DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In Applicant’s response dated 1/13/2026, claims 1, 6, 9-11, and 14 are amended. Claims 4-5 and 15-20 are canceled. Claims 21-27 are added.
Status of Application
Applicant amendments are sufficient to overcome the objection to the specification in the Office Action dated July 14, 2025; thus, the objection is withdrawn. Applicant amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection in the recited Office Action; therefore, the rejection is withdrawn. Applicant amendments are sufficient to overcome the anticipation rejection in the recited Office Action; thus, the anticipation rejections are withdrawn. Applicant amendments necessitated reconsidering the prior art for all that it teaches and rejections are provided below.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites “extending about at least a portion” in lines 2-3 and 9, which is redundant. The Examiner recommends amending to “extending a portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22-26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusawa et al. [US20210283758A1, as provided on the IDS dated 02/21/2024 and the ESR dated 12/15/2023], hereinafter Furusawa, in further view of Kondo US20080302552A1, provided on the IDS dated 08/12/2022 as US7766097B2, hereinafter Kondo.
Regarding claim 22, Furusawa discloses a power tool comprising [Furusawa abstract and throughout]:
a housing [Furusawa 0015 and throughout, Fig. 1, housing 8/10/13] defining a battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0035, 0050, Figs. 1-2, where the battery attaches to the tool, generally lower portion 135 including 14A, 141-143, 145, 146, 136, 137, 138, 139, etc.], the battery pack attachment portion including a first cavity and a flange [Furusawa 0035, 0050-0051 and throughout, Figs. 2-3, , cavity is the “hollow body” interior of 135 [0035], for example holding part 14A, which has a cavity within 14A between side walls 141 and rear wall 145. Flange 143/145, alternatively 52 as the flange, or alternatively 53 as the flange];
a printed circuit board positioned in the housing [Furusawa 0034, Fig. 1, controller 151];
a motor positioned within the housing and in electrical communication with the printed circuit board [Furusawa 0036, Fig. 1, motor 2 electrically controlled by controller 151];
a battery pack receptacle positioned within the first cavity [Furusawa 0035 and throughout, Figs. 1-3 and throughout, case 81 of battery 8 and alternatively holder 5A if it is not considered part of the housing] and movably coupled to the battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0041], the battery pack receptacle including a groove in which the flange of the battery pack attachment portion is received [Furusawa 0046, 0051, 0057 and throughout, Figs. 3-4, flange 143/145 with groove between 53, alternatively 52 as the flange and 83 as the groove, alternatively 53 as the flange and 142 as the groove] and a second cavity configured to receive at least a portion of a battery pack, the flange being moveably received in the groove [Furusawa 0038-0057, Figs. 1-3, battery 8 with case 81 as the second cavity, flange 143/145 with groove between 53, alternatively 52 as the flange and 83 as the groove, alternatively 53 as the flange and 142 as the groove];
one of a spring or a resilient body positioned between the battery pack attachment portion and the battery pack receptacle [Furusawa 0053-0054 and throughout, Fig. 2, Both are disclosed; biasing member 58 is a spring and cushion 6a is a resilient body. Both would be considered between the lower portion of the tool part 135 and the battery pack receptacle case 81 of battery 8 and 5A] and configured to bias the battery pack receptacle relative to the battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0053-0054 and throughout]; and
power tool terminals [Furusawa 0041-0043, 0058, and throughout, Fig. 3, terminal parts 51/55/56, where 51 holds block 56 with terminal connectors 55] supported by the battery pack receptacle [Furusawa 0035, 0041-0042, 0058, and throughout, Figs. 2-3 and throughout, 51 attached to part 5A and connects to battery 8] and in electrical communication with the printed circuit board [Furusawa 0042, 0045, and throughout, Fig. 3, Controller 151 is electrically connected to terminal block 56, connected to terminals 55.].
Furusawa is silent to a gasket adhered to a surface of the groove and configured to absorb energy when the flange engages the surface of the groove. Kondo discloses a power tool 10 with battery pack 70 attached throughout an engagement portion 20/30 [Kondo 0045-0046, Figs. 1-6 and throughout] with a gasket 40 disposed in a groove 21 and configured to absorb energy between the groove 21 and flange 36 [Kondo 0045-0047, Figs. 5-6]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Kondo’s teaching to the power tool of Furusawa by adjusting the tolerances of the Furusawa’s flanges and grooves to accommodate a gasket positioned on a surface of the groove to absorb energy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date combine Kondo’s teaching with Furusawa’s power tool to provide a means for absorbing vibrational energy of the tool motor or from impact to prevent damage to the battery pack or inside circuits [Kondo 0049]. Such modification would be considered an improvement over Furusawa. See MPEP 2143(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.]
