DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1, 2, 11, 12, 18, 19 ,28, 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 18-20, 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin et al. (US20230163936) in view of Rudolf et al. (US20240039655)
Regarding claim 1, 18, Awadin teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to cause the UE ([0443] “The electronic device 2201 may include a processor 2220, a memory 2230,”) to:
receive a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration indicating that a BWP is configured with cross sub-band scheduling (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, [0119] “Referring to FIG. 3 , for Slot 0 301, Slot 1 302, and OFDM symbols 0-3 of Slot 2 303, the UE expects to receive the DL transmission within the bandwidth of the active DL BWP 305. Thereafter, OFDM symbols 4-13 306 of Slot 2 303, Slot 3 304 and OFDM symbols 0-9 308 of Slot 4 305 are indicated as the UL subband 310”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: for example cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band ),
the BWP configuration indicating a set of sub-bands associated with the BWP ( (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band )
the set of sub-bands including a first downlink sub- band (Fig. 14 “1401”, “1405”, Fig. 18 “FDRA1”) and a second downlink sub-band (Fig. 14 “1405”, Fig. 18 “FDRA2”), the first downlink sub-band comprising first frequency resources of the BWP, the second downlink sub-band comprising ( (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band )
the BWP configuration indicating that scheduling grants for the set of sub-bands are to be received in a first downlink sub-band; and receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s note: for example the FDRA indication ==DCI),
downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in the second downlink sub-band (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s note: for example the FDRA indication ==DCI)
Awadin does not explicitly teach second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources.
Rudolf teaches second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources (Fig. 13 “PDSCH”, [0006] “At least one of the first frequency-domain subband and the second frequency-domain subband is one of a first SBFD DL subband, a second SBFD DL subband”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Rudolf. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 11, 28 Awadin teaches A network node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured ([0043] “a BS includes at least one processor, and at least one memory operatively connected with the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing instructions, which when executed, instruct the at least one processor to perform a method by configuring a UE with a legacy UL BWP or legacy DL BWP, and providing the UE with a UL subband or a DL subband in a full duplex operation”) to cause the network node to:
transmit a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration indicating that a BWP is configured with cross sub-band scheduling ([0043] “a BS includes at least one processor, and at least one memory operatively connected with the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing instructions, which when executed, instruct the at least one processor to perform a method by configuring a UE with a legacy UL BWP or legacy DL BWP, and providing the UE with a UL subband or a DL subband in a full duplex operation”),
the BWP configuration indicating a set of sub-bands associated with the BWP ( (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band )
the set of sub-bands including a first downlink sub- band (Fig. 14 “1401”, “1405”, Fig. 18 “FDRA1”) and a second downlink sub-band (Fig. 14 “1405”, Fig. 18 “FDRA2”),
the first downlink sub-band comprising first frequency resources of the BWP, the second downlink sub-band comprising ( (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band )
the BWP configuration indicating that scheduling grants for the set of sub-bands are to be transmitted in the first downlink sub-band of the one or more downlink sub-bands; and transmit, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s note: for example the FDRA indication ==DCI),
downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in the second downlink sub-band (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s note: for example the FDRA indication ==DCI).
Awadin does not explicitly teach second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources.
Rudolf teaches second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources (Fig. 13 “PDSCH”, [0006] “At least one of the first frequency-domain subband and the second frequency-domain subband is one of a first SBFD DL subband, a second SBFD DL subband”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Rudolf. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 2, 19, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive the communication in the second downlink sub-band according to the grant (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s Note: 1405, 1801 higher set of RBs == second downlink subband).
Regarding claim 3, 20, Awadin teaches herein the BWP configuration includes an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the set of sub-bands ([0304] “A frequency indicator of PUSCH/PDSCH within the UL/DL subband is interpreted relative to the start and length of the UL/DL subband”).
Regarding claim 12, 29, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to transmit or the communication in the second downlink sub-band according to the grant (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s Note: 1405, 1801 higher set of RBs == second downlink subband).
Regarding claims 13, 30, Awadin teaches wherein the BWP configuration includes an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the set of sub-bands ([0304] “A frequency indicator of PUSCH/PDSCH within the UL/DL subband is interpreted relative to the start and length of the UL/DL subband”).
Regarding claims 31, 33, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Fig. 6 “slot 1” [0177] “In Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604, Set 1 601 instructs the UE to consider that the entirety of Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604 is for the DL based on the legacy DL BWP 605”),
Awadin does not teach second DCI including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band.
Rudolf teaches second DCI including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band ([0134] “The disclosure considers methods to indicate to a UE a first and a second MCS index table, MCST1 and MCST2, for PUSCH transmissions on a serving cell using dynamic grants or configured grants, and methods to indicate to a UE a first and a second MCS index table, MCST1 and MCST2, for PDSCH receptions on a serving cell using dynamic grants or SPS.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Rudolf. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 32, Awadin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to transmit, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Fig. 6 “slot 1” [0177] “In Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604, Set 1 601 instructs the UE to consider that the entirety of Slot 0 603 and Slot 1 604 is for the DL based on the legacy DL BWP 605”),
Awadin does not teach second DCI including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band.
