DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Claims 1-14, drawn to fiber combiner, in the reply filed on October 06, 2025 is acknowledged.
In Applicant's reply filed October 06, 2025, Applicant cancelled claims 15-20, which were directed to non-elected Group II, drawn to a method of forming a combiner. New claims 21-26 were added. Thus, claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
No prior art documents were submitted by the applicant to be considered.
Drawings
Eighteen (18) sheets of drawings were filed on August 05, 2022.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawasaki (US20220413219A1).
Regarding claim 21, Kawaski discloses A device comprising (Figure 2. Optical Coupler): a plurality of input fibers within the device (21); a first portion (21B)of the device configured with a first non-zero slope(Par. [0027]) profile along a first portion of an output end (Figure 2 represents the output end of the optical coupler of Figure 1.); and a second portion (21D) of the device configured with a second non-zero slope (Par. [0027]) profile along a second portion of the output end, wherein the second non-zero slope profile is different than the first non-zero slope profile(Para. [0033] indicates the tapered portion have dynamic variable taper ratios that are not necessarily identical to each other at any given point, but rather depend on their specific position relative to the output fiber).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botheroyd (US9897759B2) and further in view of Kawasaki (US20220413219A1).
Regarding claim 1, Botheroyd discloses a fiber combiner (Figure 1) comprising: a capillary (Figure 4. Capillary 41); and a plurality of input fibers (Figure 4. Input fiber bundle 1002), wherein: a first portion of the plurality of input fibers (1002) is disposed within a first portion of the capillary (41) along a first portion of an output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 4 represents the output end of the fiber combiner of Figure 1. The first portion of the output end is considered as the portion comprising the fiber bundle 1002 within a capillary 41); the first portion of the capillary has a zero-slope profile along the first portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 4. Although the specification does not clearly state a zero slope profile of the first portion, the specification does define the second portion as adiabatic, indicating that there is no slope profile in the first portion of the fiber combiner of Botheroyd); a second portion of the plurality of input fibers is disposed within a second portion of the capillary along a second portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (The second portion of Botheroyd is characterized in figure 4 which illustrates a taper (2) defined from a first end (8) to a second end (10). Figure 6 illustrates the taper (2) is formed from a plurality of optical fibers (61) surrounded by a capillary (64). Column 9 lines 31-37); the second portion of the capillary has a first non-zero slope profile along the second portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (Taper (2) is an adiabatic taper. Column 6 lines 46-48); a portion of the plurality of input fibers is present along a portion of the output end of the fiber combiner; and no portion of the capillary is present along the portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 18 illustrates a taper, (2) a region of fused fibers (2070) and a waste section (2090). The waist section (2090) is considered to be the third portion of the fiber combiner. A cleave point can be located in the waist section (2090) that is not within the capillary. Column 13 line 25-27). Botheroyd fails to disclose four separate portions, two of which are non-zero slope profiles with different non-zero slope profiles.
Kawasaki teaches an optical coupler comprising four distinct segments (21A, 21B,21C, 21D) as seen in figure 2, with two tapered portions 21B and 21D. Additionally, Kawasaki teaches different taper ratios in different tapered portions; and when separate tapered portions have different taper ratios (non-zero slope profiles) it is not mandatory to have isodiametric portions in between the tapered portions. (Par. [0033] and [0072]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fiber combiner of Botheroyd with the tapered portion arrangement of Kawaski to optimize light transmission and coupling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Botheroyd/ Kawasaki disclose the fiber combiner of claim 1. Botheroyd further discloses two portions of the plurality of input fibers are each arranged in a fused bundle configuration (Column 13 lines 21-24. As interpreted in claim 1, the taper section (2) and waist section (2090) are considered to be two separate portions.) Botheroyd fails to disclose the fused bundles specifically in a third and fourth portion of the combiner.
Kawasaki teaches a fiber bundle in the third (21C) and fourth(21D) portion of the fiber combiner (Par. [0026]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fiber combiner of Botheroyd with the arrangement of Kawasaki in order to improve the mechanical stability and optical alignment of the fibers while enable high power operation.
Regarding Claim 3, Botheroyd/ Kawasaki disclose the fiber combiner of claim 1. Botheroyd further discloses that the non-zero slope profile is an adiabatic slope profile (Taper (2) is an adiabatic taper. Column 6 lines 46-48). Because the fiber combiner of Botheroyd has only one tapered portion, it fails to teach a second non-zero slope that is an adiabatic slope profile.
Kawasaki teaches a fiber combiner having multiple tapered portions (Figure 2 21B and 21D).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fiber combiner with an adiabatic slope profile of Botheroyd to include the second tapered adiabatic slope profile portion of Kawasaki because it is well known in the art that tapered fiber sections should be adiabatic in order to minimize coupling loss and preserve beam quality in optimized fiber combining systems. Accordingly, configuring Kawasaki’s multiple tapered portions as adiabatic tapers represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 4, Botheroyd/ Kawasaki disclose the fiber combiner of claim 1. Botheroyd further discloses the fiber combiner is a pump combiner, and the plurality of input fibers are pump fibers (Column 9 lines 5-12). Botheroyd teaches the optical source may be a laser diode emitting pump radiation. If the optical source is a laser diode emitting pump radiation, the component used to combine these sources is a pump combiner which utilizes pump fibers, often multimode (column 9 lines 23-24), to merge light into a single fiber.
