DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to further distinguish the present invention from the prior art of record. The amendment emphasizes that the present disclosure uses the deterioration of the negative electrode across a first time period to estimate the internal state/deterioration degree to predict the internal state of the battery after charging during a second period of time.
Regarding Hamaguchi, applicant argues that Hamaguchi is directed towards a battery system which deactivates lithium metal deposited on a negative electrode to improve battery safety using temperature control. As previously cited in the Final Rejection dated 06 November 2025, Hamaguchi does predict whether lithium metal is precipitated by a planned charge in ¶0090 "It is preferable that the process operations of Steps S1-S7 as described above (i.e., the temperature control of the lithium ion secondary battery 100) are carried out at predetermined intervals (for example, at intervals of every several days). Additionally, it may be arranged as follows. The deposition amount of lithium on the negative electrode plate 156 of the lithium ion secondary battery 100 is estimated", establishing a second interval wherein the lithium precipitate is estimated or predicted. Hamaguchi controls the temperature of the lithium batteries to minimize or deactivate lithium deposition on the negative electrode. As depicted in Hamaguchi FIG 6, inserted below for ease of reference, the amount of lithium deposition is directly influenced and determined by the temperature of the battery during a charging/discharging cycle. FIG 6 depicts the amount of lithium deposited on the negative electrode over 10 cycles, showing the nature of lithium batteries across multiple cycles to predict/estimate the deterioration degree.
In the present disclosure, particularly FIG 4 S64 “keep in predetermine temperature range”. This functions as storing the battery in a temperature to prevent future lithium deposition, as further supported by applicant FIG 3 steps S56-S58 which predict if lithium deposition will occur and then executes temperature control to intervene and prevent that lithium deposition. Both the present disclosure and Hamaguchi estimate the degradation degree to occur in a future charge cycle and control the temperature of the battery to reduce the degradation degree. However, Hamaguchi does not teach measuring an internal parameter or internal resistance of the battery to directly measure the degradation degree.
Applicant argues that the combination of Hamaguchi modified by Akaishi and Miyajima does not disclose or suggest “estimating an internal state parameter related to a negative electrode of the secondary battery in a first period, and determining a deterioration degree of the negative electrode in the first period based on an estimation result of the internal parameter; predicting, based on the deterioration degree of the negative electrode in the first period and a charge condition in charge of the secondary battery that is planned to be executed in a second period after the first period, whether or not lithium metal will be precipitated in the secondary battery by the planned charge under the charge condition in the second period, the prediction being executed in advance before the second period”. Hamaguchi does not each the underlined portion of the amendment, and changes the scope of claim 1.
Applicant's arguments filed 5 March 2026 have been fully considered, a new ground(s) of rejection is presented herein as necessitated by amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanyu et al (US 20160195589 A1) modified by Knudson et al (US 20210159557 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hanyu teaches a management method of a secondary battery, comprising: estimating an internal state parameter related to a negative electrode of the secondary battery in a first period, (FIG 1 feature amount calculation device 3, ¶0061 “a feature amount depending on each of the plurality of active materials of the negative electrode can be calculated and used for a degradation diagnosis”, FIG 2 step S5 “diagnose capacitance degradation”)
and determining a deterioration degree of the negative electrode in the first period based on an estimation result of the internal state parameter; (FIG 2 step S4 ¶0049 “feature amount calculator 32, as one example, acquires a voltage “V.sub.LMO””, FIG 2 step S5 ¶0053 “degradation diagnosis processor 4… degradation diagnoser 42 determines whether the voltage “V.sub.LMO” falls within the reference range”, ¶0061 “a feature amount depending on each of the plurality of active materials of the negative electrode can be calculated and used for a degradation diagnosis”)
predicting, based on the deterioration degree of the negative electrode in the first period and a charge condition in charge of the secondary battery that is planned to be executed in a second period after the first period, whether or not lithium metal will be precipitated in the secondary battery by the planned charge under the charge condition in the second period, the prediction being executed in advance before the second period; (¶0057 “degradation diagnose 42 predicts capacitance degradation of the secondary battery 1 with reference to the degradation prediction information corresponding to the feature amount”, ¶0061 “a feature amount depending on each of the plurality of active materials of the negative electrode can be calculated and used for a degradation diagnosis”)
[and executing, when the secondary battery is charged in the second period under the charge condition under which a precipitation of the lithium metal in the secondary battery has been predicted in advance, temperature control to keep a temperature of the secondary battery in a predetermined temperature range of a lower-limit temperature to an upper-limit temperature, the temperature control to keep the temperature of the second battery in the predetermined range being executed after a time point of an end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period.]
