DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1, 2, 6, 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, 23, 28 , 29 has been amended. Claims 7, 16, 24 have been cancelled. Claims 31-33 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 18-20, 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin et al. (US20230163936) in view of Takeda et al. (US20220046666)
Regarding claim 1, 18, Awadin teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the UE ([0443] “The electronic device 2201 may include a processor 2220, a memory 2230,”) to:
receive a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration indicating that a BWP is configured with cross sub-band scheduling ([0166] “In this case, the UE is instructed to operate as a full duplex device over a non-overlapped UL subband 606 while receiving the DL on the remaining RBs within the legacy active DL BWP 605, (Examiner’s Note: full duplex is equivalent to cross sub-band), Fig. 2, [0098] “For capable UEs, such as large form-factor UEs that may operate in full duplex mode, a UL/DL subband will fall in an active DL/UL BWP, respectively”, (Examiner’s Note: in Fig. 2 shows both DL and UL subbands in BWP configuration.),
the BWP configuration indicating a set of sub-bands associated with the BWP that includes one or more uplink sub-bands and one or more downlink sub-bands (Fig. 2, [0098] “For capable UEs, such as large form-factor UEs that may operate in full duplex mode, a UL/DL subband will fall in an active DL/UL BWP, respectively”, (Examiner’s Note: in Fig. 2 shows both DL and UL subbands in BWP configuration.),
the BWP configuration indicating that scheduling grants for the set of sub-bands are to be received in a first downlink sub-band of the one or more downlink sub-bands (Fig. 2, [0098] “For capable UEs, such as large form-factor UEs that may operate in full duplex mode, a UL/DL subband will fall in an active DL/UL BWP, respectively”, (Examiner’s Note: in Fig. 2 shows both DL and UL subbands in BWP configuration.), [0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS. In this case, the UE may cancel the UL transmission subject to a defined timeline and capability as those applied for the UL cancellation, and instead, receive the DL transmission., [0081] “A similar approach can be applied when a conflict occurs between a dynamic DL within a DL subband and a UL transmission configured by higher layer signaling in legacy UL BWP. In this case, the UE may cancel a UL transmission subject to a defined set timeline and capability as those applied for UL cancellation.”);
and receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration ([0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS. In this case, the UE may cancel the UL transmission subject to a defined timeline and capability as those applied for the UL cancellation, and instead, receive the DL transmission”),
downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in a sub-band , of the set of sub-bands (([0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS, [0107] “The start and length of the UL/DL subband (number of PRBs) may be adapted semi-statically or even dynamically to avoid RRC reconfiguration and the associated latency each time the configurations of the subband need to be updated. For example, a gNB may provide a UE with multiple lengths of the UL/DL subband through RRC and down-select through a MAC-CE, i.e., (RRC+MAC-CE). Alternatives such as RRC+DCI or RRC+MAC-CE+DCI may also be used. Such an approach is beneficial to enabling the gNB to expand or contract the bandwidth of the UL/DL subband as needed”),
Awadin does not teach that is different than the first downlink sub-band.
