DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/22/2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 10, and 19-20 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 12 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14, and 16-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art Wei does not teach any kind of physical cell index configuration, or that a first DL RS is “configured with a physical cell index,” as recited in the independent claims. Applicant further states that the DL RS in Wei is a generic pilot or reference signal for frequency estimation, not one that is specifically associated with a physical cell index as required in the independent claims. Applicant argues that Wei also does not teach any reference RS with regard to QCL type parameter, and that QCL (Quasi Co-Location) relationships or parameters are not discussed at all in the reference. Further stating that the reference signals in Wei are used for frequency estimation, and not for establishing QCL relationships or configuring QCL types. Also, that the previous Office Action seems to be mapping the limitation of “first DL RS is configured with a physical cell index and a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter” to the generic use of pilot channels in Wei. Applicant alleges that this is unreasonable and incorrect, because the pilot channels in Wei are not configured with a physical cell index, nor are they associated with QCL parameters. (Remarks Pgs. 7-8)
Regarding the arguments against the prior art reference Wei. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
More specifically, Wei was not relied upon in the previous Office Action to reject the limitations referred to in these arguments. The combination of Wei and Lee were used in the rejection, as is also shown in the Office Action below.
Applicant argues the cited prior art Lee does not contain any teaching or suggestion that the configuration of a DL RS with a physical cell index and QCL type is used to determine how an UL signal is modulated or which carrier frequency is used for UL transmission. Furter stating that Lee describes QCL relationships and cell IDs for DL reference signals, but does not teach or suggest using these configurations to control the modulation or carrier frequency selection for UL signals as required by the independent claims. (Remarks Pgs. 8-9)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The disclosure of Lee is directed towards a method for transmitting and receiving channel state information, such as a DL RS, between terminals and base stations. The claim language in question states “wherein the first DL RS is configured with a physical cell index and a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter.” Examiner would like to point out that the primary prior art reference Wei teaches a DL RS being received for subsequent doppler frequency deviation estimation and uplink signal compensation in a high-speed railway scenario, and that the secondary prior art reference Lee teaches at least in ¶0009 & ¶0291 a CSI-RS (a DL RS) being configured with a physical cell index for identification of neighboring cells, and also at least in ¶0318-¶0319 the DL RS being configured with a QCL type C parameter information so that the UE may receive the CSI-RS transmitted from neighboring cells based on doppler shift information. Therefore, the disclosed references in combination read on the claim language of the limitations as currently presented and interpreted, and the rejection still stands.
Applicant argues that Lee does not address the high-speed Doppler compensation scenario of Wei, and that the application domain and technical problems addressed in each reference are entirely different. Further stating that since Wei addresses Doppler compensation in high-speed scenarios, whereas Lee addresses advanced CSI measurement and reporting in 5G NR, that there is no clear motivation or suggestion in either document to combine their teachings for the purpose of modulating UL signals based on DL RS events configured with physical cell index and QCL type. The technical fields and problems are sufficiently distinct that the POSITA would not be motivated to combine them in the manner proposed in the Office Action, unless using hindsight and an impermissible reconstruction of the prior art. (Remarks Pg. 9)
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, since Wei uses a method of measurement upon reception of the DL RS for frequency deviation estimation, and Lee is directed towards the configuration of DL RS for measurement purposes, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the teachings of Lee in combination to Wei in order to configure a DL RS so that both cell identification and doppler shift information regarding the DL RS can be used in the process of doppler frequency estimation and compensation.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues the cited portions of Wei, nor Lee, do not disclose the scenario where, if the UL signal is associated with a first DL RS, the UL is transmitted at the carrier frequency of that DL RS. And further that the use of the DL RS in Wei is limited to frequency estimation and does not extend to the claimed association and frequency alignment. Applicant also alleges that it appears the examiner has interpreted the use of the DL RS for frequency estimation in Wei as equivalent to the claimed association and frequency selection. Further alleging that in the context of the present claims and disclosure, “association” means that the UL signal is explicitly linked to a particular DL RS, and that Wei does not disclose or suggest any explicit association or the resulting frequency selection. Stating that rather, in Wei, the UL signal is always transmitted at its own frequency, with optional Doppler compensation, and the DL RS is merely a tool for estimating frequency offset. (Remarks Pg. 10-11)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the previous Office Action, ¶0037 of Wei discloses a repeater receiving a DL RS, and ¶0047 discloses that the repeater modulates the subsequent uplink signal using the carrier frequency adopted by the repeater when receiving the DL RS. Therefore, this disclosure read on an UL signal being “associated” with the DL RS as in the uplink signal adopts the carrier frequency of the DL RS for modulating purposes and is therefore associated in that regard. This also discloses that the UL signal is modulated by adopting the carrier frequency of the DL RS, showing that the UL signal is not always transmitted at its own frequency as alleged by applicant, and that the UL signal is uniquely associated with each DL RS by using the carrier frequency of each DL RS.