DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-31 in the reply filed on 9/17/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 7-9, 13-14, 22-26, 28 and 32 are withdrawn from prosecution.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. No IDS submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The use of “or even” renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-6, 10-12, 15-19, 21, 25-27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by the prior art reference (US 20210207317 A1) to Sasaki et al. (hereinafter Sasaki).
Sasaki is directed to articles of manufacture with a delivery particle. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0004] of a microcapsule for use in laundry. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0006] of a core with a wall forming the shell. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0012] of the core being a benefit agent. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0015] of a polyurea shell being formed by the reaction with a polyisocyanate. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0020] of a consumer product of a laundry detergent. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0028] of the surface of the shell has a zeta potential of at least 10 mV. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0035] of an amine to form the shell that include a chitosan. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0037] of an amphoteric amine of a gelatin. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0063] of poly(acrylate-co-acrylamide). Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0071] of a diacrylate or acrylamide monomer. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0073] of anionic emulsifiers. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0015] of a size of 0.1 to 1000 microns, which reads on 5 to 150 microns. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0006] of a slurry of microcapsules. Sasaki discloses each and every element of claims 1-6, 10-12, 15-19, 21, 25-27 and 29-31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-6, 10-12, 15-19, 21, 25-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20210207317 A1) to Sasaki et al. (hereinafter Sasaki).
Sasaki is directed to articles of manufacture with a delivery particle. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0004] of a microcapsule for use in laundry. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0006] of a core with a wall forming the shell. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0012] of the core being a benefit agent. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0015] of a polyurea shell being formed by the reaction with a polyisocyanate. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0020] of a consumer product of a laundry detergent. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0028] of the surface of the shell has a zeta potential of at least 10 mV. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0035] of an amine to form the shell that include a chitosan. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0037] of an amphoteric amine of a gelatin. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0063] of poly(acrylate-co-acrylamide). Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0071] of a diacrylate or acrylamide monomer. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0073] of anionic emulsifiers. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0015] of a size of 0.1 to 1000 microns, which reads on 5 to 150 microns. Sasaki discloses at paragraph [0006] of a slurry of microcapsules.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Sasaki to select each and every element of claims 1-6, 10-12, 15-19, 21, 25-27 and 29-30.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 20, 24 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose a shell with the shell degradation properties claimed.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766