DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Office Action for claims 1 – 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite the limitation “solid side walls”, in lines 3, respectively. The limitation fails to find support in the specification. Applicant is advised to show where support can be found or to cancel said limitation as it constitutes new matter.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite the limitation “solid side walls”, in lines 3, respectively. The limitation is vague in that it is unclear if applicant is claiming a side wall free of openings or solid in structurally sound. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as solid in structurally sound.
Claims 2 – 8 and 10 – 17 are rejected as being dependents of rejected claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ennis et al (US 20030005542 A1) in view of Buley et al (US 20150183308 A1).
In re claim 1. Ennis et al discloses a railcar cleaning system (vacuum cleaning system, Fig. 1: 10; related to large passenger vehicle fleets such as railroad cars, see [0004]) comprising:
a railcar having a compartment including an upper wall, an opposing bottom wall and opposing solid sidewalls (sidewalls of the bus are solid with bellows attached at open door; Fig. 1) extending between said upper wall and said bottom wall, said upper wall having a hatch with an inlet (upper wall, opposing bottom wall, opposing sidewalls extending between upper and bottom walls, see annotated Fig. 1, below and as defined in Collinsdictionary.com: a hatch is an opening in a ceiling or a wall, therefore the wall of the bus is the opening at the “end of the vehicle/bus, 34” that has an upper wall and an inlet/opening, in which the operator pulls the air blaster gun to discharge debris towards the front of vehicle, see [0041]) and said bottom wall having an outlet (outlet of compartment is the other vehicle, 34 having an access opening/ door, 40);
Fig 1 –Ennis et al: illustrates upper, bottom and opposing side walls
a filter system connected to said outlet (combination of centrifugal dust and debris separator, 28; discharge conduit, 32 and container, 32; that removes particles from air, connected to vehicle, 34 having an access opening or door, 40, see Fig. 1); and
a vacuum generator connected to said filter system (centrifugal fan, which is part of dust and debris separator, 28, see [0023]),
wherein said vacuum generator generates a vacuum within said compartment of said railcar so that air flows from said inlet of said compartment and through said outlet (centrifugal fan, which is part of dust and debris separator, 28, see [0023], and it draws air from the vehicle and suction air inlet opening, see [0011]), and
wherein said filter system removes material and particles from the air (dust and debris separator, 28 that removes particles from air).
Ennis et al is silent about having a compartment including an upper wall having a hatch with an inlet.
However, Buley et al teaches a roof hatch system having a compartment with an upper wall having a hatch with an inlet (roof hatch system with opening for school buses, trailers, and other large vehicles, see [0025]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Ennis et al. with the teachings of said upper wall having a hatch with an inlet as taught by Buley et al, since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). The motivation for doing so would be to allow for ventilation and an emergency escape route in the upper wall of a large vehicle (Buley et al: [0025]).
In re claim 2. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 1,
further comprising a pneumatic tool having a handle and a nozzle (air blaster gun, Fig. 7: 98; with an air amplifier, 100 and handle, 102),
wherein said pneumatic tool is configured for emitting air to clean an interior space of said compartment of said railcar (air blaster gun, 98, moves debris and other loose materials from off the floor and seats and towards the front of vehicle, see [0041]).
In re claim 3. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 2,
wherein said handle of said pneumatic tool has a curved portion (air blaster gun, 98, having handle, 102, has a curved portion, see annotated Fig. 8, below).
Fig 8 –Ennis et al: illustrates curved portion of air blaster gun handle
In re claim 4. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 1,
wherein the inlet to the compartment includes a hatch with a lid (the other end of the vehicle has an opening, that includes door with a handle, in which an operator can provide a means to discharge high pressure air which moves debris, see [0041]).
In re claim 5. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 1,
wherein the filter system includes an inlet connector connected to said outlet of said compartment, wherein said inlet connector is one of a flexible hose (centrifugal dust and debris separator, 28, connected to outlet of flexible duct, 26 connected to inlet box, 22 of vehicle).
In re claim 6. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 1,
wherein said filter system includes a filter unit and a hopper having an outlet (centrifugal dust and debris separator, 28, connected to discharge conduit, 30).
In re claim 7. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 6,
further comprising a container positioned beneath said outlet of said hopper, said container storing material removed from the air by said filter unit (32, for collecting trash, debris and other loose materials, see [0023], partially positioned beneath, discharge conduit, 30, see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ennis et al (US 20030005542 A1) in view of Buley et al (US 20150183308 A1) and in further view of Demarco (US 20070226950 A1).
In re claim 8. Ennis et al as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 7.
Ennis et al as modified teaches said hopper (discharge conduit, 30) configured to regulate a flow of said material to said container (32) but is silent about a valve.
However, Demarco teaches a vacuum loader having a valve configured to regulate a flow of said material (hopper, has a valve to discharge the collected particles, see [0019]).