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “association” means that the UL signal is explicitly linked to a particular DL RS, and, based on this association, the UL is transmitted at the same carrier frequency as the DL RS, Pg. 11 Remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14, 16-18, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 19-20 recite the limitation of an event, and further defines the event as “wherein the event is that the UL signal is associated with a first downlink (DL) reference signal (RS)”, as well as “wherein the event is one of being indicated that the UL signal does not refer to the first DL RS or refers to a local carrier frequency, or the first DL RS is not configured”. Since the event has been defined twice within the same claim, it is unclear as to what the event is. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear, and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-5, 7-9, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected for their dependencies to claims 1, 10, and 19-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (English translation of CN 102932808 A), hereinafter Wei, in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0111846 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Re. Claims 1 and 19, Wei teaches
a wireless communication method (¶0004 high-speed railway coverage has become a typical coverage scenario in the field of wireless communications & ¶0008 The present invention provides a high-speed scene signal sending method and a repeater, which are used to improve the detection performance of a base station for uplink signals of each high-speed running UE.),
and a wireless terminal, (¶0008 The present invention provides a high-speed scene signal sending method and a repeater [i.e. a terminal])
comprising: a transceiver ([a repeater would implicitly contain a transceiver for wireless communication] ¶0004 high-speed railway coverage has become a typical coverage scenario in the field of wireless communications.),
configured to: transmit an uplink (UL) signal (¶0048 Step 205: The repeater amplifies the uplink signal after frequency offset compensation and sends it to the base station. )
wherein, based on an event, wherein the event is that the UL signal is associated with a first downlink (DL) reference signal (RS), (¶0037 Step 200: The repeater receives a downlink signal sent by the base station through a downlink pilot channel [i.e. a first downlink reference signal], ¶0047 the carrier frequency used by the repeater modulation is equal to the carrier frequency g <sub> 0 </sub> adopted by the repeater when receiving the downlink signal [i.e. carrier frequency of DL RS is adopted by the repeater for UL signal modulation, therefore the UL signal is associated with a DL RS])
the UL signal is modulated according to a specific carrier frequency of the DL RS (¶0037 Step 200: The repeater receives a downlink signal sent by the base station through a downlink pilot channel [i.e. a first downlink reference signal], estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the downlink signal, obtains the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency where the downlink pilot channel is located, and multiplies the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency where the downlink pilot channel is located by a proportional factor to obtain the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> & ¶0047 the carrier frequency used by the repeater modulation is equal to the carrier frequency g <sub> 0 </sub> adopted by the repeater when receiving the downlink signal. [i.e. adopted signal becomes the specific carrier frequency] & ¶0049 when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, the repeater executes step 202 and subsequent steps to realize frequency deviation compensation for the uplink and signals; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is not greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, step 205 can be directly executed, that is, the uplink and signals are directly power amplified and then forwarded to the base station, [i.e. UL signal power amplifying and forwarding; changing the property (amplitude) of the carrier wave is considered signal modulation; in this case of carrier frequency g0])
wherein the specific carrier frequency is a carrier frequency of the first DL RS, (¶0046 Step 204: The repeater uses the carrier frequency used when receiving the downlink signal [i.e. the specific carrier frequency of DL RS] with a carrier frequency of f<sub> 0 </sub> sent by the base station to modulate the chip-level uplink baseband and signal after frequency offset compensation and obtains the uplink and signal after frequency offset compensation [i.e. UL signal is modulated according to carrier frequency of DL RS (specific carrier frequency)])
wherein the event is one of being indicated that the UL signal does not refer to the first DL RS (¶0049 Specifically, the repeater determines whether the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, the repeater executes step 202 and subsequent steps to realize frequency deviation compensation for the uplink and signals; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is not greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, step 205 can be directly executed, that is, the uplink and signals are directly power amplified and then forwarded to the base station, , [i.e. UL signal transmitted without frequency offset estimation based on the event associated with the DL RS; therefore UL signal will not refer to the first DL RS (frequency offset not applied) and simply be forwarded to the base station using the amplified carrier frequency g0] so as to improve forwarding efficiency and reduce the burden of the repeater. The frequency deviation threshold is a positive integer greater than 0,).
