DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 9-17 and 20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on a Continuation of PCT/KR2021/019454, filed
12/21/2021 that claims foreign priority to KR 10-2020-0179888, filed 12/21/2020 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (hereafter Kim, of record, see IDS dated 08/12/2022) US 20160252746 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereafter Kim’300, of record see IDS dated 07/23/2024) US 20190196300 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) an electronic device (camera lens module on a mobile electronic device, see Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-13,23-33 , 63-80]) comprising:
a housing (base 11, casing 12, paragraphs [23-36], Figs.1, 8);
a lens assembly disposed in the housing along an optical axis (lens barrel 13, paragraphs [23-36], Figs.1, 8);
a first carrier operatively connected to the lens assembly and configured to move the lens assembly within the housing in the optical axis direction (i.e. lens barrel carrier 14 moving for AF, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8), wherein the first carrier includes a first yoke part and a second yoke part (first and second yoke units 103, each including parts 103a,103b, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80]);
a second carrier operatively connected to the lens assembly to move the lens assembly within the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (vibration correction carrier 15, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8),
wherein the second carrier (15) includes:
a first magnet configured to interact with the first yoke part (one of vibration correction magnets/regions 101a,b, 102a,b, interacting with one 103 yoke unit underneath it, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80], Figs. 1-6), and
a second magnet configured to interact with the second yoke part (other of vibration correction magnets/regions 101a,b, 102a,b, interacting with other of 103 yoke units underneath it, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80], Figs. 1-6); and
a plurality of balls disposed between the first carrier and the second carrier(ball bearings 104 between 14 and 15, paragraphs [61-62, 79-80]),
wherein the first carrier includes a plurality of guide grooves configured to accommodate the plurality of balls (i.e. 104 have guide grooves, support bodies 141 in 14, also equivalent 151 in 15, paragraphs [61-62], Figs. 1-2), and wherein the plurality of balls (104) are each in contact with an upper end of the first carrier and a lower end of the second carrier, (as 104 in contact with upper end of 14 and lower end of 15, paragraphs [61-65], Figs. 1-2), and each of the plurality of balls are movable within a respective guide groove of the plurality of guide grooves (i.e. as depicted each 104 in respective groove support body 141 on 14, paragraphs [61-65], Figs. 1-2),
wherein the first yoke part includes a first portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a first minimum distance and a second portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a second minimum distance (as one of yoke units 103, or parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side e.g. left and right side portion, spaced from corresponding magnet 101 or 102, by first and second distance in vertical/optical axis direction, abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2),
the first minimum distance and the second minimum distance extending along the optical axis (as minimum distances are along optical axis/vertical direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2), the second portion connected directly from the first portion (as parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side, e.g. left/right side portions that are connected, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as depicted Fig. 1-4),
wherein the first portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as one of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2), and
wherein the second portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as other of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2),
wherein a surface of the first magnet faces the first portion of the first yoke part and the second portion of the first yoke part along the optical axis (as a surface of one of magnet 101 or 102 faces the yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
But Kim is silent that the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. as each 103a or 103b have flat shape so that minimum vertical distances of both e.g. left and right sides to the corresponding magnet 101 (102) are the same, Figs. 1-4).
However, Kim 300 teaches in the same field of invention (see Figs. 1-5, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [1,12-22,31-42, 72-79]) and further teaches first yoke part (170, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) has first and second portions (as 170 has portions 171, 172, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) that have the first minimum distance and second minimum distances to corresponding magnet (as minimum vertical distances along optical axis from 170 with 171 and 172 parts to magnet 130, with first and second parts 130-1, 130-2, Fig. 5, paragraphs [31-42,72-79]) where the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. because 170 has a step portion between part 171 that is vertically closer to magnet 130, first part 131-1 (vertical level) while part 172 that is lower vertically and thus further from magnet 130, part 130-2 i.e. the minimum vertical (along optical axis) distances of first and second portions 171 and 172 of 170 are different to the corresponding magnet 130, with magnet parts 130-1 and 130-2, so that the carriers are induced to independently move more effectively, and that the vertical step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, paragraphs [72-79]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of first yoke part (103a, 103b) with first and second (e.g. left and right) connected portions of Kim to include vertical step so that the vertical minimum distances along optical axis to the corresponding magnet (i.e. 101, and/or 103) are different, so that the carriers are induced to move more independently and more effectively according to teachings of Kim ‘300, in order so that the step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, (see Kim’300 paragraphs [72-79]).