The management method as taught by Hanyu uses an internal state parameter to determine the current state of health or degradation of the battery, and through the degradation diagnose unit 42 predict a future degree of degradation during a future charging cycle. Hanyu does not teach and executing, when the secondary battery is charged in the second period under the charge condition under which a precipitation of the lithium metal in the secondary battery has been predicted in advance, temperature control to keep a temperature of the secondary battery in a predetermined temperature range of a lower-limit temperature to an upper-limit temperature, the temperature control to keep the temperature of the second battery in the predetermined range being executed after a time point of an end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period.
Knudson teaches and executing, when the secondary battery is charged in the second period under the charge condition under which a precipitation of the lithium metal in the secondary battery has been predicted in advance, temperature control to keep a temperature of the secondary battery in a predetermined temperature range of a lower-limit temperature to an upper-limit temperature, (¶0028 “a method of prolonging the life of a battery comprises predicting the duty cycle based on the C-rate for charging the battery and the age/relative degradation of the battery, and determining and setting the temperature of the battery as low as possible to allow charging without inducing lithium plating”)
the temperature control to keep the temperature of the second battery in the predetermined range being executed after a time point of an end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period. (¶0032 “FIG. 3 illustrates a flowchart of prolonging the age of a battery by determining the level of lithium plating. The system starts at step 122 and at step 124 the level of lithium plating in the battery is determined”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the management method as taught by Hanyu to execute, temperature control to keep a temperature of the secondary battery in a predetermined temperature range of a lower-limit temperature to an upper-limit temperature, the temperature control to keep the temperature of the second battery in the predetermined range being executed after a time point of an end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period as taught by Knudson. Hanyu and Knudson both assess the current state of health of a lithium battery, as well as the future state of health based on lithium deposition under a future charge condition. Adding the temperature control as taught by Knudson to the management method as taught by Hanyu would result in executing temperature control during a future charging cycle based on the state of health. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to safely and properly manage the secondary battery in a period in which the diagnosis of the secondary battery is difficult. Further this combination would allow for a more accurate measurement of SOH providing the user with more reliable predictions for reliable range prediction in EVs and informs maintenance needs in advance.
Similarly for claim 9 as applied to a management device of a secondary battery. (Hanyu ¶0029 “FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a degradation diagnosis system”)
Similarly for claim 12 as applied to a non-transitory storage medium storing a management program of a secondary battery. (Hanyu ¶0029 “FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a degradation diagnosis system… a degradation diagnosis processor 4”)
Regarding claim 2, Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management method of Claim 1. Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches [wherein the lower-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is set based on, as a criterion, whether the lower-limit temperature is a] temperature at which an oxidation reaction occurs in the lithium metal precipitated in the secondary battery, (Hanyu ¶0069 “FIG. 12 is a view showing a relation between a temperature characteristic and capacitance degradation of the secondary battery 1”)
[and the upper-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is set based on an influence on the temperature of the secondary battery of heat generation due to the oxidation reaction in the lithium metal precipitated in the secondary battery.]
Hanyu FIG 12 visually depicts capacitance degradation over a number of duty cycles and temperature ranges, which shows a linear increase in capacitance with an increase in temperature that reaches an upper plateau and a decrease in capacitance with a decrease in temperature which reaches a lower plateau. The increase and decrease in capacitance is directly related to the deposition of lithium metal on the negative electrode, as detailed in Hanyu ¶0061 “a feature amount depending on each of the plurality of active materials of the negative electrode can be calculated and used for a degradation diagnosis”. Hanyu modified by Knudson does not teach wherein the lower-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is set based on, as a criterion, whether the lower-limit temperature is a [temperature at which an oxidation reaction occurs in the lithium metal precipitated in the secondary battery], and the upper-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is set based on an influence on the temperature of the secondary battery of heat generation due to the oxidation reaction in the lithium metal precipitated in the secondary battery.
Knudson teaches wherein the lower-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is set based on, as a criterion, whether the lower-limit temperature is a [temperature at which an oxidation reaction occurs in the lithium metal precipitated in the secondary battery], (¶0032 “[FIG 3] The system starts at step 122 and at step 124 the level of lithium plating in the battery is determined… If the amount of lithium plating is low, then at step 126, the battery is maintained at a cooler temperature (e.g., 5-20 degrees C.)”)
and the upper-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is set based on an influence on the temperature of the secondary battery of heat generation due to the oxidation reaction in the lithium metal precipitated in the secondary battery. (¶0032 “[FIG 3] The system starts at step 122 and at step 124 the level of lithium plating in the battery is determined… If the amount of lithium plating in the battery is high, then at step 128 the battery's temperature is increased during charging”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the management method as taught by Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches wherein the lower-limit temperature and the upper-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range are set based on the temperature range at which lithium metal precipitates in the secondary battery. Using Hanyu FIG 12 the upper and lower limits can be determined to minimize lithium deposition and optimize capacitance of the secondary battery, and using the temperature control of Knudson maintain that temperature range during a given duty cycle. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to safely and properly manage the secondary battery in a period in which the diagnosis of the secondary battery is difficult. Further this combination would allow for a more accurate measurement of SOH providing the user with more reliable predictions for reliable range prediction in EVs and informs maintenance needs in advance.