Regarding Claim 23, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 22, wherein the one of the spring or the resilient body is a spring [Furusawa 0054-0055 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 24, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 22, wherein the battery pack receptacle is movable in at least two orthogonal directions relative to the battery pack attachment portion [With the elasticity of Kondo’s taught gasket, the skilled artisan would expect that in combining Kondo with Furusawa, Furusawa’s battery pack receptacle would be moveable in at least two orthogonal directions relative to the battery pack attachment portion. Further, Furusawa discloses an embodiment [Furusawa 0066-0075] where battery pack is moveable relative to the flange in all directions including the front rear direction, left-right, and up-down, all of which are orthogonal, for improved impact performance [Furusawa 0074-0075 and throughout]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Furusawa’s embodiments by applying Furusawa’s teachings about improving impact performance by providing cushioning supports to provide impact resistance. The location and other specifications of the cushioning supports would depend on the type of tool, use, and impact requirements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Furusawa’s embodiment with additional resilient members to provide protection of the power tool from external forces applied from various directions [Furusawa 0075] and would provide additional vibration protection for the connections between the power tool and the battery pack [Furusawa 0025]. Such modification would be considered an improvement over the first embodiment of Furusawa. See MPEP 2143(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.].
Regarding Claim 25, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 22, further comprising a nosepiece assembly coupled to the housing [Furusawa 0017, Fig. 1, and throughout, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Furusawa’s tool holder 34 is a nosepiece coupled to the housing] and defining a driving axis [Furusawa 0017, Fig. 1, and throughout, driving axis A1], and wherein the one of the spring or the resilient body is oriented along an axis that is transverse to the driving axis [Furusawa Fig. 1, resilient member 6A is oriented transverse to the driving axis A1].
Regarding Claim 26, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 22, wherein the battery pack receptacle includes one of a hollow projection or rails [Furusawa 0041 and throughout, Figs. 1-4, where the receptacle includes 5A, which would be considered to have both a hollow projection (see space within 51 in Fig. 3) as the internal structure of 5A and rails 53], the hollow projection configured to receive a stem of the battery pack along a first insertion direction, the stem including battery pack terminals [Furusawa 0040-0051, Figs. 1, 3-5 upper portion of battery pack 8 [0040, Fig. 3 circle below] is the stem including the battery terminals in the first insertion direction (up/down direction of Fig. 1)], the rails configured to slidably engage corresponding grooves defined in the battery pack along a second insertion direction [Furusawa 0048-0051, Fig. 3 rails 53 slidably engage with grooves 142 in the rear front direction of Fig. 1], and wherein the first insertion direction and the second insertion direction are transverse to each other [Furusawa Fig. 1]. Further, Kondo reads on the claimed hollow projection 30 receiving a stem 50 or upper portion of battery pack 70 [Figs. 5-7] of the battery pack 70 in the first direction, which is up/down, the stem including battery pack terminals 84a/b [Kondo 0041-0042, Figs. 5-8] and the claimed rails 38 [Kondo 0041, Figs. 3-6] configured to slidably engage corresponding grooves on the underside of 74 on the battery pack [Kondo 0041, Figs. 6-7] in the second insertion direction [Kondo 0040 and throughout, Fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the analogous art of Furusawa and Kondo for the predictable result of a battery pack configured for attachment to a power tool [Furusawa/Kondo throughout].
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusawa et al. [US20210283758A1, as provided on the IDS dated 02/21/2024 and the ESR dated 12/15/2023], hereinafter Furusawa.