and wherein the specific carrier frequency is the local carrier frequency or a carrier frequency of the wireless terminal, (¶0049 when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is not greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, step 205 can be directly executed, that is, the uplink and signals are directly power amplified and then forwarded to the base station, , [i.e. UL signal will not refer to the first DL RS (frequency offset not applied) and be forwarded to the base station using the amplified carrier frequency] & ¶0046 Step 204: The repeater uses the carrier frequency used when receiving the downlink signal with a carrier frequency of f<sub> 0 </sub> sent by the base station to modulate the chip-level uplink baseband [i.e. carrier frequency of wireless terminal] and signal after frequency offset compensation and obtains the uplink and signal after frequency offset compensation [i.e. it follows that if no frequency offset occurs, no modulation occurs and the carrier frequency of the wireless terminal is used, being power amplified for forwarding],)
Yet Wei does not teach: Wherein the first DL RS is configured with a physical cell index and a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter
However, in the analogous art, Lee (US 2021/0111846 A1) teaches such a limitation:
And wherein the first DL RS is configured with a physical cell index (¶0009 In the present disclosure, receiving, by the UE, the CSI-RS from the neighboring cell may include receiving, by the UE, the CSI-RS from the neighboring cell based on the timing of the CSI-RS determined based on the QCL information and the configuration information & ¶0291 A BS may inform a UE that CSI-RS resource Type I is to be transmitted from a neighboring cell rather than a serving cell through higher layer signaling (e.g., higher layer parameter) and/or DCI. [i.e. CSI-RS is downlink reference signal] In this case, the UE may interpret/consider the value of N_ID (e.g., ScramblingID) configured in a CSI-RS resource as a cell ID [i.e. a DL RS configured with a physical cell index]. In addition, the UE may interpret/consider an SSB ID configured in the CSI-RS resource as the SSB ID of a cell with the cell ID.)
and a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter (¶0318 Specifically, the UE may receive the CSI-RS from the neighboring cell as follows depending on the QCL type information included in the received QCL information. [i.e. the QCL type the reference RS is in regards to] & ¶0319 when the QCL information includes the QCL type C information, the UE may receive the CSI-RS transmitted from the neighboring cell based on Doppler shift information [i.e. a reference RS in regards to QCL type C parameter] and average delay information related to the second CSI-RS resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei’s invention of a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving channel state information between a terminal and a base station to include Lee’s teaching of the DL RS being configured with a physical cell index, because it would enable the device to know which cell is transmitting the downlink reference signal, lowering overall system overhead by minimizing resource consumption. (see Lee ¶0284 & ¶0299-¶0300)
Re. claims 5 and 14, Wei combined with Lee teaches claims 1 and 10.
Wei further teaches:
wherein the first DL RS is determined according to a first parameter state applied to the UL signal; (¶0005 the base station estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the uplink signal of each UE in the uplink signal and compensates for the frequency deviation of the uplink signal of each UE [i.e. a deviation in frequency determined due to doppler effect (first parameter state) applied to UL signal], & ¶0029 the repeater receives the downlink signal sent by the base station [i.e. signal sent based on base station detecting frequency offset due to doppler effect] through the downlink pilot channel in the cell, estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the downlink signal…].)
and wherein the first DL RS is a reference RS in the first parameter state and relates to (¶0029 the repeater receives the downlink signal sent by the base station through the downlink pilot channel in the cell, estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the downlink signal [i.e. DL RS signal is a reference signal relating doppler shift], and obtains the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier where the downlink pilot channel is located.)