Regarding claim 6, Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management method of Claim 1. Hanyu modified by Knudson further teaches [wherein the temperature control for the temperature of the secondary battery is executed after the time point of the end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period, based on at least a fact that a deterioration degree of a negative electrode of the secondary battery exceeds a first reference level,] the deterioration degree being based on the internal state of the secondary battery in the first period. (Hanyu ¶0057 “degradation diagnose 42 predicts capacitance degradation of the secondary battery 1 with reference to the degradation prediction information corresponding to the feature amount”)
Hanyu as modified by Knudson does not teach wherein the temperature control for the temperature of the secondary battery is executed after the time point of the end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period, based on at least a fact that a deterioration degree of a negative electrode of the secondary battery exceeds a first reference level.
Knudson teaches wherein the temperature control for the temperature of the secondary battery is executed after the time point of the end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period, (FIG 3 step 130 “is the battery being discharged?” select yes, indicating battery is not charging, proceed to step 134 “return battery to room temperature as battery is discharged”)
based on at least a fact that a deterioration degree of a negative electrode of the secondary battery exceeds a first reference level. (FIG 3 step 124 “is lithium plating at a high level in the battery?”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the management method as taught by Hanyu modified by Knudson wherein the temperature control for the temperature of the secondary battery is executed after the time point of the end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period, based on at least a fact that a deterioration degree of a negative electrode of the secondary battery exceeds a first reference level as further taught by Knudson. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to safely and properly manage the secondary battery when the battery charges and discharges under multiple thermal conditions
Regarding claim 7. Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management method of Claim 6. Hanyu modified by Knudson further teaches wherein when the temperature control for the temperature of the secondary battery is executed after the time point of the end of the charge under the charge condition in the second period, (Knudson FIG 3 step 130 “is the battery being discharged?” select yes, indicating battery is not charging, proceed to step 134 “return battery to room temperature as battery is discharged”)
at least either setting the predetermined temperature range for keeping the temperature of the secondary battery to be lower as the deterioration degree of the negative electrode of the secondary battery in the first period is higher, [or setting a duration time of the temperature control from the time point of the end of the charge to be longer as the deterioration degree of the negative electrode of the secondary battery in the first period is higher, is executed]. (Knudson ¶0032 “[FIG 3] The system starts at step 122 and at step 124 the level of lithium plating in the battery is determined… If the amount of lithium plating is low, then at step 126, the battery is maintained at a cooler temperature (e.g., 5-20 degrees C.)”)
Regarding claim 10, Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management device of Claim 9. Hanyu modified by Knudson further teaches a management system of a secondary battery, comprising: the management device of Claim 9; (as detailed above to reject claim 9)
and the secondary battery in which the temperature control for the temperature is executed by the processor of the management device. (Hanyu ¶0029 “FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a degradation diagnosis system”)
Regarding claim 11, Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management device of Claim 9. Hanyu modified by Knudson further teaches a battery-mounted device comprising: the management device of Claim 9; (as detailed above to reject claim 9)
and the secondary battery in which the temperature control for the temperature is executed by the processor of the management device. (Hanyu ¶0029 “FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a degradation diagnosis system… a degradation diagnosis processor 4 to diagnose degradation of the secondary battery 1 based on the feature amount and an output device 5 to output the diagnosis result”)
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanyu modified by Knudson and further in view of Hamaguchi et al (US 20110291622 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management method of Claim 1. Hanyu FIGs 6 and 7 are described in ¶0056 “let variables be an environmental temperature, an SoC depth and a constant current rate, and SoC was defined from current capacitance values at which an upper limit voltage and a lower limit voltage are reached”. Indicating that Hanyu modified by Knudson takes environmental temperature into consideration for the degradation calculation depicted in Hanyu FIG 12. Hanyu modified by Knudson does not teach wherein an environmental temperature, at which the secondary battery is charged in the second period, is lower than an environmental temperature at which the secondary battery is charged in the first period.
