DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-17, 19, 26-30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al (US 2020/0229009) in view of SHIM et al (US 2025/0344086)
Regarding claim 10, 26, XU discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
identify a first subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a first user equipment (UE), the first SCS associated with transmission of a reference signal for inter-UE cross-link interference (CLI) measurement (XU: ¶78, ¶141, ¶5, ¶137, the base station 105, serving the UEs configure UEs with initial configuration for communication between the UEs and the base station; this includes a first SCS for a first UE and a second different SCS for a second UE); and
output at least one of a switching configuration, or an indication of a resource for the transmission of the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement, for a second UE associated with a second SCS different than the first SCS, wherein the switching configuration indicates for the second UE to switch from a second SCS to the first SCS for reception of the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement (XU: ¶140-141, ¶143, ¶187, ¶204, ¶142, the base station sends (outputs) a reception parameters for measurement gap (equivalent to the switching configuration) indicating resource for reference signal reception at the second UE (victim UEs) associated with a second SCS different than the first SCS); the switching configuration indicating a second SCS (XU: ¶140-141, ¶143, ¶187, ¶204, ¶142, reception parameters for measurement gap (equivalent to the switching configuration) indicating resource for reference signal reception at the second UE (victim UEs) associated with a second SCS)
XU remains silent regarding changing the second SCS to a first SCS comprises changing a second bandwidth part of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration to a first bandwidth part;
the switching configuration indicating time resources and frequency resources in which a reference signal for the inter-UE CLI measurement is transmitted, including the second bandwidth part and second SCS of the second bandwidth part.
However, SHIM et al (US 2025/0344086) discloses changing the second SCS to a first SCS comprises changing a second bandwidth part of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration to a first bandwidth part (SHIM: Fig. 28A-B ¶550-553, ¶557-560, ¶87, SCS is switched to a different SCS by switching/changing a BWP to another BWP for a UE for purpose of measurement; ¶388, the configuration with BWPs is a subband full duplex configuration of UL/DL resource divisions);
the switching configuration indicating time resources and frequency resources in which a reference signal for the inter-UE CLI measurement is transmitted, including the second bandwidth part and second SCS of the second bandwidth part (SHIM: Fig. 28A-B, ¶484, ¶487, ¶576-577, ¶585, ¶87, the switching configuration (configuration in a DCI) with SRS resource information including the time and frequency; this includes a change/switch from a BWP and SCS to another BWP and SCS).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU would have been motivated to use the teachings of SHIM as by using this a situation of CLI measurement limitation may be prevented and a measurement accuracy may be improved (SHIM: ¶547). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU with teachings of SHIM in order to improve CLI measurement accuracy (¶547).
Regarding claim 11, 27, XU modified by SHIM discloses that network node of claim 10/26, wherein the switching configuration indicates for the second UE to switch an SCS of an active bandwidth part of the second UE to the first SCS (XU: ¶80, the base station sends (outputs) a reception parameters (equivalent to the switching configuration) indicating resource for reference signal reception at the second UE (victim UEs) associated with a second SCS different than the first SCS; ¶5, ¶130, SHIM: ¶87, the SCSs are of a respective BWP (bandwidth part)).
Regarding claim 12, 28, XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 10/26, wherein the switching configuration indicates for the second UE to switch to a bandwidth part associated with the first SCS (XU: ¶80, the base station sends (outputs) a reception parameters (equivalent to the switching configuration/indication) indicating resource for reference signal reception at the second UE (victim UEs) associated with a second SCS different than the first SCS; ¶5, ¶130, the SCSs are of a respective BWP (bandwidth part); SHIM: ¶87the first SCS has a corresponding BWP).
Regarding claim 13, 29 XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 10/26, wherein the identifying the first SCS of the first UE further comprises outputting, for the first UE, a configuration of the first SCS (XU: ¶78, independent and separate configuration for each of the UEs is performed by the base station including the separate SCSs (i.e. the first SCS for the first UE)).
Regarding claim 14, 30, XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 10/26, wherein the identifying the first SCS of the first UE further comprises receiving, from a second network node, information identifying the first SCS of the first UE (XU: ¶134, Fig. 5, base stations exchange SCS information of the UEs with each other including the first SCS being identified at a base station and sent to the base station which is serving another UE (e.g. the victim UE) ).
Regarding claim 15, XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the second network node, a configuration associated with the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement (XU: ¶134, Fig. 5, base stations exchange TDD information of the UEs with each other including the first SCS being part of the TDD configuration and which is used at the base station which is serving another UE (e.g. the victim UE) to determine reception parameters).
Regarding claim 16, XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 14, wherein the second network node is a serving network node of the first UE (XU: Fig. 5, ¶134, ¶159-162, the base station that sends the TDD configuration to the base station of the victim UE is the bast station of the aggressor UE (first UE) ).
Regarding claim 17, XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 14, wherein the information identifying the first SCS of the first UE is received in a backhaul communication or an over-the-air communication (XU: ¶92, backhaul links used to communicate between the base stations; ¶134, Fig. 5, base stations exchange SCS information of the UEs with each other including the first SCS being identified at a base station and sent to the base station which is serving the victim UE).