Note that as a result of the combination of Kim and Kim ‘300 the combination teaches and renders obvious that first yoke part (103a, or 103b) with connected first and second portions (e.g. its left and right sides of 103a or 103b) that have different minimum distances along the optical axis to the first magnet (101 or 102) due to change of shape including vertical step portion (see Kim paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 1-4, and Kim ‘300 Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]), and also that surface of one of magnets 101 or 102 still faces the modified shape yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that when viewed in an optical axis direction (along optical axis of 13 Z-axis, paragraphs [27], Fig. 1,8), the first yoke part is disposed to overlap the first magnet, and the second yoke part is disposed to overlap the second magnet (as 101a,b magnet is over its yoke unit 103, and 102a,b is over its yoke unit 103, as depicted in Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80]).
Regarding claim 3, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the first distance is smaller than the second distance (i.e. distance 103a to 101a is smaller than distance to 101b, as depicted in Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80], or presumably due to modification with Kim 300, the first minimum distance is smaller than the second minimum distance, see Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]).
Regarding claim 5, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the first yoke part includes a first yoke and a second yoke disposed separately from the first yoke (i.e. one of yoke units 103 with separate yoke 103a,b first/second parts, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80]), and the second yoke part includes a third yoke and a fourth yoke disposed separately from the third yoke (i.e. other of yoke units 103 with separate yoke 103a,b e.g. third/fourth parts, as depicted in Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80]).
Regarding claim 9, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the first yoke part includes a first yoke and a second yoke disposed separately from the first yoke (i.e. one of yoke units 103 with separate yoke 103a,b first/second parts, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80], and each as modified with Kim ‘300, see claim 1 above), wherein the first yoke and the second yoke each include a step (i.e. as 103a,b include step per modification with Kim ‘300 see , Fig. 5 , paragraphs [72-79]), and the first yoke and the second yoke each include the first portion formed by the step, the second portion formed by the step ((i.e. as 103a,b both include step per modification with Kim ‘300 see , Fig. 5 , paragraphs [72-79]), and wherein the second minimum distance is larger than the first distance (i.e. distance 103a to 101a is smaller than distance to 101b, as depicted in Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80], or presumably due to modification of 103a and 103b with Kim 300, the first minimum distance is smaller than the second minimum distance, see Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]).
Regarding claim 10, the Kim-Kim’300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim further teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the first yoke and the second yoke are disposed to face each other with reference to a first axis passing through a center of the first magnet and parallel to the optical axis (i.e. as yoke unit 103 first and second yoke parts 103a,b disposed to face each other with reference to a first axis A1 passing through a center of the first magnet 101 and parallel to the optical Z axis, as depicted Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80]).
Regarding claim 11, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the lens assembly (13) is configured to move in a plane direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction via the plurality of balls (vibration correction carrier 15 moves 13 in X,Y directions via ball bearings 104, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8),
and when the lens assembly rotates in a first rotation direction, the first yoke part and the second yoke part are configured to rotate the lens assembly in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction (i.e. as rotation or tilt of 13/15 happens the yoke 103 units are configures to react and provide opposite rotation and centering of 13/15, paragraphs [7-8, 32-34, 68-77], Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 12, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the plurality of balls have a spherical shape with a first diameter (i.e. as spherical ball bearings 104 diameter, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [61-62, 79-80]), and the plurality of guide grooves have at least one of a circular shape or a hemispherical shape with a second diameter greater than the first diameter (i.e. as guide grooves, support bodies 141 in 14 have diameter larger than diameter of 104, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, see paragraphs [61-62, 79-80], Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the plurality of guide grooves are provided at least in corner portions of the first carrier (i.e. as guide grooves for 104 in corner of 14, as depicted Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the second carrier, the plurality of balls, and the first carrier are stacked in order in an optical axis direction (i.e. as vib. corr. carrier 15, ball bearings 104 and carrier 14 are stacked in order along optical axis Z, e.g. paragraphs [32-33,36, 60-65, 71-80], see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the plurality of guide grooves are at least provided in corner portions of the first carrier (i.e. as guide grooves, support bodies 141 in corner portions of 14, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, see paragraphs [61-62, 79-80], Figs. 1-2), and the plurality of balls accommodated in the plurality of guide grooves are disposed at least on a bottom surface of the second carrier (as 104 disposed in guide grooves support bodies 141 are in contact with bottom surface of 15, see paragraphs [61-65], as depicted in Figs. 1-5).
