DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 7/2/2025 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millet (US 20080028778 A1) and Starman et al. (US 20230318323 A1)[hereinafter “Starman”].
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Millet discloses an electronic device (and corresponding method)[Paragraph [0028] – “FIG. 12 shows a block diagram example of a data processing system which may be used with the present invention.”] comprising:
a plurality of electronic components mounted into the electronic device [Paragraph [0140] – “As shown in FIG. 12, the computer system 1001, which is a form of a digital data processing system, includes a bus 1002 which is coupled to a microprocessor 1003 and a ROM 1007 and volatile RAM 1005 and a non-volatile memory 1006.”]; and
a processor operatively connected to the electronic components; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to [Paragraph [0140] – “As shown in FIG. 12, the computer system 1001, which is a form of a digital data processing system, includes a bus 1002 which is coupled to a microprocessor 1003 and a ROM 1007 and volatile RAM 1005 and a non-volatile memory 1006.”]:
classify a plurality of areas of the electronic device into a plurality of prediction areas [Paragraph [0030] – “A virtual temperature may represent a prediction or estimate of a current temperature in a system, such as a current temperature in an ideal location of the system as it is operating (and creating heat) even if there is no temperature sensor at that location.”Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”
Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof. Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.”];
configure a virtual thermistor corresponding to each of the plurality of prediction areas, based on the classification of the plurality of prediction areas and current data corresponding to each of the plurality of prediction areas, wherein the virtual thermistor is configured as a virtualized sensor for predicting temperature [Paragraph [0030] – “A virtual temperature may represent a prediction or estimate of a current temperature in a system, such as a current temperature in an ideal location of the system as it is operating (and creating heat) even if there is no temperature sensor at that location.”Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof. Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.”];
collect data related to a predicted temperature of each of the plurality of prediction areas, based on the virtual thermistor [Paragraph [0032] – “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary method for using a virtual temperature sensor 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. The input 12 to the virtual temperature sensor 10 can be power, measured from power sensors (system or component power), system configuration, retrieved from a configuration table, cooling level, e.g. fan speed, measurements from physical temperature sensors or any combination thereof. The cooling level input can be used to predict the current thermal resistance. Thermal resistance is inversely proportional to the current cooling level and can be used with power to compute the virtual temperature.”Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof.”], and
control, based on the collected data, power supplied to the electronic device to manage a temperature of the electronic device [Paragraph [0032] – “The output 14 of the virtual temperature sensor 10 is a temperature, represented in a physical temperature logic representation, to be readily adapted for use by a thermal controller accustomed to values from a physical temperature sensor.”Paragraph [0030] – “A virtual temperature obtained or derived from a virtual temperature sensor may be used as an input to a conventional closed loop thermal control mechanism which is used with conventional temperature sensors in a system.”Paragraph [0044] – “Operation 27 represents an operation of a thermal management controller, which operation may include comparing the virtual temperature with the target control temperature based on the system power consumption, and adjusting the cooling or the performance (e.g. frequency and/or voltage of one or more processors) parameters accordingly.”See Paragraphs [0053]-[0054], which disclose performing cooling based on virtual temperature and, also, device throttling – “The throttles limit the maximum power which can be consumed by the sources of heat, which limits the rate at which the temperature can rise. The throttle settings may correspond to different settings of performance levels or different operating settings.”].
Millet fails to disclose that the plurality of prediction areas are classified based on predetermined characteristics of whether an area of the electronic device includes an electronic component and whether a current of the electronic component is measured.
However, Starman discloses the implementation of a virtual temperature sensor where values from actual temperature sensors are separately weighted (i.e., classified)[See Paragraphs [0026]-[0028].Paragraph [0028] – “In some examples, the weights (e.g., values of w.sub.i) may be based on distances between temperature sensors of the two or more temperature sensors and the physical connector.”] and where there are different electronic components located in different areas under measurement [See Fig. 2 – Controller 118, Components 112, and Connector 110 relative to Temp Sensor 114A] and other areas where there are no components [See Fig. 2, the area near Temp Sensor 114B] and where some of the components have a current that can be measured [See Fig. 2 – Controller 118 and Connector 110. Current measurement inherent to the current control discussed in Paragraphs [0036]-[0037].] and where other components do not have a corresponding current measurement [See Fig. 2 –Components 112]. It would have been obvious to classify the electronic device into prediction areas as recited because doing so would have allowed for more appropriately assessing temperatures within the electronic device.