Regarding claim 19, XU modified by SHIM discloses network node of claim 10, wherein the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement includes a sounding reference signal (XU: ¶125, SRS signals are reference signals).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 20-23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al (US 2020/0229009) in view of SHIM et al (US 2025/0344086) further in view of TANG et al (US 2023/0337029)
Regarding claim 1, 20, XU discloses first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
communicate using a first subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active bandwidth part (XU: ¶119, ¶137, first (victim) UE among the UEs 115, communicate using an independently configured SCS; this SCS is of an active BWP);
receive, from a network node, a switching configuration for inter-UE cross-link (CLI) measurement (XU: ¶140-141, ¶143, ¶187, ¶204, ¶142, the base station sends (outputs) a reception parameters for measurement gap (equivalent to the switching configuration) indicating resource for reference signal reception at the second UE (victim UEs) associated with a second SCS different than the first SCS);
switch from the first SCS to the second SCS, the second SCS for reception, from a second UE associated with the second SCS, of a reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement (XU: ¶187, ¶120, ¶140, ¶142, the victim UE 115 among the UEs served by a base station switches from a first SCS (used for communicating with the base station) to a second SCS which matches that of the aggressor UE); and first SCS correspond to a first configuration (XU: ¶5, an SCS is configured on per BWP/configuration basis)
XU remains silent regarding changing the second SCS to a first SCS comprises changing a second bandwidth part of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration to a first bandwidth part;
the switching configuration indicating time resources and frequency resources in which a reference signal for the inter-UE CLI measurement is transmitted, including the second bandwidth part and second SCS of the second bandwidth part.
However, SHIM et al (US 2025/0344086) discloses changing the second SCS to a first SCS comprises changing a second bandwidth part of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration to a first bandwidth part (SHIM: Fig. 28A-B ¶550-553, ¶557-560, ¶87, SCS is switched to a different SCS by switching/changing a BWP to another BWP for a UE for purpose of measurement; ¶388, the configuration with BWPs is a subband full duplex configuration of UL/DL resource divisions);
the switching configuration indicating time resources and frequency resources in which a reference signal for the inter-UE CLI measurement is transmitted, including the second bandwidth part and second SCS of the second bandwidth part (SHIM: Fig. 28A-B, ¶484, ¶487, ¶576-577, ¶585, ¶87, the switching configuration (configuration in a DCI) with SRS resource information including the time and frequency; this includes a change/switch from a BWP and SCS to another BWP and SCS).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU would have been motivated to use the teachings of SHIM as by using this a situation of CLI measurement limitation may be prevented and a measurement accuracy may be improved (SHIM: ¶547). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU with teachings of SHIM in order to improve CLI measurement accuracy (¶547).
XU modified by SHIM remains silent regarding the UE switching back to the first SCS after receiving the reference signal.
However, TANG et al (US 2023/0337029) discloses the UE switching back to the first configuration after receiving the reference signal; and communicate using the first SCS (TANG: ¶186, the UE, after measuring, switches back to the active/default resource configuration for transmitting and receiving (communicate)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU modified by SHIM would have been motivated to use the teachings of TANG as it provides a way to revert back to original data communication configuration with the base station/serving cell to maintain synchronization and other security configurations for reliable data communication outside measurement interval. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU modified by SHIM with teachings of TANG in order to maintain a secure and robust data communication using default resource configuration.
Regarding claim 2, 21, XU modified by SHIM modified by TANG discloses first UE of claim 1, wherein at least one of switching from the first SCS to the second SCS or switching back to the second SCS is based on a switching configuration (XU: ¶184-185, ¶187, switching the SCS from the first SCS to a second SCS according to a configuration which is switching configuration).
Regarding claim 3, 22, XU modified by SHIM modified by TANG discloses first UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to switch from the first SCS to the second SCS, are configured to switch an SCS of an active bandwidth part of the second UE to the first SCS prior to receiving the reference signal based at least in part on the switching configuration (XU: ¶130, ¶141, ¶128, the switching configuration includes configuration of the aggressor UE (second UE) to be adjusted to match to the victim UE SCS ).
Regarding claim 4, 23, XU modified by SHIM modified by TANG discloses first UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to switch from the first SCS to the second SCS, are configured to switch to a bandwidth part associated with the second SCS prior to receiving the reference signal based at least in part on the switching configuration (XU: ¶130, ¶141, ¶128, the switching configuration includes configuration of the victim UE (first UE) to be adjusted to match to the aggressor UE SCS).
Regarding claim 7, XU modified by SHIM modified by TANG discloses first UE of claim 1, wherein the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement includes a sounding reference signal (TANG: ¶138, SRS signal is used as reference signal).
Regarding claim 8, XU modified by SHIM modified by TANG discloses first UE of claim 1, wherein at least one of switching to the second SCS or switching back to the first SCS is based on a rule in a wireless communication specification (XU: ¶143, switching to the different SCS is based on a wireless configuration (equivalent to a specification for the wireless communication system of XU’s invention)).
