DETAILED ACTION
Claims 50, 53, 57-60, 62 and 64-66 are under consideration
Rejections Withdrawn
The 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of claims 58 and 62 have been withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
All 35 USC § 103 and NDSP rejections have been withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50, 53, 57-60, 62 and 64-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Berkel (Van Berkel, et al., WO 2014/057117 A1; Published 04/17/2014; Priority to 10/12/2012 by way of US 61/712,924, of record).
Van Berkel teaches on the subject of conjugates of an anti-CD19 antibody with PBD dimers (Van Berkel, Abstract). Regarding the ADC limitation of claims 53 and 62, Van Berkel teaches “compound E” of Van Berkel, which is the same as the drug-linker-crosslinker moiety as ADCX19 as disclosed in the instant Specification (Van Berkel, p 11, line 4) that is conjugated to antibody RB4v1.2 of Van Berkel, which comprises VH and VL of Van Berkel’s SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively (same as instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively) (Van Berkel, p 168, lines 16-25). Regarding of claim 50, Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in the treatment of proliferative diseases (Van Berkel, p 81, lines 21-24) including DLBCL (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 13-17). Regarding claim 58, Van Berkel teaches that the diseases treated by the conjugates of Van Berkel are characterized by the overexpression of the target antigen (same as CD19+) (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 19-24). Regarding claims 59-60 and 65-66, Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in combination with other treatments, including the administration of chemotherapeutic agents (Van Berkel, p 84, lines 4-15), with Van Berkel’s definition of “chemotherapeutic agent” including the therapeutic antibodies rituximab and ofatumumab (Van Berkel, p 87, lines 1-7), either simultaneously or sequentially (Van Berkel, p 84, line 4-6).
Van Berkel does not teach a method of treating relapsed or refractory DBLCL, said method comprising administering ADCx19 in conjunction with rituximab and ofatumumab.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art combine the ADCx19, rituximab and ofatumumab all taught by Van Berkel to form a method of treating relapsed or refractory DBLCL, said method comprising administering ADCx19 in conjunction with rituximab and ofatumumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat DBLCL. Van Berkel teaches administration of ADCx19 for DBLCL as well as the administration of rituximab and rituximab and ofatumumab but does not teach this specific combination. The combination of ADCx19 with rituximab and ofatumumab for treating DBLCL is an obvious combination by virtue of the fact that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… the idea of combining them flows logically from there having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP § 2144.06). In the instant case, Van Berkel teaches ADCx19, rituximab and ofatumumab and DBLCL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success forming a method of treating relapsed or refractory DBLCL, said method comprising administering ADCx19 in conjunction with rituximab and ofatumumab because Van Berkel teaches ADCx19, rituximab and ofatumumab for DBLCL.
With respect to the “relapsed or refractory” limitation, the broadest reasonable limitation of “relapsed or refractory” would include DBLCL that is refractory to chemotherapeutics and one of ordinary skill would expect that the ADCx19, rituximab and ofatumumab of Van Berkel would not be impeded by the refractoriness of the cancers because antibody and antibody drug conjugate-based anti-cancer medications work via different mechanisms than chemotherapeutics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant supplied no arguments regarding this rejection specifically.
Double Patenting
Claims 50, 53, 57-60, 62 and 64-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,931,414 B2
claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,780,181 B2
both in view of Van Berkel (Van Berkel, et al., WO 2014/057117 A1; Published 04/17/2014; Priority to 10/12/2012 by way of US 61/712,924, of record).
The reference patents are both drawn to antibody drug conjugates comprising anti-CD19 antibodies that comprise VH and VL sequences identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively and further comprising drug-linker-crosslinker moieties that are identical to ADCx19 of the instant application. The reference patents also teach methods of treating cancer comprising administration of the patented ADCs in conjunction with the antibody rituximab.
The reference patents do not teach that that the ADCs of the reference patents are administered in a method of treating relapsed or refractory DLBCL that expresses CD19, said method comprising administration of the ADC of the reference patents, rituximab and ofatumumab.
