DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18 and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 and 19 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention seems to be a typo. It is suggested that Brnie be changed to Brine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 12, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "lithium ion media" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation is interpreted as the lithiated ion exchange media for examination.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "lithium ion media" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation is interpreted as the lithiated ion exchange media for examination.
Claim 19 recites “ the process creates particles” which is unclear since the instant specification uses “particles” to refer to both suspended solids ([0051]) and the ion exchange particle ([0062]). This limitation is interpreted as the ion exchange particles or beads for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 12-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snydacker et al (US 20210380429 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Snydacker discloses recovery of lithium from liquid resources to produce lithium solutions (abstract meeting limitation “a process for recovering lithium”). The pH of said liquid resource is increased before… contact with a lithium-selective ion exchange material ([0010] meeting limitation “increasing the pH of a brine source…to produce a pH-elevated brine source”). The liquid resources is a natural brine ([0032]) The brine contains lithium at a concentration of less than 1 mg/L… or greater than 80,000 mg/L ([0034] meeting limitation “a brine source containing lithium ions”). To control the pH of the brine and maintain the pH in a range that is suitable for lithium uptake in an ion exchange column, bases such as NaOH… are added to the brine ([0046]). For ion exchange beads to absorb lithium from brine, an ideal pH range for the brine is optionally 5 to 7 ([0046]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Snydacker (5-7) overlaps with the claimed range (about 5.5 or greater). Therefore, the range in Snydacker renders obvious the claimed range.
Snydacker further discloses a process for extracting lithium from a liquid resource comprises a) contacting a lithium-selective ion exchange material with a liquid resource comprising lithium to allow said lithium-selective ion exchange material to absorb lithium from said liquid resource thereby forming a lithium-enriched ion exchange material ([0024] meeting limitation “contacting the pH-elevated brine source with a bed of protonated ion exchange media to produce a lithiated ion exchange media and a lithium-depleted brine stream”); b) contacting said lithium-enriched ion exchange material with a wash solution to remove said liquid resource from said lithium-enriched ion exchange material ([0024] meeting limitation “contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an…wash liquid to produce a washed lithiated ion exchange media”); c) contacting said lithium-enriched ion exchange material with an acidic solution such that lithium and impurities are eluted from said lithium-enriched ion exchange material to form a first impurities-enriched lithiated acidic solution and a partially-eluted ion exchange material ([0024] meeting limitation “and contacting the washed lithiated ion exchange media with an elution liquid comprising an acid to form a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions eluted from the lithiated ion exchange media”).
Regarding the claim limitation “an acidic aqueous wash liquid”, Snydacker discloses in some embodiments, the packed or fluidized beds, i.e. lithiated ion exchange media, may be washed … after contracting with brine … using water or washing solutions containing water, salt, chelating compounds, ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid, salt of ethylenediaminetetraacetate, compounds of ethylenediaminetetraacetate, and/or anti-scalants ([0157] meeting limitation “an acidic aqueous wash liquid”).
Regarding claim 8, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including in some embodiments, the packed or fluidized beds, i.e. lithiated ion exchange media, may be washed … after contracting with brine … using water or washing solutions containing water, salt, chelating compounds, ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid, salt of ethylenediaminetetraacetate, compounds of ethylenediaminetetraacetate, and/or anti-scalants ([0157] meeting limitation “wherein the acidic aqueous wash liquid comprises… other liquid having a pH of below about 7.0”).
Regarding claim 9, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including in some embodiments, the packed or fluidized beds, i.e. lithiated ion exchange media, may be washed … after contracting with brine … using water or washing solutions containing water, salt … ([0157]). This meets the claim limitation “wherein the acidic aqueous wash liquid comprises brine” since the instant specification gives an example of “brine” as “salt water” ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including in some embodiments, the packed or fluidized beds, i.e. lithiated ion exchange media, may be washed … after contracting with brine … using water or washing solutions containing water, salt, … ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid ([0157]). This meets the claim limitation “wherein the acidic aqueous wash liquid comprising brine comprises an acidified brine” since the instant specification gives an example of “brine” as “salt water” ([0023]) and the addition of ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid would make an acidified brine.
Regarding claim 12, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the pH of the brine is corrected to… 6 to 8 ([0039]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Snydacker (6 to 8) overlaps with the claimed range (about 7.5 to about 8). Therefore, the range in Snydacker renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the acidic solution comprises sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, hydrochloric acid, hydrobromic acid, carbonic acid, nitric acid, or combinations thereof ([0111]).
