DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 03/30/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 03/30/2026. Claims 2-3, 13, 21-22 and 24 have been canceled. Claims 25 and 26 have been added. Claims 1, 19, 20 and 23 have been amended. Currently, claims 1, 4-12, 14-20, 23 and 25-26 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 03/30/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding amended claim 1, Applicant argues that Ang in view of He does not disclose the amended limitations by stating that Ang “at best appears to disclose that a user endpoint device may receive configurations for first and second bandwidth parts (BWPs)” and that “Ang does not disclose, however, that configurating the user endpoint device for different BWPs involves adapting a setting of a RAN node (e.g. an eNodeB or gNodeb) serving the user endpoint device”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument is not commensurate with Ang’s full disclosure, which include base station BWP control for communications with the UE, not merely UE receipt of BWP configurations.
Specifically, Ang discloses a BS side method in which the operations 900 may be performed by a BS, the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE (see par [0113]-[0116]). Ang further states that after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP (see [0116]). Thus, Ang’s adaptation is not merely the UE receiving configuration information; it is the serving BS/gNB changing BWP used for radio communications with the served UE.
Therefore, the combination of Ang in view of He discloses the amended limitations in question.
Regarding independent claims 19 and 20, and the remaining dependent claims, Applicant relies on the same arguments. Those arguments are unpersuasive for the reasons discussed above.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-17, 19, 20, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al. (US 20210289502 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20230413104 A1).
Consider claim 1, Ang discloses a method (read as a method for wireless communication having bandwidth part adaptation for extended reality (XR) applications, figures 1, 11 and 13, par [0039], [0137] and [0144]) comprising:
detecting, by a processing system including at least one processor, a first extended reality traffic flow and a second extended reality traffic flow exchanged between extended reality applications executing on a user endpoint device and an application server supporting the extended reality applications wherein the first extended reality traffic flow and the second extended reality traffic flow carry traffic associated with different components of the extended reality applications (read as the base stations (BSs) 110 and user equipments (UEs) 120 would configured for one or more services involving traffic flows between the application provider (e.g., the application server 140) and/or BSs 110 and UEs 120 associated with one or more XR applications running on the UEs 120; UE including controller/processor (1340/1380) having multiple BWPs that would be configured with each BWP tailored to a different level of traffic of the XR applications; for example, a first BWP would be configured for traffic between bursts, while a second BWP is configured to handle a traffic burst containing an I frame and a third BWP is configured to handle a traffic burst containing P frame, figures 1, 11 and 13, par [0039]-[0040], [0137] and [0144]);
mapping, by the processing system, the first extended reality traffic flow to a first radio access network-level metric and the second extended reality traffic flow to a second radio access network-level metric that is different from the first radio access network-level metric (read as a first set of QoS rules would be associated with the first BWP and corresponding lower traffic rate/flow of the XR applications, and second set of QoS rules would be associated with the second BWP and corresponding higher traffic/low of the XR applications, par [0034] and [0097]);
optimizing, by the processing system, the first extended reality traffic flow by making a first adaptation that adapts a setting of a radio access node serving the user endpoint device so that the first radio access network- level metric is met for the first extended reality traffic flow (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the lower traffic flow by adapting/switching the first bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the first set of QoS rules for the lower traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]; and the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE; and after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP, see par [0113]-[0116]); and
optimizing, by the processing system, the second extended reality traffic flow by making a second adaptation that adapts a setting of the radio access node serving the user endpoint device so that the second radio access network-level metric is met for the second extended reality traffic flow, wherein the second adaptation is different from the first adaptation (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the higher traffic flow by adapting/switching the second bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the second set of QoS rules for the higher traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]; and the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE; and after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP, see par [0113]-[0116]).
However, Ang discloses the claimed invention above and the extended reality applications having different traffic flows (par [0137]) but does not specifically disclose an extended reality application having different traffic flows.
Nonetheless, in related art, He discloses a single XR application having different flows of traffic, par [0152]-[0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of He into the teachings of Ang to take the different traffic flows of an XR application into consideration in order to improve power saving.
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 1 above, Ang, as modified by He, discloses wherein at least one of: the first radio access network-level metric or the second radio access network-level metric is associated with an energy saving parameter for at least one of: the user endpoint device or the radio access node serving the user endpoint device (read as bandwidth adaption for the power saving at the UE, par [0087]-[0090]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 1 above, Ang, as modified by He, discloses wherein the optimizing the first extended reality traffic flow or the second extended reality traffic flow further comprises providing an updated radio access network-level metric for at least one of: the first radio access network-level metric or the second radio access network-level metric to at least one of: the user endpoint device or the radio access node serving the user endpoint device (read as a second set of QoS rules based on the different parameters, par [0097]-[0098]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Ang, as modified by He, discloses wherein the updated radio access network-level metric is based on a network or service policy update (read as the differing traffic rates between the first and second configurations may be indicative of the different or separate services for which the BWPs are configured; in aspects, the first and second BWPs may be configured for different reliabilities (e.g., a lower and higher PER), different latencies (e.g., a lower and higher PDB), or other quality of service parameters associated with the different or separate services; that is, the first BWP may be configured for a first service (e.g., voice or video eMBB traffic), and the second BWP may be configured for a second service (e.g., XR or remote control applications), par [0097]).
