DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 12-14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US# 2022/0386310 hereinafter referred to as Ibrahim) in view of Hu (US# 2022/0061047) and Pabbisetty et al. (US# 2022/0086778 hereinafter referred to as Pabbisetty).
RE Claim 1, Ibrahim discloses a method comprising:
performing asynchronous communications at a first frequency band of a radio device (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – establishing communication to device using asynchronous mode and using first set of resources); and,
changing the asynchronous communication to enter a synchronous communications at a second frequency band of the radio device (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – switching between different type slots (asynchronous and synchronous) using different resources).
Ibrahim does not specifically disclose
Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band; or
advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots; and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning a communication slot of the plurality of communication slots.
However, Hu teaches of
advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots (See Hu [0068]-[0069] – advertise beacon frame to schedule communication; listening for slot request from end device); and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning a communication slot of the plurality of communication slots (See Hu [0068]-[0069] – in response to slot request, transmit slot response to assign timeslots based on requests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, comprising advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots; and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning a communication slot of the plurality of communication slots, as taught in Hu. One is motivated as such in order to improve the quality of service of traffic streams (See Hu Background; Summary; [0020]).
Ibrahim, modified by Hu, does not specifically disclose Initiating the synchronous communication at a second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band.
However, Pabbisetty teaches of Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band (See Pabbisetty FIG 4; [0038]-[0039], [0045], [0053], [0103]-[0104] – interrupting asynchronous communication to switch to synchronous communication; changing frequency when changing states between asynchronous/synchronous states).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu, comprising Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band, as taught in Pabbisetty. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency and reduce power consumption by preferably switching to synchronous communication (See Pabbisetty Background; [0013]-[0016]).
RE Claim 3¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, further comprising returning to asynchronous communications at a termination of a periodic interval (See Ibrahim FIG 2; [0110], [0114], [0157], [0208], [0209] – can be construed as example in FIG 2, slots right before 215 and 220 are synchronous; when those slots end, operation returns to asynchronous operation (i.e. slots 215, 220); in addition, configuration of different slots can be switched between asynchronous or synchronous).
RE Claim 4¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the first frequency band of operation is 2.4 GHz (See Ibrahim [0092] – operating in one or more frequency bands in the range from 300 Mhz to 300 GHz).
RE Claim 5¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the second frequency band of operation is sub-1 GHz (See Ibrahim [0092] – operating in one or more frequency bands in the range from 300 Mhz to 300 GHz).
RE Claim 10, Ibrahim discloses a device (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – asynchronous and synchronous wireless communication) comprising:
A radio device (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5),
Wherein the device is configurable to:
Perform asynchronous communication at a first frequency band of the radio device (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – establishing communication to device using asynchronous mode and using first set of resources); and,
changing the asynchronous communications to enter synchronous communications at a second frequency band of the radio device (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – switching between different type slots (asynchronous and synchronous) using different resources).
Ibrahim does not specifically disclose
Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band;
advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots; and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning communication slot of a plurality of communication slots.
However, Hu teaches of
advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots (See Hu [0068]-[0069] – advertise beacon frame to schedule communication; listening for slot request from end device); and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning communication slot of a plurality of communication slots (See Hu [0068]-[0069] – in response to slot request, transmit slot response to assign timeslots based on requests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, comprising advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots; and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning communication slot of a plurality of communication slots, as taught in Hu. One is motivated as such in order to improve the quality of service of traffic streams (See Hu Background; Summary; [0020]).
Ibrahim, modified by Hu, does not specifically disclose Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band.
However, Pabbisetty teaches of Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band (See Pabbisetty FIG 4; [0038]-[0039], [0045], [0053], [0103]-[0104] – interrupting asynchronous communication to switch to synchronous communication; changing frequency when changing states between asynchronous/synchronous states).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu, comprising Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band, as taught in Pabbisetty. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency and reduce power consumption by preferably switching to synchronous communication (See Pabbisetty Background; [0013]-[0016]).
RE Claim 12¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a device, as set forth in claim 10 above, further configurable to return to the asynchronous communications at a termination of a periodic interval (See Ibrahim FIG 2; [0110], [0114], [0157], [0208], [0209] – can be construed as example in FIG 2, slots right before 215 and 220 are synchronous; when those slots end, operation returns to asynchronous operation (i.e. slots 215, 220); in addition, configuration of different slots can be switched between asynchronous or synchronous).
RE Claim 13¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a device, as set forth in claim 10 above, wherein the first frequency band of operation is 2.4 GHz (See Ibrahim [0092] – operating in one or more frequency bands in the range from 300 Mhz to 300 GHz).
RE Claim 14¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a device, as set forth in claim 10 above, wherein the second frequency band of operation is sub-1 GHz (See Ibrahim [0092] – operating in one or more frequency bands in the range from 300 Mhz to 300 GHz).
