DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed 6 March 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the argument does not specifically challenge the new references (YOKOYAMA and GOYAL, cited below) used in the rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a virtual platform stratus (VPS)” in claims 1, 4, 7, 11, and 18, “telemetry database” in claims 3, and 17, “virtual network interface (VNI)“ in claims 8, and 9, “secure virtual fabric (SVF)” in claims 11, and 14, “coarsely grained programmable elements” in claim 13, “programmable signal connectivity element” in claim 13, “secure logic elements” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0352399 A1 (hereafter YOKOYAMA) in view of GOYAL et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0308408 A1 (hereafter GOYAL).
Regarding claim 1, YOKOYAMA teaches the invention substantially as claimed, including:
A system for virtualizing communication channels between one or more hardware components and a controller, the system comprising:
a first controller ([0039] The processor units CPU1 and CPU2 (i.e., together or separately, represent a “first controller”) perform predetermined arithmetic operation processing which is based on a program) implemented in a reconfigurable hardware device (RHD) ([0038] FIG. 3 is a block diagram schematically illustrating one configurational example of the semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000 with the memory macro MEMU being loaded. The semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000 is an LSI that various logic circuits and memory circuits are formed in one semiconductor chip and is called a microcontroller unit (MCU), a microprocessor unit (MPU), an SOC (System On a Chip) and so forth (i.e., semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000, as a system on a chip, represents a ”reconfigurable hardware device”)); and
a…platform stratus…having a [port] for electrically coupling with the first controller and the one or more hardware components and receiving one or more first electrical signals therefrom ([0039] The input-output interface unit IOU acts as an input-output interface (i.e., “port”) between the semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000 and the outside (i.e., IOU represents at least part of a “platform stratus” because it electrically couples CPU1 and CPU2 to external hardware sensor components, including temperature, or pressure sensors as described below)), and wherein the [platform stratus] is configured to:
generate one or more data frames from the one or more first electrical signals; and convert the data frames into one or more second electrical signals to send to the first controller, the one or more hardware components, or combinations thereof, in an electrical form that is native to the first controller or the one or more hardware components wherein the electrical form of each of the one or more first electrical signals and each of the one or more second electrical signals is at least one of a first analog signal or a first digital signal ([0039] The analog/digital conversion unit ADC converts, for example, sense data (in the form of analog signals) which is output from a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor and so forth which are attached to an in-vehicle engine into digital data. The digital data so converted is stored into, for example, the memory unit MEMU and is then transferred to the processor units CPU1 and CPU2 and is processed by the processor units CPU1 and CPU2 (i.e., analog signals represent a first electrical signal in a first (analog) form, which is received from the sensors, converted into digital data packets or “frames”, and transmitted, as a second electrical signal in a second (digital) form, to the CPUs (controllers) for processing)).
While YOKOYAMA discusses a platform stratus implemented by a system on a chip that couples a controller and hardware components via an interface, YOKOYAMA does not explicitly teach:
a virtual platform stratus (VPS) having a plurality of input/output (I/0) ports
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses operations of a system on a chip, GOYAL teaches:
a virtual platform stratus (VPS) having a plurality of input/output (I/0) ports ([0054] The processor device may be used in a wide variety of networking and storage equipment, including routers, switches, security appliances, content-aware switches, triple-play gateways, aggregation devices and gateways, storage arrays, storage networking equipment, and servers, or any other suitable apparatus or system that may benefit from virtualization. According to embodiments disclosed herein, a VSoC of a processor device (i.e., a processor device that provides a VSoC represents a “virtual platform stratus”) may utilize resources allocated to the VSoC based on a resource alignment that defines which resources are allocated for use by which VSoC of the processor device. The resources may include processing cores, memories, caches, input/output (I/O) ports, I/O devices, hardware accelerators, operating systems, software applications, or any other suitable resource that may be utilized by a VSoC.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined GOYAL’s teaching of a processor device providing a virtual system on a chip with multiple I/O ports, with YOKOYAMA’s teaching of a platform providing a system on a chip with an I/O port, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system having a platform that couples controller processors with hardware components via ports, as in YOKOYAMA, wherein the platform is a virtual platform stratus providing a virtual system on a chip and provides multiple ports, as in GOYAL. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to leverage cloud based resources that allow for improved flexibility and cost.
