DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 06/02/2025, 9/15/2025, and 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant also elected the species for the composition form to be a powder (dry, lyophilized powder), the organic base to be metformin, and the disease species to be diabetic nephropathy the examination. Upon review, the species for the composition form is expanded to include tablets, the organic base is expanded to include choline, the disease species is expanded to include diabetes and hyperuricemia and metabolic syndrome along with its symptoms including obesity and hyperglycemia (i.e. elevated fasting plasma glucose).
Priority
This application repeats a substantial portion of prior Application No. 14776905 filed 03/17/2014, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application wherein the instant application is a continuation-in-part of the prior application.
The instant claims recites a method of treating a disease/condition associated with increased expression of xanthine oxidase enzyme or increased activity of xanthine oxidase enzyme or elevated uric acid levels or a combination thereof in a patient, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a xanthine oxidase inhibitor and an organic base, and optionally a pharmaceutical carrier with a molar ratio of oxypurinol to organic base of about 1:1-about 1:10 with 50-1000mg of oxypurinol and the organic base is optionally lysine, arginine, choline or metformin or a combination thereof. The content for the organic base to possibly include metformin was not previously present in the prior application wherein the priority date of these claims is given the filing date of the instant application of 09/15/2015.
Status of Application
Applicant has elected Group II in response to restriction requirement and elected the species for the composition form to be a powder (dry, lyophilized powder), the organic base to be metformin, and the disease species to be diabetic nephropathy the examination. Upon review, the species for the composition form is expanded to include tablets, the organic base is expanded to include choline, the disease species is expanded to include diabetes and hyperuricemia and metabolic syndrome along with its symptoms including obesity and hyperglycemia (i.e. elevated fasting plasma glucose.
Due to restriction, based on election of Group II and species elections above, claims 1-8, 19-24 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 9-18 are present for examination at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claim and its dependent claims is directed to the method of treatment with a composition comprising a xanthine oxidase inhibitor and an organic base, and optionally a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; wherein (i) the molar ratio of oxypurinol to organic base is about 1:1-to about 1:10; and (ii) the composition comprises 50mg -1000mg of oxypurinol, wherein the organic base is optionally, lysine, arginine, choline or metformin or a combination thereof. This is indefinite as the claims do not recite what the xanthine oxidase inhibitor is wherein it is unclear if the oxypurinol is the xanthine oxidase inhibitor or if there is a separate xanthine oxidase inhibitor in addition to the oxypurinol. It is also unclear as the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention (i.e. the organic base is optionally, lysine, arginine, choline or metformin or a combination thereof”). It does not allow one of skill in the art to ascertain the metes and bounds of the invention. For purposes of examination it is treated to the species addressed above.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim is indefinite as it recites that the administered composition “is disposed in a bottle, container or sachet or gelatin capsule, of any combination both powdered preparation for mixing with water by the user in one two or more containers to make a liquid formulation”; wherein it is unclear what is meant by “gelatin capsule, of any combination both powdered preparation for mixing with water….” – what is “of any combination both powdered preparation for mixing with water”? What are the both powdered preparation for mixing? It does not allow one to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 13-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plouvier et al. (WO 2006/083687).
The claims are so broad as to read upon the following prior art.
Rejection:
Plouvier et al. teaches treating conditions including diabetes and kidney disease and hyperuricemia, with the administration of a crystalline choline salt of oxypurinol (molar ratio of 1:1 oxypurinol to choline, claims 19-20). The composition forms administered for the method include a powder, tablet, sachet (claim 19 and 10). The composition can contain various excipients including citric acid (antioxidant).
All the critical elements are taught by the cited reference and thus the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plouvier et al. (WO 2006/083687) as applied to claims 9, 13-16, 18 above.
Rejection:
The teachings of Plouvier et al. are addressed above
Plouvier et al. does not claim or exemplify the inclusion of citric acid but does teach its inclusion.
Wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to exemplify the taught/claimed method of treatment with the oxypurinol choline salt with excipients in the composition such as citric acid with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plouvier et al. (WO 2006/083687) as applied to claims 9, 13-16, 18 above, in view of Winfield (Powders and granules).
The teachings of Plouvier et al. are addressed above.
Plouvier et al. does not recite the type/size of the powder or a container for the powder but does teach the composition form administered to include powders.
Winfield teaches that powders (dry) are known to have standard particle size descriptions where they would normally be “moderately fine” or a “fine" powder where they would pass through a nominal mess aperture of 355um and 180um respectively (both micronized size dry powder, Particle size). Winfield also teaches that the powder can be placed in containers like glass or plastic, and in sachet (Containers for internal powders).
Wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have powders in its known size and place the powder in containers/sachets as suggested by Winfield and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to have powders in its conventional size and place powders in its conventional packaging with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 9-10, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melani et al. (WO 2011/141419) in view of Jenkins et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2010/0160351).
Rejection:
Melani et al. teaches treating conditions including metabolic syndrome and diabetes (exemplified models, Page 8-10) and the hyperglycemia associated with the condition (including fasting plasma glucose) with the administration of a composition comprising a xanthine oxidase inhibitor and biguanide (abstract, Page 8, Page 2 line 26-Page 3 line 3, Page 4 line 2-9). Metabolic syndrome manifestations also include obesity (Page 7 line 4-5). The xanthine oxidase inhibitor can be febuxostat and the biguanide can be metformin (Page 2 line 26-35, Page 3 line 25-Page 4 line 9 and line 16-21).
