DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2, 4, 12, 16-17, 19, 21-22, 24-28 and 30-37 have been canceled. Claims 1, 10-11, 14-15, 18, 20 and 29 have been amended. Claims 38-41 have been added. Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13-15, 18, 20, 23, 29 and 38-41.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objections to the claims 10-11, 14 and 29 are withdrawn.
In light of the new amendments, the rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) as being of improper dependent form is withdrawn.
In light of the new amendments, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Huang evidenced by Open Food Facts and Antwi is withdrawn.
In light of the new amendments, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford evidenced by Whelan is withdrawn.
New Rejections
Applicant’s amendments have necessitated the following grounds of rejection:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, 14, 15, 20 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and 15, claim 15 recites in line 2, "does not include another therapeutic agent.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 15 depends does not recite therapeutic agent. Claim 1, lines 4-6, recite, “one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents as the primary active agent, wherein the one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents penetrate the skin of the subject.” The term “primary” in claim 1 suggests that more than one active agent is present. The term “another” in claim 15 suggests the presence of more than one therapeutic agent. It is not clear whether there is more than one active agent, what the therapeutic agent(s) comprise, and how the agent(s) relate to each other. While it is generally accepted in the art that active agents are used to produce a biological effect, therapeutic agents are used to address disease. For the purposes of this Office action any prior art teaching one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents will meet the claim limitation.
Claim 10 has a limitation “i.e. buffers employing”. The abbreviation “i.e.” similar and/or the same phasing as “for example.” The MPEP makes clear that such language is indefinite.
Claim 14 recite species that in some instances is the disease caused by the virus. For example, cervical cancer is caused by human papilloma virus ‘HPV’ (4th line from the bottom of page 4 of the claims). The claim however indicates that the Markush group is directed to viruses. Therefore the claim 14 is indefinite.
Claim 20 contains the trademark/trade name in lines 1-3. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). Even though Applicants amended to show descriptors in parentheses (i.e., a high-purity phosphatidylcholine (PC) product, see line 2 of instant claim 20), the claim scope remains uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe ingredients that the formulation further comprises and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 41 line 3 recites, “the combination of sodium bicarbonate or sodium carbonate.” The recitation of the term “or” makes it unclear as to what the recited “combination” refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (CN1321466-A, pub. Nov. 14, 2001).
Wang discloses a method for removing skin nevi, warts and bio-pharmaceutical composition, strong prednisolone 0.023 0.027 composed of calcium oxide 18-22, sodium bicarbonate 13-17, sodium salicylic 13-17, procaine 1.8 2.2, acetic acid according to parts by weight, and 95% of 40-50 of ethanol, by mixing and stirring (claim 1). The alkalinizing agents calcium oxide and sodium bicarbonate anticipate the alkalinizing agents of instant claim 1. Wang discloses the method as follows: the skin nevi, warts and in pharmaceutical components under corrosion effect (i.e., lowering of pH) of calcium oxide and sodium bicarbonate, in a short time the necrosis, reliable removing effect, surface skin of the procaine soakage anesthesia effect; in the treatment of the patient and no obvious pain after treatment, sodium salicylic reducing medical component calcium oxide and sodium bicarbonate in the stimulation of skin, and can prevent viral nevus, recurrence and spread of warts, strong prednisolone acetate and ethanol for preventing and eliminating inflammation during curing (page 2, paragraph 9) to anticipate instant claim 1, instant claim 3 (i.e., extent of viral infection), instant claim 5 (i.e., inhibiting viral transmission), and instant claim 7 (i.e., sodium bicarbonate).