Regarding claim 2, GOYAL further teaches:
the first controller is implemented as a virtual System-on-Chip (vSoC) instance ([0054] The processor device may be used in a wide variety of networking and storage equipment, including routers, switches, security appliances, content-aware switches, triple-play gateways, aggregation devices and gateways, storage arrays, storage networking equipment, and servers, or any other suitable apparatus or system that may benefit from virtualization. According to embodiments disclosed herein, a VSoC of a processor device may utilize resources allocated to the VSoC based on a resource alignment that defines which resources are allocated for use by which VSoC of the processor device).
Regarding claim 3, GOYAL further teaches:
a telemetry database that includes a table for mapping each of the plurality of I/0 ports with an identifier of a hardware component type ([0097] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 400 of another example embodiment of a resource alignment 408. The resource alignment 408 may be a resource alignment table (i.e., “telemetry database”)) that includes a plurality of entries 460a-460n that each associate a unique virtual system on chip identifier 462 with a resource identifier 408. For example the plurality of entries 460a-460n may associate the unique virtual system on chip identifiers 466a-466n with the resource identifiers 468a-468n, respectively (i.e., I/O ports represent hardware resources represented by resource identifiers 468a-468n that are associated with corresponding virtual I/O ports associated with virtual on chip identifiers 466a-466n of the VSoC )).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of SHELLHAMMER et al. Pub. No.: US 2019/0247618 A1 (hereafter SHELLHAMMER)
SHELLHAMMER was cited previously
Regarding claim 4, while YOKOYAMA and GOYAL discusses input and output of signals, YOKOYAMA and GOYAL does not explicitly teach:
the one or more hardware components are configured to output one or more signals, and wherein the VPS is configured to convert a second analog signal to the second digital signal and generate the data frames from the second digital signal.
However, in analogous art, SHELLHAMMER teaches:
the one or more hardware components are configured to output one or more signals, and wherein the VPS is configured to convert an analog signal to a digital signal and generate the data frames from the digital signal ([0062] AFE 502 may include circuitries configured to receive sensor signals transmitted by sensor 208 (i.e., “hardware components”) and to perform analog signal conditioning operations on the receive signals. The signal conditioning operations may include, for example, amplification, filtering, etc. Signal processing circuit 504 may generate a digital representation of the sensor signals processed by AFE 502. For example, signal processing circuit 504 may include an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) to sample and quantize the sensor signals into a series of digital values (i.e., converting analog signals into digital signals). Signal processing circuit 504 may also perform additional processing such as generating data frames including the digital values and other information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined SHELLHAMMER’s teaching of receiving signals from hardware, converting those signals from analog to digital, and generating the data frame from the digital signal, with YOKOYAMA and GOYAL’s teaching of receiving signals from hardware and generating data frames, to realize with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that receives an incoming signal from a hardware device, and in order to generate a data frame, as in YOKOYAMA and GOYAL, it converts the signal from analog to digital. As in SHELLHAMMER. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to enable reception of data from more types of hardware.
Regarding claim 5, SHELLHAMMER further teaches:
any of the one or more hardware components is configured to convert the second analog signal to the second digital signal and convert the second digital signal into any supported standard ([0058] Monitoring system 302 may transmit wireless signals including control data (e.g., to initiate the wireless transmission of sensor data, to set the wireless transmission frequency, etc. at wireless guidewire 200) using a frequency of 915 MHz, which can be a frequency within the Industrial, Scientific, and Medical (ISM) radio frequency band (i.e., this is a transmission “standard”). Monitoring system 302, or a standalone wireless power transmitter (not shown in FIG. 3) may also transmit the 915 MHz wireless signals with a high signal power to deliver electric power to wireless guidewire 200. On the other hand, monitoring system 302 may receive the sensor data from wireless guidewire 200 at a frequency of 403 MHz, which can be a frequency within the Medical Implant Communication Service (MICS) 402-405 MHz frequency band, to avoid interference by the much stronger 915 MHz wireless signals).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of DEVILBISS et al. Patent No.: US 9,473,400 B1 (hereafter DEVILBISS).
DEVILBISS was cited previously.
Regarding claim 6, while YOKOYAMA, and GOYAL discusses use of a controller VNIC, YOKOYAMA and GOYAL does not explicitly teach:
a second controller, the second controller being configured as a same type as the first controller for redundancy.