Hamaguchi teaches wherein an environmental temperature, (¶0104 "Sample 6 in a constant temperature bath of .degree. C. for 8 hours")
at which the secondary battery is charged in the second period, (¶0104 "Sample 6 was first subjected to the same cyclic charging/discharging (10 cycles) that Samples 2-5... And, 80 cycles of such "cyclic charging/discharging-constant temperature storage", one cycle of which comprises 10-cycle cyclic charging/discharging and 45.degree. C./60.degree. C. constant temperature storage")
is lower than an environmental temperature at which the secondary battery is charged in the first period. (¶0104 "this was followed by storage of Sample 6 in a constant temperature bath of 5.degree. C. for 8 hours and subsequently, Sample 6 was stored in a constant temperature bath of 0.degree. C. for 8 hours")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the management method as taught by Hanyu modified by Knudson wherein an environmental temperature, at which the secondary battery is charged in the second period, is lower than an environmental temperature at which the secondary battery is charged in the first period as taught by Hamaguchi. Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches a management method which measures and predicts the degradation of the battery due to lithium deposition and controls the temperature during charging to minimize battery degradation. Similarly Hamaguchi demonstrates a management method that executes temperature control when in an environmental temperature. Hanyu as modified by Knudson takes environmental temperature into consideration for the degradation model, and thereby using the environmental temperatures of Hamaguchi are able to make an environmental temperature lower when the battery is charged in a second period. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to safely and properly manage the secondary battery when the battery charges and discharges in multiple environmental conditions. This would naturally occur through use of an electric vehicle during multiple seasons throughout a year or through multiple types of weather.
Regarding claim 4, Hanyu modified by Knudson and Hamaguchi teaches the management method of Claim 3. Hanyu FIGs 6 and 7 are described in ¶0056 “let variables be an environmental temperature, an SoC depth and a constant current rate, and SoC was defined from current capacitance values at which an upper limit voltage and a lower limit voltage are reached”. Indicating that Hanyu modified by Knudson takes environmental temperature into consideration for the degradation calculation depicted in Hanyu FIG 12. Hanyu modified by Knudson does not teach wherein the lower-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is higher than the environmental temperature at which the secondary battery is charged in the second period.
Hamaguchi teaches wherein the lower-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is higher than the environmental temperature at which the secondary battery is charged in the second period. (¶0059 further states "battery temperature T of the lithium ion secondary battery 100 is maintained within the range: 55.degree. C.<T<65.degree", which would place the lower limit of the secondary batteries used in the 6 samples as taught by Hamaguci to 55C)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the management method as taught by Hanyu modified by Knudson wherein the lower-limit temperature of the predetermined temperature range is higher than the environmental temperature at which the secondary battery is charged in the second period as taught by Hamaguchi. Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches a management method which measures and predicts the degradation of the battery due to lithium deposition and controls the temperature during charging to minimize battery degradation. Similarly Hamaguchi demonstrates a management method that executes temperature control when in an environmental temperature. Hanyu as modified by Knudson takes environmental temperature into consideration for the degradation model, and thereby using the environmental temperatures of Hamaguchi are able to make an environmental temperature lower when the battery is charged in a second period. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to safely and properly manage the secondary battery when the battery charges and discharges in multiple environmental conditions. This would naturally occur through use of an electric vehicle during multiple seasons throughout a year or through multiple types of weather.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanyu as modified by Knudson and further in view of Miyajima et al (US 20190305367 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hanyu modified by Knudson teaches the management method of Claim 6. Hanyu modified by Knudson does not teach further comprising executing at least either forcibly halting use of the secondary battery, or issuing an alert to halt the use of the secondary battery, based on a fact that the deterioration degree of the negative electrode of the secondary battery in the first period exceeds a second reference level at which the deterioration degree is higher than at the first reference level.
Miyajima teaches further comprising executing at least either forcibly halting use of the secondary battery, or issuing an alert to halt the use of the secondary battery, based on a fact that the deterioration degree of the negative electrode of the secondary battery in the first period exceeds a second reference level at which the deterioration degree is higher than at the first reference level. (¶0075 "charging is executed and stopped under a predetermined condition and then the charging stopping state is maintained during pause time ΔТ2, while the state of the anode surface (in particular, the presence or absence of deposited lithium) of the visualized battery is checked")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the management method as taught by Hanyu modified by Knudson to further comprise executing at least either forcibly halting use of the secondary battery, or issuing an alert to halt the use of the secondary battery, based on a fact that the deterioration degree of the negative electrode of the secondary battery in the first period exceeds a second reference level at which the deterioration degree is higher than at the first reference level as taught by Miyajima. Both the management method of Hanyu modified by Knudson and that of Miyajima use charge/discharge a lithium battery under temperature control. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to forcibly halt use of the secondary battery to improve operational safety by preventing thermal runaway.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Hascoat et al (US 20210190880 A1) discloses an electronic storage system which uses the current state of health to predict a future state of health over the lifespan of the battery.
Yang et al (US 20210379999 A1) discloses a battery control system which uses the current state of charge, current state of health, and future weather conditions to estimate a future state of health.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859