DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/10/2022, 08/10/2022, 10/27/2025, 06/11/2026 and 07/24/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 06/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the present claims are directed to a single inventive concept deserving full substantive consideration on the merits. This is not found persuasive because Group I is directed to a terminal rivet for a terminal, classified in H01M 50/557. Group II is directed to a method of fastening a terminal rivet to a terminal plate to form a battery terminal of a secondary cell, classified in H01M 50/567. Regardless of search method, invention of different limitations will require different search strategies, and the times to consider the relevancy of collective references would increase proportionally as well.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemoto et al. (“Nemoto”, US 20180130995 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nemoto teaches a terminal rivet for a terminal (Nemoto, Figs. 1-7, [0004], [0043], e.g., the rivet member and the terminal be joined together; the second terminal 15 acts like a rivet), wherein the terminal rivet comprises:
a first shaft portion configured to extend through a through-hole of a terminal plate of the terminal (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 below), [0037], [0041], e.g., an insertion hole 14c through which the shaft part 15c of the second terminal 15 (to be described later) is inserted; a leading end 15c1 of the shaft part 15c is crushed and riveted around the insertion hole 14c on the outer side of the first terminal 14), and
a first flange comprising a protruding portion extending a distance above a remaining surface portion of the first flange, the protruding portion being configured to extend into the terminal plate in a riveted state (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 below), [0041], [0059], e.g., a leading end 15c1 of the shaft part 15c is crushed and riveted around the insertion hole 14c on the outer side of the first terminal 14; at least a portion of the shaft part 15c reaches into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14).
Regarding claim 2, Nemoto teaches the protruding portion is plastically deformed in the riveted state (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14).
Regarding claim 3, Nemoto teaches wherein the deformation is such that an outer circumferential surface of the portion extending through the through-hole of the terminal plate is inclined radially outwards with respect to a central longitudinal axis of the terminal rivet (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7, [0059], e.g., the leading end 15c1 of the shaft part 15c has a cylindrical shape; as shown in FIG. 7, a rotating member 60 is pressed against the cylindrical leading end 15c1 of the shaft part 15c while being moved along the leading end 15c1 in a circumferential direction; the rotating member 60 crushes the cylindrical leading end 15c1 of the shaft part 15c sequentially in the circumferential direction; a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14).
Regarding claim 4, Nemoto teaches wherein the protruding portion is annular in shape (Nemoto, Figs. 3-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 3-7, the protruding portion is annular in shape)).
Regarding claim 6, Nemoto teaches wherein the protruding portion extends continuously around a circumference of the first flange (Nemoto, Figs. 3-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 3-7, the protruding portion extends continuously around a circumference of the first flange)).
Regarding claim 7, Nemoto teaches wherein the protruding portion is positioned at a radially outer edge of the first flange (Nemoto, Figs. 3-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 3-7, the protruding portion is positioned at a radially outer edge of the first flange)).
Regarding claim 8, Nemoto teaches wherein, in the riveted state, the protruding portion is positioned radially outside a portion of the terminal plate with respect to a central axis of the terminal rivet (Nemoto, Figs. 3-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 3-7, in the riveted state, the protruding portion is positioned radially outside a portion of the terminal plate with respect to a central axis of the terminal rivet)).
Regarding claim 9, Nemoto teaches wherein the protruding portion is positioned at a radial distance spaced from the inner circumference of the first flange (Nemoto, Figs. 3-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 3-7, the protruding portion is positioned at a radial distance spaced from the inner circumference of the first flange)).
Regarding claim 10, Nemoto teaches a second shaft portion that forms at least a portion of the first flange (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 below), [0043], e.g., the second terminal 15 acts like a rivet; (as shown in Figs. 4-7, a second shaft portion that forms at least a portion of the first flange)).
Regarding claim 11, Nemoto teaches a second flange configured to abut against a gasket of the terminal through which the second shaft portion extends (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0033], e.g., the first insulating material 12 is also called a gasket, and keeps the mounting hole 11c sealed; the cylindrical part 12b has an inside diameter according to the outside diameter of a shaft part 15c provided in the second terminal 15 so that the shaft part 15c can be inserted through the cylindrical part 12b; the reception part 12c is provided in a lower surface of the first insulating material 12; the reception part 12c is a part having a recess matching the shape of the base part 15a of the second terminal 15 and used to position the base part 15a; (as shown in Figs. 4-7, a second flange configured to abut against a gasket of the terminal through which the second shaft portion extends)).
Regarding claim 12, Nemoto teaches wherein the first and second shaft portions are made from the same material (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0032], [0043], e.g., copper or a copper alloy is used for the second terminal 15; the second terminal 15 acts like a rivet).
Regarding claim 13, Nemoto teaches wherein the first and second shaft portions are made of copper or a copper alloy (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0032], [0043], e.g., copper or a copper alloy is used for the second terminal 15; the second terminal 15 acts like a rivet).
Regarding claim 14, Nemoto teaches a second flange configured to abut against a gasket of the terminal (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0033], e.g., the first insulating material 12 is also called a gasket, and keeps the mounting hole 11c sealed; the reception part 12c is provided in a lower surface of the first insulating material 12; the reception part 12c is a part having a recess matching the shape of the base part 15a of the second terminal 15 and used to position the base part 15a; (as shown in Figs. 4-7, a second flange configured to abut against a gasket of the terminal)).
Regarding claim 15, Nemoto teaches wherein the rivet consists of a single integral piece of material (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 4-7, the rivet consists of a single integral piece of material)).
Regarding claim 16, Nemoto teaches wherein the terminal rivet is made of copper or a copper alloy (Nemoto, Figs. 4-7, [0032], [0043], e.g., copper or a copper alloy is used for the second terminal 15; the second terminal 15 acts like a rivet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemoto et al. (“Nemoto”, US 20180130995 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nemoto teaches wherein the protruding portion is one piece (Nemoto, Figs. 3-7 (see annotated Fig. 4 above), [0059], e.g., a portion of the shaft part 15c is plastically deformed and introduced into the recess 14c2 opening in the inclined surface 14c1; in the step of riveting the first terminal 14 and the second terminal 15, at least a portion of the shaft part 15c should reach into the recess 14c2 formed in the inclined surface 14c1 of the first terminal 14; (as shown in Figs. 3-7, the protruding portion is one piece)).
Nemoto does not teach wherein the protruding portion consists of several discrete parts.
However, making the protruding portion separable, e.g., consists of several discrete parts, is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11450933. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 1-16 of the present application are fully anticipated by claims 1-8 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11450933.
Conclusion
/HAIXIA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723