However, in analogous art, DEVILBISS teaches:
a second controller, the second controller being configured as a same type as the first controller for redundancy ([Column 7, Lines 26-33] A method 600 is preferably performed by the VNIC server failover mechanism, which could include 125 in FIG. 1, 470 in FIG. 4, and 510 in FIG. 5. The prioritized VNIC server list is defined (step 610). This list may include any suitable number of VNIC servers (i.e., at least a “second controller”), but most preferably includes two or more to provide the redundancy of having a backup VNIC server in case the currently-selected VNIC server stops working (i.e., the configurations of backup VNICs are the same so as to provide the same service when switched to upon failover)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined DEVILBISS’s teaching of redundant VNIC controllers, with YOKOYAMA, and GOYAL’s teaching of a VNIC controller that sends and receives data frames, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that sends and receives data frame via a VNIC controller, as in YOKOYAMA, and has at least a second VNIC controller redundant to the first VNIC controller, as in DEVILBISS and GOYAL. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to provide continuous data transmission during a failover event of a first VNIC controller.
Regarding claim 7, DEVILBISS further teaches:
the VPS is configured to send the one or more data frames to the second controller based on a fault occurring with the first controller ([Column 7, Lines 52-57] When the hypervisor detects a problem in a VNIC server (step 810=YES), the VNIC server is marked as inactive (step 860). When the inactive VNIC server is the currently-selected VNIC server (step 870=YES), a switch is made to the next VNIC server on the prioritized VNIC server list (step 872) (i.e., switching to the redundant VNIC server routes data frames to the redundant VNIC server)).
Claims 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of THOTA et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0381578 A1 (hereafter THOTA), in view of MEHROTRA et al. Pub. No.: US 9,940,241 B1 (hereafter MEHROTRA).
THOTA and MEHROTRA was cited previously.
Regarding claim 8, while YOKOYAMA and GOYAL discusses a virtual network interface card, YOKOYAMA and GOYAL does not explicitly teach:
a virtual network interface (VNI) using a point- to-point messaging between authorized endpoints, wherein:
the VNI ensures that the system can only process messages to and from other components that are authorized by the system, and
the VNI converts arbitrary communications from a plurality of protocols into the point-to- point messaging.
However, in analogous art, THOTA teaches:
a virtual network interface (VNI) using a point- to-point messaging between authorized endpoints, wherein: the VNI ensures that the system can only process messages to and from other components that are authorized by the system ([0183] When a GVM is booted-up or is migrated to this host, the encryptor is added to the chain of I/O operations for appropriate VNICs. The encryptor gathers the details from the VNIC (i.e., implementing a “virtual network interface”) and logical switch and send the LinkUP message to the encryption agent. The encryptor set 215 then asks the encryption agent 360 for key information when it receives a GVM message that is sent from the booted-up GVM to another GVM (i.e., communications between VNIC endpoints of two GVMs represent “point-to-point” messaging). In response, the encryption agent 360 asks the LPN controller to authenticate the endpoint (i.e., to authenticate the VNIC of the GVM), and provide key manager credentials and the lookup tables. Upon receiving key manager credentials and the lookup tables, the encryption agent 360 contacts the key manager specified by the LPN controller and obtains the needed key. The encryption agent then passes the requested key(s) to the encryptor set 215 (e.g., in a lookup table that includes the key(s))),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined THOTA’s teaching of a VNIC that ensures messages are transmitted between authorized endpoints using point to point messaging, with YOKOYAMA and GOYAL’s teaching of a VNIC that facilitates communication between endpoints, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system having a VNIC, as in YOKOYAMA and GOYAL, that ensures messages are transmitted between authorized endpoints using point to point messaging as in THOTA. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination so to improve security when transmitting between endpoints.
