DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 01/14/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-30 has been considered and entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art Liu et al. [US 20210289536 A1] discloses in para [0362] In other words, the terminal apparatus 1 specifies resource block allocation in the frequency direction of the initial UL BWP even in a case that the activated UL BWP (the UL BWP with which uplink data is transmitted) is not the initial UL BWP. The value of the resource block offset between the physical resource block index 0 of the initial UL BWP and the physical resource block index 0 of the active UL BWP is provided by a higher layer parameter locationAndBandwidth configured for each BWP. Also, the size of the initial UL BWP is used for N.sup.size.sub.BWP in FIG. 12(A) for a case in which the DCI format 0_0 is detected in an arbitrary common search space set in CORESET#0 or the additional common CORESET configured for the initial DL BWP.
However, in claims 18,19 the prior art fails to disclose the UE to receive a configuration for a pseudo-random time shift or defined time shift for transmissions, when a same set of the plurality of transmission resources are scheduled for multiple UEs and the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions.
The prior art does not teach
receive a configuration for a random time shift for transmissions, when a same set of the plurality of transmission resources are scheduled for multiple UEs and the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions.
Therefore, claims 18, 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 12, 13, 14 15 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20200163110 A1) hereinafter Tang, in view of Noh et al. (US 20220124698 A1)hereinafter Noh and further in view of He et al. (US 20230275735 A1) hereinafter He
As to claim 1. Tang teaches Currently Amended) A user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communications, comprising:
one or more memories memory comprising instructions; and
one or more processors, individually or in any combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to([0157] Fig. 6, The device 600 includes an input interface 610, an output interface 620, a processor 630, and a memory 640, may be connected by a bus system. The memory 640 is used to store programs, instructions or code. The processor 630 is configured to execute the programs, the instructions or the code in the memory 640 )
receive from a network entity signaling scheduling a plurality of transmission resources for a plurality of transmissions([0066] [0068]Fig. 1, Fig. 2, S210, a terminal device receives from network device, a plurality of Scheduling Request (SR) configuration information of a network device, where each SR configurations information includes a maximum number of transmissions of a corresponding SR; ach of the SR configuration information may further include a PUCCH resource for transmitting a corresponding SR, where the PUCCH resource may include a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource of PUCCH for transmitting the SR.)
;receive a configuration from the network entity to process a first number of transmissions of the plurality of transmissions in the plurality of transmission resources, ([0066] [0067] [0068] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, S220, terminal device receives plurality of SR configurations from network device, processes Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resources corresponding to the plurality of SR configuration information according to the plurality of SR configuration information; a PUCCH resource for transmitting a corresponding SR, where the PUCCH resource may include a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource of PUCCH for transmitting the SR).
process up to the maximum number of transmissions.([0072] , the terminal device may process the PUCCH resources corresponding to the plurality of SR configuration information according to the plurality of SR configuration information, for example, the terminal device may, according to the maximum number of transmissions of a certain SR in each SR configuration information,)
Tang does not teach receive a configuration from the network entity to process a first number of transmissions of the plurality of transmissions in the plurality of transmission resources and an indication whether the first number of transmissions are consecutive transmissions wherein the first number of transmissions is less than a quantity of the plurality of transmissions;
Noh teaches receive a configuration from the network entity to process a first number of transmissions of the plurality of transmissions in the plurality of transmission resources ([0343]Fig. 23, the UE may receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) for allocating at least one subband for transmitting a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel) and a plurality of resource blocks included in each of at least one subband from the base station in S2301
and an indication whether the first number of transmissions are consecutive transmissions,( [0363] Fig. 23, When the UE succeeds in channel access in the allocated successive LBT subbands, the UE may transmit the PUSCH to the base station through first resource allocation information indicating the successive LBT subbands)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Noh with the teachings of Tang because Noh teaches that allocating successive LBT subbands to perform the LBT operation would allow UE to make uplink transmission in the unlicensed band and PRBs in each LTE subband to have the interlaced structure at regular intervals. (Noh [0283]
The combination of Tang and Noh does not teach and wherein the first number of transmissions is less than a quantity of the plurality of transmissions; and0148