Regarding instant claim 1, the topical administering of the formulation comprising alkalizing agents taught by Wang anticipates the alkalinizing agents as the primary active agent (see “medical component”), penetrating the skin of the subject (see “stimulation of the skin”), and treating the viral infection (i.e., wart, papillomavirus). The “necrosis” followed by removal of the wart disclosure in Wang anticipates the local raising of pH limitation. The alkalinizing agents being used to “prevent viral nevus” anticipates the raising of pH systemically thereby reducing risk of contracting viral infection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
1. Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13, 15, 18, 20, 23, 29 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US2019/0083386A1) in view of Abrahmsohn (WO2015/038788A1) with evidence from Goldman and Prabhakar (Immunology Overview, Medical Microbiology 4th ed. 1996).
Brunner et al. disclose a method for transdermal delivery of one or more buffering agents through the skin of a subject via topical treatments that effect transdermal transport of carbonate salt through the skin, more particularly, the method concerns direct application of a penetrating formulation containing a carbonate salt topically to a subject ([0002]). Brunner et al. teach a formulation for transdermal delivery of one or more buffering agents through the skin of a subject comprising: a buffering agent comprising at least one carbonate salt, lysine, tris, a phosphate buffer and/or 2-imidazole-1-yl-3-ethoxycarbonylpropionic acid (IEPA), or a combination thereof in an amount between about 10-56 % w/w; and a penetrant portion in an amount between about 44 to 90 % w/w, wherein the penetrant portion comprises water in an amount less than about 85 % w/w, and wherein the formulation comprises less than about 12 % w/w lecithin ([0011], claim 1). The carbonate salt is sodium bicarbonate (claim 15).
Brunner et al. teach a penetrant portion that is a multi-component mixture, whereby the particular concentrations of the penetration enhancers are informed in part by the particle size of the sodium bicarbonate ([0020]). The formulation enables the sodium bicarbonate to become bio-available to the target site within minutes of topical administration ([0020]). Here the prior art of Brunner et al. read on the limitation, one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents as the primary active agent, wherein the one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents penetrate the skin of the subject.
Brunner et al. teach that it is desirable to adjust the pH of the formulation to assist in permeation or to adjust the nature of the carbonate and/or of the target compounds in the subject ([0044]). The aspect of the disclosure which includes administering buffers so as to raise the pH locally at the environment of the target site, e.g., a solid tumor, expands the indications to which the methods of the invention are applicable ([0052]). For instance, emergency medical treatment of individuals requiring, for example, blood balancing agents, e.g., nutrients, that would otherwise be administered intravenously can instead be non-invasively treated by massaging the formulation through the skin and thus permitting systemic delivery so that levels in the bloodstream are altered ([0064]). A wide variety of therapeutic agents may be used in the formulations to include anti-viral agents and anti-infective agents which can be systemic ([0055], [0217-0218]). The systemic administration of nutrients is especially important as is the treatment of viral infection, bacterial infection or other microbial infection ([0221]). Ultimately, the formulations of may be utilized in virtually any context where buffering therapy with or without a therapeutic agent(s) is desired ([0223]). They are configured for buffering therapy with or without an additional therapeutic agent ([0244]). Here the teachings read on the limitation, the formulation raises the pH locally in one or more areas of the subject and raises the pH systemically, thereby treating the viral infection or reducing the sign or the symptom thereof or reducing the risk of contracting the viral infection.
The examples of Brunner et al. do not provide formulations that explicitly treat viral infection or reduce the sign or symptom thereof or reduce the risk of contracting the viral infection.
