Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crnogorac et al. (USPGPub 2017/0001165) in view of Chang et al. (USPGPub 2012/0258487) and Kanefuni et al. (JP2003-11850).
Regarding claims 11-13, Crnogorac teaches that it is known to place a wafer on the center of a spin chuck [0005] wherein thereafter a lid dispenser is lowered overall the wafer on the platform [0051] thereby forming a reaction chamber [0052] and thereafter dispersing a liquid reagent on the surface of the wafer wherein the wafer is centered on the chuck [0060] and would tend to stary centered on the chuck due to the vacuum forces employed. The teachings of Crgornac are as shown above. Crgornac fails to teach the presence of three or more adjustment pins attached to the lid configured to adjust the position of the lid relative to the wafer. However, it should be noted that Crgornac teaches the presence of two support columns that are intended to perform the function described [0061] wherein the addition of a third support column would merely be a duplication of the part of Crgornac wherein the Court has long held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) Crnogorac further fails to teach transferring the wafer thereafter to a UV aligner thereafter. However, Chang teaches that after the deposition of layers onto wafers via spin-coating they are patterned by a UV exposure contact mask aligner through a photolithography mylar mask [0176]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art steps of spin-coating a wafer of Crnogorac and performing UV alignment and photolithography on a wafer of Chang according to known methods wherein each process would merely perform the same process that is performed by that process independently when the processes are combined and wherein the results of the combination would have been predictable based upon the teachings of Chang. The teachings of Crnogorac in view of Chang are as shown above. Crnogorac in view of Chang fails to teach wherein the substrate is transported to different location during the process.
However, Kanefuni teaches that it is known to transport both substrates and masks within lithography/aligner systems using robots [0015-0020] as part of the manufacturing process. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the substrates and masks of Crnogorac in view of Chang using robots as in Kanefuni in order to allow for automation of the movement process with precision and the avoidance of exposure to humans that may introduce impurities into the process. Further Kanefuni teaches that multiple circuit patterns may be formed on the same wafer by repeating the pre- and post-processing steps [0200-0208] that are also generally taught by Crnogorac in view of Chang. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to repeat the general processing steps of Crnogorac in view of Chang as guided by Kanefuni in order to provide multiple circuit patterns on the same wafer. Further it noted that repeating the process steps would require re-centering the wafer during the coating step as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, it is noted that in addition to spin-coating, Crnogorac further teaches wherein the coating materials may be spread by surface tension (abstract) instead of centrifugal force, reasonably implying that the fluids are allowed to spread on their own versus be spread under the forces related to rotation.
Regarding claim 15, the masks of Kanefuni are transported between storage and use by AGVs [0028-0034].
Regarding claim 16, the teachings of Crnogorac in view of Chang and Kanefuni are as shown above. Crnogorac in view of Chang and Kanefuni fails to teach wherein the dimensions of the width of the reaction chamber are as claimed. However, the Court has long held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 17, Crnogorac further teaches wherein the reagent applied is a phosphoramidite agent [0016].
Regarding claim 18, Crnogorac further teaches wherein an inert gas is employed inside the formed chamber [0020].
Regarding claim 19, in a scenario wherein the reagents of Crnogorac are spread by surface tension then the application of the inert gas would reasonably be applied wherein the substrate is not spinning as well.
Regarding claim 20, Crnogorac further teaches that computers or microprocessors are generally employed to control operations within his invention [0051]. Further Kanefuni teaches that his systems are AGVs implying automation. As such, there was knowledge in the prior art along with means to automate the steps provided wherein further the Court has long held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Response to Arguments
The applicants’ arguments are primarily drawn to newly provided claim amendments provided herein wherein said claim amendments have been addressed in the newly provided reasons for rejection provided above based on the same art.
Further, the applicant argues that Crgornac fails to teach the use of a spin chuck, but it is noted herein that as cited above, Crgornac does teach a chuck that reads upon the limitations of the chuck claimed herein. Further, although Crgornac does not teach using three or more adjustment pins as claimed, Crgornac does teach the use of two wherein the use of three would be legally obvious in view of In re Harza as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717