While YOKOYAMA, GOYAL and THOTA discuss operations of a VNIC in facilitating secure point-to-point communications, YOKOYAMA, GOYAL and THOTA does not explicitly teach:
the VNI converts arbitrary communications from a plurality of protocols into the point-to- point messaging.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses operations of a NIC, MEHROTRA teaches:
the [NIC] converts arbitrary communications from a plurality of protocols ([Column 5, Lines 40-53] The I/O interface circuits 112-1 to 112-4 provide high-speed connections between the external network 104 (e.g., InfiniBand, Fibre Channel, and/or Ethernet) and the first switch network circuitry 102-1, 102-2. The I/O circuitry provides protocol conversion, including packet format conversion, during high-speed data communication between the external network 104 and the first switch network circuitry 102-1, 102-2. In some embodiments, the external network I/O interface circuits 112-1 to 112-4 are implemented as network interface cards commonly referred to as NICs (i.e., implemented as the virtual NICs of YOKOYAMA), which include circuits that are configured to transform packets to suitable formats as they pass between the external network 104 and the routing networks 102-1, 102-2) into the point-to- point messaging ([Column 4, Lines 58-61] the first management processor 116-1 is used to configure the first packet routing network circuit 102-1 to provide point-to-point communication between components operably coupled to it (i.e., communications from InfiniBand, Fibre Channel, or Ethernet protocols are “converted” into point-to-point communications between the components)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined MEHROTRA’s teaching of NICs that convert communications from a plurality of protocols into point-to-point messaging protocols, with the combination of YOKOYAMA, GOYAL and THOTA’s teaching of VNICs performing authenticated point-to-point communications, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system having VNICs that perform authenticated point-to-point communications, as in YOKOYAMA, GOYAL and THOTA, by converting communications from multiple protocols into a point-to-point protocol, as in MEHROTRA. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to enable the system to receive and correctly process communications from a wide variety of devices using a plurality of different protocols.
Regarding claim 10, THOTA further teaches:
the point-to-point messaging is encrypted ([0181] Once GVM is moved to a security group, the security policies, including the encryption policy, associated with that group are automatically applied to the traffic sent from and received for the GVM).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, in view of THOTA, in view of MEHROTRA, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of RIMMER Patent No.: US 7,328,284 B2 (hereafter RIMMER).
RIMMER was cited previously.
Regarding claim 9, while YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, THOTA, and MEHROTRA discuss a virtual network interface, they do not explicitly teach:
the VNI implements bus-based technologies using the point-to-point messaging
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses virtual network interfaces, RIMMER further teaches:
the VNI implements bus-based technologies using the point-to-point messaging (Column 16, Lines 1-2: Using virtual NIC 222, server 255 communicates via virtual I/O bus 240, which connects to virtual port 242 (i.e., virtual I/O bus 240 enables the endpoint to endpoint communication described in THOTA)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined RIMMER’s teaching of a VNI that implements bus-based technologies to enable point-to-point messaging, with the combination of YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, THOTA, and MEHROTRA’s teaching of a VNI that enables point-to-point messaging, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that consists of a VNI enabling point to point messaging, as in YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, THOTA, and MEHROTRA, through use of a bus, as in RIMMER. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to enjoy the benefits that communication bus technology brings including reduced system complexity, and increased flexibility.
Claims 11, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, in view of NEVE DE MEVERGNIES et al. Pub. No.: US 2015/0033338 A1 (hereafter NEVEDEMEVERGNIES).
NEVEDEMEVERGNIES was cited previously.
Regarding claim 11, YOKOYAMA teaches the invention substantially as claimed, including:
A system for virtualizing communication channels between one or more hardware components and a controller, the system comprising:
a first controller ([0039] The processor units CPU1 and CPU2 (i.e., together or separately, represent a “first controller”) perform predetermined arithmetic operation processing which is based on a program) implemented in a reconfigurable hardware device (RHD) ([0038] FIG. 3 is a block diagram schematically illustrating one configurational example of the semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000 with the memory macro MEMU being loaded. The semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000 is an LSI that various logic circuits and memory circuits are formed in one semiconductor chip and is called a microcontroller unit (MCU), a microprocessor unit (MPU), an SOC (System On a Chip) and so forth (i.e., semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000, as a system on a chip, represents a ”reconfigurable hardware device”)); and
a…platform stratus…having a [port] for electrically coupling with the first controller and the one or more hardware components and receiving one or more first electrical signals therefrom ([0039] The input-output interface unit IOU acts as an input-output interface (i.e., “port”) between the semiconductor integrated circuit device 1000 and the outside (i.e., IOU represents at least part of a “platform stratus” because it electrically couples CPU1 and CPU2 to external hardware sensor components, including temperature, or pressure sensors as described below)), and wherein the [platform stratus] is configured to:
generate one or more data frames from the one or more first electrical signals; and convert the data frames into one or more second electrical signals to send to the first controller, the one or more hardware components, or combinations thereof, in an electrical form that is native to the first controller or the one or more hardware components wherein the electrical form of each of the one or more first electrical signals and each of the one or more second electrical signals is at least one of a first analog signal or a first digital signal ([0039] The analog/digital conversion unit ADC converts, for example, sense data (in the form of analog signals) which is output from a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor and so forth which are attached to an in-vehicle engine into digital data. The digital data so converted is stored into, for example, the memory unit MEMU and is then transferred to the processor units CPU1 and CPU2 and is processed by the processor units CPU1 and CPU2 (i.e., analog signals represent a first electrical signal in a first (analog) form, which is received from the sensors, converted into digital data packets or “frames”, and transmitted, as a second electrical signal in a second (digital) form, to the CPUs (controllers) for processing)).