However, Abrahmsohn et al. teach compositions that are used to treat a skin infection (e.g., staph infection, chicken pox, herpes zoster virus, etc.) (page 32, lines 18-20), to treat acne, rosacea, skin lesion (e.g., swelling, wheal, flare) that result from allergic reactions and from, or otherwise relating to, tumors (page 33, lines 1-5). Sodium bicarbonate is the primary component of therapeutic compositions for topical application (Example 1). The composition and methods with broad antimicrobial activity against viruses are used in the prevention and treatment of pathogenic processes in humans and animals are applied topically (page 1, lines 7-10). The composition is alkaline and is for use in the manufacture of a medicament to treat a viral infection (claims 11-12) and can include anti-viral compounds and anti-viral agents (page 23, lines 22 and 25).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Abrahmsohn et al. with Brunner et al. with expected results. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Abrahmsohn et al. teach sodium bicarbonate changes pH to alkaline and neutralizes acidity; direct microbial activity; neutralizes toxins, reduces reactions to other chemicals in compositions; promotes healing; and neutralizes protonic release due to inflammatory cascade (i.e., a symptom of a viral infection) (page 24, see Table). Brunner et al. surprisingly found that with the use of the formulations and methods disclosed, nutrients are supplied in effective amounts transdermally either preferentially to a desired area, or systemically ([0217]). Abrahmsohn et al. demonstrate an environment conducive to welcoming nutrients, such as those that are emphasized by Brunner et al. to be systemically administered in order to treat viral infection, one skilled in the art would be motivated to utilize such alkaline formulations. Here the combined teachings would arrive at the claimed method of treating a viral infection or reducing a sign or a symptom thereof or reducing the risk of contracting a viral infection, by identifying a subject with a viral infection or at risk of a viral infection and topically administer a transdermal formulation containing one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents as the primary agent, penetrated the skin, raise the pH locally and systemically, thereby treating the viral infection or reducing the sign or the symptom thereof or reducing the risk of contracting the viral infection.
Regarding instant claim 3, Brunner et al. teach the required percentage of carbonate salt depends on the frequency of administration, as well as the time allotted for administration for each application, thus, the level of carbonate salt may be varied over a wide range ([0017]). Abrahmsohn et al. disclose compositions and formulations that exhibit preventive, micro-biostatic, or microbiocidal effects against a wide range of pathogenic microbes, including viruses (page 7, lines 18-22). Here the teachings of the prior art read on the decreasing the severity, duration, and/or extent of viral infection limitation.
Regarding instant claim 5, Brunner et al. teach the inclusion of the nonionic detergent/ polar gelling agent combination results in a more viscous and cream-like or gel-like formulation which is suitable for application directly to the skin ([0037]). Abrahmsohn et al. teach paste formulations sufficiently viscous to remain in place following topical application and may be applied adjacent to an area surrounding a wound, abrasion, or infection (page 25, line 20-31). Here the prior art teaches and suggests containment thereby inhibiting viral transmissions.
Regarding instant claim 6, Brunner et al. teach and suggest the extent of the delivery is dependent on the application, volume and texture enhancement of tissue are examples of local delivery ([0129]). Abrahmsohn et al. show wound healing in tissue (page 31, line 25) and reduced inflammation (local and systemic) (page 23, line 13). As evidenced by Goldman and Prabhakar, blood contains monocytes and macrophages in submucosal tissues of the respiratory and alimentary tracts (page 9, para. 1). Here the prior art shows that one skilled in the art would reasonably expect that the activity of one or more of the claimed species would be increased or enhanced because as inflammation reduces, natural defense systems would be less stressed.
Regarding instant claims 7, 8 and 9, Brunner et al. teach that typically the concentration of buffer in the compositions is in the range of 10 - 56 % w/w or 10 - 36 % w/w ([0015]). In general, the carbonate salt may be present in the formulation in an amount as low as 1 % w/w up to about 56 % w/w. Typical concentrations may include 10 - 56 % w/w , 15 - 36 % w/w , or 10 -32 % w/w ([0017]). In some embodiments sodium bicarbonate in an amount between about 1 - 32 % w/w ([0075], claim 15, see Examples [0223])). Here the claimed ranges fall within or overlap with those taught by Brunner et al. Also, while Abrahmsohn et al. discloses sodium bicarbonate at concentrations outside the range recited (46.8 % - 55 % in Fig. 1), such differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that that range of percentages is critical to the invention. See MPEP 2144.05(II.)(A.). To reiterate, Brunner et al. teach the percentage of carbonate salt in the formulation will depend upon the amount required to be delivered in order to have a useful effect on treating the disorder ([0017]). Those of ordinary skill in the art would recognize how pH relates to skin and would know to adjust concentrations accordingly.