Accordingly, the prior art references teach that it is known that having a discharge conduit and a hopper having a valve are elements that are functional equivalents providing the discharge and regulation flow of the particles or debris that is separated/filtered from the air. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a discharge conduit with hopper having a valve. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable result of a modification that would amount to one known manner of regulating/controlling the flow of the debris using a discharge conduit for another way of using a hopper with a valve, as well a multiple purposes of uses in various systems such as bulk bad unloading or paste batching.
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markham (US 20180251291 A1) in view of Engle (US 5839484 A).
In re claim 9. Markham discloses a railcar cleaning system (barrel, Fig. 1: 102 capable of vacuum loading and unloading, see [0011]) comprising:
a railcar having a plurality of compartments (barrels coupled to roll-off skids, 816, 818, see Fig. 8D), each of said compartments including an upper wall (upper concave section, Fig. 3: 116), an opposing bottom wall (lower trough section, 120) and opposing solid sidewalls (middle convex sections, 118; Fig. 40) extending between said upper wall and said bottom wall (see Fig. 3), said upper wall including a hatch (upper concave section, 116 having ) with an inlet (manways, 108, 110, 112) and said bottom wall having an outlet (lower trough section, 120 having outlet at valve 302 or unloading valve, 106);
a vacuum generator (pneumatically unloading, pressurized air is injected into funnel Fig. 6A: 602, Fig. 7A: 702 within lower trough section, 120, see Figs. 6A and 7A),
wherein said vacuum generator generates a vacuum within each of said compartments of said railcar so that air flows from said inlet of each compartment and through said outlet (pressurized air injected in barrel, 102 allows flow towards and out of the outlet at unloading valve, 302 see [0024]).
Markham does not disclose a filter system connected to said outlet of each of said compartments; and the vacuum generator connected to said filter system,
wherein said filter system removes material and particles from the air.
However, Engle teaches a vacuum transfer system and method for food grade product having a filter system connected to said outlet of said compartment (Filter, Fig. 2: 34 and vacuum line, 38, of vacuum transfer unit, see [0035]), the vacuum generator connected to said filter system (vacuum generation unit 30 includes pump, 32 in which filter, 34 is connected, see Fig. 2),
wherein said filter system removes material and particles from the air (isolates the pump, 32 from any foreign material which would include air and product, see Col 4: Lines 19 - 34).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham with the teachings of a filter system connected to said outlet of each of said compartments and the vacuum generator connected to said filter system, wherein said filter system removes material and particles from the air as taught by Engle because it isolates any foreign material from the pump and therefore prevents clogging or corrosion of components; reducing maintenance and replacement needs.
In regards to having a filter and vacuum system connected to each said compartments, applicant has not disclosed that this produces a new or unexpected result as it provides for filtering of each vacuum of each compartment separately. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of duplication of parts to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention to duplicate the filter and connect to the vacuum system for each compartment. It is further noted that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. In the instant case, the specification does not disclose nor provide any evidence of any criticality, need, or new/unexpected results with respect to the number of filter and vacuum systems.
In re claim 12. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 9,
wherein the inlet of each compartment includes a hatch with a lid (manways with lid, see Fig. 1).
In re claim 14. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 9, having a hopper having an outlet (barrel, 102 having, an outlet at valve 302 or unloading valve, 106, see Fig. 3).
Markham as modified does not teach wherein said filter system includes a filter unit.
However, Engle teaches a vacuum transfer system and method for food grade product, wherein said filter system includes a filter unit (filter, 34, see [0035]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham with the teachings of a filter system includes a filter unit as taught by Engle because it isolates any foreign material from the pump and therefore prevents clogging or corrosion of components; reducing maintenance and replacement needs.
Claim(s) 10 - 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markham (US 20180251291 A1) in view of Engle (US 5839484 A) and in further view of Ennis et al (US 20030005542 A1).
In re claim 10. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 9.
Markham as modified does not teach, further comprising a pneumatic tool having a handle and a nozzle,
wherein said pneumatic tool is configured for emitting air to clean an interior space of each compartment of said railcar.
However, Ennis et al teaches a vehicle vacuum cleaning system, further comprising a pneumatic tool having a handle and a nozzle (air blaster gun, Fig. 7: 98; with an air amplifier, 100 and handle, 102),
wherein said pneumatic tool is configured for emitting air to clean an interior space of each compartment of said railcar (air blaster gun, 98, moves debris and other loose materials from off the floor and seats and towards the front of vehicle, see [0041]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham as modified with the teachings of a pneumatic tool having a handle and a nozzle as taught by Meller et al. because it allows for a high pressure air to be discharged by a user to help facilitate movement of loose material from a vehicle for more effective cleaning (Ennis et al: [0012]).
In re claim 11. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 10.
Markham as modified does not teach, wherein said handle of said pneumatic tool has a curved portion.