Regarding Claim 15, Millet (as modified per Starman) would disclose that the configuring of the virtual thermistor comprises configuring the virtual thermistor corresponding to the corresponding prediction area, based on at least one piece of data corresponding to each of the plurality of prediction areas (per Starman); and the at least one piece of the data comprises temperature data or data related to electronic components [Paragraph [0030] – “A virtual temperature may represent a prediction or estimate of a current temperature in a system, such as a current temperature in an ideal location of the system as it is operating (and creating heat) even if there is no temperature sensor at that location.”Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof. Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.”].
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millet (US 20080028778 A1), Starman et al. (US 20230318323 A1)[hereinafter “Starman”], and Liang et al. (US 20110301778 A1)[hereinafter “Liang”].
Regarding Claim 3, Millet fails to disclose that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device,
to configure a virtual thermistor corresponding to the corresponding prediction area, based on at least one piece of data corresponding to each of the plurality of prediction areas;
wherein the at least one piece of the data comprises temperature data or data related to the electronic components;
with respect to the configuration of the virtual thermistor, configure identical virtual thermistors for prediction areas in equal classification; and
configure different virtual thermistor are configured for prediction areas in different classifications.
However, Liang discloses performing a temperature weighting scheme for virtual temperature sensors where the weights for the virtual temperature sensors are determined based on their inclusion in a particular zone [See Fig. 3A and Paragraphs [0020]-[0022]]. It would have been obvious to employ such a scheme so as to appropriately consider the virtual temperature sensor information when performing temperature control.
Regarding Claim 4, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to, when the virtual thermistor is configured:
execute an electronic component that generates heat in the prediction area [Device is active and components are producing heat during testing.]; collect temperature data corresponding to the prediction area while the electronic component is executed [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. These measurements may be obtained from a non-production model of a system which is used for test and reference purposes and which is configured in different configurations and then tested to obtain temperature measurements in the different configurations.”];
collect additional data corresponding to the predetermined characteristic of the prediction area; and configure each virtual thermistor based on the temperature data and the additional data [Paragraph [0034] – “The data in the characterization table may, in an embodiment, store the values such as R and rc, used in a virtual temperature computation, such as the computation of T.sub.v described below, and these values may be determined for a plurality of different system configurations.”].
Regarding Claim 5, Millet (as modified per Starman) would disclose that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
collect temperature data and current data related to the electronic component, based on characteristics indicating that the electronic component is included in the prediction area and the current of the electronic component can be measured [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0036] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor may be based on one or more thermal physics calculations with time dependent characteristics, providing the time dependent temperature and the temperature projection estimates, based on the thermal characteristics of the controlled components. In an example, a steady state temperature T.sub.ss for a given system configuration and a given power and cooling configuration can be computed from a power input P and the thermal characteristics of a thermal resistance R and cooling parameter C, e.g. the current output level (e.g. fan speed(s) for one or more fan) of the cooling system, and can be represented asT.sub.ss=P.times.RC”The use of the prediction areas in doing so disclosed by Starman.]; and
configure the virtual thermistor, based on the temperature data and the current data [Paragraph [0037] – “Hence, using power (P), R, and C as inputs, T.sub.ss may be calculated and then used in a virtual temperature computation. In a typical embodiment, one or more operating system components or other software or hardware components determine the current system configuration (e.g. whether certain PCI cards or additional storage devices are currently present in the system), and this current system configuration is used to select data values, such as data values from a characterization table having R and rc values for different system configurations, for use in these calculations of T.sub.ss and T.sub.v. A time dependent virtual temperature T.sub.v can be calculated from a heat conduction and convection formula, employing thermal characteristics of the system components, such as the thermal time constant rc of the components (which may be characterized), the steady state temperature T.sub.ss and the ambient temperature T.sub.amb”].
Regarding Claim 7, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: collect temperature data and continuous data related to the electronic component, based on characteristics indicating that the electronic component is included in the prediction area [when] continuous data related to temperature can be collected [Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof.”Regarding the language “characteristics indicating that the heating source is included in the prediction area,” Millet discloses in Paragraph [0044] teaches that the virtual sensor provides information regarding “the thermal characteristics of the critical components” with “system configuration” as a factor.]; and
configure the virtual thermistor, based on the temperature data and the continuous data [Paragraph [0044] – “Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.”].