While YOKOYAMA discusses a platform stratus implemented by a system on a chip that couples a controller and hardware components via an interface, YOKOYAMA does not explicitly teach:
a virtual platform stratus (VPS) having a plurality of input/output (I/0) ports
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses operations of a system on a chip, GOYAL teaches:
a virtual platform stratus (VPS) having a plurality of input/output (I/0) ports ([0054] The processor device may be used in a wide variety of networking and storage equipment, including routers, switches, security appliances, content-aware switches, triple-play gateways, aggregation devices and gateways, storage arrays, storage networking equipment, and servers, or any other suitable apparatus or system that may benefit from virtualization. According to embodiments disclosed herein, a VSoC of a processor device (i.e., a processor device that provides a VSoC represents a “virtual platform stratus”) may utilize resources allocated to the VSoC based on a resource alignment that defines which resources are allocated for use by which VSoC of the processor device. The resources may include processing cores, memories, caches, input/output (I/O) ports, I/O devices, hardware accelerators, operating systems, software applications, or any other suitable resource that may be utilized by a VSoC.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined GOYAL’s teaching of a processor device providing a virtual system on a chip with multiple I/O ports, with YOKOYAMA’s teaching of a platform providing a system on a chip with an I/O port, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system having a platform that couples controller processors with hardware components via ports, as in YOKOYAMA, wherein the platform is a virtual platform stratus providing a virtual system on a chip and provides multiple ports, as in GOYAL. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to leverage cloud based resources that allow for improved flexibility and cost.
While YOKOYAMA and GOYAL discusses data transmission between elements, YOKOYAMA and GOYAL does not explicitly teach:
a secure virtual fabric (SVF), wherein the SVF comprises one or more virtual fabric elements to prevent side-channel attacks.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses data transmission, NEVEDEMEVERGNIES teaches:
a secure virtual fabric (SVF), wherein the SVF comprises one or more virtual fabric elements to prevent side-channel attacks ([0019] Interface 130 may be any type of internal bus, a link in an interconnect fabric such as an Intel.RTM. On-Chip System Fabric, or any other type of connection according to any other communication architecture. In embodiments in which encoding agent 110 and decoding agent 120 (i.e., “virtual fabric elements”) are on different chips, dice, substrates or in different packages, interface 130 may represent…any other type of connection according to any other communication architecture…encoding the data to be transmitted on interface 130 may reduce the effectiveness of power side channel attacks, and dedicating interface 130 to such transmissions may reduce the effectiveness of other side channel attacks, such as template attacks (i.e., reducing an attack’s effectiveness to zero essentially “prevents” the attack)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined NEVEDEMEVERGNIES’s teaching of virtual fabric elements that reduce or mitigate the effectiveness of side channel attacks, with YOKOYAMA and GOYAL’s teaching of transmitting data between elements, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system transmits data between elements, as in YOKOYAMA and GOYAL, using a secure virtual fabric to reduce or mitigate the effectiveness of side channel attacks, as in NEVEDEMEVERGNIES. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to reduce or mitigate the effectiveness of side channel attacks (NEVEDEMEVERGNIES [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, NEVEDEMEVERGNIES further teaches:
the one or more virtual fabric elements are provided by an array of coarsely grained programmable elements, and the array of coarsely grained programmable elements includes a programmable signal connectivity element that is configured to implement complex logic manipulation and transformation functions ([0019] Interface 130 may be any type of internal bus, a link in an interconnect fabric such as an Intel.RTM. On-Chip System Fabric, or any other type of connection according to any other communication architecture. In embodiments in which encoding agent 110 and decoding agent 120 (i.e., “virtual fabric elements” which are “coarsely grained programmable elements” because they are monolithic encryption/decryption applications) are on different chips, dice, substrates or in different packages, interface 130 may represent…any other type of connection according to any other communication architecture (i.e., encryption/decryption agents perform complex encryption/decryption logic to manipulate and transform data)).