Regarding claim 5, Botheroyd/Kawasaki disclose the fiber combiner of claim 1. Botheroyd further discloses the fiber combiner is a pump- signal combiner, and at least one of the plurality of input fibers is a signal fiber (Column 13 lines 61-64). Botheroyd teaches the fiber combiner may be used for real-time monitoring via back-reflected signals. In order for a fiber combiner to be used for that purpose and given the fact that it was established that the fiber combiner is a pump combiner as mentioned in claim 4, the fiber combiner would have to be a pump signal combiner with at least one signal fiber in order for monitoring to occur.
Regarding claim 6, Botheroyd/ Kawasaki discloses the fiber combiner of claim 1. Botheroyd/ Kawaski further discloses a portion of the plurality of input fiber has another zero-slope profile along the portion of the output end of the fiber combiner. Figure 20 of Botheroyd shows a portion after the taper portion (2) that appears to have a zero-slope profile. Although the specification does not clearly state, a zero-slope profile of the portion, the specification does define the second portion as adiabatic, indicating that there is no slope profile in the first portion or last portions of the fiber combiner of Botheroyd Additionally Figure 3 of Kawaski shows an additional non tapered portion (21G isodiametric portion) that appears to have a zero-slope profile. Although the specification does not clearly state, a zero-slope profile of the portion (21G), the specification does define 21G as an isodiametric portion, indicating a zero-slope profile)
Regarding claim 7, Botheroyd/Kawasaki discloses the fiber combiner of claim 1. Kawaski discloses the fourth portion (21D) of the plurality of input fibers has a non-zero slope profile (Par. [0027]) along the fourth portion(21D) of the output end of the fiber combiner(20A). Kawaski fails to disclose that fourth portion is a third non-zero slope profile. However, according to paragraph [0072] a different embodiment may have a plurality of tapered portions having different taper ratios without having isodiametric portion in between then. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the fiber combiner of Kawasaki in a way that would produce a third non-zero slope profile, as a matter of predictable variation to achieve the desired optical performance.
Regarding claim 8, Botheroyd/Kawasaki discloses the fiber combiner of claim 1. Botheroyd/Kawasaki further discloses the fourth (last) portion of the plurality of input fibers is connected to an output fiber of an output component. As seen in figure 2 of Botheroyd, the last portion of the input fibers are coupled to the output optical fiber (3). As seen in figure 2 of Kawasaki, the fourth portion (21D) of the input fibers are coupled to an output-type optical fiber (22).
Regarding claim 9, Botheroyd discloses a fiber combiner comprising (Figure 1): a capillary (Figure 4. Capillary 41); and a plurality of input fibers disposed within the capillary (Figure 4. Input fiber bundle 1002), wherein: a first portion (1002) of the capillary (41) along a first portion of an output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 4 represents the output end of the fiber combiner of Figure 1. The first portion of the output end of Botheroyd is considered to be the portion comprising the fiber bundle 1002 within a capillary 41); and a second portion of the capillary has a non-zero slope profile (Taper (2) is an adiabatic taper. Column 6 lines 46-48) along a second portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (The second portion of Botheroyd is characterized in figure 4 which illustrates a taper (2) defined from a first end (8) to a second end (10)).
Botheroyd fails to disclose the first portion has a first non-zero slope profile and the second non-zero profile is different than the first non-zero slope profile.
Kawaski teaches a first portion (21B) and second portion (21D) that have different taper ratios (Para. [0033] indicates the tapered portion have dynamic variable taper ratios that are not necessarily identical to each other at any given point, but rather depend on their specific position relative to the output fiber.)
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fiber combiner of Botheroyd with the tapered portion arrangement of Kawaski to optimize light transmission and coupling efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Botheroyd/Kawaski discloses the fiber combiner of claim 9. Botheroyd further discloses no portion of the capillary is present along a third portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 18 illustrates a taper, (2) a region of fused fibers (2070) and a waste section (2090). The waist section (2090) is considered to be the third portion of the fiber combiner. A cleave point can be located in the waist section (2090) that is not within the capillary. Column 13 line 25-27).
