Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, “by inputting time series data of a control amount of the control object into the model that outputs time series data of the measured variable of the control object” is not described in the Specification as originally filed. The Specification as originally filed does not specify any “control amount” as an input.
Regarding claims 12 and 20-21 “inputting time series data of a control amount of the control object” poses the same issue as presented with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-17, and 19 contain new matter by virtue of dependency.
Claims 1-7, 9-11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, “the model that outputs time series data…” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Claims 2-7 and 9-11 are indefinite by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-12, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordanou (Jordanou, Jean P., et al. "Nonlinear model predictive control of an oil well with echo state networks." IFAC-PapersOnLine 51.8 (2018): 13-18.) in view of Turner (US20020072828A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jordanou teaches:
train a model (§5.1) related to a measured variable (§4, Pbh and Ptt) of a control object (§4, choke valves) by inputting time series data of a control amount of the control object into the model that outputs time series data of the measured variable of the control object (§4, control amount ΔU which is time series data, see §3, and outputs a prediction vector Y of the output, i.e. of the measured variable), under a constraint corresponding to a relationship between a change in a value of the time series data of the control object and a change in a value of the time series data of the measured variable (see Figure 3, which shows a relationship between valve openings and pressures and how a change in one or both valve openings implements a change in one or both pressures, i.e. a constraint regarding the changes in valves and changes in pressures is present).
Jordanou does not explicitly disclose
a training device comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor.
Turner teaches a training device comprising:
at least one memory (¶36, a computer readable medium containing instructions); and
at least one processor (Figure 1: 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the methodology of Jordanou with a training device comprising at least one memory and a processor configured to perform the method of Jordanou in order to speed calculation time via implementation on a computer.
Regarding claim 2, Jordanou as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to train, under the constraint,
a plurality of models, each being configured to output time series data of a plurality of measured variables of the control object (see §5.1 where variable parameters, e.g. γ, are set. Changing any one of the parameters renders a different model and thereby the processor is configured to train, under the constraint, a plurality of models because it is configured to train under various hyperparameters. Ptt and Pbh constitute a plurality of measured variables).
Regarding claim 9, Jordanou as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the relationship between the change in the value of the time series data of the control amount and the change in the value of the time series data of the measured variable as described in claim 9.
However, Turner teaches the applicability of predictive control systems to cases in which the relationship between the change in the value of the input time series data and the change in the value of the output time series data includes a monotonically increasing relationship where the value of the output time series data increases when the value of input the time series data is increased (¶45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the system of Jordanou as modified to an instance where the relationship includes a monotonically increasing relationship where the value of the time series data of the measured variable increases when the value of the time series data of the control amount is increased in order to accurately describe the dynamics of such a control system.
Regarding claim 10, Jordanou as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, wherein
the at least one processor is configured to impose, when the relationship between the change in the value of the time series data of the control amount and the change in the value of the time series data of the measured variable is the monotonically increasing relationship, the constraint such that a value of a model parameter of the model related to the measured variable of the control object becomes positive (see Turner, ¶45, the signs are matched for input and output and positive for monotonic increase).
Regarding claim 11, Jordanou as modified teaches a plant configured to execute control by using the model related to the measured variable of the control object trained by the training device of claim 1 (see §4).
Regarding claim 12, Jordanou as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, which is further configured to infer information related to the time series data of the measured variable of the control object (§4, any output of the model is such an inference).
To clarify, the limitations not explicitly recited above with respect to claim 12 are already detailed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Jordanou as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 and furthermore teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 which cover the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Jordanou as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 which covers the inference method executed by the processor of Jordanou as modified under normal operation.
Regarding claim 21, Jordanou as modified according to claim 1 performs the method of claim 21 under normal operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 13-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for indicating allowable subject matter for claims 3, 5, 7, and 16 are noted in the Action dated 07/08/2025.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, while Liu discloses differenced data, it is not clear how one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the teachings of Jordanou, Turner, and/or Liu to arrive at the invention of claims 4 or 15.
Claim 6 depends from claim 4 and inherits allowability therefrom.
Claim 13 is allowable because the prior art fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness for utilizing a plurality of models to infer information related to a plurality of time series data of measured variables of the control object as claimed. This aspect is not disclosed independently in Jordanou or Turner and it is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art would modify Jordanou or Turner with Liu to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 14 depends on claim 13 and inherits allowability therefrom.
Claim 17 depends from claim 15 and inherits allowability therefrom.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCHYLER S SANKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129