Takeda teaches that is different than the first downlink sub-band ([0060-62] “At this time, the base station configures a resource used for transmission of a configured grant base in units of a frequency domain (subband). In FIG. 2, two subbands are configured, and transmission of configured grant-based PUSCH for a subband #1 is canceled by the L1 signal. At this time, for the slot #4 of a subband #2, a state where configured grant-based resource is configured is maintained …Therefore, a configured grant-based UE can perform configured grant-based PUSCH transmission by using the slot #4 of the subband #2. With this arrangement, the configured grant-based UE can appropriately perform configured grant-based UL transmission… A fact that a slot format of a given slot is DL or flexible (information indicating the slot format in a time domain) may be specified by Downlink Control Information (DCI)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Takeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 11, 28 Awadin teaches A network node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the network node to: transmit a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration indicating that a BWP is configured with cross sub-band scheduling ([0043] “a BS includes at least one processor, and at least one memory operatively connected with the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing instructions, which when executed, instruct the at least one processor to perform a method by configuring a UE with a legacy UL BWP or legacy DL BWP, and providing the UE with a UL subband or a DL subband in a full duplex operation”),
the BWP configuration indicating a set of sub-bands associated with the BWP that includes one or more uplink sub-bands and one or more downlink sub-bands (Fig. 2, [0098] “For capable UEs, such as large form-factor UEs that may operate in full duplex mode, a UL/DL subband will fall in an active DL/UL BWP, respectively”, (Examiner’s Note: in Fig. 2 shows both DL and UL subbands in BWP configuration.),
the BWP configuration indicating that scheduling grants for the set of sub-bands are to be transmitted in a first downlink sub-band of the one or more downlink sub-bands (Fig. 2, [0098] “For capable UEs, such as large form-factor UEs that may operate in full duplex mode, a UL/DL subband will fall in an active DL/UL BWP, respectively”, (Examiner’s Note: in Fig. 2 shows both DL and UL subbands in BWP configuration.), [0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS. In this case, the UE may cancel the UL transmission subject to a defined timeline and capability as those applied for the UL cancellation, and instead, receive the DL transmission. [0081] “A similar approach can be applied when a conflict occurs between a dynamic DL within a DL subband and a UL transmission configured by higher layer signaling in legacy UL BWP. In this case, the UE may cancel a UL transmission subject to a defined set timeline and capability as those applied for UL cancellation.””);
and transmit, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration ([0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS. In this case, the UE may cancel the UL transmission subject to a defined timeline and capability as those applied for the UL cancellation, and instead, receive the DL transmission”), downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in a sub-band , of the set of sub-bands (([0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS, [0107] “The start and length of the UL/DL subband (number of PRBs) may be adapted semi-statically or even dynamically to avoid RRC reconfiguration and the associated latency each time the configurations of the subband need to be updated. For example, a gNB may provide a UE with multiple lengths of the UL/DL subband through RRC and down-select through a MAC-CE, i.e., (RRC+MAC-CE). Alternatives such as RRC+DCI or RRC+MAC-CE+DCI may also be used. Such an approach is beneficial to enabling the gNB to expand or contract the bandwidth of the UL/DL subband as needed”),
Awadin does not teach that is different than the first downlink sub-band.
Takeda teaches that is different than the first downlink sub-band ([0060-62] “At this time, the base station configures a resource used for transmission of a configured grant base in units of a frequency domain (subband). In FIG. 2, two subbands are configured, and transmission of configured grant-based PUSCH for a subband #1 is canceled by the L1 signal. At this time, for the slot #4 of a subband #2, a state where configured grant-based resource is configured is maintained …Therefore, a configured grant-based UE can perform configured grant-based PUSCH transmission by using the slot #4 of the subband #2. With this arrangement, the configured grant-based UE can appropriately perform configured grant-based UL transmission… A fact that a slot format of a given slot is DL or flexible (information indicating the slot format in a time domain) may be specified by Downlink)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Takeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 2, 19, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit or receive the communication in the sub-band according to the grant (([0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS”).
Regarding claim 3, 20, Awadin teaches herein the BWP configuration includes an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the set of sub-bands ([0304] “A frequency indicator of PUSCH/PDSCH within the UL/DL subband is interpreted relative to the start and length of the UL/DL subband”).
Regarding claim 12, 29, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to transmit or receive the communication in the sub-band according to the grant (([0080] “the UE may be configured to statically or semi-statically transmit a UL in the UL subband such as configured UL grant type 1 by RRC or configured UL grant 2 activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), periodic SRS, semi-persistent SRS, etc. In fully or partially overlapped symbols, the UE may be scheduled to receive dynamic DL transmission such as a PDSCH or a dynamic CSI-RS”).
Regarding claims 13, 30, Awadin teaches wherein the BWP configuration includes an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the set of sub-bands ([0304] “A frequency indicator of PUSCH/PDSCH within the UL/DL subband is interpreted relative to the start and length of the UL/DL subband”).