Rudolf teaches second DCI including a second grant that schedules a second communication in the first downlink sub-band ([0134] “The disclosure considers methods to indicate to a UE a first and a second MCS index table, MCST1 and MCST2, for PUSCH transmissions on a serving cell using dynamic grants or configured grants, and methods to indicate to a UE a first and a second MCS index table, MCST1 and MCST2, for PDSCH receptions on a serving cell using dynamic grants or SPS.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin to incorporate the teachings of Rudolf. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the flexibility of the system.
Claim(s) 4, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin further in view Rudolf further in view of Shin et al.(US20220150927).
Regarding claim 4, 21, Awadin, Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply the BWP configuration based at least in part on a determination that the BWP overlaps multiple sub-bands in a frequency domain.
Shin teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to apply the BWP configuration based at least in part on a determination that the BWP overlaps multiple sub-bands in a frequency domain ([0115] “Because spectrums occupied by the first carrier and the second carrier overlap, a total bandwidth of spectrums occupied by multiple carriers including the first carrier and the second carrier may be adjusted by adjusting a bandwidth of an overlapping spectrum between the first carrier and the second carrier, so that an appropriate quantity of carriers can be configured on limited spectrum resources, thereby eliminating an unused frequency band on a spectrum”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Awadin, Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to eliminate unused frequency bands.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 14-15, 17, 22-23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Awadin in view of Rudolf further in view of Bai et al.(US20210185648).
Regarding claim 5, 14, 22, Awadin, Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI includes an indication of an update to the set of sub-bands associated with the BWP in which communications are to be transmitted or received, the update to the set of sub-bands being applicable a particular quantity of slots after receiving the DCI.
Bai teaches wherein the DCI includes an indication of an update to the set of sub-bands associated with the BWP in which communications are to be transmitted or received, the update to the set of sub-bands being applicable a particular quantity of slots after receiving the DCI ([0074] “at 802, by receiving, from a network entity, a downlink control information (DCI) for an update for at least of a beam or path loss (PL) reference signal (RS) activation”, Fig 3 “Slot 0-3” [0050] “Each symbol in a slot may be configured for a link direction (e.g., DL, UL, or flexible) for data transmission and the link direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched”)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awadin, Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Bai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase latency of the system.
Regarding claims 6, 15, 23, Awadin, Rudolf does not explicitly teach wherein the particular quantity of slots is configured on a per-BWP basis or on a per-component-carrier basis.
Bai teaches wherein the particular quantity of slots is configured on a per-BWP basis ([0075] “At 804, the UE applies the update across at least one of a group of component carriers (CCs) or bandwidth parts (BWPs) within the group of CCs. Thereafter, in some cases, the UE may perform one or more transmissions to the network entity based, at least in part, on the update applied update across at least one of the group of CCs or BWPs within the group of CCs”) or on a per-component-carrier basis ([0075] “At 804, the UE applies the update across at least one of a group of component carriers (CCs) or bandwidth parts (BWPs) within the group of CCs. Thereafter, in some cases, the UE may perform one or more transmissions to the network entity based, at least in part, on the update applied update across at least one of the group of CCs or BWPs within the group of CCs”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awadin, Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Bai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase latency of the system.
Regarding claims 8, 17, 25, Awadin, Rudolf does not explicitly does not teach wherein the particular quantity of slots is based at least in part on a capability of the UE.
Bai teaches wherein the particular quantity of slots is based at least in part on a capability of the UE ([0096] “In some cases, the UE may report the support of one of more of the various types of DCI-based updates described above. In such cases, the gNB may indicate (to the UE) the enablement of a corresponding DCI-based update operation option (e.g., via RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI). For example, in some cases, the UE may send signaling, to the network entity, indicating a capability of the UE to support the update for at least of a beam or PL RS activation across at least one of a group of CCs or BWPs within the group of CCs. Thereafter, based on the signaled capability of the UE, the UE may receive signaling, from the network entity, indicating enablement of one or more of the updates. In some cases, the signaling indicating the enablement may be provided via at least one of RRC signaling, a MAC CE, or a DCI”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin, Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Bai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase latency of the system.
Claim(s) 9-10, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin in view of Rudolf further in view of Xiong et al. (US20230224880.
Regarding claim 9, 26, Awadin, Rudolf does not explicitly does not teach wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an error based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in a single sub-band.