Regarding instant claims 10 and 11, Brunner et al. disclose a formulation for transdermal delivery of one or more buffering agents through the skin of a subject, comprising: a buffering agent comprising at least one carbonate salt, lysine, tris, a phosphate buffer and/or 2-imidazole-1-yl-3-ethoxycarbonylpropionic acid (IEPA), or a combination thereof in an amount between about 10 - 56 % w/w ([0012], claim 1), to mirror the species of instant claim 10 and to read on the 5 - 56 % w/w limitation of instant claim 11.
Regarding instant claim 13 (i.e., one or more buffering or alkalinizing agents), Brunner et al. disclose one or more buffering agents in an amount between about 10 - 56 % w/w (claim 1) which overlaps with the claimed amount from about 5 % - 45 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 13 (i.e., penetrant portion), Brunner et al. disclose a penetrant portion in an amount between about 44 to 90 % w/w (claim 1) which overlaps the claimed amount between about 5 % - 55 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 13 (i.e., detergent portion), Brunner et al. disclose wherein the penetrant portion (i.e., 44 to 90 % w/w) further comprises a detergent portion in an amount between about 1 to 70 % w/w (claim 2). Here Brunner et al. teach a detergent portion between about 0.5 % to about 63 % which overlaps with the claimed amount between about 1 % to 15 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 13 (i.e., water), Brunner et al. disclose wherein the penetrant portion (i.e., 44 to 90 % w/w) comprises water in an amount less than about 85 % w/w (claim 1) to teach an amount between about 38 % to 76 % of the formulation and provide examples showing water at 56.00 % ([0240], Table 40) to read on the claimed amount between about 15 % to 65 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 15 and considering the 112(b) issue discussed above, as mentioned above, Brunner et al. teach that the formulations disclosed are configured for buffering therapy with or without an additional therapeutic agent ([0244]).
Regarding instant claim 18 (i.e., isopropyl palmitate) and considering the recitation of “an/or” in the penultimate line of claim 18, Brunner et al. provide examples with isopropyl palmitate in amounts at 12.00 wt.% (e.g., [0242] Table 11). The claimed concentration from about 5 % to about 20 % w/w of the transdermal formulation overlaps the concentration taught in the prior art.
Regarding instant claim 20 and considering the 112(b) issue discussed above, Brunner et al. disclose Phospholipon® 90G at a concentration of 16.0 wt % ([0242], Table 11). Here the claimed concentration from about 1 % to about 20 % w/w of the transdermal formulation overlaps with the concentration taught in the prior art.
Regarding instant claim 23, as mentioned above, Brunner et al. teach a detergent portion (claim 2) wherein the detergent portion comprises a nonionic surfactant (claim 14).
Regarding instant claim 29, Brunner et al. teach the following: isopropyl palmitate at 12.00 wt. % to read on the claimed concentration from 10 % to 15 %; benzyl alcohol at 1.00 wt. % to read on the claimed concentration from 0.5 % to 1.5 %; stearic acid at 2.00 wt. % to read on the claimed concentration from 1.5 % to 2.5 %; deionized water ([0224] Example 1) and 20.00 wt. % of water in a formulation to read on the claimed concentration from 20 % to 50 % ([0242], Table 11).