In regard to independent claim 16, Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) an electronic device (camera lens module on a mobile electronic device, see Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-13,23-33 , 63-80]) comprising:
a housing (base 11, casing 12, paragraphs [23-36], Figs.1, 8);
a lens assembly disposed in the housing along an optical axis (lens barrel 13, paragraphs [23-36], Figs.1, 8);
a first carrier (i.e. lens barrel carrier 14 moving for AF, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8) including a first yoke part and a second yoke part (first and second yoke units 103, each including parts 103a,103b, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80]);
a second carrier configured to accommodate the lens assembly vibration correction carrier 15 accommodating lens barrel 13, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8) and including:
a first magnet configured to interact with the first yoke part (one of vibration correction magnets/regions 101a,b, 102a,b, interacting with one 103 yoke unit underneath it, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80], Figs. 1-6), and a second magnet configured to interact with the second yoke part (other of vibration correction magnets/regions 101a,b, 102a,b, interacting with other of 103 yoke units underneath it, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80], Figs. 1-6); and
a plurality of balls disposed between the first carrier and the second carrier(ball bearings 104 between 14 and 15, paragraphs [61-62, 79-80])
wherein the second carrier, the plurality of balls, and the first carrier are stacked in order in the optical axis direction (i.e. as vib. corr. carrier 15, ball bearings 104 and carrier 14 are stacked in order along optical axis Z, e.g. paragraphs [32-33,36, 60-65, 71-80], see Figs. 1-3), and
wherein the first carrier includes a plurality of guide grooves in which the plurality of balls are accommodated, respectively (i.e. 104 have guide grooves, support bodies 141 in 14, also equivalent 151 in 15, paragraphs [61-62], Figs. 1-2), and each of the plurality of balls moves within a respective guide groove of the plurality of guide grooves (i.e. as depicted each 104 in respective groove support body 141 on 14, paragraphs [61-65], Figs. 1-2), and
wherein the first yoke part includes a first portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a first minimum distance and a second portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a second minimum distance (as one of yoke units 103, or parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side e.g. left and right sides, spaced from corresponding magnet 101 or 102, by first and second minimum distance in vertical/optical axis direction, abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2); the first minimum distance and the second minimum distance extending along the optical axis (as minimum distances are along optical axis/vertical direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2), the second portion connected directly from the first portion (as parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side, e.g. left/right connected, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 1-4),
wherein the first portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as one of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2), and
wherein the second portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as other of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2),
wherein a surface of the first magnet faces the first portion of the first yoke part and the second portion of the first yoke part along the optical axis (as a surface of one of magnet 101 or 102 faces the yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
But Kim is silent that the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. as each 103a or 103b have flat shape so that minimum vertical distances of both e.g. left and right sides to the corresponding magnet 101 (102) are the same, Figs. 1-4).
However, Kim 300 teaches in the same field of invention (see Figs. 1-5, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [1,12-22,31-42, 72-79]) and further teaches first yoke part (170, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) has first and second portions (as 170 has portions 171, 172, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) that have the first minimum distance and second minimum distances to corresponding magnet (as minimum vertical distances along optical axis from 170 with 171 and 172 parts to magnet 130, with first and second parts 130-1, 130-2, Fig. 5, paragraphs [31-42,72-79]) where the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. because 170 has a step portion between part 171 that is vertically closer to magnet 130, first part 131-1 (vertical level) while part 172 that is lower vertically and thus further from magnet 130, part 130-2 i.e. the minimum vertical (along optical axis) distances of first and second portions 171 and 172 of 170 are different to the corresponding magnet 130, with magnet parts 130-1 and 130-2, so that the carriers are induced to independently move more effectively, and that the vertical step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, paragraphs [72-79]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of first yoke part (103a, 103b) with first and second (e.g. left and right) connected portions of Kim to include vertical step so that the vertical minimum distances along optical axis to the corresponding magnet (i.e. 101, and/or 103) are different, so that the carriers are induced to move more independently and more effectively according to teachings of Kim ‘300, in order so that the step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, (see Kim’300 paragraphs [72-79]).