He teaches wherein the first number of transmissions is less than a quantity of the plurality of transmissions; and ([0148] Fig. 12, the maximum number of addressable PDSCHs by the DCI for each CC may include the UE, to the first group, each CC that has a maximum number of addressable PDSCHs by the DCI that is less than or equal to the maximum number of PDSCHs in a multi-PDSCH schedule that can be scheduled by the DCI )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of He with the teachings of Tang and Noh because He teaches that such scheme is advantageous as it may fix a HARQ-ACK payload at least for type1 HARQ-ACK codebook and potentially simplify UE implementation. (He [0142])
Claim 26 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claims 6. The combination of Tang, Noh and He specifically He teaches, wherein the plurality of transmission resources correspond to at least one of: a plurality of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission resources or a plurality of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission resources. ([0134] cellular systems may support a single DCI for multi-PDSCH/multi-PUSCH scheduling and hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of He with the teachings of Tang, Noh because He teaches that such scheme is advantageous as it may fix a HARQ-ACK payload at least for type1 HARQ-ACK codebook and potentially simplify UE implementation. (He [0142])
Claim(s) 25 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 11. The combination of Tang, Noh and He specifically He teaches,, wherein a slot offset for a feedback is based on a last transmission carrying data before the received indication. ([0143] Fig. 11a, multi-PDSCH scheduling in a single slot with K0=1. As shown, PDSCHs 2 and 3 may be located in the same slot, which can be enabled by setting Δ.sub.3 to a value of 0 as shown in FIG. 11B, which illustrates a table specifying K0and an offset based on PDSCH index)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of He with the teachings of Tang, Noh because He teaches that such scheme is advantageous as it may fix a HARQ-ACK payload at least for type1 HARQ-ACK codebook and potentially simplify UE implementation. (He [0142])
Claim(s) 15 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
As to claim 12. The combination of Tang, Noh and He specifically He teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: receive an indication that one or more of the plurality of transmission resources carry data, via at least one of: a wake up signal (WUS), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI). ([0177] a maximum number of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a multi-PDSCH schedule that can be scheduled by a downlink control indicator (DCI). )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of He with the teachings of Tang, Noh because He teaches that such scheme is advantageous as it may fix a HARQ-ACK payload at least for type1 HARQ-ACK codebook and potentially simplify UE implementation. (He [0142])
As to claim 13. The combination of Tang, Noh and He specifically He teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: receive an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook for the maximum number of transmissions. (([0139] Fig. 8, UE 106, may be configured with 8 CCs and may count C-DAI and T-DAI per scheduling DCI. HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCH(s) in CC group #1 and HARQ-ACK bits for DCI formats 810, 820, 830, 840, and 850 of CCs in CC group #2 may be included in HARQ-ACK sub-codebook #1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of He with the teachings of Tang, Noh because He teaches that such scheme is advantageous as it may fix a HARQ-ACK payload at least for type1 HARQ-ACK codebook and potentially simplify UE implementation. (He [0142])
As to claim 14. The combination of Tang, Noh and He specifically He teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: transmit a HARQ feedback, based on the HARQ codebook, after the processing of the maximum number of transmissions. (([0139] Fig. 8, determining a maximum number of addressable PDSCHs by a single DCI for a given CC index for different CCs; for HARQ-ACK feedback of multi-PDSCH scheduling then is to increase bit-width of C-DAI and T-DAI to ensure that missing up to 3 consecutive DCI formats would not cause HARQ-ACK codebook size mis-alignment between a base station and a UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of He with the teachings of Tang, Noh because He teaches that such scheme is advantageous as it may fix a HARQ-ACK payload at least for type1 HARQ-ACK codebook and potentially simplify UE implementation. (He [0142])
Claim(s) 20, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 20200163110 A1) hereinafter Tang, Noh and further in view of Yi et al. (US 20220304015 A1) hereinafter Yi
As to claim 20. Tang teaches A network entity configured for wireless communications, comprising:
one or more memories memory comprising instructions; and
one or more processors, individually or in any combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the network entity to:([0056]Fig. 1, a network device 110. network device 100 may be a device that communicates with a terminal device, network device inherently includes, a processor, memory with stored instruction, , configured to execute the instructions and cause the network entity to)
transmit to a user equipment (UE) signaling scheduling a plurality of transmission resources for a plurality of transmissions; ([0066] [0068]Fig. 1, Fig. 2, S210, a terminal device receives from network device, a plurality of Scheduling Request (SR) configuration information of a network device, where each SR configurations information includes a maximum number of transmissions of a corresponding SR; ach of the SR configuration information may further include a PUCCH resource for transmitting a corresponding SR, where the PUCCH resource may include a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource of PUCCH for transmitting the SR.)