Regarding Claim 11, Furusawa discloses a power tool [Furusawa abstract, Fig. 1, and throughout] comprising:
a housing having a handle portion [Furusawa 0033, Fig. 1, housing 8/10/13, grip 131 as handle] and a battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0035, 0050, Figs. 1-2, where the battery attaches to the tool, generally lower portion 135 including 14A, 141-143, 145, 146, 136, 137, 138, 139, etc.], the battery pack attachment portion including a first cavity and a flange extending a portion of a perimeter of the battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0035, 0048-0051 and throughout, Figs. 2-4, The cavity is the “hollow body” interior of 135 [0035], for example holding part 14A, which has a cavity within 14A between. The side walls 141 and rear wall 145 read on the claimed flange, which extends over a portion of the perimeter of the battery pack. Alternatively, 5A [Fig. 4] can be considered part of the battery pack attachment portion as a flange which extends over a portion of the perimeter of the battery pack 8];
a printed circuit board positioned in the housing [Furusawa 0034, Fig. 1, controller 151];
a motor positioned within the housing and in electrical communication with the printed circuit board [Furusawa 0036, Fig. 1, motor 2 electrically controlled by controller 151];
a battery pack receptacle positioned within the first cavity [Furusawa 0035 and throughout, Figs. 1-3 and throughout, case 81 of battery 8 and alternatively 5A if not considered part of the battery pack attachment portion described above] and movably coupled to the battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0041], the battery pack receptacle including a second cavity configured to receive at least a portion of a battery pack and a groove extending a portion of a perimeter of the battery pack receptacle [Furusawa 0038, 0053, Figs. 1-3, battery 8 with case 81 as the second cavity, groove is 83 or alternatively the space between rails 53 of 5A];
a spring positioned between the battery pack attachment portion and the battery pack receptacle [Furusawa 0053-0054 and throughout, Fig. , biasing member 58 is a spring ] and configured to bias the battery pack receptacle relative to the battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0053-0054 and throughout]; and
power tool terminals [Furusawa 0041-0043, 0058, and throughout, Fig. 3, terminal parts 51/55/56, where 51 holds block 56 with terminal connectors 55] supported by the battery pack receptacle [Furusawa 0035, 0041-0042, 0058, and throughout, Figs. 2-3 and throughout, 51 is part of part 5A and connects to battery 8] and in electrical communication with the printed circuit board [Furusawa 0042, 0045, and throughout, Fig. 3, Controller 151 is electrically connected to terminal block 56, connected to terminals 55.],
wherein the battery pack receptacle is movable from a first position in which the spring is in a first compressed state [Furusawa 0054-0064, Figs. 1-4, first position is the described first condition, where the compression state of spring 58 is not fully compressed and allows movement] and a second position that is closer to the battery pack attachment portion of the housing, in which the spring is in a second compressed state [Furusawa 0035-0036, 0054-0064, Figs. 1-4, second position is the described second condition, with further compression of spring 58, which moves the battery pack receptacle case 81 and part 5A closer to 135/136], and
wherein the spring is more compressed in the second position than the first position [Furusawa 0054-0064, Figs. 1-4, spring 58 is uncompressed in the first position and more compressed in the second position],
wherein the flange is movable received withing the groove such that the battery receptacle is movable relative to the battery pack attachment portion [Furusawa 0056-0057, Groove 83 engages with 5A, as the flange (see interpretation of flange 5A above), linearly sliding the battery 8 frontward/rearward.], and wherein the flange is moveable in a first direction relative to the groove [Furusawa 0053, 0057, 0062-0063, and throughout] and in a second direction relative to the groove, the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction [Furusawa discloses an embodiment [Furusawa 0066-0075] where battery pack is moveable relative to the flange in all directions including the front rear direction, left-right, and up-down, all of which are orthogonal, for improved impact performance [Furusawa 0074-0075 and throughout]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Furusawa’s embodiments by applying Furusawa’s teachings about improving impact performance by providing additional cushioning supports to provide impact resistance in all directions. The location and other specification of the cushioning supports would depend on the type of tool, use, and impact requirements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Furusawa’s embodiment with additional resilient members to provide protection of the power tool from external forces applied from various directions [Furusawa 0075] and would provide additional vibration protection for the connections between the power tool and the battery pack [Furusawa 0025]. Such modification would be considered an improvement over the first embodiment of Furusawa. See MPEP 2143(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 11, wherein the battery pack receptacle further includes a projection configured to engage a latch mechanism of the battery pack [Furusawa 0052, 0057-0058, Fig. 2, hook 85 protruding from housing part 81, where latch mechanism forms between hook 85 and contact 146.].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 11, wherein each of the power tool terminals includes a detent that is received in aperture in the battery pack receptacle [Furusawa 0046 and throughout, Fig. 3, Case 51 as the detent is received in an upper portion of the battery 8 shown in Fig. 3 as the aperture.]