Re. claims 10 and 20, Wei teaches
a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node, (¶0006 Since the base station has powerful baseband processing capabilities, the base station estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the uplink signal of each UE in the uplink signal and compensates for the frequency deviation of the uplink signal of each UE, thereby improving the detection performance of the uplink signal of each UE. & ¶0008 The present invention provides a high-speed scene signal sending method and a repeater, which are used to improve the detection performance of a base station for uplink signals of each high-speed running UE.)
and a wireless network node (¶0006 Since the base station has powerful baseband processing capabilities, the base station estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the uplink signal of each UE in the uplink signal and compensates for the frequency deviation of the uplink signal of each UE)
comprising: a transceiver, ([a base station would implicitly contain a transceiver for wireless communication] ¶0004 high-speed railway coverage has become a typical coverage scenario in the field of wireless communications.),)
configured to: transmit, to a wireless terminal, a first downlink (DL), reference signal (RS) (¶0037 Step 200: The repeater receives a downlink signal sent by the base station through a downlink pilot channel [i.e. a first downlink reference signal],)
and receive, from the wireless terminal, an uplink (UL) signal (¶0048 Step 205: The repeater amplifies the uplink signal after frequency offset compensation and sends it to the base station.)
wherein, based on an event, wherein the event is that the UL signal is associated with the first DL RS, (¶0037 Step 200: The repeater receives a downlink signal sent by the base station through a downlink pilot channel [i.e. a first downlink reference signal], ¶0047 the carrier frequency used by the repeater modulation is equal to the carrier frequency g <sub> 0 </sub> adopted by the repeater when receiving the downlink signal [i.e. carrier frequency of DL RS is adopted by the repeater for UL signal modulation, therefore the UL signal is associated with a DL RS])
the UL signal is modulated according to a specific carrier frequency (¶0037 Step 200: The repeater receives a downlink signal sent by the base station through a downlink pilot channel [i.e. a first downlink reference signal], estimates the Doppler frequency deviation of the downlink signal, obtains the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency where the downlink pilot channel is located, and multiplies the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency where the downlink pilot channel is located by a proportional factor to obtain the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> [i.e. event associated with the first DL RS]. & ¶0047 Among them, the carrier frequency used by the repeater modulation is equal to the carrier frequency g <sub> 0 </sub> adopted by the repeater when receiving the downlink signal. & ¶0049 Furthermore, an optional step may be included before the above step 202, that is, the repeater compares the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> with a preset frequency deviation threshold to determine whether frequency deviation compensation is required for the uplink and signals. Specifically, the repeater determines whether the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, the repeater executes step 202 and subsequent steps to realize frequency deviation compensation for the uplink and signals; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is not greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, step 205 can be directly executed, that is, the uplink and signals are directly power amplified and then forwarded to the base station, [i.e. UL signal power amplifying and forwarding; changing the property (amplitude) of the carrier wave is considered signal modulation; in this case of carrier frequency g0] so as to improve forwarding efficiency and reduce the burden of the repeater. The frequency deviation threshold is a positive integer greater than 0, and preferably the frequency deviation threshold can be set to 100 Hz.)