Regarding claim 16, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses In one embodiment, the ion exchange material is selected from the group consisting of Li4Ti5O12 ([0060] meeting limitation “wherein the ion exchange media comprises … lithium titanate”).
Regarding claim 17, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses lithium or other metals are recovered from the brine using a porous structure for ion exchange comprising: a) a structural support… the structural support comprises a polymer ([0067] meeting limitation “wherein the ion exchange media comprises a polymeric binder”).
Regarding claim 19, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the ion exchange material for impurity removal comprises beads with a mean diameter of about 10-50 microns ([0118]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Snydacker (about 10-50 microns) overlaps with the claimed range (less than about 50.0 microns). Therefore, the range in Snydacker renders obvious the claimed range.
Claims 2-6, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snydacker et al (US 20210380429 A1) in view of Snydacker et al (US 20210077990 A1, hereinafter “Snydacker 2”).
Regarding claim 2, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid comprises:
a recycle wash liquid that fluidizes the bed of lithiated ion exchange media to form an intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media and an impurity-containing wash stream;
and wherein contacting the intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid forms the washed lithiated ion exchange media and the recycle wash liquid.”
Snydacker 2 discloses a method for extracting lithium from a liquid resource, comprising: …b) providing ion exchange particles in said ion exchange reactor; c) contacting said ion exchange particles in said ion exchange reactor with said liquid resource, wherein hydrogen ions from said ion exchange particles are exchanged with lithium ions from said liquid resource to produce lithium-enriched ion exchange particles in said ion exchange unit; … e) washing said lithium-enriched ion exchange particles with a water solution one or more times; … g) treating said lithium-enriched ion exchange particles with an acid solution, wherein said lithium ions from said lithium-enriched ion exchange particles are exchanged with hydrogen ions from said acid solution to produce a lithium eluate ([0054]).
Snydacker 2 further discloses flows of liquid resource, washing solution, or acid solution are recirculated through an ion exchange reactor, i.e. a recycle wash ([0101]). In some embodiments, flows of acid, brine, water, or other solutions are injected at the bottom of the tank to fluidize or suspend ion exchange particles from the bottom of the tank ([0101] meeting limitation “a recycle wash liquid that fluidizes the bed of lithiated ion exchange media to form an intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media and an impurity-containing wash stream”). Recirculation and recycling are known in the art to decrease operation costs.
Regarding the claim limitation “wherein contacting the intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid forms the washed lithiated ion exchange media and the recycle wash liquid”, Snydacker 2 discloses washing said lithium-enriched ion exchange particles with a water solution one or more times ([0054]). When the washing step is done more than one time, this limitation is met.
While Snydacker 2 discloses a water solution rather than an acidic aqueous wash liquid, Snydacker’s washing solution is relied upon to meet the claim limitation of “acidic aqueous wash liquid” as discussed above.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for wherein contact the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid to comprise: a recycle wash liquid that fluidizes the bed of lithiated ion exchange media to form an intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media and an impurity-containing wash stream; and wherein contacting the intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid forms the washed lithiated ion exchange media and the recycle wash liquid in the method of Snydacker in order to decrease operation costs and to suspend ion exchange particles from the bottom of the tank which increases ion exchange as taught by Snydacker 2.
Regarding claim 3, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses in some embodiments, the plurality of vessels comprises lithium-enriched ion exchange material as a packed bed, fluidized bed, or combinations thereof ([0142] meeting limitation “wherein the process is conducted in an ion exchange system comprising a plurality of vessels each containing a bed of the ion exchange media”).
Snydacker does not disclose “in selective fluid communication with a supply of the pH-elevated brine source, aqueous acidic wash liquid, and elution liquid comprising an acid;
and wherein producing lithium ion media, contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid, and forming a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions are conducted serially in each of the vessels in parallel offset cycles, thereby forming a series of vessels, each with a lithiated ion exchange media, a washed lithiated ion exchange media, and a regenerated protonated ion exchange media;
and wherein contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid comprises:
a recycle wash liquid that fluidizes the bed of lithiated ion exchange media to form an intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media and an impurity-containing wash stream;
and wherein contacting the intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid forms the washed lithiated ion exchange media and the recycle wash liquid.”