RE Claim 19, Ibrahim discloses a method comprising:
Performing, by a first device with a second device having a radio (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165]), asynchronous communication at a first frequency band with the radio (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – establishing communication to device using asynchronous mode and using first set of resources); and,
Entering, by the first device with the second device, synchronous communications, at a second frequency band with the radio (See Ibrahim FIGs 2, 5; [0114], [0161]-[0165] – switching between different type slots (asynchronous and synchronous) using different resources).
Ibrahim does not specifically disclose
Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band; or
advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots; and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning communication slot of a plurality of communication slots.
However, Hu teaches of
advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots (See Hu [0068]-[0069] – advertise beacon frame to schedule communication; listening for slot request from end device); and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning communication slot of a plurality of communication slots (See Hu [0068]-[0069] – in response to slot request, transmit slot response to assign timeslots based on requests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, comprising advertising at least one communication slot of a plurality of communication slots; and,
in response to receiving a petition, assigning communication slot of a plurality of communication slots, as taught in Hu. One is motivated as such in order to improve the quality of service of traffic streams (See Hu Background; Summary; [0020]).
Ibrahim, modified by Hu, does not specifically disclose Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band.
However, Pabbisetty teaches of Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band (See Pabbisetty FIG 4; [0038]-[0039], [0045], [0053], [0103]-[0104] – interrupting asynchronous communication to switch to synchronous communication; changing frequency when changing states between asynchronous/synchronous states).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu, comprising Interrupting the asynchronous communication to Initiate the synchronous communication at a second frequency band, as taught in Pabbisetty. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication efficiency and reduce power consumption by preferably switching to synchronous communication (See Pabbisetty Background; [0013]-[0016]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US# 2022/0386310 hereinafter referred to as Ibrahim) in view of Hu (US# 2022/0061047), Pabbisetty et al. (US# 2022/0086778 hereinafter referred to as Pabbisetty), and Barriac et al. (US# 2014/0198642 hereinafter referred to as Barriac).
RE Claim 6¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, does not specifically disclose wherein a number of communication slots is based on a number of end devices to be supported.
However, Barriac teaches of wherein a number of communication slots of the plurality of communication slots is based on a number of end devices to be supported (See Barriac [0091] – number of timeslots as a function of the number of users).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, wherein a number of communication slots of the plurality of communication slots is based on a number of end devices to be supported, as taught in Barriac. One is motivated as such in order to avoid collisions and loss of data (See Barriac Background; Summary).
RE Claim 15¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a router, as set forth in claim 10 above. Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, does not specifically disclose wherein a number of communication slots of the plurality of communication slots is based on a number of end devices to be supported.
However, Barriac teaches of wherein a number of communication slots of the plurality of communication slots is based on a number of end devices to be supported (See Barriac [0091] – number of timeslots as a function of the number of users).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, wherein a number of communication slots of the plurality of communication slots is based on a number of end devices to be supported, as taught in Barriac. One is motivated as such in order to avoid collisions and loss of data (See Barriac Background; Summary).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US# 2022/0386310 hereinafter referred to as Ibrahim) in view of Hu (US# 2022/0061047), Pabbisetty et al. (US# 2022/0086778 hereinafter referred to as Pabbisetty), and Park (US# 2025/0038932).
RE Claim 9¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of communication slots is spread across a plurality of channels within the second frequency band.
However, Park teaches of wherein the plurality of communication slots is spread across a plurality of channels within the second frequency band (See Park FIG 14; [0220] – frequency hopping for each timeslot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, wherein the plurality of communication slots is spread across a plurality of channels within the second frequency band, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to prevent collision and loss of data (See Park Background; Summary).
RE Claim 18¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a router, as set forth in claim 10 above. Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of the communication slots are spread across a plurality of channels within the second frequency band.
However, Park teaches of wherein the plurality of the communication slots are spread across a plurality of channels within the second frequency band (See Park FIG 14; [0220] – frequency hopping for each timeslot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, wherein the plurality of the communication slots are spread across a plurality of channels within the second frequency band, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to prevent collision and loss of data (See Park Background; Summary).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US# 2022/0386310 hereinafter referred to as Ibrahim) in view of Hu (US# 2022/0061047), Pabbisetty et al. (US# 2022/0086778 hereinafter referred to as Pabbisetty), and Xhafa et al. (US# 2013/0259016 hereinafter referred to as Xhafa).
RE Claim 20¸ Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 19 above. Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, does not specifically disclose exchanging data in the at least one communication slot using coordinated sampled listening for uplink and downlink.
However, Xhafa teaches of exchanging data in the at least one communication slot using coordinated sampled listening for uplink and downlink (See Xhafa [0024], [0032] – wireless device communicating via timeslots and using CSL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Ibrahim, modified by Hu and Pabbisetty, comprising exchanging data in the at least one communication slot using coordinated sampled listening for uplink and downlink, as taught in Xhafa. One is motivated as such in order to improve packet error rate and reduce interference (See Xhafa Background; Summary; [0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7-8, 11, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment (See Claims above, Pabbisetty reference).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477