Consider claim 19, Ang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) is programed with wireless communication having bandwidth part adaptation for extended reality (XR) applications, figures 1, 11 and 13, par [0039], [0137] and [0144]), the operations comprising:
detecting a first extended reality traffic flow and a second extended reality traffic flow exchanged between extended reality applications executing on a user endpoint device and an application server supporting the extended reality applications, wherein the first extended reality traffic flow and the second extended reality traffic flow carry traffic associated with different components of the extended reality applications (read as the base stations (BSs) 110 and user equipments (UEs) 120 would configured for one or more services involving traffic flows between the application provider (e.g., the application server 140) and/or BSs 110 and UEs 120 associated with one or more XR applications running on the UEs 120; UE including controller/processor (1340/1380) having multiple BWPs that would be configured with each BWP tailored to a different level of traffic of the XR applications; for example, a first BWP would be configured for traffic between bursts, while a second BWP is configured to handle a traffic burst containing an I frame and a third BWP is configured to handle a traffic burst containing P frame, figures 1, 11 and 13, par [0039]-[0040], [0137] and [0144]);
mapping the first extended reality traffic flow to a first radio access network- level metric and the second extended reality traffic flow to a second radio access network-level metric that is different from the first radio access network-level metric (read as a first set of QoS rules would be associated with the first BWP and corresponding lower traffic rate/flow of the XR applications, and second set of QoS rules would be associated with the second BWP and corresponding higher traffic/low of the XR applications, par [0034] and [0097]);
optimizing the first extended reality traffic flow by making a first adaptation that adapts a setting of a radio access node serving the user endpoint device, so that the first radio access network-level metric is met for the first extended reality traffic flow (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the lower traffic flow by adapting/switching the first bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the first set of QoS rules for the lower traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]; and the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE; and after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP, see par [0113]-[0116]); and
optimizing the second extended reality traffic flow by making a second adaptation that adapts a setting of the radio access node serving the user endpoint device, the frequency band of the user endpoint device, the frequency band of the radio access node serving the user endpoint device, so that the second radio access network-level metric is met for the second extended reality traffic flow, wherein the second adaptation is different from the first adaptation (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the higher traffic flow by adapting/switching the second bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the second set of QoS rules for the higher traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]; and the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE; and after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP, see par [0113]-[0116]).
However, Ang discloses the claimed invention above and the extended reality applications having different traffic flows (par [0137]) but does not specifically disclose an extended reality application having different traffic flows.
Nonetheless, in related art, He discloses a single XR application having different flows of traffic, par [0152]-[0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of He into the teachings of Ang to take the different traffic flows of an XR application into consideration in order to improve power saving.
Consider claim 20, Ang discloses a device comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to perform operations (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) of UE is programed with wireless communication having bandwidth part adaptation for extended reality (XR) applications, figures 1, 11 and 13, par [0039], [0137] and [0144]), the operations comprising:
detecting a first extended reality traffic flow and a second extended reality traffic flow exchanged between extended reality applications executing on a user endpoint device and an application server supporting the extended reality applications, wherein the first extended reality traffic flow and the second extended reality traffic flow carry traffic associated with different components of the extended reality applications (read as the base stations (BSs) 110 and user equipments (UEs) 120 would configured for one or more services involving traffic flows between the application provider (e.g., the application server 140) and/or BSs 110 and UEs 120 associated with one or more XR applications running on the UEs 120; UE including controller/processor (1340/1380) having multiple BWPs that would be configured with each BWP tailored to a different level of traffic of the XR applications; for example, a first BWP would be configured for traffic between bursts, while a second BWP is configured to handle a traffic burst containing an I frame and a third BWP is configured to handle a traffic burst containing P frame, figures 1, 11 and 13, par [0039]-[0040], [0137] and [0144]);
mapping the first extended reality traffic flow to a first radio access network-level metric and the second extended reality traffic flow to a second radio access network-level metric that is different from the first radio access network-level metric (read as a first set of QoS rules would be associated with the first BWP and corresponding lower traffic rate/flow of the XR applications, and second set of QoS rules would be associated with the second BWP and corresponding higher traffic/low of the XR applications, par [0034] and [0097]);
optimizing the first extended reality traffic flow by making a first adaptation that adapts a setting of a radio access node serving the user endpoint device so that the first radio access network-level metric is met for the first extended reality traffic flow (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the lower traffic flow by adapting/switching the first bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the first set of QoS rules for the lower traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]; and the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE; and after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP, see par [0113]-[0116]); and
optimizing the second extended reality traffic flow by making a second adaptation that adapts a setting of the radio access node serving the user endpoint device, so that the second radio access network-level metric is met for the second extended reality traffic flow, wherein the second adaptation is different from the first adaptation (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the higher traffic flow by adapting/switching the second bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the second set of QoS rules for the higher traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]; and the BS transmits first and second BWP configurations to the UE, obtains an indication to cause the UE to switch BWPs, and switches from the first BWP to the second BWP for communications with the UE; and after the switch, the BS may transmit XR traffic to the UE via the second BWP and may also receive XR traffic from the UE via the second BWP, see par [0113]-[0116]).