However, Ennis et al teaches a vehicle vacuum cleaning system, wherein said handle of said pneumatic tool has a curved portion (air blaster gun, 98, having handle, 102, has a curved portion, see annotated Fig. 8, above).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham as modified with the teachings of wherein said handle of said pneumatic tool has a curved portion as taught by Meller et al. because it allows for a high pressure air to be discharged by a user to help facilitate movement of loose material from a vehicle for more effective cleaning/unloading and helps user with a more ergonomic handle (Ennis et al: [0012]).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markham (US 20180251291 A1) in view of Engle (US 5839484 A) and in further view of Dugge et al (US 4677917 A).
In re claim 13. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 9.
Markham as modified does not teach wherein the filter system includes an inlet connector connected to each of said outlets of said compartments, wherein said inlet connector is one of a flexible hose.
However, Engle teaches a vacuum transfer system and method for food grade product, wherein the filter system includes an inlet connector connected to each of said outlets of said compartments (end of vacuum line, Fig. 2: 38 connected to filter, 34, see Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham with the teachings of the filter system includes an inlet connector connected to each of said outlets of said compartments as taught by Engle because it isolates any foreign material from the pump and therefore prevents clogging or corrosion of components; reducing maintenance and replacement needs.
Lastly, Dugge et al teaches high volume covered hopper car with loading from below and automatic unloading, having a connector is one of a flexible hose (product discharge hose, Fig. 8: 95, connected to product discharge port, 81).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham with the teachings of a connector is one of a flexible hose as taught by Dugge because it allows for ease of installation and durability for improved long-term performance and reduced maintenance needs.
In re claim 15. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 14,
Markham as modified does not teach further comprising a container positioned beneath said outlet of said hopper, said container storing material removed from the air by said filter unit.
However, Dugge et al teaches high volume covered hopper car with loading from below and automatic unloading, further comprising a container positioned beneath said outlet of said hopper, said container storing material removed from the air by said filter unit (storage pit, Fig. 8: 103 beneath hose, 95; discharge of lading from separator, 101, see Col 9: Lines 43 - 48).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham with the teachings of a container positioned beneath said outlet of said hopper, said container storing material removed from the air by said filter unit as taught by Dugge et al. because it allows for unloaded material that is removed to be under sealed and sanitary conditions (Dugge et al: Col. 9: Lines 43 - 52).
In re claim 16. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 15,
wherein said hopper includes a valve (loading/unloading valve, 106) attached to said outlet of said hooper (attached to outlet of barrel, see Fig. 3), said value configured to regulate a flow of said material (a positive pressure is created applying a vacuum to the unloading valve, 106, see [0011]).
Markham as modified is silent about said container.
However, Dugge et al teaches high volume covered hopper car with loading from below and automatic unloading, further comprising said container (storage pit, Fig. 8: 103).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham with the teachings of said container as taught by Dugge et al. because it allows for unloaded material that is removed to be under sealed and sanitary conditions (Dugge et al: Col. 9: Lines 43 - 52).
In re claim 17. Markham as modified teaches the railcar cleaning system of claim 9,
Markham as modified does not teach further comprising a manifold having a plurality of inlet connectors, wherein one of said inlet connectors is connected to one of said outlets of said compartments of said railcar.
However, Dugge et al teaches high volume covered hopper car with loading from below and automatic unloading, further comprising a manifold having a plurality of inlet connectors (Fig. 11: 71 having multiple air supply lines, 69), wherein one of said inlet connectors is connected to one of said outlets of said compartments of said railcar (air inlet fitting, 98 in communication with compressed air supply manifold, 71 connected to panel, 83 and product discharge port, 81, see Fig 9).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify Markham as modified with the teachings of a manifold as taught by Dugge et al because it allows for better control and safety with fewer moving parts of material unloading operations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated January 30, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant's argues the amendments to independent claims 1 and 9 – that being – neither reference teaches solid side walls. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ennis teaches the bus (or other large transport vehicle) having opposing side walls which are indeed solid. Ennis teaches an outlet and a filter system connected to said outlet; and a vacuum generator connected to said filter system, wherein said vacuum generator automatically generates a vacuum within said compartment of said railcar so that air flows from said inlet of said compartment toward said vacuum generator, and wherein said filter system removes material and particles from the air. Although the outlet is not in the floor, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that this would involve a mere rearranging of parts. That is – to have the outlet in the floor as the vacuum generator is still able to direct air flows from said inlet of said compartment toward said vacuum generator, and wherein said filter system removes material and particles from the air. Buley is further relied upon to teach a roof hatch system having a compartment with an upper wall having a hatch with an inlet (roof hatch system with opening for school buses, trailers, and other large vehicles, see [0025]).
The same is true of Markam. Markham teaches opposing side walls which are solid. Markham further teaches a plurality of compartments (barrels coupled to roll-off skids, 816, 818, see Fig. 8D), each of said compartments including an upper wall (upper concave section, Fig. 3: 116), an opposing bottom wall (lower trough section, 120) and opposing solid sidewalls (middle convex sections, 118; Fig. 40) extending between said upper wall and said bottom wall (see Fig. 3), said upper wall including a hatch (upper concave section, 116 having ) with an inlet (manways, 108, 110, 112) and said bottom wall having an outlet.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723