Snydacker 2 discloses in some embodiments, said ion exchange particles are retained in said networked plurality of tanks with flows of brine, washing solution, and acid alternately moving through said plurality of tanks ([0016] meeting limitation “wherein producing lithium ion media, contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid, and forming a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions are conducted serially in each of the vessels in parallel offset cycles, thereby forming a series of vessels, each with a lithiated ion exchange media, a washed lithiated ion exchange media, and a regenerated protonated ion exchange media”). To retain the ion exchange particles in the ion exchange reactor, while allowing flows of brine, water, and acid to enter and exit the ion exchange reactor, one or more particle traps are used with the ion exchange reactor ([0005] meeting limitation “in selective fluid communication with a supply of the pH-elevated brine source, aqueous acidic wash liquid, and elution liquid comprising an acid”).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the process conducted in an ion exchange system comprising a plurality of vessels each containing a bed of the ion exchange media and in selective fluid communication with a supply of the pH-elevated brine source, aqueous acidic wash liquid, and elution liquid comprising an acid; and wherein producing lithium ion media, contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid, and forming a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions are conducted serially in each of the vessels in parallel offset cycles, thereby forming a series of vessels, each with a lithiated ion exchange media, a washed lithiated ion exchange media, and a regenerated protonated ion exchange media in the method of Snydacker as taught by Snydacker 2 in order for the reactors to be operated in a continuous mode of operation.
Snydacker 2 further discloses flows of liquid resource, washing solution, or acid solution are recirculated through an ion exchange reactor, i.e. a recycle wash ([0101]). In some embodiments, flows of acid, brine, water, or other solutions are injected at the bottom of the tank to fluidize or suspend ion exchange particles from the bottom of the tank ([0101] meeting limitation “a recycle wash liquid that fluidizes the bed of lithiated ion exchange media to form an intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media and an impurity-containing wash stream”). Recirculation and recycling are known in the art to decrease operation costs.
Regarding the claim limitation “wherein contacting the intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid forms the washed lithiated ion exchange media and the recycle wash liquid”, Snydacker 2 discloses washing said lithium-enriched ion exchange particles with a water solution one or more times. When the washing step is done more than one time, this limitation is met.
While Snydacker 2 discloses a water solution rather than an acidic aqueous wash liquid, Snydacker’s washing solution is relied upon to meet the claim limitation of “acidic aqueous wash liquid” as discussed above.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for wherein contact the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid to comprise: a recycle wash liquid that fluidizes the bed of lithiated ion exchange media to form an intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media and an impurity-containing wash stream; and wherein contacting the intermediate washed lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid forms the washed lithiated ion exchange media and the recycle wash liquid in the method of Snydacker in order to decrease operation costs and to suspend ion exchange particles from the bottom of the tank which increases ion exchange as taught by Snydacker 2.
Regarding claim 4, Snydacker in view of Snydacker 2 discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Snydacker 2 discloses e) washing said lithium-enriched ion exchange particles with a water solution one or more times ([0054]). When the washing step is done more than one time, this limitation is met.
Regarding claim 5, Snydacker in view of Snydacker 2 discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Snydacker 2 discloses flows of liquid resource, washing solution, or acid solution are recirculated through an ion exchange reactor, i.e. a recycle wash ([0101]). In some embodiments, flows of acid, brine, water, or other solutions are injected at the bottom of the tank to fluidize or suspend ion exchange particles from the bottom of the tank ([0101] meeting limitation “wherein the first lithiated ion exchange media is fluidized by contacting the first lithiated ion exchange media with the recycle wash liquid”).
Regarding claim 6, Snydacker in view of Snydacker 2 discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and while neither explicitly discloses the pH of the recycle wash liquid is higher than the pH of the acidic aqueous wash liquid, this would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art since the recycle wash liquid has similar composition to the acidic aqueous wash liquid except that the recirculated or recycle wash liquid would additionally have a concentration of pH-elevated brine since it has washed the lithium-enriched ion exchange particles and washing is used to remove residual brine (Snydacker 2 [0096]). Therefore, it would be obvious that the recycle wash liquid would have a higher pH than the acidic aqueous wash liquid.
Regarding claim 14, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses in some embodiments, the plurality of vessels comprises lithium-enriched ion exchange material as a packed bed, fluidized bed, or combinations thereof ([0142] meeting limitation “wherein the process is conducted in an ion exchange system comprising a plurality of vessels each containing a bed of the ion exchange media”).