Note that as a result of the combination of Kim and Kim ‘300 the combination teaches and renders obvious that first yoke part (103a, or 103b) with connected first and second portions (e.g. left and right sides of 103a or 103b) that have different minimum distances to the first magnet (101 or 102) due to change of shape including vertical step portion (see Kim paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 1-4, and Kim ‘300 Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]), and also that surface of one of magnets 101 or 102 still faces the modified shape yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that when viewed in an optical axis direction (along optical axis of 13 Z-axis, paragraphs [27], Fig. 1,8), the first yoke part is disposed to overlap the first magnet, and the second yoke part is disposed to overlap the second magnet (as 101a,b magnet is over its yoke unit 103, and 102a,b is over its yoke unit 103, as depicted in Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80]).
Regarding claim 20, the Kim-Kim ‘300 combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) that the first yoke part includes a first yoke and a second yoke disposed separately from the first yoke (i.e. one of yoke units 103 with separate yoke 103a,b first/second parts, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80], and each as modified with Kim ‘300, see claim 16 above), wherein the first yoke and the second yoke each include a step (i.e. as 103a,b include step per modification with Kim ‘300 see , Fig. 5 , paragraphs [72-79]), the first yoke and the second yoke each include the first portion and the second portion formed by the step (i.e. as 103a,b both include step per modification with Kim ‘300 see , Fig. 5 , paragraphs [72-79]), and the first minimum distance is smaller than the second minimum distance (i.e. distance 103a to 101a is smaller than distance to 101b, as depicted in Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [31-33, 60-65, 71-80], or presumably due to modification of 103a and 103b with Kim 300, the first minimum distance is smaller than the second minimum distance, see Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the remarks dated 01/20/2026 with respect to claim 1 and claim 16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicants argue on pages 9-12 that the cited prior art of Kim and Kim’300 does not disclose the amendment limitations of claims 1 and 16, regarding different minimum vertical distances of first/second yokes to first magnet, because the yokes of Kim are at the same distance and the yoke of Kim ‘300 has two yokes 171 and 172 that are below and face different magnets 130-1 and 130-2 and different surfaces of magnets 130-1 and 130-2. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue, as noted in the rejection(s) above, the cited prior art of Kim teaches most limitations of claim 1 (and 16) and in combination with Kim ‘300 teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1 (and (16), as Kim teaches (see Figs. 1-8) an electronic device (camera lens module on a mobile electronic device, see Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02, 08-13,23-33 , 63-80]) comprising:
a housing (base 11, casing 12, paragraphs [23-36], Figs.1, 8);
a lens assembly disposed in the housing along an optical axis (lens barrel 13, paragraphs [23-36], Figs.1, 8);
a first carrier operatively connected to the lens assembly and configured to move the lens assembly within the housing in the optical axis direction (i.e. lens barrel carrier 14 moving for AF, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8), wherein the first carrier includes a first yoke part and a second yoke part (first and second yoke units 103, each including parts 103a,103b, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80]);
a second carrier operatively connected to the lens assembly to move the lens assembly within the housing in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (vibration correction carrier 15, paragraphs [23-36, 36-40], Figs.1-8),
wherein the second carrier (15) includes:
a first magnet configured to interact with the first yoke part (one of vibration correction magnets/regions 101a,b, 102a,b, interacting with one 103 yoke unit underneath it, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80], Figs. 1-6), and
a second magnet configured to interact with the second yoke part (other of vibration correction magnets/regions 101a,b, 102a,b, interacting with other of 103 yoke units underneath it, paragraphs [32-33, 60-65, 71-80], Figs. 1-6); and
a plurality of balls disposed between the first carrier and the second carrier(ball bearings 104 between 14 and 15, paragraphs [61-62, 79-80]),
wherein the first carrier includes a plurality of guide grooves configured to accommodate the plurality of balls (i.e. 104 have guide grooves, support bodies 141 in 14, also equivalent 151 in 15, paragraphs [61-62], Figs. 1-2), and wherein the plurality of balls (104) are each in contact with an upper end of the first carrier and a lower end of the second carrier, (as 104 in contact with upper end of 14 and lower end of 15, paragraphs [61-65], Figs. 1-2), and each of the plurality of balls are movable within a respective guide groove of the plurality of guide grooves (i.e. as depicted each 104 in respective groove support body 141 on 14, paragraphs [61-65], Figs. 1-2),
wherein the first yoke part includes a first portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a first minimum distance and a second portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a second minimum distance (as one of yoke units 103, or parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side e.g. left and right side portion, spaced from corresponding magnet 101 or 102, by first and second distance in vertical/optical axis direction, abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2),
the first minimum distance and the second minimum distance extending along the optical axis (as minimum distances are along optical axis/vertical direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2), the second portion connected directly from the first portion (as parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side, e.g. left/right side portions that are connected, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as depicted Fig. 1-4),
wherein the first portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as one of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2), and
wherein the second portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as other of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2),
wherein a surface of the first magnet faces the first portion of the first yoke part and the second portion of the first yoke part along the optical axis (as a surface of one of magnet 101 or 102 faces the yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
But Kim is silent that the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. as each 103a or 103b have flat shape so that minimum vertical distances of both e.g. left and right sides to the corresponding magnet 101 (102) are the same, Figs. 1-4).