wherein the specific carrier frequency is a carrier frequency of the first DL RS, (¶0046 Step 204: The repeater uses the carrier frequency used when receiving the downlink signal [i.e. the specific carrier frequency of DL RS] with a carrier frequency of f<sub> 0 </sub> sent by the base station to modulate the chip-level uplink baseband and signal after frequency offset compensation and obtains the uplink and signal after frequency offset compensation [i.e. UL signal is modulated according to carrier frequency of DL RS (specific carrier frequency)])
wherein the event is one of being indicated that the UL signal does not refer to the first DL RS (¶0049 Specifically, the repeater determines whether the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, the repeater executes step 202 and subsequent steps to realize frequency deviation compensation for the uplink and signals; when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is not greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, step 205 can be directly executed, that is, the uplink and signals are directly power amplified and then forwarded to the base station, , [i.e. UL signal transmitted without frequency offset estimation based on the event associated with the DL RS; therefore UL signal will not refer to the first DL RS (frequency offset not applied) and simply be forwarded to the base station using the amplified carrier frequency g0] so as to improve forwarding efficiency and reduce the burden of the repeater. The frequency deviation threshold is a positive integer greater than 0,)
and wherein the specific carrier frequency is the local carrier frequency or a carrier frequency of the wireless terminal (¶0049 when the Doppler frequency deviation value of the carrier frequency f<sub> 0 </sub> is not greater than the preset frequency deviation threshold, step 205 can be directly executed, that is, the uplink and signals are directly power amplified and then forwarded to the base station, , [i.e. UL signal will not refer to the first DL RS (frequency offset not applied) and be forwarded to the base station using the amplified carrier frequency] & ¶0046 Step 204: The repeater uses the carrier frequency used when receiving the downlink signal with a carrier frequency of f<sub> 0 </sub> sent by the base station to modulate the chip-level uplink baseband [i.e. carrier frequency of wireless terminal] and signal after frequency offset compensation and obtains the uplink and signal after frequency offset compensation [i.e. it follows that if no frequency offset occurs, no modulation occurs and the carrier frequency of the wireless terminal is used, being power amplified for forwarding],)
Yet Wei does not teach: and wherein the first DL RS is configured with a physical cell index and a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter
However, in the analogous art, Lee (US 2021/0111846 A1) teaches such a limitation:
and wherein the first DL RS is configured with a physical cell index (¶0009 In the present disclosure, receiving, by the UE, the CSI-RS from the neighboring cell may include receiving, by the UE, the CSI-RS from the neighboring cell based on the timing of the CSI-RS determined based on the QCL information and the configuration information & ¶0291 A BS may inform a UE that CSI-RS resource Type I is to be transmitted from a neighboring cell rather than a serving cell through higher layer signaling (e.g., higher layer parameter) and/or DCI. [i.e. CSI-RS is downlink reference signal] In this case, the UE may interpret/consider the value of N_ID (e.g., ScramblingID) configured in a CSI-RS resource as a cell ID [i.e. a DL RS configured with a physical cell index]. In addition, the UE may interpret/consider an SSB ID configured in the CSI-RS resource as the SSB ID of a cell with the cell ID.)
and a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter. (¶0318 Specifically, the UE may receive the CSI-RS from the neighboring cell as follows depending on the QCL type information included in the received QCL information. [i.e. the QCL type the reference RS is in regards to] & ¶0319 when the QCL information includes the QCL type C information, the UE may receive the CSI-RS transmitted from the neighboring cell based on Doppler shift information [i.e. a reference RS in regards to QCL type C parameter] and average delay information related to the second CSI-RS resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei’s invention of a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving channel state information between a terminal and a base station to include Lee’s teaching of the DL RS being configured with a physical cell index, because it would enable the device to know which cell is transmitting the downlink reference signal, lowering overall system overhead by minimizing resource consumption. (see Lee ¶0284 & ¶0299-¶0300)
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei combined with Lee, and further in view of Bai (US 20180205589 A1), hereinafter Bai.
Re. Claims 4 and 13, Wei combined with Lee teaches claims 1 and 10.
Yet the combined references fail to teach: wherein the specific carrier frequency is applied according to an applicable time that is determined according to a command associated with the first DL RS, a command associated with a parameter state comprising the first DL RS, or at least one sample of the first DL RS.
However, in the analogous art, Bai teaches such a limitation:
wherein the specific carrier frequency is applied according to an applicable time that is determined according to a command associated with the first DL RS, a command associated with a parameter state comprising the first DL RS, or at least one sample of the first DL RS. (¶0009 …transmit, to the wireless device, a first signal identifying parameters for a reference signal to be transmitted for a frequency offset estimation, transmit the reference signal based at least in part on the identified parameters, and receive, from the wireless device, a second signal comprising a frequency offset estimate sent in response to the transmitted reference signal. & ¶0010 …may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for transmitting the first signal comprises transmitting an initialization signal including the frequency offset estimation request... the identified parameters comprise a frequency domain pattern, a time domain pattern, one or more port numbers, a transmission time, [i.e. an applicable time] a feedback scheme for the frequency offset estimate, or a combination thereof. Also, see, ¶0082-¶0083 along with Fig. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei and Lee’s invention of a High-speed scene signal sending method and repeater to include Bai’s invention of signaling methods for frequency offset estimation using reference signals, in order to provide a more efficient and precise way to control the timing and frequency of the uplink signal with commands sent through reference signals that include timing coordination aspects, especially for in use in environments such as high speed scenarios. (¶0002-¶0004 & ¶0009-¶0011, Bai)
Claims 7, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei combined with Lee, and further in view of Cha et al. (US 2022/0263621 A1), hereinafter Cha.