Regarding Claim 14, modified Furusawa discloses the power tool of claim 11, wherein the battery pack receptacle includes one of a hollow projection or rails [Furusawa 0046-0051 and throughout, Figs. 2-4, the interior of 5A could be considered a hollow projection [Fig. 2] and the sides of 5A have rails 53], the hollow projection configured to receive a stem of the battery pack along a first insertion direction [Furusawa, 0046-0051 and throughout, Figs. 3-4, the upper portion of case 81 (circled below) is the stem of the battery pack receptacle and is received within 5A in the first direction or up/down direction of Fig. 3], the stem including battery pack terminals [Furusawa 0040, as shown in Figs. 3 and 4, includes 56/55 and the battery pack terminals in the upper portion of the battery pack], the rails configured to slidably engage corresponding grooves defined in the battery pack along a second insertion direction [Furusawa 0046-0051 and throughout, Figs. 3-4, rails 53 slide is grooves 142 in front/back or left/right direction of Fig. 2], and wherein the first insertion direction and the second insertion direction are transverse to each other [Fig. 1 First direction, up/down, is transverse to second direction, front/back].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Furusawa as provided for claim 11 above. Claim 21 requires a nosepiece assembly coupled to the housing [Furusawa 0017, Fig. 1, and throughout, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Furusawa’s tool holder 34 is a nosepiece coupled to the housing] and defining a driving axis [Furusawa 0017, Figs. 1, 6 and throughout, driving axis A1], and wherein the spring is oriented along an axis that is transverse to the driving axis. In Furusawa, spring 58 is oriented along an axis that is parallel to the driving axis A1. There would be no know reason to modify Furusawa’s power tool to have the axis of the spring 58 the same as the driving axis.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, and 27 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 1 requires “wherein in the first potion of the battery pack receptacle, the flange is space apart from a bottom surface of the groove by a greater distance than in the second position.” Furusawa is the closest prior art of record as provided in the Office Action dated July 14, 2025. In Furusawa, there would be no change in the spacing between the flange and the bottom surface of the groove when comparing the first position and the second position due to the tight fit with no gap between the flange and groove as shown in Fig. 3. Since there is no gap to allow for any displacement difference between the first and second position, it would not be obvious to modify Furusawa to meet the claim limitation nor would there be any known motivation to do so.
The Examiner completed an updated search and the following art was considered regarding claim 1:
Thorson et al. US20210379717A1, as provided on the IDS dated 8/12/2022, Thorson’s isolation system 70 allows for up/down, left/right, front/rear movement [0021, Figs. 4-5] of the battery pack 30 relative to the power tool 10. Thorson’s first position would be where the battery pack is not fully engaged with latch 62 [0021-0023] and the biasing member is not compressed [0027] and the second position would be where the battery pack is fully engaged, the biasing member is compressed, and latch 62 secures the battery pack. When Thorson’s battery pack is secured, it would not be expected that “wherein in the first potion of the battery pack receptacle, the flange is space apart from a bottom surface of the groove by a greater distance than in the second position.” Further, there would be no known motivation for modifying Thorson’s power tool in this way.
Burger et al. [US20150151423A1], Burger discloses travel distances (tolerances) 51, 54, and 55 and movement of the battery pack in the direction 28 (up/down) and direction 26 (left/right) as well as in the insertion direction 25 [Burger 0029-0033, Figs. 1-4] would allow for the distance between the flange and the bottom surface of the groove to change; however, it would not be expected that a first position, where the battery pack is not fully engaged with the power tool, would have a different spacing than the second position, when the battery pack is fully engaged with the power tool. Further, there would be no known motivation for modifying Burger’s power tool in this way.
Garibaldi et al. [US20220328924A1] discloses a power tool similar to Furusawa and like Furusawa there is no tolerance between the groove and flange to allow for a change in the spacing.
For these reasons, Claim 1 is considered novel and nonobvious over the prior art. Claims 2-3, 6-10, and 27 depend on Claim 1 and are therefore also deemed novel and nonobvious over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Due to Applicant’s amendments, the previous rejections in the Office Action dated July 14, 2025 are withdrawn. As described above, Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 27 are allowed over the prior art for the reasons described above.
Regarding Claim 11, Applicant argues against the combination of Furusawa’s embodiments reading on the limitations of previous claim 15, which is incorporated into instant claim 11 as “wherein the flange is movable in a first direction relative to the groove and in a second direction relative to the groove, the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction”. Applicant argues that such combination would be duplicative, and not obvious, since the embodiment of Figs. 2-3 includes cushion member 6A to protect the battery pack. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In an application where the type of power tool or its use conditions would require additional cushioning, it would be obvious to apply Furusawa’s teachings about providing impact resistance in all directions. Further, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Furusawa’s teachings to modify Furusawa’s invention by various methods with additional cushioning allowing for movement of the battery pack relative to the tool in all directions.