However, Kim 300 teaches in the same field of invention (see Figs. 1-5, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [1,12-22,31-42, 72-79]) and further teaches first yoke part (170, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) has first and second portions (as 170 has portions 171, 172, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) that have the first minimum distance and second minimum distances to corresponding magnet (as minimum vertical distances along optical axis from 170 with 171 and 172 parts to magnet 130, with first and second parts 130-1, 130-2, Fig. 5, paragraphs [31-42,72-79]) where the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. because 170 has a step portion between part 171 that is vertically closer to magnet 130, first part 131-1 (vertical level) while part 172 that is lower vertically and thus further from magnet 130, part 130-2 i.e. the minimum vertical (along optical axis) distances of first and second portions 171 and 172 of 170 are different to the corresponding magnet 130, with magnet parts 130-1 and 130-2, so that the carriers are induced to independently move more effectively, and that the vertical step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, paragraphs [72-79]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of first yoke part (103a, 103b) with first and second (e.g. left and right) connected portions of Kim to include vertical step so that the vertical minimum distances along optical axis to the corresponding magnet (i.e. 101, and/or 103) are different, so that the carriers are induced to move more independently and more effectively according to teachings of Kim ‘300, in order so that the step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, (see Kim’300 paragraphs [72-79]).
Note that as a result of the combination of Kim and Kim ‘300 the combination teaches and renders obvious that first yoke part (103a, or 103b) with connected first and second portions (e.g. its left and right sides of 103a or 103b) that have different minimum distances along the optical axis to the first magnet (101 or 102) due to change of shape including vertical step portion (see Kim paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 1-4, and Kim ‘300 Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]), and also that surface of one of magnets 101 or 102 still faces the modified shape yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
Specifically, Kim teaches the first yoke part includes a first portion spaced apart
from the first magnet by a first minimum distance and a second portion spaced apart from the first magnet by a second minimum distance (as one of yoke units 103, or parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side e.g. left and right side, spaced from corresponding magnet 101 or 102, by first and second distance in vertical/optical axis direction, abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2),
the first minimum distance and the second minimum distance extending along the optical axis (as minimum distances are along optical axis/vertical direction, as depicted in Figs. 1-2), the second portion connected directly from the first portion (as parts 103a,103b having first and second portions e.g. on each side, e.g. left/right connected, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 1-4),
wherein the first portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as one of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2), and
wherein the second portion of the first yoke part faces the first magnet along the optical axis (as other of yoke units 103a or 103b, left and right parts, faces the corresponding magnet 101 or 102 along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 2), and lastly Kim not Kim ‘300, teaches a surface of the first magnet faces the first portion of the first yoke part and the second portion of the first yoke part along the optical axis (as a surface of one of magnet 101 or 102 faces the yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, see abstract, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2). Primary reference of Kim was used to teach the new limitation of claims 1 and 16 that surface of the first magnet faces the first portion of the first yoke part and the second portion of the first yoke part along the optical axis, since surface of one of magnet 101 or 102 faces the yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, see paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2). Kim ‘300 was not used to disclose this limitation.
As noted Kim is silent that the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. as each 103a or 103b have flat shape so that minimum vertical distances of both e.g. left and right sides to the corresponding magnet 101 (102) are the same, Figs. 1-4).