The xanthine oxidase inhibitor can be from 10-200mg per dose and metformin is from 100-1500mg dose, and the dose is known to lowered or raised according to the response and assessment of the patient (Page 7 line 7-24). Composition forms include powders, granules, and tablets (Page 4 line 37- Page 5 line 13 line 30-32, Page 5 line 36-Page 6 line 14). The powder can also be used for reconstitution for injectable solutions/dispersions (Page 6 line 6-8). Excipients include sodium citrate (an antioxidant, Page 5 line 13-15) and bentonite (an antioxidant, Page 5 line 23, see full document specifically areas cited).
Melani et al. does not recite the inclusion of oxypurinol but does teach the inclusion of xanthine oxidase inhibitors like febuxostat.
Jenkins et al. teaches that known xanthine oxidase inhibitors include allopurinol, febuxostat, oxypurinol, tisopurine or an inositol (claim 6).
Wherein it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate oxypurinol into the composition for administration as suggested by Jenkins et al. and produced the claimed invention; as simple substitution of one known xanthine oxidase inhibitor for another is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the specifically claimed xanthine oxidase inhibitor. It would also be prima facie obvious to optimize within the taught ranges for the amount of xanthine oxidase inhibitors and metformin to arrive at the claimed ratio (xanthine oxidase inhibitor from 10-200mg (about 0.07-about 1.32 mole oxypurinol) and metformin is from 100-1500mg (about 0.77-about 11.61 mole metformin), molar ratio with oxypurinol to metformin is from 1:0.58-1:165.86) absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melani et al. (WO 2011/141419) in view of Jenkins et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2010/0160351) as applied to claims 9-10, 13-18 above, further in view of Winfield (Powders and granules).
The teaching of Melani et al. in view of Jenkins et al. are addressed above.
Melani et al. in view of Jenkins et al. does not recite the type/size of the powder or a container for the powder but does teach the composition form administered to include powders.
Winfield teaches that powders (dry) are known to have standard particle size descriptions where they would normally be “moderately fine” or a “fine” powder where they would pass through a nominal mesh aperture of 355um and 180um respectively (both micronized size dry powder, Particle size). Winfield also teaches that the powder can be placed in containers like glass or plastic, and in sachet (Containers for internal powders).
Wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have powders in its known size and place the powder in containers/sachets as suggested by Winfield and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to have powders in its conventional size and place powders in its conventional packaging with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 9, 11-12, 14-18 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 9, 11-12, 14-18 of copending Application No. 19102611 (reference application).
The copending claim recites the same method with the same composition form wherein the copending claim is obvious over the instant claims.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 19102611 (reference application).
The copending claim recites the same method with the same composition form wherein the copending claim is obvious over the instant claims.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9-10, 13-16, 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/722330 in view of Melani et al. (WO 2011/141419).
The copending claim is directed to a method of treating kidney disease progression comprising administering a xanthine oxidase inhibitor comprising oxypurinol and an organic base such as biguanide.
The copending claim does not recite the amount of oxypurinol or the ratio to the biguanide, or the composition form.
Melani et al. teaches that the combination of a xanthine oxidase inhibitor and biguanide for treating conditions is known (abstract, Page 8, Page 2 line 26-Page 3 line 3, Page 4 line 2-9). The biguanide can be metformin (Page 2 line 26-35, Page 3 line 25-Page 4 line 9 and line 16-21) and the xanthine oxidase inhibitor can be from 10-200mg per dose and metformin is from 100-1500mg dose, and the dose is known to lowered or raised according to the response and assessment of the patient (Page 7 line 7-24). Composition forms include powders, granules, and tablets (Page 4 line 37- Page 5 line 13 line 30-32, Page 5 line 36-Page 6 line 14). The powder can also be used for reconstitution for injectable solutions/dispersions (Page 6 line 6-8). Excipients include sodium citrate (an antioxidant, Page 5 line 13-15) and bentonite (an antioxidant, Page 5 line 23).
Wherein it would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate oxypurinol along with the biguanide metformin into the composition for administration at their known ranges as suggested by Melani et al. and produced the claimed invention; as the inclusion of the active at its known therapeutic range is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the specifically claimed amount. It would also be prima facie obvious to optimize within the taught ranges for the amount of xanthine oxidase inhibitors and metformin to arrive at the claimed ratio (xanthine oxidase inhibitor from 10-200mg (about 0.07-about 1.32 mole oxypurinol) and metformin is from 100-1500mg (about 0.77-about 11.61 mole metformin), molar ratio with oxypurinol to metformin is from 1:0.58-1:165.86) absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/722330 in view of Melani et al. (WO 2011/141419) as applied to claims 9-10, 13-16, 18 above, further in view of Winfield (Powders and granules).
The teachings of the copending claim in view of Melani et al. are addressed above.
The copending claim in view of Melani et al. does not recite the type/size of the powder or a container for the powder but does teach the composition form administered to include powders.
Winfield teaches that powders (dry) are known to have standard particle size descriptions where they would normally be “moderately fine” or a “fine" powder where they would pass through a nominal mess aperture of 355um and 180um respectively (both micronized size dry powder, Particle size). Winfield also teaches that the powder can be placed in containers like glass or plastic, and in sachet (Containers for internal powders).
Wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have powders in its known size and place the powder in containers/sachets as suggested by Winfield and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to have powders in its conventional size and place powders in its conventional packaging with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 9-18 are rejected.
/GIGI G HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613