Re. Claims 7 and 16, Wei combined with Lee teaches claims 1 and 10.
Yet, the combined references do not expressly teach: wherein a parameter state comprising the first DL RS is activated with a third parameter state which comprises a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter, and wherein the parameter state comprising the first DL RS is determined based on at least one of: a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledge, HARQ-Ack, message corresponding a PDSCH carrying a MAC-CE which activates the parameter state comprising the first DL RS; a RS transmission occasion; or DL control information triggering the transmission of the first DL RS.
However, in the analogous art, Cha explicitly discloses
wherein a parameter state comprising the first DL RS is activated with a third parameter state which comprises a reference RS with regard to a QCL type parameter (¶0171 The QCL type of each DL RS [i.e. parameter state comprising first DL RS] is given by a parameter ‘qcl-Type’ included in QCL-Info [i.e. activated with a third parameter state – a parameter for RS with regard to qcl-type])
and wherein the parameter state comprising the first DL RS is determined based on at least one of: a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledges, HARQ-Ack, message corresponding a PDSCH carrying a MAC-CE which activates the parameter state comprising the first DL RS; a RS transmission occasion; or DL control information triggering the transmission of the first DL RS. (¶0169 The UE may receive a list of up to M TCI-State configurations to decode a PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH carrying DCI [i.e. detected DCI] intended for the UE and a given cell. M depends on a UE capability. & ¶0170 Each TCI-State includes a parameter [i.e. parameter state determined based on the DCI] for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and a PDSCH DMRS port [i.e. this establishment of a QCL relationship between DL RSs and a PDSCH port imply that the detected DCI triggers the DL RS by way of configuration]. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed limitations to be mapped because of the presence of the phrase “at least one of” and “or”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei and Lee’s invention of a High-speed scene signal sending method and repeater to include Cha’s teaching of the parameter state comprising the DL RS being determined based on the DL control information, because it enables the device to associate a DL RS with a QCL type, which aids in detecting the DL transmissions from different base station antenna port. (see Cha ¶0171-¶0175 & ¶0176)
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Wei combined with Lee and Cha teach claims 7 and 16.
Further, Cha explicitly discloses:
wherein a QCL assumption of the first DL RS is determined according to the third parameter state (Fig. 5-8 & ¶0176 - when a target antenna port is for a specific NZP CSI-RS, corresponding NZP CSI-RS antenna ports may be indicated/configured as QCLed with a specific TRS from the perspective of QCL-Type A and with a specific SSB from the perspective of QCL-Type D (i.e., Spatial Rx parameter}, see ¶0171). Upon receipt of this indication/configuration, the UE may receive the NZP CSI-RS using a Doppler value and a delay value which are measured in a QCL-TypeA TRS, and apply an Rx beam used to receive a QCL-Type D SSB for reception of the NZP CSI-RS. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed limitations to be mapped because of the presence of the phrase “or”) or the third parameter state is applied to the first DL RS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei and Lee’s invention of a High-speed scene signal sending method and repeater to include Cha’s teaching of the QCL assumption of the DL RS being determined by a third parameter, because it enables the device to use a third parameter states such as TCI to define QCL assumptions to improve communication stability and robustness, in order to achieve more dynamic and adaptive signal configurations that are able to change in real-time due to network events. (see Cha ¶0141-¶0143, ¶0171-¶0175)
Re. Claims 9 and 18, Wei combined with Lee and Cha teach claims 7 and 16.
Further, Cha explicitly discloses
wherein the parameter state comprising the first DL RS is activated for a physical DL control channel (PDCCH), a physical DL shared channel (PDSCH) (¶0170 Each TCI-State includes a parameter for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and a PDSCH DMRS port. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed limitations to be mapped because of the presence of the phrase “or”)), a physical UL control channel (PUCCH), or a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wei and Lee’s invention of a High-speed scene signal sending method and repeater to include Cha’s teaching of the parameter state comprising the first DL RS being activated for a PDSCH, because it would enable the decoding of PDSCH according to detected PDCCH carrying DCI. (see Cha ¶0169)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417