Xiong teaches wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an error based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in a single sub-band ([0196-0197] “To ensure same FDRA, one of the options below is applied: [0196] Option A0: The frequency domain resources indicated for the DL signal/channel reception by a DCI format or configured by higher layers is interpreted based on the active BWP, and the UE does not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol. In a further variant of this option, the UE may not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol unless it is configured or specified to prioritize DL reception in such overlapping resources”, (Examiner’s Note: UE does not expect to receive an indication is equivalent to error).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Awadin, Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Xiong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 10, 27, Awadin, Rudolf does not explicitly does not teach wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an actual FDRA based at least in part on an overlap between the FDRA and a single sub-band based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the single sub-band.
Xiong teaches wherein a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indicated in the DCI spans more than one sub-band associated with the BWP, and the at least one processor is further configured to identify an actual FDRA based at least in part on an overlap between the FDRA and a single sub-band based at least in part on an indication that communications are to be transmitted or received in the single sub-band([0196-0197] “To ensure same FDRA, one of the options below is applied: [0196] Option A0: The frequency domain resources indicated for the DL signal/channel reception by a DCI format or configured by higher layers is interpreted based on the active BWP, and the UE does not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol. In a further variant of this option, the UE may not expect to receive an indication that overlaps with an UL sub-band in a FD symbol unless it is configured or specified to prioritize DL reception in such overlapping resources”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Awadin, Rudolf to incorporate the teachings of Xiong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the flexibility of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument
Applicant respectfully submits that AWADIN and TAKEDA do not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, AWADIN and TAKEDA do not disclose "a BWP is configured with cross sub-band scheduling," "the set of sub-bands including a first downlink sub-band and a second downlink sub-band, the first downlink sub-band comprising first frequency resources of the BWP, the second downlink sub-band comprising second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources" and "receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration, downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in the second downlink sub-band," as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See updated rejection with newly incorporated reference Rudolf.
For example Awadin is relied upon to show receive a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration indicating that a BWP is configured with cross sub-band scheduling (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, [0119] “Referring to FIG. 3 , for Slot 0 301, Slot 1 302, and OFDM symbols 0-3 of Slot 2 303, the UE expects to receive the DL transmission within the bandwidth of the active DL BWP 305. Thereafter, OFDM symbols 4-13 306 of Slot 2 303, Slot 3 304 and OFDM symbols 0-9 308 of Slot 4 305 are indicated as the UL subband 310”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: for example cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band ),
the BWP configuration indicating a set of sub-bands associated with the BWP ( (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band )
the set of sub-bands including a first downlink sub- band (Fig. 14 “1401”, “1405”, Fig. 18 “FDRA1”) and a second downlink sub-band (Fig. 14 “1405”, Fig. 18 “FDRA2”), the first downlink sub-band comprising first frequency resources of the BWP, the second downlink sub-band comprising ( (Fig. 14 “1403”, [0345] “ DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means”, Fig. 18 “1801”, “1803” , “subframe 1”, “subframe 2”, [0390] “However, the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH 1801 is indicated by two FDRA fields. FDRA 1 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH below the active UL subband while FDRA 2 indicates the frequency domain allocation of PDSCH above the active UL subband”, (Examiner’s Note: cross band scheduling ==1801, 1801 schedules a first DL subband above an UL band, and a second DL below an UL band ) second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources ,
the BWP configuration indicating that scheduling grants for the set of sub-bands are to be received in a first downlink sub-band; and receive, in the first downlink sub-band and in accordance with the BWP configuration (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s note: for example the FDRA indication ==DCI),
downlink control information (DCI) including a grant that schedules a communication in the second downlink sub-band (Referring to FIG. 14 , DCI 1403 points to a legacy DL BWP 1401 carrying a PDSCH 1402 by a first bandwidth part indicator field. This DL BWP ID is applied for all contiguous symbols that are indicated as the DL based on legacy slot format indication. The second bandwidth part indicator field in DCI 1403 points to the DL BWP ID 1405 that is used as the DL subband in the subsequent contiguous symbols/slots indicated as the DL subband based on the indicated slot format indication provided herein or any other suitable means, [0389] “For example, if a UL/DL subband 1804 is surrounded by DL/UL RBs 1805 of a legacy DL BWP 1806, respectively, then two FDRA indications 1801, 1802 are used. A first 1802 of these indications provides the frequency domain allocation in the lower set of RBs and a second indication 1801 provides the higher set of RBs”, (Examiner’s note: for example the FDRA indication ==DCI).
For example Applicant says Awadin does not teach cross sub-band scheduling. However as mention above both Fig 14, Fig. 18 can be interpreted as cross subband scheduling. Furthermore Fig. 18, is similar to applicant’s Fig. 5B.
Rudolf is relied upon to show second frequency resources of the BWP that are different than the first frequency resources (Fig. 13 “PDSCH”, [0006] “At least one of the first frequency-domain subband and the second frequency-domain subband is one of a first SBFD DL subband, a second SBFD DL subband”)
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411