Regarding the claimed oleic acid and safflower oil, Brunner et al. teach oleic acid as a suitable fatty acid that may be used in some embodiments ([0041]). Also, Brunner et al. disclose almond oil between about 0.5 % - 10 % w/w ([0178]). Both safflower oil and almond oil contain oleic acid. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute one plant based oil (i.e., almond oil) taught by Brunner et al. with the specific safflower oil and apply the concentration range taught by Brunner et al. (i.e., almond oil between about 0.5 % - 10 % w/w) to fall within or overlap with any of the concentration ranges recited for safflower oil and oleic acid. Simple substitution of one commonly used natural ingredient containing oleic acid for another is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results. MPEP 2144.05(II.)(A.) states that generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Regarding instant claim 38, as discussed above, Brunner et al. disclose a formulation for transdermal delivery of one or more buffering agents through the skin of a subject, comprising: a buffering agent comprising at least one carbonate salt, lysine, tris, a phosphate buffer and/or 2-imidazole-1-yl-3-ethoxycarbonylpropionic acid (IEPA), or a combination thereof in an amount between about 10 % - 56 % w/w (claim 1); wherein the carbonate salt is sodium bicarbonate (claim 15). Examples Brunner et al. show sodium bicarbonate at 35 wt. % (e.g., Tables 10 and 11), 32 wt. % (e.g., Table 28) and 30 wt. % (e.g., Table 36) to read on the claimed amount from about 5 % - 45 % w/w sodium bicarbonate and/or sodium carbonate. While the concentration of sodium bicarbonate in the past of Abrahmsohn et al. is shown as about 46.8 % to 55 % (w/w) in Figure 1, which is outside the claimed 5 % - 45 %, such differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence that shows that the range of percentages are critical to the invention.
Regarding the treating the viral infection or reducing the sign or the symptom thereof or reducing the risk of contracting the viral infection, as mentioned above, combining the disclosure of Brunner et al. that nutrients are supplied in effective amounts, locally or systemically with the sodium bicarbonate and the teachings of Abrahmsohn et al. that sodium bicarbonate and formulations thereof facilitate improved anti-viral outcomes, one skilled in the art would be motivated to utilize such methods comprising identifying a subject with a viral infection or at risk of viral infection and topically administering to the subject’s skin a transdermal formulation containing sodium bicarbonate and/or sodium carbonate.
Regarding instant claim 38 (i.e., penetrant portion), Brunner et al. disclose a penetrant portion in an amount between about 44 % to 90 % w/w (claim 1) to read on the claimed amount between about 5 % - 55 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 38 (i.e., detergent portion), Brunner et al. disclose wherein the penetrant portion (i.e., 44 to 90 % w/w) further comprises a detergent portion in an amount between about 1 to 70 % w/w (claim 2). Here Brunner et al. teach a detergent portion between about 0.5 % to about 63 % which overlaps with the claimed amount between about 1 % to 15 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 38 (i.e., water), Brunner et al. disclose wherein the penetrant portion (i.e., 44 to 90 % w/w) comprises water in an amount less than about 85 % w/w (claim 1) to teach an amount between about 38 % to 76 % of the formulation and provide examples showing water at 56.00 % ([0240], Table 40) to read on the claimed amount between about 15 % to 65 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 39, Brunner et al. teach the buffering agent as one carbonate salt (claim 1) in an amount between about 10 - 36 % w/w of the formulation (claim 3) wherein the carbonate salt is sodium bicarbonate (claim 15) to read on the sodium bicarbonate is at a concentration from about 30 % to about 35 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
Regarding instant claim 40 as mentioned above, Brunner et al. in view of Abrahmsohn et al. teach sodium bicarbonate in a transdermal formulation (Brunner claim 1, Abrahmsohn Fig. 1). Regarding the claimed method of treating the viral infection or reducing the sign or the symptom thereof or reducing the risk of contracting the viral infection, the teachings of Brunner et al. that nutrients are supplied in effective amounts, locally or systemically with the sodium bicarbonate and the teachings of Abrahmsohn et al. that sodium bicarbonate and formulations thereof facilitate improved anti-viral outcomes, one skilled in the art would be motivated to utilize such methods comprising identifying a subject with a viral infection or at risk of viral infection and topically administering to the subject’s skin a transdermal formulation containing sodium bicarbonate and/or sodium carbonate.