Millet is not explicit that the process is performed when “the current of the electronic component cannot be measured,” (a situation disclosed relative to components 112 of Starman) but does provide an alternative for monitoring power that does not rely on electrical current [Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof.”]. It would have been obvious to use that alternative in the event that electrical current measurements are not available and also because doing so could eliminate the need for electrical current sensors entirely.
Regarding Claim 9, Millet (as modified per Starman) would disclose that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
collect temperature data and data related to temperature that can be collected from the electronic component, based on characteristics indicating that the electronic component is included in the prediction area and the current of the electronic component cannot be measured [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof. Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.”The use of the prediction areas and the situation where components 112 have no corresponding current measurements disclosed by Starman.]; and
configure the virtual thermistor, based on the temperature data and the data related to temperature [Paragraph [0037] – “Hence, using power (P), R, and C as inputs, T.sub.ss may be calculated and then used in a virtual temperature computation. In a typical embodiment, one or more operating system components or other software or hardware components determine the current system configuration (e.g. whether certain PCI cards or additional storage devices are currently present in the system), and this current system configuration is used to select data values, such as data values from a characterization table having R and rc values for different system configurations, for use in these calculations of T.sub.ss and T.sub.v. A time dependent virtual temperature T.sub.v can be calculated from a heat conduction and convection formula, employing thermal characteristics of the system components, such as the thermal time constant rc of the components (which may be characterized), the steady state temperature T.sub.ss and the ambient temperature T.sub.amb”].
Millet is not explicit that the process is performed when “the current of the electronic component cannot be measured,” (a situation disclosed relative to components 112 of Starman) but does provide an alternative for monitoring power that does not rely on electrical current [Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof.”]. It would have been obvious to use that alternative in the event that electrical current measurements are not available and also because doing so could eliminate the need for electrical current sensors entirely.
Regarding Claim 11, Millet (as modified per Starman) would disclose that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: collect temperature data related to a neighboring electronic component when the electronic component is not included in the prediction area (as per the area corresponding to components 112 of Starman); and configure the virtual thermistor, based on the collected temperature data [Paragraph [0030] – “A virtual temperature may represent a prediction or estimate of a current temperature in a system, such as a current temperature in an ideal location of the system as it is operating (and creating heat) even if there is no temperature sensor at that location.”Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0044] – “Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.”].
Regarding Claim 13, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to manage local heating or overall average heating of the electronic device, based on the collected temperature data [Paragraph [0032] – “The output 14 of the virtual temperature sensor 10 is a temperature, represented in a physical temperature logic representation, to be readily adapted for use by a thermal controller accustomed to values from a physical temperature sensor.”Paragraph [0030] – “A virtual temperature obtained or derived from a virtual temperature sensor may be used as an input to a conventional closed loop thermal control mechanism which is used with conventional temperature sensors in a system.”Paragraph [0044] – “Operation 27 represents an operation of a thermal management controller, which operation may include comparing the virtual temperature with the target control temperature based on the system power consumption, and adjusting the cooling or the performance (e.g. frequency and/or voltage of one or more processors) parameters accordingly.”See Paragraphs [0053]-[0054], which disclose performing cooling based on virtual temperature and, also, device throttling.].
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millet (US 20080028778 A1), Starman et al. (US 20230318323 A1)[hereinafter “Starman”], Liang et al. (US 20110301778 A1)[hereinafter “Liang”], and Karaki (US 20200292394 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
collect temperature data and current data related to the electronic device [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0036] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor may be based on one or more thermal physics calculations with time dependent characteristics, providing the time dependent temperature and the temperature projection estimates, based on the thermal characteristics of the controlled components. In an example, a steady state temperature T.sub.ss for a given system configuration and a given power and cooling configuration can be computed from a power input P and the thermal characteristics of a thermal resistance R and cooling parameter C, e.g. the current output level (e.g. fan speed(s) for one or more fan) of the cooling system, and can be represented asT.sub.ss=P.times.RC”] while the electronic device is executed [Device is active and components are producing heat during testing.]; and
calculate a saturation temperature related to the prediction area, based on the temperature data and the current data [Paragraph [0036] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor may be based on one or more thermal physics calculations with time dependent characteristics, providing the time dependent temperature and the temperature projection estimates, based on the thermal characteristics of the controlled components. In an example, a steady state temperature T.sub.ss for a given system configuration and a given power and cooling configuration can be computed from a power input P and the thermal characteristics of a thermal resistance R and cooling parameter C, e.g. the current output level (e.g. fan speed(s) for one or more fan) of the cooling system, and can be represented asT.sub.ss=P.times.RC”].