Van Berkel teaches on the subject of conjugates of an anti-CD19 antibody with PBD dimers (Van Berkel, Abstract). Van Berkel teaches “compound E” of Van Berkel, which is the same as the drug-linker-crosslinker moiety as ADCX19 as disclosed in the instant Specification (Van Berkel, p 11, line 4) that is conjugated to antibody RB4v1.2 of Van Berkel, which comprises VH and VL of Van Berkel’s SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively (same as instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively) (Van Berkel, p 168, lines 16-25). Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in the treatment of proliferative diseases (Van Berkel, p 81, lines 21-24) including DLBCL (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 13-17). Van Berkel teaches that the diseases treated by the conjugates of Van Berkel are characterized by the overexpression of the target antigen (same as CD19+) (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 19-24). Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in combination with other treatments, including the administration of chemotherapeutic agents (Van Berkel, p 84, lines 4-15), with Van Berkel’s definition of “chemotherapeutic agent” including the therapeutic antibodies rituximab and ofatumumab (Van Berkel, p 87, lines 1-7), either simultaneously or sequentially (Van Berkel, p 84, line 4-6).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ADC of the reference patents with the rituximab and ofatumumab of Van Berkel to form a method of treating relapsed or refractory DBLCL, said method comprising administering the ADCs of the reference patents in conjunction with rituximab and ofatumumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat DBLCL. Van Berkel teaches administration of the ADCs identical to the ADCs of the reference patents for DBLCL as well as the administration of rituximab and ofatumumab. The combination of the ADCs of the reference patents with rituximab and ofatumumab for treating DBLCL is an obvious combination by virtue of the fact that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP § 2144.06). In the instant case, Van Berkel teaches ADCx19 (identical to the ADC of the reference patents), rituximab and ofatumumab for DBLCL.
With respect to the “relapsed or refractory” limitation, the broadest reasonable limitation of “relapsed or refractory” would include DBLCL that is refractory to chemotherapeutics and one of ordinary skill would expect that the ADC of the reference patents and the rituximab and ofatumumab of Van Berkel would not be impeded by the refractoriness of the cancers because antibody and antibody drug conjugate-based anti-cancer medications work via different mechanisms than chemotherapeutics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant supplied no arguments regarding this rejection specifically.
Claims 50, 53, 57-60, 62 and 64-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,889,207 B2 in view of Van Berkel (Van Berkel, et al., WO 2014/057117 A1; Published 04/17/2014; Priority to 10/12/2012 by way of US 61/712,924, of record)
Although they are not identical, the patented and instant claims are not patentably distinct because the instant claimed method requires an ADC taught in the ‘207 patent. With respect to the “ADCx19” limitations, patented claims 1, 13, 15 and 17 are directed to a drug-linker-crosslinker moiety identical to the drug-linker-crosslinker moiety of the instant ADCx19 conjugated to an antibody. Regarding the anti-CD19 limitations, patented claim 5 is directed to anti-CD19 antibodies.
The ’207 patent does not teach that that the ADC of the ‘207 patent comprises VH and VL sequences of instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively and are administered in a method of treating relapsed or refractory DLBCL that expresses CD19, said method comprising administration of the ADC of the reference patents, rituximab and ofatumumab.
Van Berkel teaches on the subject of conjugates of an anti-CD19 antibody with PBD dimers (Van Berkel, Abstract). Van Berkel teaches “compound E” of Van Berkel, which is the same as the drug-linker-crosslinker moiety as ADCX19 as disclosed in the instant Specification (Van Berkel, p 11, line 4) that is conjugated to antibody RB4v1.2 of Van Berkel, which comprises VH and VL of Van Berkel’s SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively (same as instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively) (Van Berkel, p 168, lines 16-25). Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in the treatment of proliferative diseases (Van Berkel, p 81, lines 21-24) including DLBCL (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 13-17). Van Berkel teaches that the diseases treated by the conjugates of Van Berkel are characterized by the overexpression of the target antigen (same as CD19+) (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 19-24). Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in combination with other treatments, including the administration of chemotherapeutic agents (Van Berkel, p 84, lines 4-15), with Van Berkel’s definition of “chemotherapeutic agent” including the therapeutic antibodies rituximab and ofatumumab (Van Berkel, p 87, lines 1-7), either simultaneously or sequentially (Van Berkel, p 84, line 4-6).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ADC of the ‘207 patent with the rituximab and ofatumumab Van Berkel to form a method of treating relapsed or refractory DBLCL, said method comprising administering the ADC of the ‘207 patent in conjunction with rituximab and ofatumumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat DBLCL. Van Berkel teaches administration of the ADCs of the ‘207 patent for DBLCL as well as further administration of rituximab and ofatumumab. The combination of the ADC of the ‘207 patent with ibrutinib for treating DBLCL is an obvious combination by virtue of the fact that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP § 2144.06). In the instant case, Van Berkel teaches ADCx19 (identical to the reference ADC), rituximab and ofatumumab for DBLCL.