Regarding claims 31, 33, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Fig. 6 “slot 1” [0177] “In Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604, Set 1 601 instructs the UE to consider that the entirety of Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604 is for the DL based on the legacy DL BWP 605”),
Awadin does not teach second DCI including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band.
Takeda teaches second DCI ([0062] “In this case, SFI (for example, DCI format 2_0) specified as of the time of filing the application may be used as Downlink Control Information to further notify of subband information, and Downlink Control Information that including at least information indicating a slot format in a time domain and subband information may be used”) including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band ([0051] “to another UE, the base station schedules a dynamic grant-based PUSCH using the same resource as the configured grant-based resource in the given slot. The another UE to which PUSCH transmission is scheduled from the base station performs PUSCH transmission by using the resource”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Takeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 32, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to transmit, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Fig. 6 “slot 1” [0177] “In Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604, Set 1 601 instructs the UE to consider that the entirety of Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604 is for the DL based on the legacy DL BWP 605”),
Awadin does not teach second DCI including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band.
Takeda teaches second DCI ([0062] “In this case, SFI (for example, DCI format 2_0) specified as of the time of filing the application may be used as Downlink Control Information to further notify of subband information, and Downlink Control Information that including at least information indicating a slot format in a time domain and subband information may be used”) including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band ([0051] “to another UE, the base station schedules a dynamic grant-based PUSCH using the same resource as the configured grant-based resource in the given slot. The another UE to which PUSCH transmission is scheduled from the base station performs PUSCH transmission by using the resource”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Takeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve resource utilization.
Claim(s) 4, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin further in view Takeda further in view of Shin et al.(US20220150927).
Regarding claim 4, 21, Awadin, Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply the BWP configuration based at least in part on a determination that the BWP overlaps multiple sub-bands in a frequency domain.
Shin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply the BWP configuration based at least in part on a determination that the BWP overlaps multiple sub-bands in a frequency domain ([0115] “Because spectrums occupied by the first carrier and the second carrier overlap, a total bandwidth of spectrums occupied by multiple carriers including the first carrier and the second carrier may be adjusted by adjusting a bandwidth of an overlapping spectrum between the first carrier and the second carrier, so that an appropriate quantity of carriers can be configured on limited spectrum resources, thereby eliminating an unused frequency band on a spectrum”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Awadin, Takeda to incorporate the teachings of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to eliminate unused frequency bands.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 14-15, 17, 22-23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Awadin in view of Takeda further in view of Bai et al.(US20210185648).
Regarding claim 5, 14, 22, Awadin, Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI includes an indication of an update to the set of sub-bands associated with the BWP in which communications are to be transmitted or received, the update to the set of sub-bands being applicable a particular quantity of slots after receiving the DCI.
Bai teaches wherein the DCI includes an indication of an update to the set of sub-bands associated with the BWP in which communications are to be transmitted or received, the update to the set of sub-bands being applicable a particular quantity of slots after receiving the DCI ([0074] “at 802, by receiving, from a network entity, a downlink control information (DCI) for an update for at least of a beam or path loss (PL) reference signal (RS) activation”, Fig 3 “Slot 0-3” [0050] “Each symbol in a slot may be configured for a link direction (e.g., DL, UL, or flexible) for data transmission and the link direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched”)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awadin, Takeda to incorporate the teachings of Bai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase latency of the system.
Regarding claims 6, 15, 23, Awadin does not explicitly teach wherein the particular quantity of slots is configured on a per-BWP basis or on a per-component-carrier basis.
Bai teaches wherein the particular quantity of slots is configured on a per-BWP basis ([0075] “At 804, the UE applies the update across at least one of a group of component carriers (CCs) or bandwidth parts (BWPs) within the group of CCs. Thereafter, in some cases, the UE may perform one or more transmissions to the network entity based, at least in part, on the update applied update across at least one of the group of CCs or BWPs within the group of CCs”) or on a per-component-carrier basis ([0075] “At 804, the UE applies the update across at least one of a group of component carriers (CCs) or bandwidth parts (BWPs) within the group of CCs. Thereafter, in some cases, the UE may perform one or more transmissions to the network entity based, at least in part, on the update applied update across at least one of the group of CCs or BWPs within the group of CCs”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awadin, Takeda to incorporate the teachings of Bai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase latency of the system.