Regarding claim 14, NEVEDEMEVERGNIES further teaches:
the SVF implements one or more secure logic elements to prevent the side-channel attacks ([0019] Interface 130 may be any type of internal bus, a link in an interconnect fabric such as an Intel.RTM. On-Chip System Fabric, or any other type of connection according to any other communication architecture. In embodiments in which encoding agent 110 and decoding agent 120 (i.e., “secure virtual fabric elements”) are on different chips, dice, substrates or in different packages, interface 130 may represent…any other type of connection according to any other communication architecture…encoding the data to be transmitted on interface 130 may reduce the effectiveness of power side channel attacks, and dedicating interface 130 to such transmissions may reduce the effectiveness of other side channel attacks, such as template attacks).
Regarding claims 16-17, they comprise limitations similar to those of claims 2-3, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, in view of NEVEDEMEVERGNIES, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of BARENGHI, ALESSANDRO et al. “Fault Injection Attacks on Cryptographic Devices: Theory, Practice, and Countermeasures.” January 21, 2011 (hereafter BARENGHI).
BARENGHI was cited previously.
Regarding claim 12, NEVEDEMEVERGNIES further teaches:
the side-channel attacks are selected from the group consisting of…side-channel leakage analysis, power supply monitoring, and electromagnetic emissions monitoring ([0004] Side channel attacks [make] analyses of power consumption (i.e., “power supply monitoring”), electromagnetic radiation (i.e., “electromagnetic emissions monitoring), or other characteristics of a data processing system to infer information about the system or the data it is processing. [0013] Information might be leaked from a system through a side channel. For example, power consumption during data transmission might vary might vary depending on the Hamming weight of the data being transmitted and/or the Hamming distance between the old data and the new data when the value of the data changes. Therefore, an attacker might be able to use power side channel analysis to reduce the search space required to discover the value of the data through trial and error (i.e., side-channel leakage analysis)).
While NEVEDEMEVERGNIES discusses examples of side channel attacks, YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, and NEVEDEMEVERGNIES does not explicitly teach:
the side-channel attacks are selected from the group consisting of fault-injection,
However, in analogous art, BARENGHI teaches:
the side-channel attacks are selected from the group consisting of fault-injection ([Page 1, Abstract] Hardware and software implementations have exhibited vulnerabilities to side channel attacks, e.g., power analysis and fault injection attacks).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have simply substituted BARENGHI’s teaching of side channel attacks including fault injection attacks, with NEVEDEMEVERGNIES teaching of examples of side channel attacks, because 1) NEVEDEMEVERGNIES discloses a system which differs from the claimed system because it does not explicitly disclose that a side channel attack may be a fault injection attack, 2) BARENGHI teaches a side channel attack may be a fault injection attack, and 3) one of ordinary skill could have substituted BARENGHI’s description of a fault injection attack as being a type of side channel attack into the examples of side channel attacks as discussed in NEVEDEMEVERGNIES, predictably resulting in a more complete and comprehensive list of examples of side channel attacks.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, in view of NEVEDEMEVERGNIES, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of KUNEMUND Pub. No.: US 2005/0213757 A1 (hereafter KUNEMUND).
KUNEMUND was cited previously.
Regarding claim 15, while NEVEDEMEVERGNIES discusses using logic elements to encrypt data, YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, and NEVEDEMEVERGNIES does not explicitly teach:
the one or more secure logic elements use dual-rail logic.
However, in analogous art that similarly performs encryption and decryption, KUNEMUND teaches:
the one or more secure logic elements use dual-rail logic ([0003] The present invention relates to a decryption circuit, an encryption circuit, a logic cell as well as a method of performing a dual-rail logic operation. [0104] The encryption circuit 820 comprises a dual-rail technology interface).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined KUNEMUND’s teaching of implementing an encryption/decryption circuit using dual-rail logic, with the combination of YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, and NEVEDEMEVERGNIES’s teaching of implementing encryption/decryption circuits to encrypt/decrypt data, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that implements encryption/decryption circuits to encrypt/decrypt data, as in YOKOYAMA, GOYAL, and NEVEDEMEVERGNIES, using dual-rail logic, as in KUNEMUND. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination reduce the expenditure in terms of circuitry and area over single-rail circuit technology ([0014]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, in view of NEVEDEMEVERGNIES, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of SHELLHAMMER.
Regarding claims 18-19, they comprise limitations similar to those of claims 4-5, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOYAMA, in view of GOYAL, in view of NEVEDEMEVERGNIES, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of DEVILBISS.
Regarding claim 20, it comprises limitations similar to those of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W AYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195