Regarding claim 11, Botheroyd/Kawaski discloses the fiber combiner of claim 9. Botheroyd further disclose a first portion of the plurality of input fibers (1002) is disposed within the first portion of the capillary (41) along the first portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 4 represents the output end of the fiber combiner of Figure 1. The first portion of the output end of Botheroyd is considered to be the portion comprising the fiber bundle 1002 within a capillary 41); a second portion of the plurality of input fibers is disposed within the second portion of the capillary along the second portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (The second portion of Botheroyd is characterized in figure 4 which illustrates a taper (2) defined from a first end (8) to a second end (10). Figure 6 illustrates the taper (2) is formed from a plurality of optical fibers (61) surrounded by a capillary (64). Column 9 lines 31-37); a third portion of the plurality of input fibers is present along a third portion of the output end of the fiber combiner; and no portion of the capillary is present along the third portion of the output end of the fiber combiner (Figure 18 illustrates a taper, (2) a region of fused fibers (2070) and a waste section (2090). The waist section (2090) is considered to be the third portion of the fiber combiner. A cleave point can be located in the waist section (2090) that is not within the capillary. Column 13 line 25-27).
Regarding claim 12, Botheroyd/Kawaski discloses the fiber combiner of claim 9. Botheroyd further discloses the second portion of the plurality of input fibers and the third portion of the plurality of input fibers are each arranged in a fused bundle configuration (Column 13 lines 21-24. As interpreted in claim 9, the taper section (2) and waist section (2090) are considered to be two separate portions).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Botheroyd/Kawaski discloses the fiber combiner of claim 9. Kawaski further discloses the first and second taper portion have different taper ratios (Para. [0033] indicates the tapered portion have dynamic variable taper ratios that are not necessarily identical to each other at any given point, but rather depend on their specific position relative to the output fiber.) Kawaski fails to disclose an adiabatic slope profile.
Botheroyd teaches an adiabatic taper. (Column 6 lines 46-48).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fiber combiner with an adiabatic slope profile of Botheroyd to include the second and different slope profile of Kawaski in order to reduce insertion loss and manage fiber coupling efficiency across the entire length fiber combiner.
Claims 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki (US20220413219A1) in view of Botheroyd (US989759B2).
Regarding claim 22, Kawaski discloses a device of claim 21. Kawasaki further discloses a second non-zero slope profile. Kawasaki fails to disclose the non-zero slope profile is adiabatic.
Botheroyd teaches an adiabatic taper (Column 6 lines 46-48).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kawaski with an adiabatic slope profile of Botheroyd in order to reduce insertion loss and manage fiber coupling efficiency across the entire length fiber combiner.
Regarding claim 26, Kawaski disclose a device of claim 21. Kawaski further disclose a first (21B) and second(21D) tapered portion. Kawaski fails to disclose a tapered capillary over the first and second portions.
Botheroyd discloses a fiber combiner (Figure 4) with a first portion (The first portion of the output end of Botheroyd is considered to be the portion comprising the fiber bundle 1002 within a capillary 41) comprising an outer capillary (41) and a second portion (The second portion of Botheroyd is characterized in figure 4 which illustrates a taper (2) defined from a first end (8) to a second end (10)) comprising an outer capillary (Figure 6. Capillary 64).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kawaski to incorporate the capillary structure taught by Botheroyd such that Kawasaki’s first and second portions comprise respective portions of a capillary, since Botheroyd teaches enclosing tapered fiber regions within a capillary to provide mechanical support and facilitate fabrication and alignment. Such a modification applies known capillary-based fiber combiner structures to Kawasaki’s device and would have yielded predictable results.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki (US20220413219A1).
Regarding claim 23, Kawasaki discloses a third portion(21A) of the device that has a zero-slope profile (21A has an isodiametric portion after resin covering layer 21c is removed. Par. [0026]) along a third portion of the output end of the device, wherein the first (21B) and second portions (21D) are tapered compared to the third portion (Figure 2).
To the extent Kawasaki does not explicitly characterize portion 21A as having a “zero slope profile,” before the effective filling date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to recognize the isodiametric portion of 21A as exhibiting a zero-slope profile since the isodiametric region appears to maintain a constant cross-sectional dimension along its length.
Regarding claim 24, Kawaski discloses a device of claim 21. Kawasaki further discloses a fourth portion(21C) of the device that has a zero-slope profile (Par. [0027] isodiametric portion), wherein the first portion is adjacent to the third portion, and the fourth portion is adjacent to the second portion. Kawasaki fails explicitly disclose the exact sequential arrangement of a zero-slope portion follow by two adiabatic portions, followed then by an additional zero slope portion. However, Kawaski does disclose other embodiments in which is not mandatory to have isodiametric (zero slope) portions in between tapered(adiabatic) portions, and that variations in the configuration of these portions are contemplated ([Par. 0072]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art looking to optimize the device for specific flow characteristics would have found it obvious to vary the sequence of isodiametric (zero-slope) and tapered (adiabatic) portion as describe in Kawasaki (Par. [0072]). The modification constitutes a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (different arrangements of tapered/ non-tapered sections) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 25, Kawaski discloses a device of claim 21. Kawaski further disclose no capillary present along the fourth portion.
Kawaski does not include any capillary structure along the output end. To the extend Kawaski does not explicitly disclose a fourth portion lacking a capillary as recited above, before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure any downstream portion of Kawasaki’s device to likewise omit a capillary, since Kawasaki already teaches a capillary free structure throughout the device.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874