Although Millet discloses that the temperature response is exponential in nature on the way to saturation [See Figs. 3, 5, and 6. Fig. 3, temperature 129 saturating at the corresponding dashed line.], Millet fails to disclose that the processor is configured to: perform exponential fitting on the saturation temperature to convert the saturation temperature into virtual temperature aspect data.
However, Karaki discloses the modelling of saturation temperature in such a manner [Paragraph [0051]]. It would have been obvious to model the steady-state temperature using such a process because doing so would have been useful in determining whether or not to perform corrective action regarding the temperature of the device (i.e., rapid rise in temperature could indicate the need for immediate temperature action).
Regarding Claim 8, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
collect temperature data and continuous data related to the electronic device [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0036] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor may be based on one or more thermal physics calculations with time dependent characteristics, providing the time dependent temperature and the temperature projection estimates, based on the thermal characteristics of the controlled components. In an example, a steady state temperature T.sub.ss for a given system configuration and a given power and cooling configuration can be computed from a power input P and the thermal characteristics of a thermal resistance R and cooling parameter C, e.g. the current output level (e.g. fan speed(s) for one or more fan) of the cooling system, and can be represented asT.sub.ss=P.times.RC”] while the electronic device is executed [Device is active and components are producing heat during testing.]; and
configure saturation temperature related to the prediction area, based on the temperature data and the continuous data [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0036] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor may be based on one or more thermal physics calculations with time dependent characteristics, providing the time dependent temperature and the temperature projection estimates, based on the thermal characteristics of the controlled components. In an example, a steady state temperature T.sub.ss for a given system configuration and a given power and cooling configuration can be computed from a power input P and the thermal characteristics of a thermal resistance R and cooling parameter C, e.g. the current output level (e.g. fan speed(s) for one or more fan) of the cooling system, and can be represented asT.sub.ss=P.times.RC”].
Millet fails to disclose that the processor is configured to: perform exponential fitting on the saturation temperature to convert the saturation temperature into virtual temperature aspect data.
However, Karaki discloses the modelling of saturation temperature in such a manner [Paragraph [0051]]. It would have been obvious to model the steady-state temperature using such a process because doing so would have been useful in determining whether or not to perform corrective action regarding the temperature of the device (i.e., rapid rise in temperature could indicate the need for immediate temperature action).
Regarding Claim 10, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
collect temperature data and data related to the temperature that can be collected from [the] electronic component [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. … Data in the characterization table may be obtained from such measurements from physical temperature sensors placed in ideal positions, which may be the locations that physical temperature sensors would have been placed in a production system if it had been practical.”Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof. Operation 23 represents a virtual temperature sensor logic, which receives the input from operation 21, and provides a temperature output in operation 25. The virtual temperature sensor logic in operation 23 can further provide the thermal characteristics of the critical components.””] while the electronic component is executed [Device is active and components are producing heat during testing.]; and
calculate a saturation temperature related to the prediction area, based on the temperature data and the data related to temperature [Paragraph [0037] – “Hence, using power (P), R, and C as inputs, T.sub.ss may be calculated and then used in a virtual temperature computation. In a typical embodiment, one or more operating system components or other software or hardware components determine the current system configuration (e.g. whether certain PCI cards or additional storage devices are currently present in the system), and this current system configuration is used to select data values, such as data values from a characterization table having R and rc values for different system configurations, for use in these calculations of T.sub.ss and T.sub.v. A time dependent virtual temperature T.sub.v can be calculated from a heat conduction and convection formula, employing thermal characteristics of the system components, such as the thermal time constant rc of the components (which may be characterized), the steady state temperature T.sub.ss and the ambient temperature T.sub.amb”].
Millet discloses the use of predicted virtual temperature data (from the virtual temperature sensor), but fails to disclose that the processor is configured to: perform exponential fitting on the saturation temperature to convert the saturation temperature into virtual temperature aspect data, wherein the virtual temperature aspect data is predicted temperature for the prediction area.
However, Karaki discloses the modelling of saturation temperature in such a manner [Paragraph [0051]]. It would have been obvious to model the steady-state temperature using such a process because doing so would have been useful in determining whether or not to perform corrective action regarding the temperature of the device (i.e., rapid rise in temperature could indicate the need for immediate temperature action).