wherein the first number of transmissions comprises a maximum number of transmissions scheduled on the plurality of transmission resources, ([0071] The first SR configuration information includes a maximum number of transmissions of the first SR, and the maximum number of transmissions of the first SR is used to indicate a maximum number of times that the first SR may be frequently transmitted; the downlink allocation information and the uplink authorization information are information of a resource for transmitting data on the data channel)
Tang does not teach transmit a configuration to the UE to process a first number of transmissions of the plurality of transmissions in the plurality of transmission resources and an indication whether the first number of transmissions are consecutive transmissions, and wherein the first number of transmissions is less than a quantity of the plurality of transmissions and monitor up to the maximum number of transmissions
Noh teaches transmit a configuration to the UE to process a first number of transmissions of the plurality of transmissions in the plurality of transmission resources ([0343][0349]Fig. 22, Fig. 23, the UE may receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) for allocating at least one subband for transmitting a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel) and a plurality of resource blocks included in each of at least one subband from the base station in S2301 and DCI includes first resource allocated information)
and an indication whether the first number of transmissions are consecutive transmissions,( [0363] Fig. 23, When the UE succeeds in channel access in the allocated successive LBT subbands, the UE may transmit the PUSCH to the base station through first resource allocation information indicating the successive LBT subbands)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Noh with the teachings of Tang because Noh teaches that allocating successive LBT subbands to perform the LBT operation would allow UE to make uplink transmission in the unlicensed band and PRBs in each LTE subband to have the interlaced structure at regular intervals. (Noh [0283]
The combination of Tang and Noh does not teach and wherein the first number of transmissions is less than a quantity of the plurality of transmissions; and monitor up to the maximum number of transmissions
Yi teaches and wherein the first number of transmissions is less than a quantity of the plurality of transmissions; ([0301] where a number of the one or more PDSCHs or one or more slots scheduled with the one or more PDSCHs is less than or equal to the maximum number of PDSCHs)
and
monitor up to the maximum number of transmissions ([0301]base station transmit one or more RRC messages indicating configuration parameters. DCI, of a multi-PDSCH scheduling, may comprise resource assignment(s) for one or more PDSCHs, the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a number of DCIs that may be transmitted/scheduled via a span or a PDCCH monitoring occasion or a slot of the scheduling cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yi with the teachings of Tang, Noh because Yi teaches that RRC context previously established is maintained in the UE and the base station that will allows for a fast transition to RRC connected with reduced signaling overhead. (Yi [0117])
Claim 29 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20.
Claim(s) 3, 22, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Noh He and further in view of Chin et al. (US 20210219322 A1) hereinafter Chin
As to claim 3. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach wherein the plurality of transmission resources are dynamically granted using a same downlink control information
Chin teaches teach wherein the plurality of transmission resources are dynamically granted using a same downlink control information ([0091][0092] A multi-TTI UL grant may use the same DCI format as a dynamic grant that schedules a single PUSCH resource (e.g., DCI format 0-1). )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chin with the teachings of Tang, Noh and He because Chin teaches that NR-U system enables the network to allocate, via a single dynamic grant, multiple PUSCH resources to individual UEs thereby reducing impact of LBT failures and unsuccessful transmissions. (Chin [0092])
Claims 22, 28 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 5,7, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Noh, He and Yi
As to claim 4. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach wherein the configuration is received via at least one of:
radio resource configuration (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI).
Yi teaches wherein the configuration is received via at least one of:
radio resource configuration (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI).([0248] FIG. 19, there are one or more second DCI fields that may present in the DCI format 0_1 regardless of the wireless device specific RRC message(s). For example, the DCI format 0_1 may comprise a 1-bit DL/UL indicator where the bit is configured with zero (‘0’) to indicate an uplink grant for the DCI format 0_1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yi with the teachings of Tang, Noh because Yi teaches that RRC context previously established is maintained in the UE and the base station that will allows for a fast transition to RRC connected with reduced signaling overhead. (Yi [0117])
Claim(s) 23 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 5. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach , wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: receive an indication whether the maximum number of transmissions are consecutive transmissions.
Yi teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: receive an indication whether the maximum number of transmissions are consecutive transmissions.([0355] he span may be determined as one or more consecutive (OFDM) symbols in a slot, first PDCCH monitoring occasion may be same or different from the second PDCCH monitoring occasion, a span may be up to Y symbols. a maximum number of symbols in a span may be less than or equal to Y).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yi with the teachings of Tang, Noh because Yi teaches that RRC context previously established is maintained in the UE and the base station that will allows for a fast transition to RRC connected with reduced signaling overhead. (Yi [0117])
Claim(s) 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 7. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: monitor and decode the maximum number of transmissions, when the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of PDSCH transmissions.
