DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/5/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the office action mailed on 9/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. The Applicants submitted claim amendments on 12/19/2025 in response to the office action mailed 9/23/2025. The status of the claims is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. The rejection of claims 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), which is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2019/0184364 A1) to Brahms et al. (hereinafter Brahms).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0184364 A1) to Brahms et al. (hereinafter Brahms).
The above noted rejection is hereby withdrawn.
NEW Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0184364 A1) to Brahms et al. (hereinafter Brahms) in view of the teachings of (US 2021/0207317 A1) to Sasaki et al. (hereinafter Sasaki).
Brahms is directed toward fragrance containing microcapsules. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0131] that the core has a fragrance benefit agent. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0084] that the shell may be made with the reaction of an isocyanate of TDI, which reads on Applicants election. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0017] that the microcapsule wall polymer is a polyurethane, polyurea, poly(acrylate-co-acrylamide), starch, gelatin, chitosan and combinations thereof, which reads on Applicants unsaturated compound and amine containing natural materials. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0087] that the polyisocyanate concentration is from 0.1% to 10%. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0118] that 2% to 50% may be dispersants. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0120] that chitosan is a natural dispersant, which reads on Applicants ratios for the shell. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0473] that the capsule is made with an anionic acrylic polymer. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0152] that the shell may include cationic charged polymers. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0106] that the shell may include a polyethylene glycol diacrylate monomer. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0025] that the fragrance has a CloP of 2.5 or greater, which reads on Applicants range of 2.5 to about 4.5. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0372] that the core solvent may be an isopropyl myristate. Brahms discloses at paragraph [0078] that the microcapsule has a size of 2 to 50 microns in diameter, which reads on Applicants range of 15 to 50 microns. Brahms discloses each and every element, but is silent regarding the desired zeta potential of the shell and Michaels addition reactions.
Sasaki is directed toward fragrance containing microcapsules. Brahms and Sasaki are both directed toward fragrance containing microcapsules. Sasaki teaches at paragraph [0007] that the microcapsule core contains a fragrance. Sasaki teaches at paragraph [0014] that the shell contains N-C bonds. Sasaki teaches at paragraph [0028] that the microcapsule surfaces have a charged zeta potential of at least 10 mV, or 40 mV or higher, which reads on Applicants rage of zeta potential, and provides motivation of providing a strong surface affinity for the microcapsules for surfaces. Sasaki teaches at paragraph [0035] that the amine reactant in the shell in the natural polymer chitosan. Sasaki teaches at paragraph [0071] that the microcapsule wall may contain reactions of acrylics and isocyanate monomers. Sasaki teaches at paragraph [0334] that the acrylic acid is modified with the amino groups by a Michael addition reaction.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Brahms in view of the teaching of Sasaki to select each and every element as arranged in claims to form a prime facia case of obviousness for claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16 and 18.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 1/5/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766