Regarding Claim 12, Millet discloses that the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
execute the neighboring electronic component around the prediction area [Device is active and components are producing heat during testing.];
collect temperature data related to temperature generated by the neighboring electronic component [Paragraph [0034] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor comprises a characterization table, representing the measured temperatures from various different system configurations. These measurements may be obtained from a non-production model of a system which is used for test and reference purposes and which is configured in different configurations and then tested to obtain temperature measurements in the different configurations.”] while the neighboring electronic component is executed [Device is active and components are producing heat during testing]; and
calculate a saturation temperature related to the prediction area, based on the temperature data [Paragraph [0036] – “In an embodiment, the virtual temperature sensor may be based on one or more thermal physics calculations with time dependent characteristics, providing the time dependent temperature and the temperature projection estimates, based on the thermal characteristics of the controlled components. In an example, a steady state temperature T.sub.ss for a given system configuration and a given power and cooling configuration can be computed from a power input P and the thermal characteristics of a thermal resistance R and cooling parameter C, e.g. the current output level (e.g. fan speed(s) for one or more fan) of the cooling system, and can be represented asT.sub.ss=P.times.RC”Paragraph [0037] – “Hence, using power (P), R, and C as inputs, T.sub.ss may be calculated and then used in a virtual temperature computation. In a typical embodiment, one or more operating system components or other software or hardware components determine the current system configuration (e.g. whether certain PCI cards or additional storage devices are currently present in the system), and this current system configuration is used to select data values, such as data values from a characterization table having R and rc values for different system configurations, for use in these calculations of T.sub.ss and T.sub.v. A time dependent virtual temperature T.sub.v can be calculated from a heat conduction and convection formula, employing thermal characteristics of the system components, such as the thermal time constant rc of the components (which may be characterized), the steady state temperature T.sub.ss and the ambient temperature T.sub.amb”].
Millet discloses the use of predicted virtual temperature data (from the virtual temperature sensor), but fails to disclose that the processor is configured to: perform exponential fitting on the saturation temperature to convert the saturation temperature into virtual temperature aspect data, wherein the virtual temperature aspect data is predicted temperature for the prediction area.
However, Karaki discloses the modelling of saturation temperature in such a manner [Paragraph [0051]]. It would have been obvious to model the steady-state temperature using such a process because doing so would have been useful in determining whether or not to perform corrective action regarding the temperature of the device (i.e., rapid rise in temperature could indicate the need for immediate temperature action).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner agrees. The corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Millet discloses measuring device current [Paragraph [0044] – “In FIG. 2, operation 21 determines at least one of the power of a data processing system (e.g. a current reading in amps for a microprocessor or a frequency and voltage setting of a microprocessor, etc.), the system configuration, the ambient temperature of an environment in which the data processing system is running, the system cooling level, e.g. current fan speed, or a combination thereof.”]. Starman discloses the implementation of a virtual temperature sensor where values from actual temperature sensors are separately weighted (i.e., classified)[See Paragraphs [0026]-[0028].Paragraph [0028] – “In some examples, the weights (e.g., values of w.sub.i) may be based on distances between temperature sensors of the two or more temperature sensors and the physical connector.”] and where there are different electronic components located in different areas under measurement [See Fig. 2 – Controller 118, Components 112, and Connector 110 relative to Temp Sensor 114A] and other areas where there are no components [See Fig. 2, the area near Temp Sensor 114B] and where some of the components have a current that can be measured [See Fig. 2 – Controller 118 and Connector 110. Current measurement inherent to the current control discussed in Paragraphs [0036]-[0037].] and where other components do not have a corresponding current measurement [See Fig. 2 –Components 112]. It would have been obvious to classify the electronic device into prediction areas as recited because doing so would have allowed for more appropriately assessing temperatures within the electronic device. Also, Claim 1 does not recite the use of “whether” a current is measured.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Codreanu et al., Optimization of Virtual Investigation Methods in Thermal Management of Electronic Assemblies , IEEE, 2005
US 20130147407 A1 – TEMPERATURE PROTECTION DEVICE
Jadin et al., Thermal Imaging for Qualitative-based Measurements of Thermal Anomalies in Electrical Components, IEEE, 2011
Pramanik et al., Power Consumption Analysis, Measurement, Management, and Issues: A State-of-the-Art Review of Smartphone Battery and Energy Usage, IEEE, 2019
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857