Snydacker does not disclose “in selective fluid communication with a supply of the pH-elevated brine source, aqueous acidic wash liquid, and elution liquid comprising an acid;
and wherein producing lithium ion media, contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid, and forming a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions are conducted serially in each of the vessels in parallel offset cycles”.
Snydacker 2 discloses in some embodiments, said ion exchange particles are retained in said networked plurality of tanks with flows of brine, washing solution, and acid alternately moving through said plurality of tanks ([0016] meeting limitation “wherein producing lithium ion media, contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid, and forming a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions are conducted serially in each of the vessels in parallel offset cycles, thereby forming a series of vessels, each with a lithiated ion exchange media, a washed lithiated ion exchange media, and a regenerated protonated ion exchange media”). To retain the ion exchange particles in the ion exchange reactor, while allowing flows of brine, water, and acid to enter and exit the ion exchange reactor, one or more particle traps are used with the ion exchange reactor ([0005] meeting limitation “in selective fluid communication with a supply of the pH-elevated brine source, aqueous acidic wash liquid, and elution liquid comprising an acid”).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the process conducted in an ion exchange system comprising a plurality of vessels each containing a bed of the ion exchange media and in selective fluid communication with a supply of the pH-elevated brine source, aqueous acidic wash liquid, and elution liquid comprising an acid; and wherein producing lithium ion media, contacting the lithiated ion exchange media with an acidic aqueous wash liquid, and forming a regenerated protonated ion exchange media having a reduced lithium ion content and an ion exchange salt solution containing lithium ions are conducted serially in each of the vessels in parallel offset cycles, thereby forming a series of vessels, each with a lithiated ion exchange media, a washed lithiated ion exchange media, and a regenerated protonated ion exchange media in the method of Snydacker as taught by Snydacker 2 in order for the reactors to be operated in a continuous mode of operation.
Regarding claim 15, Snydacker in view of Snydacker 2 discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Snydacker 2 discloses said ion exchange particles are retained in said networked plurality of tanks with flows of brine, washing solution, and acid alternately moving through said plurality of tanks ([0016] meeting limitation “wherein the bed of ion exchange media is disposed within one or more vessels”). Flows of acid, brine, water, or other solutions are injected at the bottom of the tank to fluidize or suspend ion exchange particles from the bottom of the tank ([0101] meeting limitation “and fluidized when contacted with the pH-elevated brine source”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snydacker et al (US 20210380429 A1) in view of Snydacker et al (US 20190044126 A1, hereinafter “Snydacker 3”) and Repsher et al (US 4291001).
Regarding claim 7, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein the pH of the acidic aqueous wash liquid has a pH of between about 4.5 and about 6.5”.
Snydacker 3 discloses a method of extracting lithium ions from a liquid resource, comprising : a ) flowing the liquid resource into a system comprising a tank to produce a lithiated ion exchange material; and b) treating the lithiated ion exchange material from a) with an acid solution to produce a hydrogen - rich ion exchange material and a salt solution comprising lithium ions ([0016]). In some embodiments, the method further comprises prior to b), washing the lithiated ion exchange material with an aqueous solution ([0016]). The ion exchange columns are optionally washed with water that is mildly acidic… to remove any basic precipitates from the column prior to acid elution ([0123]).
Repsher discloses recovery of lithium from brine (title), and further discloses mildly acidic conditions (e.g., pH 5-6.5) (Col. 1 lines 18-19).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Repsher (5-6.5) overlaps with the claimed range (between about 4.5 and about 6.5). Therefore, the range in Repsher renders obvious the claimed range.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the pH of the acidic aqueous wash liquid to have a pH of between about 4.5 and about 6.5 in the method of Snydacker in order to remove any basic precipitates from the column prior to acid elution as taught by Snydacker 3.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snydacker et al (US 20210380429 A1) in view of Shannon (“Economic impact of corrosion and scaling problems in geothermal energy systems”).
Regarding claim 11, Snydacker discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not disclose “wherein the brine source has a pH ranging from about 4.2 to about 5.0”.
Shannon discloses pH 4.9 brines from the Salton Sea (Pg. 36 par. 1). 4.9 is within the claimed range of from about 4.2 to about 5.0.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the brine source to have a pH ranging from about 4.2 to about 5.0 in the method of Snydacker in order to source the brine from the Salton Sea as taught by Shannon.
Conclusion
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738