Yi teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: monitor and decode the maximum number of transmissions, when the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of PDSCH transmissions.
([0213] Fig. 14B,UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI forma)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yi with the teachings of Tang, Noh because Yi teaches that RRC context previously established is maintained in the UE and the base station that will allows for a fast transition to RRC connected with reduced signaling overhead. (Yi [0117])
Claim 2,8,16,21,27,30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Noh He and in view of Kim et al. (US Pub.2022/0329366).
As to claim 2. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach wherein the plurality of transmission resources are allocated within a same semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) or configured grant (CG) occasion.
Kim teaches wherein the plurality of transmission resources are allocated within a same semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) or configured grant (CG) occasion. [0115] a DCI schedules configured downlink feedback information to a UE, wherein the information included in the DCI is semi-persistent (the plurality of transmission resources are allocated within a same semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) or configured grant (CG) occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim et al. with that of Tang and He . to configure maximum PDSCH via configured grant or semi-persistent scheduling. (Kim[0115])
Claim(s) 21, 27, 30 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 8. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: transmit the maximum number of transmissions, when the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of PUSCH transmissions
Kim teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: transmit the maximum number of transmissions, when the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of PUSCH transmissions [0137]Fig. 9 a UE receives the data transmission TBs at step S1604, generates HARQ feedback at step S1606 and transmits at step 1608 the HARQ including bits to base station through PUSCH (transmit the maximum number of transmissions, when the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of PUSCH transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim et al. with that of Tang, Noh and He to configure maximum PDSCH via configured grant or semi-persistent scheduling. (Kim [0115])
As to claim 16. The combination of Tang, Noh and He does not teach wherein the
Kim teaches wherein the [0432] a UE transmits control information to a base station via PUSCH. The control information includes a scheduling request, uplink data transmitted via PUSCH (transmit a request for the maximum number of transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim et al. with that of Tang, Noh and He to configure maximum PDSCH via configured grant or semi-persistent scheduling. (Kim [0115])
Claim 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Noh He and in view of Loehr et al. (US Pub.2020/0053793).
As to claim 9. The combination of Tang, Noh and HE does not teach, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: skip processing of remaining number of transmissions, after the processing of the maximum number of transmissions.
Loehr teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: skip processing of remaining number of transmissions, after the processing of the maximum number of transmissions. [0038,0041,0045] Fig. 1-3, a UE 105 receives a RAR msg 120 from a base station and determines whether skipping uplink transmission is configured, and skips PUSCH transmission ( an indication to skip processing transmission of transport block).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Loehr et al. with that of Tang, Noh He to skip the processing of transport blocks based on an indication signaling from the base station. (Loehr[0076]
Claim(s) 10 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Noh He and in view of Bae et al. (US Pub.2024/0349273).hereinafter Bae
As to claim 17. The combination of Tang, Noh He wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: randomly select the maximum number of transmissions
Bae teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: randomly select the maximum number of transmissions.( [0067-0068,0074-0075] a UE is configured via SPS or configured grant resource by a base station. The UE may use one or some of the SPS/CCG resources within a period. The UE may select the earliest radio resources for carrying TBs to be received via PDSCH or transmit via PUSCH (UE to randomly select the maximum number of transmissions, based on a pseudo-random function, when a same set of the plurality of transmission resources are scheduled for multiple UEs and the maximum number of transmissions correspond to a maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Loehr et al. with that teaching of Tang, Noh He because Bae teaches that providing scheduling information indicating a plurality of radio resources to the UE in DCI would allow UE to perform transmission by randomly selecting some of the scheduled radio resources.(Bae [0078])
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rastegardoost; Nazanin et al. [US 20210144743 A1] Wireless Communications For Scheduling Transmissions
Wu; Min et al. [US 20220322415 A1] METHODS PERFORMED BY USER EQUIPMENT OR BASE STATION, USER EQUIPMENT AND BASE STATION
[US 20230344570 A1] METHOD AND DEVICE FOR HARQ-ACK FEEDBACK JUNG; Euichang et al. TRANSMISSION OR RECEPTION FOR NETWORK COOPERATIVE COMMUNICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413