With respect to the “relapsed or refractory” limitation, the broadest reasonable limitation of “relapsed or refractory” would include DBLCL that is refractory to chemotherapeutics and one of ordinary skill would expect that the ADC of the ‘207 patent and the rituximab and ofatumumab of Van Berkel would not be impeded by the refractoriness of the cancers because antibody and antibody drug conjugate-based anti-cancer medications work via different mechanisms than chemotherapeutics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant supplied no arguments regarding this rejection specifically.
Claims 50, 53, 57-60, 62 and 64-66 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,646,584 B2 in view of Van Berkel (Van Berkel, et al., WO 2014/057117 A1; Published 04/17/2014; Priority to 10/12/2012 by way of US 61/712,924)
Although they are not identical, the patented and instant claims are not patentably distinct because the instant claimed method requires an ADC taught in the ‘584 patent. With respect to the “ADCx19” limitations, patented claim 1 is directed to a drug-linker-crosslinker moiety identical to the drug-linker-crosslinker moiety of the instant ADCx19 conjugated to an antibody. Regarding the anti-CD19 limitations, patented claim 4 is directed to anti-CD19 antibodies.
The ’584 patent does not teach that that the ADC of the ‘584 patent comprises VH and VL sequences of instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively and are administered in a method of treating relapsed or refractory DLBCL that expresses CD19, said method comprising administration of the ADC of the reference patents, rituximab and ofatumumab.
Van Berkel teaches on the subject of conjugates of an anti-CD19 antibody with PBD dimers (Van Berkel, Abstract). Van Berkel teaches “compound E” of Van Berkel, which is the same as the drug-linker-crosslinker moiety as ADCX19 as disclosed in the instant Specification (Van Berkel, p 11, line 4) that is conjugated to antibody RB4v1.2 of Van Berkel, which comprises VH and VL of Van Berkel’s SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively (same as instant SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 8, respectively) (Van Berkel, p 168, lines 16-25). Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in the treatment of proliferative diseases (Van Berkel, p 81, lines 21-24) including DLBCL (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 13-17). Van Berkel teaches that the diseases treated by the conjugates of Van Berkel are characterized by the overexpression of the target antigen (same as CD19+) (Van Berkel, p 82, lines 19-24). Van Berkel teaches that the conjugates of Van Berkel are administered in combination with other treatments, including the administration of chemotherapeutic agents (Van Berkel, p 84, lines 4-15), with Van Berkel’s definition of “chemotherapeutic agent” including the therapeutic antibodies rituximab and ofatumumab (Van Berkel, p 87, lines 1-7), either simultaneously or sequentially (Van Berkel, p 84, line 4-6).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ADC of the ‘584 patent with the rituximab and ofatumumab Van Berkel to form a method of treating relapsed or refractory DBLCL, said method comprising administering the ADC of the ‘584 patent in conjunction with rituximab and ofatumumab. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat DBLCL. Van Berkel teaches administration of the ADCs of the ‘584 patent for DBLCL as well as further administration of rituximab and ofatumumab. The combination of the ADC of the ‘584 patent with ibrutinib for treating DBLCL is an obvious combination by virtue of the fact that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose… the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP § 2144.06). In the instant case, Van Berkel teaches ADCx19 (identical to the reference ADC), rituximab and ofatumumab for DBLCL.
With respect to the “relapsed or refractory” limitation, the broadest reasonable limitation of “relapsed or refractory” would include DBLCL that is refractory to chemotherapeutics and one of ordinary skill would expect that the ADC of the ‘584 patent and the rituximab and ofatumumab of Van Berkel would not be impeded by the refractoriness of the cancers because antibody and antibody drug conjugate-based anti-cancer medications work via different mechanisms than chemotherapeutics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant supplied no arguments regarding this rejection specifically.
Conclusion
Claims 50, 53, 57-60, 62 and 64-66 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYDNEY VAN DRUFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643