Regarding claims 8, 17, 25, Awadin does not explicitly does not teach wherein the particular quantity of slots is based at least in part on a capability of the UE.
Bai teaches wherein the particular quantity of slots is based at least in part on a capability of the UE ([0096] “In some cases, the UE may report the support of one of more of the various types of DCI-based updates described above. In such cases, the gNB may indicate (to the UE) the enablement of a corresponding DCI-based update operation option (e.g., via RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI). For example, in some cases, the UE may send signaling, to the network entity, indicating a capability of the UE to support the update for at least of a beam or PL RS activation across at least one of a group of CCs or BWPs within the group of CCs. Thereafter, based on the signaled capability of the UE, the UE may receive signaling, from the network entity, indicating enablement of one or more of the updates. In some cases, the signaling indicating the enablement may be provided via at least one of RRC signaling, a MAC CE, or a DCI”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin, Takeda to incorporate the teachings of Bai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase latency of the system.
Claim(s) 9-10, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin in view of Takeda further in view of Xiong et al. (US20230224880.
Regarding claim 9, 26, Awadin, Takeda does not explicitly does not teach wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an error based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in a single sub-band.
Xiong teaches wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an error based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in a single sub-band ([0196-0197] “To ensure same FDRA, one of the options below is applied: [0196] Option A0: The frequency domain resources indicated for the DL signal/channel reception by a DCI format or configured by higher layers is interpreted based on the active BWP, and the UE does not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol. In a further variant of this option, the UE may not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol unless it is configured or specified to prioritize DL reception in such overlapping resources”, (Examiner’s Note: UE does not expect to receive an indication is equivalent to error).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awadin, Takeda to incorporate the teachings of Xiong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 10, 27, Awadin, Takeda does not explicitly does not teach wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an actual FDRA based at least in part on an overlap between the FDRA and a single sub-band based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the single sub-band.
Xiong teaches wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an actual FDRA based at least in part on an overlap between the FDRA and a single sub-band based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the single sub-band([0196-0197] “To ensure same FDRA, one of the options below is applied: [0196] Option A0: The frequency domain resources indicated for the DL signal/channel reception by a DCI format or configured by higher layers is interpreted based on the active BWP, and the UE does not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol. In a further variant of this option, the UE may not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol unless it is configured or specified to prioritize DL reception in such overlapping resources”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin, Takeda to incorporate the teachings of Xiong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument
AWADIN does not disclose "receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration, downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in a sub-band, of the set of sub-bands, that is different than the first downlink sub-band," as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Newly added reference Takeda is also relied upon. The combination of Awadin in view of Takeda teaches receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration, downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in a sub-band, of the set of sub-bands, that is different than the first downlink sub-band. See update rejection.
Awadin is relied upon to show receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration, downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in a sub-band, of the set of sub-bands which can be seen in [0080].
Takeda is relied upon to show that is different than the first downlink sub-band ([0060-62] “At this time, the base station configures a resource used for transmission of a configured grant base in units of a frequency domain (subband). In FIG. 2, two subbands are configured, and transmission of configured grant-based PUSCH for a subband #1 is canceled by the L1 signal. At this time, for the slot #4 of a subband #2, a state where configured grant-based resource is configured is maintained …Therefore, a configured grant-based UE can perform configured grant-based PUSCH transmission by using the slot #4 of the subband #2. With this arrangement, the configured grant-based UE can appropriately perform configured grant-based UL transmission… A fact that a slot format of a given slot is DL or flexible (information indicating the slot format in a time domain) may be specified by Downlink Control Information (DCI)”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411