However, Ang discloses the claimed invention above and the extended reality applications having different traffic flows (par [0137]) but does not specifically disclose an extended reality application having different traffic flows.
Nonetheless, in related art, He discloses a single XR application having different flows of traffic, par [0152]-[0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of He into the teachings of Ang to take the different traffic flows of an XR application into consideration in order to improve power saving.
Consider claim 23, as applied to claim 1 above, Ang, as modified by He, discloses wherein the first adaptation further adapts at least one of: a channel bandwidth of the user endpoint device or a channel bandwidth of the radio access node serving the user endpoint device (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the lower traffic flow by adapting/switching the first bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the first set of QoS rules for the lower traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]).
Consider claim 25, as applied to claim 1 above, Ang, as modified by He, discloses wherein at least one of: the optimizing the first extended reality traffic flow or the optimizing the second extended reality traffic flow further comprises adapting a setting of the user endpoint device (read as the controller/processor (1340/1380) optimizing the higher traffic flow by adapting/switching the second bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE to meet the second set of QoS rules for the higher traffic flow, par [0097] and [0060]-[0064]).
Claims 4-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al. (US 20210289502 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20230413104 A1), and in further view of MANJA PPALLAN et al. (US 20220369153 A1).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, ANG, as modified by He, discloses the claimed invention above and QoS with its parameters as the first radio access network-level metric or second radio access network-level metric (par [0061]-[0062]) but does not specifically at least one of the first radio access network-level metric or second radio access network-level metric is an extended reality coverage metric.
Nonetheless, in related art, MANJA PPALLAN discloses and extend reality (XR) system comprising a plurality of parameters for classifying QoS class, one of the plurality of parameters is received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (a coverage metric as commonly known), par [0042]-[0043], [0053] and [0082].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of MANJA PPALLAN into the teachings of ANG, which modified by He, to use RSSI as one of the parameters for QoS to ensure the data flows meeting the RSSI requirement/condition (a design choice of parameter).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, ANG, as modified by He and MANJA PPALLAN, discloses wherein the extended reality coverage metric comprises physical layer and higher layer measurements (read as the indication include trigger detected in a physical layer and upper layers, par [0107]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, ANG, as modified by He and MANJA PPALLAN, discloses wherein the physical layer and higher layer measurements comprise measurements of at least one of: a reference signal received power, a received signal strength indicator, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (read as one of the plurality of parameters is received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (a coverage metric as commonly known), par [0042]-[0043], [0053] and [0082] of MANJA PPALLAN).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 4 above, ANG, as modified by He and MANJA PPALLAN, discloses at least one of the first radio access network-level metric or second radio access network-level metric is an extended reality energy metric (read as additional parameters or categories of parameters may be used in addition to or instead of those described, such as the first configuration and second configuration having different subcarrier spacings, different frequency locations, and/or different frequency bands (e.g., sub-6 GHz and mmW bands), par [0104]), and wherein the extended reality energy metric comprises physical layer and higher layer measurements (read as the indication include trigger detected in a physical layer and upper layers, par [0107]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, ANG, as modified by He and MANJA PPALLAN, discloses wherein the physical layer and higher layer measurements comprise measurements of at least one of: an instantaneous battery consumption, an average battery consumption, a control channel utilization, a data channel utilization, an uplink transmit power headroom report, a discontinuous reception utilization, a measurement gap utilization, or a frequency band utilization (read as additional parameters or categories of parameters may be used in addition to or instead of those described, such as the first configuration and second configuration having different subcarrier spacings, different frequency locations, and/or different frequency bands (e.g., sub-6 GHz and mmW bands), par [0104]; and the second periodicity may provide a shorter DRX (discontinuous reception ) cycle than the DRX cycle of the first periodicity, par [0101]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, ANG, as modified by He, discloses the claimed invention above and the different QoS sets/classes (par [0097]-[0098]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the updated radio access network-level metric is based on historical network data.
