls arranged on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (partition wall 1 arranged on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall 3, Fig. 2), the partition walls defining a plurality of cells (partition walls 1 defining a plurality of cells 2, Fig. 2), each of the cells forming a flow path from a first end face to a second end face (cells 2 forming a flow path from a first end face 11 to a second end face 12, Fig. 1), wherein the outer peripheral wall (the outer peripheral wall 3 is formed by coating the outer peripheral portion of the partition walls 1 with a ceramic material, paragraph 0038, lines 6-8) and the partition walls comprise a material having PTC characteristics (ceramics that, when used as the main component of the honeycomb structure section 4, can give the honeycomb structure section 4 a resistivity of 4 to 25 Ω·cm include, for example, Si-impregnated SiC, Si-bonded SiC, recrystallized SiC, reaction sintered SiC, and sintered SiC, paragraph 0026, lines 1-3), and wherein the heater element further comprises a dense insulating film that covers at least a part of the pillar shaped honeycomb structure portion (an insulating layer having a dielectric breakdown strength of 10 to 1000 V/μm on the surface of the partition wall 1 of the honeycomb structure portion 4, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3).
Nishigakiet et al does not disclose wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material having a Curie point of 150 °C or less.
Shioi et al teaches a heating element wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material having a Curie point of 150 °C or less (ceramic body 10 having partition parts 11 and channels 12 having a ceramic material having a Curie point within the range of 140 to 210 °C, col 2, lines 40-45).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al before him or her, to modify the outer peripheral wall and partition walls of Nishigakiet et a to include the Curie point of Shioi et al because the combination allows for a heating structure with stable heat transfer.
With regards to claim 2, Nishigakiet et al discloses wherein the insulating film has an average thickness of 100 μm or less (thickness of the insulating layer is preferably 10 μm or less, paragraph 0051, lines 8-10).
With regards to claim 4, Nishigakiet et al discloses wherein surfaces of the flow paths is covered with the insulating film (an insulating layer having a dielectric breakdown strength of 10 to 1000 V/μm on the surface of the partition wall 1 of the honeycomb structure portion 4, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3).
With regards to claim 5, Nishigakiet et al discloses wherein the partition walls have an average thickness of 0.13 mm or less (the partition wall thickness of the honeycomb structure portion was within the range of 0.05 to 0.5 mm, paragraph 0093, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 6, Nishigakiet et al discloses wherein the heater has a cell density of 93 cells/cm2 or less (heaters in which the cell density was within the range of 9.3 to 186 cells/cm2, paragraph 0093, lines 1-2).
With regards to claim 7, Shioi et al teaches wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material containing barium titanate as a main component (ceramic body 10 having partition parts 11 and channels 12 having a ceramic material consisting of BaO and TiO which constitute barium titanate, abstract, lines 4-6).
With regards to claim 9, Nishigakiet et al discloses electrode layers on surfaces of the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls on the first end face and the second end face (electrode layers 21 on a first and second end of honeycomb structure 4, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 10, Nishigakiet et al discloses wherein a conductive member connectable to an external power source is arranged on at least a part of the electrode layers, and wherein the conductive member and the electrode layer are electrically connected to each other (pair of electrode portions 21 and 21 may have a terminal portion 22 for securing an electrical connection with a power source or the like, pages 4, lines 26-27).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Heimann et al (US 6,888,109).
With regards to claim 3, Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al does not teach wherein the insulating film has a porosity of 5% or less.
Heimann et al teaches wherein the insulating film has a porosity of 5% or less (insulation has a porosity of 3% by volume, col 3, lines 22-25).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nishigakiet et al, Shioi et al and Heimann et al before him or her, to modify the insulating film of Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al to include the porosity of insulating film of Heimann et al because the combination allows for lower susceptibility of cracking.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bruck (US2008/0217315A1).
With regards to claim 11, Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al does not teach wherein at least a part of the electrode layers and conductive member is covered with the insulating film.
Bruck teaches wherein at least a part of the electrode layers and conductive member is covered with the insulating film (power distribution structure 2 is covered with insulating pins 10 and conductor 14 is covered with insulating device 13, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nishigakiet et al, Shioi et al and Bruck before him or her, to modify the electrode and conductive member of Nishigakiet et al and Shioi et al to include the insulating layer of Bruck because the combination allows for increased protection of parts of a heating apparatus.