Hence, Kim 300 was relied upon as Kim 300 teaches in the same field of invention (see Figs. 1-5, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [1,12-22,31-42, 72-79]) and further teaches first yoke part (170, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) has first and second portions (as 170 has portions 171, 172, Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]) that have the first minimum distance and second minimum distances to corresponding magnet (as minimum vertical distances along optical axis from 170 with 171 and 172 parts to magnet 130, with first and second parts 130-1, 130-2, Fig. 5, paragraphs [31-42,72-79]) where the second minimum distance is different from the first minimum distance (i.e. because 170 has a step portion between part 171 that is vertically closer to magnet 130, first part 131-1 (vertical level) while part 172 that is lower vertically and thus further from magnet 130, part 130-2 i.e. the minimum vertical (along optical axis) distances of first and second portions 171 and 172 of 170 are different to the corresponding magnet 130, with magnet parts 130-1 and 130-2, so that the carriers are induced to independently move more effectively, and that the vertical step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, paragraphs [72-79]).
Thus it was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of first yoke part (103a, 103b) with first and second (e.g. left and right) connected portions of Kim to include vertical step so that the vertical minimum distances along optical axis to the corresponding magnet (i.e. 101, and/or 103) are different, so that the carriers are induced to move more independently and more effectively according to teachings of Kim ‘300, in order so that the step can enhance the efficiency in mounting other components, (see Kim’300 paragraphs [72-79]).
Lastly, it was noted that as a result of the combination of Kim and Kim ‘300 the combination teaches and renders obvious that first yoke part (103a, or 103b) with connected first and second portions (e.g. sides of 103a or 103b) that have different minimum distances to the first magnet (101 or 102) due to change of shape including vertical step portion (see Kim paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], see Fig. 1-4, and Kim ‘300 Fig. 5, paragraphs [72-79]), and also that surface of one of magnets 101 or 102 still faces the modified shape yoke unit 103a or 103b, with its left and right parts, along the optical axis, paragraphs [32-36, 60-65, 71-80], as clearly depicted in Fig. 2).
Applicant’s arguments of the unworkability of the combination, due to specific magnet arrangement in Kim 300, appear to be based on a literal application of the actual structure of Kim 300 to the actual structure of Kim. However, that is not the proper standard for the analysis required under 35 USC 103(a). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Keller at 881, goes on to revisit the long history of the U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals (CCPA) regarding the nature of suggestion established by the combined teachings of the references rather than the actual results of a physical, bodily incorporation:
To justify combining reference teachings in support of a rejection it is not necessary that a device shown in one reference can be physically inserted into the device shown in the other. In re Griver, 53 CCPA 815, 354, F.2d 377, 148 USPQ 197 (1966); In re Billingsley, 47 CCPA 1108, 279 F.2d 689, 126 USPQ 370 (1960). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wood, 599 F.2d 1032, 202 USPQ 171 (CCPA 1979); In re Passal, 57 CCPA 1151, 426 F.2d 828, 165 USPQ 720 (1970); In re Richman, 57 CCPA 1060, 424 F.2d 1388, 165 USPQ 509 (1970); In re Rosselet, 52 CCPA 1533, 347 F.2d 847, 146 USPQ 183 (1965).
The structure taught in the combined teachings of the references, as set forth above, is a proper combination. In addition the Kim ‘300 was not used as a base reference in the rejections above. Instead Kim ‘300 was used to modify only the shape of each yoke 103a and 103b with its left and right portions of Kim reference, as detailed above. The magnet 130 was not incorporated into the combination above. Moreover the magnet 130 is still a magnet that has parts 130-1, 130-2, however all part of the 130 magnet of Kim 300 are at the same vertical level from the base (e.g. 110), and because the shape of the yoke 170 having step in vertical (optical axis direction) between yoke parts 171,172, the minimum vertical (optical axis direction) distances from 170 i.e. from 171 and 172 to magnet 130 and its’ parts 130-1,130-2 are different. The modification of yoke parts 103a,b sides to such shape with a vertical step between left/right sides, results in different vertical distances from the modified yoke sides 103a,b to the corresponding same magnet 101 (or 102) in Kim.
Therefore, the cited prior art of Kim in combination with Kim ‘300 teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1. The same responses apply also to claim 16.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 12 of the Remarks dated 08/06/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872