Nonetheless, in related art, MANJA PPALLAN discloses and extend reality (XR) system comprising classifying QoS class using machine learning model, and the machine learning model analyzes at least amount of data downloaded/uploaded per flow, par [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of MANJA PPALLAN into the teachings of ANG, which modified by He, to use amount of data downloaded/uploaded per flow (historical network data) as one of training data set of the network information as it would increase the accuracy of the QoS classification (see par [0040]).
Claims 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG et al. (US 20210289502 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20230413104 A1), and in further view of Gundavelli et al. (US 20220369163 A1).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, ANG, as modified by He, discloses the claimed invention above and a set of parameters (e.g., QoS parameters) and associated with the traffic flow that supports that service as shown on the table on figure 3 (par [0061] and [0064]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the first radio access network-level metric is mapped to a first identifier of the first extended reality traffic flow, and the second radio access network-level metric is mapped to a second identifier of the second extended reality traffic flow.
Nonetheless, in related art, Gundavelli discloses QoS flow creation procedure for a traffic flow associated with a particular application that may be associated with any combination of QoS parameters, if the UE 102.1 is requesting a new QoS traffic flow, it can sends an N1-PDU Session Modification message including the bit indicating a new QoS Flow Identifier (QFI) is to be assigned to the new traffic flow along with any combination of QoS parameters for the new traffic, par [0064] and [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gundavelli into the teachings of ANG, which modified by He, to use a new (unique) identifier for each new traffic flow to ensure that each traffic flow is correctly mapped with its corresponding QoS parameters.
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, ANG, as modified by He and Gundavelli, discloses wherein the first radio access network-level metric is mapped to the first identifier of the first extended reality traffic flow, and the second radio access network-level metric is mapped to the second identifier of the second extended reality traffic flow in a mapping table, and an index to the mapping table is associated with the first identifier of the first extended reality traffic flow and the second identifier of the second extended reality traffic flow (read as similar table on figure 3 of ANG (par [0061] and [0064]) with a new identifier for each new traffic flow of the traffic flows of Gundavelli (par [0064] and [0081])).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 9 above, ANG, as modified by He and Gundavelli, discloses wherein the first identifier is uniquely associated with the first extended reality traffic flow, and the second identifier is uniquely associated with the second extended reality traffic flow (read as a new identifier for each new traffic flow of the traffic flows, par [0064] and [0081] of Gundavelli).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 9 above, ANG, as modified by He and Gundavelli, discloses wherein the identifier is uniquely associated with a group of extended reality traffic flows including the extended reality traffic flow (read as similar table on figure 3 of ANG (par [0061] and [0064]) with a new identifier for each new traffic flow of the traffic flows of Gundavelli (par [0064] and [0081]); note: the term “associated” is broad; for example, if an identifier and the traffic flows shown on the same table, they are “associated” with each other).
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG et al. (US 20210289502 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20230413104 A1), and in further view of Kamel et al. (US 6,285,886).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 1 above, ANG, as modified by He, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the optimizing the transmit power of the radio access node serving the user endpoint device comprises providing, to the radio access node serving the user endpoint device, an updated transmit power value or an updated range of transmit power values.
Nonetheless, Kamel discloses a method/system for controlling power for a communication system, comprising controlling the uplink transmit power at the mobile station 30 using a new/updated uplink transmit power control and/or controlling the downlink transmit power at the base station 10 using a new/updated downlink transmit power control according to different quality of service (QoS) levels based on different QoS parameters, abstract, col. 4 with line 64 to col. 5 with line 44, and col. 8 with line 49 to col. 9 with line 32.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kamel into the teachings of ANG, as modified by He, to design the system to have adequate power control by controlling the uplink and downlink transmit power based on different QoS in order to maintain a proper performance of the system.
Claim 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANG et al. (US 20210289502 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20230413104 A1), and in further view of Ajdakple et al. (US 20200288412 A1).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 25 above, Ang, as modified by He, discloses the claimed invention above and UE BWP configurations and switching (par [0097]-[0099] and [0105]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the adapting the setting of the user endpoint device comprises at least one of: providing, to the user endpoint device, an updated transmit power value or an updated range of transmit power values.
Nonetheless, Ajdakple discloses augmented/virtual reality communication system comprising BWP power configuration in which the gNB signals P-Max.sub.-BWP(j) values to the UE as absolute, ratio, percentage, or offset values and configures those values using common or dedicated RRC signaling, which provides the UE with a transmit power value or range for limiting uplink transmission power on a BWP, par [0043] and [0268]-[0272].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ajdakple into the teachings of ANG, as modified by He, to configure the UE BWP adaption for XR traffic using Ajdakple’s BWP transmit power signaling, in order to limit UE uplink power for active BWPs in AR or VR service use cases (see par [0043] and [0268]-[0272]).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645