DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 6/19/2025
Hereon, claims 1,3-7, and 9 are currently pending; claims 1,3-7, and 9 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al, (Inoue), (USNO.2015/0001932).
As for claim 1, Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a control device comprising a processor configured to: detect a voltage at an intermediate point connecting a first DCDC converter and a second DCDC converter; control the first DCDC converter and the second DCDC converter; and when the detected voltage at the intermediate point exceeds a first threshold, limit an output of the first DCDC converter after an output current of the second DCDC converter reaches a predetermined value, wherein the processor is configured to control a charging system including a solar unit and a power conversion unit, the solar unit includes a solar panel and the first DCDC converter, the power conversion unit includes the second DCDC converter and a rechargeable battery connected to the second DCDC converter, electric power generated by the solar panel is configured to be input to the first DCDC converter, and electric power output by the solar unit is configured to be input to the second DCDC converter; charging system includes two solar units as the solar unit, or two power conversion units as the power conversion unit.
(par.[0132])
As for claim 3, Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the processor is configured to cause the output current of the second DCDC converter to reach a second threshold or smaller after limiting the output of the first DCDC converter
As for claim 4, Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 charging system includes two power conversion units as the power conversion unit; and the processor is configured to limit an output of the second DCDC converter included in one of the two power conversion units when the detected voltage at the intermediate point exceeds the first threshold, and limit the output of the first DCDC converter after the output current of the second DCDC converter included in the other of the two power conversion units reaches the predetermined value (par.[0010]).
As for claim 5, Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the predetermined value of the output current of the second DCDC converter is a maximum value (par.[0010])
As for claim 6, Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 processor is configured to limit the output of the first DCDC converter and an output of the second DCDC converter by stopping the outputs
As for claim 7, Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a control method for a control device configured to control a charging system including a solar unit including a solar panel and a first DCDC converter, and a power conversion unit including a second DCDC converter and a rechargeable battery connected to the second DCDC converter, the control method comprising: detecting a voltage at an intermediate point where the first DCDC converter is connected to the second DCDC converter, electric power generated by the solar panel is configured to be input to the first DCDC converter, and electric power output by the solar unit is configured to be input to the second DCDC converter; controlling an output current of the second DCDC converter to reach a predetermined value when the detected voltage at the intermediate point exceeds a first threshold; and limiting an output of the first DCDC converter after the output current of the second DCDC converter is controlled to reach the predetermined value; charging system includes two solar units as the solar unit, or two power conversion units as the power conversion unit.
(par.[0132])
As for claim 9 , Inouse discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors in a computer of a control device and that cause the one or more processors to perform functions, the control device being configured to control a charging system including a solar unit including a solar panel and a first DCDC converter, and a power conversion unit including a second DCDC converter and a rechargeable battery connected to the second DCDC converter, the functions comprising: detecting a voltage at an intermediate point where the first DCDC converter is connected to the second DCDC converter, electric power generated by the solar panel is configured to be input to the first DCDC converter, electric power output by the solar unit is input to the second DCDC converter; controlling an output current of the second DCDC converter to reach a predetermined value when the detected voltage at the intermediate point exceeds a first threshold; and limiting an output of the first DCDC converter after the output current of the second DCDC converter is controlled to reach the predetermined value; charging system includes two solar units as the solar unit, or two power conversion units as the power conversion unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants’ argument that
Applicants traverse the rejection, since Inoue merely describes a single solar panel (1) in FIG. 1 and one power conversion device (10) in FIG. 1. Inoue fails to teach or suggest a charging system that includes two solar units or two power conversion units. Accordingly, the rejection is overcome, and Applicants request reconsideration and allowance in view of the amendments made herein.
The examiner respectfully disagree and submits, Inoue show in Fig. 1 charging system includes two solar units as the solar unit, or two power conversion units (refs dc/dc conversion and dc/ad conversion) as the power conversion unit, as claimed
For at least the reasons provided above, the applicant arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive. The applicant argues that dependent claims are patentable for similar reasons and are also not persuasive. The applicant further argues that since dependent claims depend on the argued independent claim; they are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies. Since the applicant's arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive, the applicant's arguments regarding dependent claims are also not persuasive.
Accordingly, the rejection is still proper and thus maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859