Regarding instant claim 40 (i.e., isopropyl palmitate, benzyl alcohol, stearic acid, deionized water), Brunner et al. teach isopropyl palmitate at 12.00 wt. % to read on the claimed 5 % to 20 %; benzyl alcohol at 1.00 wt. % to read on the claimed 0.5 % to 5 %; stearic acid at 2.00 wt.% to read on the claimed from 0.5 % to 5 %; deionized water ([0224] Example 1) and 20.00 wt. % of water in a formulation to read on the claimed deionized water at a concentration from about 20 % to about 80 % ([0242], Table 11).
Regarding instant claim 40 (i.e., safflower oil and oleic acid), Brunner et al. teach oleic acid as a suitable fatty acid that may be used in some embodiments ([0041]). Brunner et al. teach almond oil as being present between about 0.5 - 10 % w/w ([0178]). Both safflower oil and almond oil contain oleic acid. It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute one plant based oil, i.e., almond oil, taught by Brunner et al. with the specific safflower oil and oleic acid at the 0.5-10 % concentration range taught by Brunner et al., to fall within or overlap with the percent weight ranges claimed for safflower oil (i.e., 1 % to 6 %) and oleic acid (i.e., 0.5 % to 2 %) w/w of the transdermal formulation. Simple substitution of one commonly used natural ingredient containing oleic acid for another is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results. MPEP 2144.05(II.)(A.) states that generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Regarding instant claim 41 (i.e., sodium bicarbonate or sodium carbonate, as mentioned above the is present in the examples of Brunner et al. to include 35 wt. % (e.g., Tables 10 and 11), 32 wt. % (e.g., Table 28) and 30 wt. % (e.g., Table 36) to read on the sodium bicarbonate is at a concentration from about 30 % to about 35 % w/w of the transdermal formulation.
2. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US2019/0083386A1) in view of Abrahmsohn (WO2015/038788A1) with evidence from Goldman and Prabhakar (Immunology Overview, Medical Microbiology 4th ed. 1996), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13, 15, 18, 20, 23, 29 and 38-41 above, further in view of Galarza (WO 2016/210127 A1).
The above teachings of Brunner, Abrahmsohn, Goldman and Prabhakar are incorporated herein. Brunner and Abrahmsohn do not teach dengue (elected species).
Galarza et al. disclose flavivirus virus-like particles (VLPs) that display on their surfaces antigenic flavivirus proteins with methods of making and using these VLPs (abstract, claim 1). Galarza discloses VLPs wherein the flavivirus is dengue (claim 4). The creation and production of virus-like particle (VLP) based vaccines (e.g., for dengue) as well as its use for diagnostic and therapeutic indications are taught ([0003]). Strategies and methods used for the development of novel monovalent or multivalent vaccines that are able to protect humans against infection with one or more clades or antigenic variants of the flavivirus (dengue) viruses are provided ([0003]). After purification with the appropriate buffers and additives, concentration, and formulation, the VLPs and compositions comprising these VLPs can be administered to a subject by any mode of delivery, including, for example, transdermal or transcutaneous, to induce an immune response to protect against dengue, antigenic variants or serotypes ([0003], [0118], [0125]). VLP production and purification with the employment of buffering agents (e.g., phosphate, TN buffer (i.e., Tris-HCl)) are also taught ([0143]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the VLP taught by Galarza et al. in the method and composition of Brunner et al. and Abrahmsohn et al. with expected results. One would be motivated to do so with an expectation of success because Galarza et al. provide a way to develop a safe and effective dengue vaccine while preventing antibody-dependent enhancement (ADE) of disease that may result in potentially fatal Dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF) and Dengue shock syndrome (DSS) (pg. 46, line 18). Adjuvants to include oil-in-water emulsion formulations and formulations containing pluronic-blocked polymer (i.e., poloxamer) taught by Galarza et al. ([0120]) indicate a significant enhancement in terms of immune response ([0135]) which strongly suggests the reduction in risk of contracting a viral infection while mitigating safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments are based on newly amended limitations which have been addressed by the new grounds of rejection above.
For these reasons, Applicants’ arguments are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
All claims under consideration remain rejected; no claims are allowed. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Karen A Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614