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishigakiet et al in view of Shioi et al in view of Shimasaki et al (US 6,112,519).
With regards to claim 12, Nishigakiet et al discloses a heater element for heating a vehicle interior (heater 100 mounted on a vehicle, abstract, lines 5-6), comprising a pillar shaped honeycomb structure portion (heater 100 includes a honeycomb structure portion 4, Fig. 2) having: an outer peripheral wall (an outer peripheral wall 3, Fig. 1); and partition walls arranged on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall (partition wall 1 arranged on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall 3, Fig. 2), the partition walls defining a plurality of cells (partition walls 1 defining a plurality of cells 2, Fig. 2), each of the cells forming a flow path from a first end face to a second end face (cells 2 forming a flow path from a first end face 11 to a second end face 12, Fig. 1), wherein the outer peripheral wall (the outer peripheral wall 3 is formed by coating the outer peripheral portion of the partition walls 1 with a ceramic material, paragraph 0038, lines 6-8) and the partition walls comprise a material having PTC characteristics (ceramics that, when used as the main component of the honeycomb structure section 4, can give the honeycomb structure section 4 a resistivity of 4 to 25 Ω·cm include, for example, Si-impregnated SiC, Si-bonded SiC, recrystallized SiC, reaction sintered SiC, and sintered SiC, paragraph 0026, lines 1-3), and wherein the heater element further comprises a dense insulating film that covers at least a part of the pillar shaped honeycomb structure portion (an insulating layer having a dielectric breakdown strength of 10 to 1000 V/μm on the surface of the partition wall 1 of the honeycomb structure portion 4, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3).
Nishigakiet et al does not disclose an inflow pipe for communicating an outside air introduction portion or the vehicle interior with the first end face of the heater element for heating the vehicle interior; a battery for applying voltage to the heater element for heating the vehicle interior; and an outflow pipe for communicating the second end face of the heater element for heating the vehicle interior with the vehicle interior.
Shimasaki et al teaches an inflow pipe for communicating an outside air introduction portion or the vehicle interior with the first end face of the heater element (cone shaped portion 6 serves as a inflow pipe for communicating an outside air with a first end of EHC unit 104, Fig. 1); a battery for applying voltage to the heater element (battery Vb to provide voltage to EHC unit 104, Fig. 1); and an outflow pipe for communicating the second end face of the heater element (exhaust pipe 101, Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nishigakiet et al and Shimasaki et al before him or her, to modify the heater of Nishigakiet et al to include the duct of Shimasaki et al because the combination allows for enhanced heating capacity in a vehicle heating system.
Nishigakiet et al and Shimasaki et al does not teach wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material having a Curie point of 150 °C or less.
Shioi et al teaches a heating element wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material having a Curie point of 150 °C or less (ceramic body 10 having partition parts 11 and channels 12 having a ceramic material having a Curie point within the range of 140 to 210 °C, col 2, lines 40-45).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nishigakiet et al, Shimasaki et al and Shioi et al before him or her, to modify the outer peripheral wall and partition walls of Nishigakiet et al and Shimasaki et al to include the Curie point of Shioi et al because the combination allows for a heating structure with stable heat transfer.
With regards to claims 13 and 14, Nishigakiet et al, Shimasaki et al and Shioi et al does not teach wherein the heater for heating the vehicle interior is a heater for heating a vehicle interior having a steam compression heat pump configured as a main heating device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to have a use for the heater of Nishigakiet et al, Shimasaki et al and Shioi et al, since the patented structure of Nishigakiet et al, Shimasaki et al and Shioi et al describes the structure limited for a heater. Selecting a specific configuration where the heater is used for would amount to a recitation of the intended use of the patented invention, without resulting in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the structure disclosed by Nishigakiet et al, Shimasaki et al and Shioi et al, and therefore fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argument: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiners response: Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose or teach “wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material having a Curie point of 150 °C or less”. Shioi et al teaches a heating element wherein the outer peripheral wall and the partition walls comprise a material having a Curie point of 150 °C or less (ceramic body 10 having partition parts 11 and channels 12 having a ceramic material having a Curie point within the range of 140 to 210 °C, col 2, lines 40-45). Though the specification of Shioi et al teaches the ceramic material is a certain make up, the material was not cited in the rejection, just the Curie point. The material disclosed in Nishigakiet et al can be optimized to be used at a Curie point as taught by Shioi et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761