Applicant further argues that the battery pack 8 would no longer be able to slide into the cushion member 6A due to the limiting structure of recesses 148, which would change the principle of operation. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The skilled artisan would expect the elasticity of additional cushioning members could allow for movement in the insertion direction. Additionally, it would be expected that, dependent on the type of tool and use environment, vibrational or impact forces could result in movement in the insertion direction.
For the reasons provided above, evidence of obviousness is considered greater than evidence of nonobviousness. Further, for purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has provided additional art below that is considered relevant to the limitation.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments regarding new independent claim 22, the Examiner has provided a rejection above over Furusawa in view of Kondo due to the limitation regarding a gasket.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thorson et al. US20210379717A1, as provided on the IDS dated 8/12/2022 as, Thorson’s isolation system 70 allows for the battery pack to move relative to the attachment portion with six degrees of freedom [Thorson 0021, Fig. 5]. Thorson’s battery pack further includes a spring for biasing the battery pack relative to the attachment portion [Thorson 0027], which is considered relevant to “wherein the flange is movable in a first direction relative to the groove and in a second direction relative to the groove, the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction” of claim 11.
Burger et al. [US20150151423A1], Burger discloses travel distances (tolerances) 51, 54, and 55 and movement of the battery pack in the direction 28 (up/down) and direction 26 (left/right) as well as in the insertion direction 25[Burger 0029-0033, Figs. 1-4], which is considered relevant to “wherein the flange is movable in a first direction relative to the groove and in a second direction relative to the groove, the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction” of claim 11.
Garibaldi et al. [US20220328924A1], Garibaldi discloses a power tool with a housing [Garibaldi 0071-072 and throughout, Figs. 32-33, power tool 200 would be considered to have a housing] defining a battery pack attachment portion [Garibaldi 0071-0072 and throughout, Fig. 32, battery pack attachment 210/housing 212], the battery pack attachment portion including a first cavity and a flange [Garibaldi 0071-0072 and throughout, Figs. 32-47, cavity 214 and flange 218/204];
a battery pack receptacle positioned within the first cavity [Garibaldi 0051, 0063, 0071-0072 and throughout, Fig. 36, battery pack 10 or 110 with mechanical interface 18 or 118] and movably coupled to the battery pack attachment portion [Garibaldi 0007, 0051, 0072 and throughout], the battery pack receptacle including a groove [Garibaldi 0051, 0072. Figs. 4,8, 24, 34, grooves 22 or 122] in which the flange of the battery pack attachment portion is received [Garibaldi 0007, 0051, 0072 and throughout] and a second cavity configured to receive at least a portion of a battery pack [Garibaldi 0053, 0065 , and throughout, Figs. 9-11, 29-31, holder 32 or 332];
a spring positioned between the battery pack attachment portion and the battery pack receptacle and configured to bias the battery pack receptacle relative to the battery pack attachment portion [Garibaldi 0075-0078 and throughout, Figs. 34, 39-42, springs 226 within cavity of the battery attachment portion 210]; and
power tool terminals [Garibaldi 0051, 0055, 0063-0064, and throughout, tool terminals 206] supported by the battery pack receptacle [Garibaldi 0064, battery pack 10/110 slots 24/124 receive tool terminals 206],
wherein the battery pack receptacle is movable from a first position in which the spring is in a first compressed state [Garibaldi 0077-0078, first position is when the battery pack is not fully mated with battery attachment portion 210, such as prior to being fully mated or after the latch position 228 allows for release of the battery pack, which is an uncompressed state for springs 226 or a not fully compressed state] and a second position in which the spring is in a second compressed state, the spring being further compressed in the second potion of the battery pack receptacle than the first position of the battery pack receptacle [Garibaldi 0077-0078, second position is when the battery pack 10/110 is fully mated with the attachment portion 210 and locked by latch 228, which is an a fully compressed state for springs 226], and
wherein the battery pack receptacle is biased into the first position by the spring [Garibaldi 0077-0078, biased in first position by the springs 226 since it is the free state of the springs 226 (uncompressed) and releasing the battery pack forces the battery pack 10/110 out of the battery attachment portion 210], which is considered relevant to claim 11.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724