DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, filed 12NOV2025, with respect to Claims 12 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection of Claims 12 and 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, filed 12NOV2025, with respect to Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-24 has been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 25 and 26 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the newly submitted claims are directed to an embodiment wherein the barrier is disconnected from the central flow portion which differs from the embodiment previously elected wherein the barrier extends from the central flow portion (Claim 7).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 25 and 26 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 12-15, and 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20130123826 A1 (Kramer et al.).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 7, Kramer teaches a shunt (300) (Figs. 3B-3D) comprising:
a central flow portion (325) [0127] sized to fit at least partially within an opening in a tissue wall and maintain the opening (as seen in Fig. 3D) in a tissue wall that is situated between a first anatomical chamber and a second anatomical chamber (as shown in Fig. 1D between lung tissue 116 and airway 100) to provide a blood flow path between the first anatomical chamber and the second anatomical chamber ([0094] describing a width of 1-10 mm which is suitable for a blood flow path); and
one or more anchoring arms (320) extending from the central flow portion (as seen in Figs. 3B and 3C), the one or more anchoring arms configured to anchor to the tissue wall (as shown in Fig. 3D); wherein
a barrier (330) positioned between the one or more anchoring arms and the tissue wall and outside the opening in the tissue wall (as seen in Figs. 3B-3D) ([0126] describing the barrier not fully covering the arms and therefore being considered to extend from said arms) configured to alter growth of tissue around the shunt [0122]; wherein
the barrier extends from the central flow portion (as seen in Figs. 3B and 3C).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Kramer further teaches the barrier comprises a first portion positioned to extend over a first side of the tissue wall (Kramer Annotated Fig. 3B, in combination with Fig. 3D showing the device placed in a tissue wall 370); and
the barrier comprises a second portion configured to extend over a second side of the tissue wall (Kramer Annotated Fig. 3B, in combination with Fig. 3D showing the device placed in a tissue wall 370).
Kramer Annotated Fig. 3B
Regarding claim 12, Kramer further teaches the first portion (Kramer Annotated Fig. 3B) forms at least a partial cone [0045] (the first portion being considered frustoconical) and is therefore considered to teach a tapered elliptical shape in which the first portion is sized to surround the opening (as seen in Figs. 3C and 3D).
Regarding claim 13, Kramer further teaches the first portion (Kramer Annotated Fig. 3B) does not extend over the opening (325) (as seen in Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 14, Kramer further teaches a plurality of possible dimensions wherein the inner diameter of the central passage is in the range of 1-10 mm, an overall length is 1-20 mm [0094-0096], as well as a plurality of ranges for the ratios of physical dimensions [0097]. Additionally, the thickness of the shunt would reasonably be less than the overall width of the device. As the claim provides no reference points for the measure of length, width or thickness, Kramer is considered to teach a length of the first portion is greater than a width and thickness of the first portion.
Regarding claim 15, Kramer further teaches the first portion (Kramer Annotated Fig. 3B) has a shape of an at least partial elliptical ring (appearing circular in Fig. 3C) with a hollow middle portion sized to be aligned with the opening (as the device passes through the opening as seen in Fig. 3D).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Kramer further teaches the barrier (330) extends from at least one of the one or more anchoring arms (as seen in Fig. 3B), wherein
the barrier is positioned to be situated between the one or more anchoring arms and the tissue wall (as seen in Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 19, Kramer is considered to teach the central flow portion (325) is adapted to prevent in-growth of tissue within the opening [0081].
Regarding claim 20, Kramer further teaches the central flow portion (325) is adapted to expand in response to expansion of the tissue wall (the device having an expandable center section [0034]).
Regarding claim 21, Kramer teaches surgically creating an opening for placement of the shunt [0016], and is therefore considered to teach the tissue wall is burned, cut, removed, cauterized, scarred, and/or otherwise treated in an area surrounding the opening in the tissue wall.
Regarding claims 22-24, Kramer teaches a shunt (300) (Figs. 3B-3D) comprising:
a central flow portion (325) sized to fit at least partially within an opening in a tissue wall and maintain the opening (as seen in Fig. 3D) in a tissue wall that is situated between a first anatomical chamber and a second anatomical chamber (as shown in Fig. 1D between lung tissue 116 and airway 100), with [0094] describing a width of 1-10 mm which is suitable for providing a blood flow path;
one or more anchoring arms (320) extending from the central flow portion, the one or more anchoring arms positioned to anchor to the tissue wall (as seen in Figs. 3B and 3C); and
a barrier (330) positioned between the one or more anchoring arms and the tissue wall and outside the opening in the tissue wall (as seen in Figs. 3B-3D) ([0126] describing the barrier not fully covering the arms and therefore being considered to extend from said arms) configured to alter growth of tissue around the shunt [0122]; wherein
the tissue wall is burned, cut, removed, cauterized, scarred, and/or otherwise treated in an area surrounding the opening in the tissue wall, as Kramer teaches surgically creating an opening for placement of the shunt [0016]; and
the area surrounding the opening in the tissue wall has an elliptical shape [0045].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer.
Regarding claim 9, Kramer fails to teach the first portion is configured to extend at an approximately 45-degree angle over the first side of the tissue wall in the embodiment of Figs. 3B-3D).
Kramer discloses an alternate embodiment shown in Fig. 2B wherein anchoring arm (202A) corresponds to the anchoring arm (320) of the device of claim 8. Kramer further teaches an angle A1 which may range from 30° to 60°, and is therefore considered to teach the first portion is configured to extend at an approximately 45-degree angle over the first side of the tissue wall.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the undisclosed angle of Kramer embodiment 3B with the approximately 45° of the alternate embodiment as it would be obvious to try when choosing from the finite number of arrangements taught by Kramer, with a reasonable expectation of successfully retaining the shunt MPEP 2143 I.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180296335 A1 and US 20180256865 A1 disclose shunts comprising a central flow portion extending between two anatomical chambers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANS KALIHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781