DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Each of Figures 15-23 shows letters printed on shaded surfaces. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(3).
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: undefined abbreviation.
CLAIM 5 On line 7, define the abbreviation “PID.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. (DE 11 2013 003 233 T5) in view of Sauder et al. (US 2014/0124225 A1).
CLAIM 1 Hahn et al. ‘233 (“Hahn”) discloses a control system for use with a force-implementing weight transfer system (50) adapted to adjust weight transfer along a row planter tool bar (22, 29) having a center section (22) flanked by a left wing section (Fig. 2, left tool bar section equivalent of element 29) and a right wing section (29), each section supporting a plurality of row planter units (34), the control system comprising:
a feedback controller (56) comprising a set of inputs and a set of outputs;
a set of actuators comprising:
a left wing actuator (52) anchored on the center section (22) of the tool bar and connected to the left wing section (Fig. 2) and adapted to exert a force on the left wing section; and
a right wing actuator (52) anchored on the center section of the tool bar and connected to the right wing section (Fig. 2) and adapted to exert a force on the right wing section; and
a set of wing sensors (58, 60, 62, 64) comprising a left wing sensor and a right wing sensor1, the set of sensors being connected to the feedback controller (56) and adapted to sense positions of the left and right wing sections relative to the center section and generate a set of sensed position information;
wherein the feedback controller (56) receives the set of sensed position information and generates a set of control signals adapted to control operation of the set of actuators (52)2.
Hahn fails to teach expressly the feedback controller (56) embodied as a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller. Sauder et al. ‘225 (“Sauder”) discloses a control system (1300, Fig. 13) for use with a force-implementing weight transfer system (1310) comprising a PID controller (1302, ¶¶ 0092-93). It would have been an obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the feedback controller (Hahn, 56) of the prior art control system (Hahn) such that it would have been embodied as a PID controller (Sauder, 1302), as suggested by Sauder. The motivation for making the modification would have been to use a controller “known in the art to ensure timely correction while avoiding overcorrection” (Sauder, ¶¶ 0092-93), and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
Hahn fails to teach row planter actuators and row planter sensors. Sauder teaches the control system (1300, Figs. 13-15) further comprises:
a set of row planter actuators (32) operatively connected to row planter units (1400) via a set of linkages (14) and adapted to exert a force (30) on the row planter units relative to the ground; and
a set of row planter sensors (1362 and 1364, collectively) disposed on the set of linkages3 and adapted to sense the relative orientation of a respective row planter unit (1400) relative to the ground and a tool bar (520) and generate a set of sensed row planter unit position information (¶ 0078);
wherein the PID-based controller (1302) receives position information relating to the toolbar (520) of an implement frame (200) and the set of sensed row planter unit position information and generates a set of control signals adapted to control operation of the set of actuators (32) based thereon (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the prior art control system further with the additions of row planter actuators (Sauder, 32) and row planter sensors (Sauder, 1362, 1364) having the functionalities and connections to the PID controller (Sauder, 1302) disclosed by Sauder. The motivation for making the modification would have been to include means for assessing the weight of the planter row units, thereby improving the accuracy of the control system with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 2 In the combination of Hahn and Sauder, the control system further comprises a set of control equipment (Hahn, 244; and Sauder, 1305, 1307, 1309) adapted to receive the set of control signals and control a supply of a power source connected to the set of actuators (Hahn, 52; Sauder, 428).
CLAIM 3 In the combination of Hahn and Sauder, the power source is one from a group consisting of pneumatic source, electric source, and hydraulic source (Hahn; Sauder, ¶ 0058)4.
CLAIM 4 In the combination of Hahn and Sauder, the set of sensors (Hahn, 58, 60, 62, 64) comprises a set of angle sensors (Hahn, “level sensor 62”) adapted to sense an angle of a linkage mechanism relative to a control reference.
CLAIM 5 The combination of Hahn and Sauder, as applied above to claims 1 and 2, teaches all of the limitations recited therein. Additionally, both Hahn and Sauder show first and second bracket assemblies (Hahn, Fig. 12; Sauder, Figs. 1C and 5A).
CLAIM 6 The combination of Hahn and Sauder, as applied above to claim 3, teaches all of the limitations recited therein.
Comments
Claims 2-6, as presented in the response filed 08 October 2025, lack status identifiers that are required by 37 C.F.R. §1.121. Applicant is advised that any future response, which lacks status identifiers and/or proper markings to show amended text, will be held non-compliant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections of the Claims Over Cited Prior Art
CLAIM 1 Applicant argues the combination of Hahn and Sauder fails to teach planter row unit actuators and sensors connected to the PID controller. The examiner concludes the newly added limitations are obvious in view of Sauder (Figs. 13-15), as applied above in the rejection of claim 1.
CLAIMS 2-6 Applicant fails to present separate arguments for the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/tm/
26 January 2026
1 On page 3 of 35 in the attached translation, Hahn teaches, “It is a further object, feature and / or advantage of the present invention to provide a control system that allows an operator to adjust the size of the downward force applied to the wings based on information obtained by sensors on the tool bars, wings and row units.”
2 On page 6 of 35 in the attached translation, Hahn teaches, “The intelligent controller 56 receives data from the plurality of sensors and uses this data to those from the cylinders 52.”
3 In paragraph 0078, Sauder teaches an orientation sensor embodied as a rotary potentiometer (1362) “coupled to a follower arm 1364 configured to rollingly contact an upper surface of a parallel arm 14.”
4 On page 9 of 35 in the attached translation, Hahn teaches, ” The cylinders may be electric cylinders, pneumatic cylinders, hydraulic cylinders or the like.”