Regarding claim 9, XU modified by SHIM modified by TANG discloses first UE of claim 8, wherein switching from the first SCS to the second SCS is further based at least in part on an indication of a resource for the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement (XU: ¶143, switching to the different SCS is based on a wireless configuration indicated to the UE by the base station).
Claim(s) 6, 25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG as applied to claim 2/21 above, further in view of SEVAVANAPATHY et al (US 2023/0370856)
Regarding claim 6, 25, XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG first UE of claim 2/21, wherein the switching configuration for switching SCS before the reception of the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the reference signal prior to or following the switching (XU: ¶79, reception parameters are configured enabling switching between the SCS for the victim and/or aggressor UE before the reception occurs)
XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG remains silent regarding indicating a gap associated with the switching.
However, SEVAVANAPATHY et al (US 2023/0370856) discloses indicating a gap associated with the switching (SEVAVANAPATHY: ¶73, ¶75, a switching gap is configured for the switching to be performed in).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEVAVANAPATHY as it provides a way to improve accurate reception by giving ample time for the UE to switch the configuration for reception of relevant signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG with teachings of SEVAVANAPATHY in order to improve reception of relevant signals.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG in view of SEVAVANAPATHY et al (US 2023/0370856)
Regarding claim 18, XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG discloses network node of claim 10, wherein the switching configuration indicates a switching associated with the reception of the reference signal for inter-UE CLI measurement (XU: ¶79, reception parameters are configured enabling switching between the SCS for the victim and/or aggressor UE before the reception occurs).
XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG remains silent regarding indicating a gap associated with the switching.
However, SEVAVANAPATHY et al (US 2023/0370856) discloses indicating a gap associated with the switching (SEVAVANAPATHY: ¶73, ¶75, a switching gap is configured for the switching to be performed in).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEVAVANAPATHY as it provides a way to improve accurate reception by giving ample time for the UE to switch the configuration for reception of relevant signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG with teachings of SEVAVANAPATHY in order to improve reception of relevant signals.
Claim(s) 5, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG as applied to claim 2/21 above, further in view of LI et al (US 2024/0323954)
Regarding claim 5, 24, XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG discloses first UE of claim 2/21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, prior to receiving the switching configuration, a configuration for the first UE, (XU: ¶78, a configuration is received before switching configuration (reception parameters) are received; ¶141, then later a reception parameter information (switching configuration) is re).
XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG remains silent regarding the configuration being of the second SCS for the first UE.
However, LI et al (US 2024/0323954) discloses the configuration being of the second SCS for the first UE (LI: ¶156, all the supported SCSs are preconfigured for the UEs of the system).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of LI as it provides quick switching among the SCSs by indexing the SCS configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU modified by SHIM modified by YANG with teachings of LI in order to improve efficiency of the switching requiring shorter switching gaps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that XU, does not disclose “…a switching configuration…wherein the switching configuration indicates for the second UE to switch from a second bandwidth part to the first bandwidth part associated with the first SCS…” Examiner respectfully submits that, XU, in at least ¶143, expressly discloses the victim UE configured to perform measurement according to a dedicated measurement gap based on the configuration received from the base station via an aggressor UE.
¶143 of XU states:
…In the dedicated measurement gap, the victim UE 115 can switch to a different SCS to perform the measurement of the CLI measurement signal. In some cases, configuring the dedicated measurement gap may be based on the type of CLI measurement procedure, the first SCS, and the second SCS.
XU remains silent regarding changing the second SCS to a first SCS comprises changing a second bandwidth part of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration to a first bandwidth part;
the switching configuration indicating time resources and frequency resources in which a reference signal for the inter-UE CLI measurement is transmitted, including the second bandwidth part and second SCS of the second bandwidth part.
However, newly cited reference, SHIM et al (US 2025/0344086), discloses changing the second SCS to a first SCS comprises changing a second bandwidth part of a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration to a first bandwidth part (SHIM: Fig. 28A-B ¶550-553, ¶557-560, ¶87, SCS is switched to a different SCS by switching/changing a BWP to another BWP for a UE for purpose of measurement; ¶388, the configuration with BWPs is a subband full duplex configuration of UL/DL resource divisions);
the switching configuration indicating time resources and frequency resources in which a reference signal for the inter-UE CLI measurement is transmitted, including the second bandwidth part and second SCS of the second bandwidth part (SHIM: Fig. 28A-B, ¶484, ¶487, ¶576-577, ¶585, ¶87, the switching configuration (configuration in a DCI) with SRS resource information including the time and frequency; this includes a change/switch from a BWP and SCS to another BWP and SCS).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of XU would have been motivated to use the teachings of SHIM as by using this a situation of CLI measurement limitation may be prevented and a measurement accuracy may be improved (SHIM: ¶547). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of XU with teachings of SHIM in order to improve CLI measurement accuracy (¶547).
Remaining arguments are added on the arguments addressed above and are fully addressed as above.
Conclusion
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461